SFNL Division 1 2017

WHO WILL WIN THE 2017 DIV 1 FLAG

Interesting weekend with the doggies knocking off Mordi, they seem to have hit some good form. Districts have been stronger than previously thought

It was a good game, our boys were down early (3 - 4 goals) but we just chipped away and never stopped competing. Mordi were good but don't look like a team that should have been undefeated.

We had a look at our playing list and noticed that only 3 players for the game on Saturday hadn't played junior football at St Pauls. Which is great because I can't remember the last time we could honestly say we were that full of ex-juniors.

It was a good game, our boys were down early (3 - 4 goals) but we just chipped away and never stopped competing. Mordi were good but don't look like a team that should have been undefeated.

We had a look at our playing list and noticed that only 3 players for the game on Saturday hadn't played junior football at St Pauls. Which is great because I can't remember the last time we could honestly say we were that full of ex-juniors.

Don't know about that..

Interesting weekend with the doggies knocking off Mordi, they seem to have hit some good form. Districts have been stronger than previously thought
Langers, bentleigh haven't begun season how they would like and given evenness of comp not dead and buried yet. That said can they find form. Is full list playing? Lawry out still?

Great to see all the hard work Houston put into developing those kids is starting to pay off. :)

Langers, bentleigh haven't begun season how they would like and given evenness of comp not dead and buried yet. That said can they find form. Is full list playing? Lawry out still?
Lawry still out yes, Backman out has hurt us aswell, a few others not being available and it all equals some inconsistency but I think with a full list we're still a finals side so it'll be interesting to see how we go from here

Not disputing that St Pauls have developed an excellent pathway for the 19s and good on them for doing so. And while I don’t mean to nit pick I reckon this comment is a bit of a stretch. I know bugger all about St Pauls but immediately recognise 6 or 7 names from other clubs.

Lawry still out yes, Backman out has hurt us aswell, a few others not being available and it all equals some inconsistency but I think with a full list we're still a finals side so it'll be interesting to see how we go from here

How long before Lawry & Backman are back ? Did notice that they did not even show up on Saturday!

One thing is for sure the coach is under more pressure than Buckley. From his rant at half time he may not last the season.

How long before Lawry & Backman are back ? Did notice that they did not even show up on Saturday!

One thing is for sure the coach is under more pressure than Buckley. From his rant at half time he may not last the season.

Well according the Bentleigh website i was correct and the Senior Coach has resigned.

They should be back this week (touch wood) along with CJ. Dimma resigned as his recent business ventures have taken off and require all his time. Its unfortunate to see him leave but it means we now have a coach that can commit 100% of the required time to coach the team

Not disputing that St Pauls have developed an excellent pathway for the 19s and good on them for doing so. And while I don’t mean to nit pick I reckon this comment is a bit of a stretch. I know bugger all about St Pauls but immediately recognise 6 or 7 names from other clubs.

You'd be surprised with regards to a lot of the kids as to where they played e.g. Steve Muller was an ex-junior in Harley Ambrose's age group.

Knox, Jenkins x 2, Lewis, Kreymborg, Dino K, Dolan, Clarke, Peet, McCarthy, Hay, Mundy, Ambrose, Muller, Byrne, Locandro, Roberts off the top of my head all ex.juniors.

You'd be surprised with regards to a lot of the kids as to where they played e.g. Steve Muller was an ex-junior in Harley Ambrose's age group.

Knox, Jenkins x 2, Lewis, Kreymborg, Dino K, Dolan, Clarke, Peet, McCarthy, Hay, Mundy, Ambrose, Muller, Byrne, Locandro, Roberts off the top of my head all ex.juniors.

Not looking for a $hi# fight mate and don’t doubt you are well represented by ex-juniors but your data is wrong. Think you are getting your ‘Saints’ mixed up as I know off the top of my head that McCarty, Locandro, Karambosh and Munday are St Peters juniors. Hay was one of several ex M’beena juniors that came across from an ammo club with your previous ressies coach. Hogan, Halliday, Gilder, Verlin & Spencer are others I know that came from other clubs. Could probably find others if I could be bothered looking.

No big deal and to be honest I don’t care where they are from. St Pauls is a good club who are travelling well and I only raise it as the “all but 3” home grown claim is way off the mark.

Not looking for a $hi# fight mate and don’t doubt you are well represented by ex-juniors but your data is wrong. Think you are getting your ‘Saints’ mixed up as I know off the top of my head that McCarty, Locandro, Karambosh and Munday are St Peters juniors. Hay was one of several ex M’beena juniors that came across from an ammo club with your previous ressies coach. Hogan, Halliday, Gilder, Verlin & Spencer are others I know that came from other clubs. Could probably find others if I could be bothered looking.

No big deal and to be honest I don’t care where they are from. St Pauls is a good club who are travelling well and I only raise it as the “all but 3” home grown claim is way off the mark.

St Pauls/St Peters...........Potato/Potato ;)

I know a lot of them you've mentioned played 19's so you're right, I meant to have included 19's which technically isn't juniors but it's always a tough ask keeping 19's to go through to Seniors. Still covers 15/22 which is a good effort compared to most these days.

I think the new coach is a massive reason as to why the team is doing well (other than organic improvement from the kids), his no nonsense attitude and game plan all seem to be getting the required response he wanted from the team. He's built up respect and rapport in a very short timeframe.

St Pauls/St Peters...........Potato/Potato ;)

I know a lot of them you've mentioned played 19's so you're right, I meant to have included 19's which technically isn't juniors but it's always a tough ask keeping 19's to go through to Seniors. Still covers 15/22 which is a good effort compared to most these days.

I think the new coach is a massive reason as to why the team is doing well (other than organic improvement from the kids), his no nonsense attitude and game plan all seem to be getting the required response he wanted from the team. He's built up respect and rapport in a very short timeframe.

Each would be deeply offended being called “one in the same” as they were and I assume still are strong rivals in junior footy. You will find most played 19s elsewhere so would caution against going there as well but think we have done this to death. St Pauls travelling nicely and all credit to them, irrespective of where the players are from.

Notwithstanding the junior arm at McKinnon oval is St Pauls McKinnon and the senior arm St Pauls East Bentleigh I take it that the relationship is sound judging by the progression of players from juniors to seniors?

Each would be deeply offended being called “one in the same” as they were and I assume still are strong rivals in junior footy. You will find most played 19s elsewhere so would caution against going there as well but think we have done this to death. St Pauls travelling nicely and all credit to them, irrespective of where the players are from.

Notwithstanding the junior arm at McKinnon oval is St Pauls McKinnon and the senior arm St Pauls East Bentleigh I take it that the relationship is sound judging by the progression of players from juniors to seniors?

Yeah I think the relationship between the juniors/seniors has its ups and downs like any when the clubs are independent of each other.

There is a lot of volunteers who were juniors parents that have now stepped into the senior club and are helping out in all areas so the influx of help is a big boost as this was lacking over a few years.

The new president is also doing a fantastic job. Kenny Shaw is very much still part of the furniture down there but now he can relax a bit more and enjoy watching games of football rather than being stuck behind the BBQ.

Dimmatina gone at Bentleigh. Are the “business reasons in Queensland” perhaps linked to the 1 / 4 start? Langers - you are in the know down there. What’s the story?

In good news they get a few good players back tomorrow and on paper look much better.

http://bentleighfc.com/message-from-the-bfnc-committee/
I dont think anything we say can get this perception out of peoples head but it is totally unrelated. Anyone thats been around the club this year knows that dimma has been in Gold Coast taking care of the business a lot recently amd he himself said he couldnt balance it anymore.
As for the second part of your post yes, we've got quite a few players back, still wouldn't say we're 100% strength but this is as close as we've gotten to it all year which means it'll be a good test against Mordi today

Whats everyones tips for today?
Bentleigh by 8pts
Cheltenham by 24 pts
EM by 8pts
City by 130+
OD by 20 pts

Dingley
Bentleigh
Colts
St Pauls
Mordi

A couple of really good games this round. Dingley vs EM is my tip for match of the day as these two always have good contests
Mordi vs Chelt should also be a good game with Chelt having some good form amd falling just short of quality teams
Bentleigh vs OD is a real make or break for Bentleigh as they look to reignite their finals hopes whereas OD can establish themselves in the top 3 with a win.
St.pauls vs City looks like a pretty certain win for St.pauls but City really need to get some consistency in their game after bringing in a few high profile recruits
Colts vs Clayton looks like another dominating win over the Clays with them looking like they face a winless season like East Brighton last year

Dingley
Bentleigh
Colts
St Pauls
Mordi

A couple of really good games this round. Dingley vs EM is my tip for match of the day as these two always have good contests
Mordi vs Chelt should also be a good game with Chelt having some good form amd falling just short of quality teams
Bentleigh vs OD is a real make or break for Bentleigh as they look to reignite their finals hopes whereas OD can establish themselves in the top 3 with a win.
St.pauls vs City looks like a pretty certain win for St.pauls but City really need to get some consistency in their game after bringing in a few high profile recruits
Colts vs Clayton looks like another dominating win over the Clays with them looking like they face a winless season like East Brighton last year
Bentleigh over OD away from home on current form is extremely optimistic. Based on last year yes possibly but after coming off a game where they kicked 2 goals looks challenging. Dingley maybe a bit more advanced at this stage of year with EM still improving as they gel. I think saints if they managed to bring A game would challenge St. Paul's the question is the big if they bring A game. They have plenty of individual talent.

Dingley
Bentleigh
Colts
St Pauls
Mordi

Reckon Bentleigh are gone. Despite playing at home and fielding what was a strong side on paper (Lawrie, Backman and Johnson all returning) they did not fire a shot last week. Managed just 2 goals (1 until late in the last) and the final margin flattered them. Cannot make finals. Disappointing result considering the talent on their list.

Four standout teams and a raffle for 5th.

Cheltenham and Bentleigh getting up surprising (not so much Bentleigh) showing good improvement from both sides. St.kilda city v Cheltenham makes for a crunch game for both sides next round.

Great wins by Cheltenham and Bentleigh. Very even comp which fantastic and only one game you might consider pencilling in as a certain win.

As per previous post I reckon the current top 4 remain but the 5th finalist spot remains a raffle.

SFNL Division 1 2017