Shane Clayton

• Thread starter Thread starter Daphne

Most of us know his strength (getting into space) and his weakness (sometimes poor disposal). What concerns me most about Clayton, that few people seem to mention, is that he doesn't get a great deal of the ball.
Not a bad player overall, and handy in terms of depth, but as one of our more extensive topics has already covered, the influx of new midfielders will make him battle for a spot, and see him as a fringe player.

Over to you, fellow Roos...

I know this has nothing to do with Shane's playing ability, but next time he's standing on the edge of the centre square waiting for the ball up, if you're lucky enough (or unlucky as I see it) he does this wiggle with his bottom, it's the weirdest thing, I noticed it back in 99.

He also does it while standing still.

At the start... when he first arrived I could not work out if he was unaccountable or a hard working... super fast ... player who lacks polish in his disposal... I now know it is the latter...

I am quite impressed with the way he plays the game and I only think he needs more work on balance and disposal...

If he got a bit more muscle (notice how often and easily the opposition can knock him off the ball) and learned how to pinpoint a pass, then he'll be a very good player for us. I like the fact that he gets into open space, has a bit of pace, and appears to run out the game pretty easily, but his disposal lets him down time and time again.

Hopefully the recruitment of Sinclair and McLaren (and the youngsters like Smith and Harris) will make him work harder on his skills so he can keep his place in the team. I like the guy, I'd love to see him playing for us for years to come, but with a smaller list and more competition, we just cannot afford to carry players who cannot kick properly.

Originally posted by Malibu:
I know this has nothing to do with Shane's playing ability, but next time he's standing on the edge of the centre square waiting for the ball up, if you're lucky enough (or unlucky as I see it) he does this wiggle with his bottom, it's the weirdest thing, I noticed it back in 99.

He also does it while standing still.
Its not hard to pick the girls out in here is it, we could give votes for the best bum or bum wiggler, I could do that one week and I am sure 25eye would be in it.

Originally posted by Daphne:

Its not hard to pick the girls out in here is it, we could give votes for the best bum or bum wiggler, I could do that one week and I am sure 25eye would be in it.
[/QUOTE]

Daphne I realise that may have been a typo, but I sometimes log into chat as 25eye and I can tell you right now I don't go to the footy to watch players' bums wiggle.
35eye on the other hand may be a more willing volunteer, but I am unable to speak on her behalf.

Originally posted by Darky:

Daphne I realise that may have been a typo, but I sometimes log into chat as 25eye and I can tell you right now I don't go to the footy to watch players' bums wiggle.
35eye on the other hand may be a more willing volunteer, but I am unable to speak on her behalf.

hehehe. Daphne thinks Darky's a turd burgler!

The Pope John Spaull wears number 25 now & I was watching his muscles wiggle a couple of weeks ago as he worked the peddling machine in the rehab group. That sure was a sight for sore eyes. Can't wait until we get to him in our profiles.

Shane Clayton though, he's a very tidy & presentable chap. Isn't he? He runs & runs & runs until he can run no more. My friends call him Cleats. I've heard him get called some other nicknames but they escape me now. I've seen the wiggle & don't know what's going on there. Is it some kind of ritual or superstition before he runs in for the centre bounce or does he have some sort of spine abnormality? I must ask the lad one day.

"Shane's World"
If he could finnish his good work by kicking to a target and hitting it I think he would hold his spot this year. Remember last season when the players picked the side he was omitted . Strange? I think not. We are not the only ones dissapointed with his disposal.

Why dont they pick him up week in week out?

Dont they rate him?

Go the Skull !!!
J.I.T.C
THE DOC

well i remember a few seasons ago when Clayton was only new to the club he caught our eye and we thought he would be a real upcoming star lately ive noticed heaps of ppl baggin him but.

Chicks-if u think wiggling his arse is good we got stacks of photos of him doing stretches on the boundary line back at Waverley a few years ago mmmm! (white shorts i will point out)

sPiDeR eVeRiTt and RiCkY oLaReNsHaW
~kewlest players round!!!

Supporters around us used to call him a dud when he first started. We all liked him, but he does frustrate sometimes, I love the long runs, but he has to make more of them reach there targets.

Daph,

Believe me I've noticed the bum wiggle, but it doesn't mean I like to watch it cause I like it, I watch it for a laugh.

EVE

:whoa:

------------------
If you see me getting mighty,
If you see me getting high,
Knock me down,
I'm not bigger than Life

R.H.C.P.

Oh and my name isn't EVE, see 2 posts above, that's a name me and my friends call Claytes, cannot remember why thou.

hehehehe
tongue.gif

Originally posted by 35eye:

hehehe. Daphne thinks Darky's a turd burgler!

The Pope John Spaull wears number 25 now & I was watching his muscles wiggle a couple of weeks ago as he worked the peddling machine in the rehab group. That sure was a sight for sore eyes. Can't wait until we get to him in our profiles.

Shane Clayton though, he's a very tidy & presentable chap. Isn't he? He runs & runs & runs until he can run no more. My friends call him Cleats. I've heard him get called some other nicknames but they escape me now. I've seen the wiggle & don't know what's going on there. Is it some kind of ritual or superstition before he runs in for the centre bounce or does he have some sort of spine abnormality? I must ask the lad one day.

I take offence to the word turdburglar. Please use arsebandit in future. And I might add that I am neither.

Also, on his Popeness, he must have the biggest farkin calf muscles I've ever seen on a human. Consider me extremely envious and in awe.

I think the key issue with Clayton (and a couple of others) is their disposal and hardness at the ball. The arrival of a number of rivals could make the difference to these players and make them lift their games a couple of notches (and if this happens we'll be looking at the top 1-4 positions).

Originally posted by Daphne:
Supporters around us used to call him a dud when he first started. We all liked him, but he does frustrate sometimes, I love the long runs, but he has to make more of them reach there targets.

Adding to this, there does seem to be a lot of goodwill towards Clayton by the North fans. People do want him to do well, and when he does do his infamous helicopter punts, there's almost a black, but affectionate humour by North fans towards them. With most other players, I reckon he'd be the target of more nasty abuse.

So Shane, if you're reading this, we're cutting you some slack. Son, learn to kick straight and you'll forever bask in the warm love that naturally comes from the heart of the North fans in the stands.

There was this one function I was at late last year where Claytes was one of the special guests along with two new recruits. Claytes quietly went to take his seat at a table along with the other two boys & a few elderly supporters.
One of the elderly supporters gestured to the two kids to introduce themselves, which they did, and then she turns to Claytes and says, "And what is your name?"

Poor Claytes seemed a bit embarrassed in front of the new kids being a premiership player & all not being recognised. "Shane," he said, "Shane CLAYTON?"

I just about wanted to lean over & get his autograph just to make him feel better.