Shane Parker Retirement plan?

• Thread starter Thread starter Plugga

While I appreciate that every one is entitled to an opinion on such things I get totally p!!$$ed off when our own SUPPOSED SUPPORTERS bag the crap out of our players.
It is obvious that some poeple who post here in regards to such issues have no idea about the game and what is good for the team.
What some don't realise is that you need the experience players to show the way for the younger players.Shane Parker is one of those players as is Shauny MAc.Experience can not just be given to kids it has to be learnt.
This was one of our main problems earlier in our life,we ditched experienced player far to soon for the kids to learn the game.We dumped Bond and Fletcher far too soon.They should have been maintained for the betterment of the younger kids and the club.
Parks plays on all sorts of players, big,small in betweens.He is a a necessity for this team.

He hasn't bagged anyone. Read the original post. He says there might not be a spot for him anymore. That is his opinion.

And Parker and McManus aren't that good a players that they should be void from criticism. Look at our 3 finals last year, they were two of our poorest players in all 3 games. Yes they have been tremendous servants for our club, but if someone thinks they should be dropped for whatever reason, then it is fair enough.

Like McManus has again had a pretty good start to the season. But there are still quite a few flaws in his game. When our midfield is breaking even or winning, he plays really well. When our midfield isn't winning the ball and is reactive, McManus is a liability. He is slow at stoppages and the opposition get around him too easily and clear the ball too easily. It's easy to look at what he does when he has the ball because now has a pretty reliable kick, but there is a lot more to a game of footy then what one might notice.

That is what Plugga was expressing about Parker... what he thinks his flaws in Parkers game was. He didn't bag him at all.

We are 1-3. If we were 4-0, then fair enough, lay off the players but being in the bottom 4 after a relatively easy draw... questions are going to be asked of all players. The match comittee know best but let everyone on here give their opinions on all players.

I agree with Kenny after reading all these posts I didnt come across plugga bagging Parker once. People should read it properly before "Bagging" posters.

I agree parker aint quick enuff got towled up against Syd in the prelim and i think he should be dropped as the first few weeks he has been carried and about training youngsters we have enuff experience in the team now. Drum and Duffy should be given a roll especially if Parker isnt 100% but would be hard to drop him for Mcmanus's 200th.
Macca should be dropped soon too and inject abit of pace to our midfiled and youth. With Headland playing more thro there, lets get on the bandwagon and bring in our quick aboriginal Collard and play him like Essendon play Davey.

Oh and I didnt see all this negativity to posters when they were bagging out THE CLUB obviously thats ok but do not attempt to bag a player or you will be shot down;)

Macca should be dropped soon too and inject abit of pace to our midfiled and youth.

MACCA HAS BEEN PLAYING WELL

Macca>>>Webster, Cook, Gilmore, Walker, Solomon, Campbell at present, but that could change.

I'll be surprised of Collard plays, but I hope he does.

Poor old Parks has been copping the same garbage for the past 13 years. Yes, he's getting on a bit, but by no means is he close to finished. He is the ONLY Freo backman who bothers to man up. Doesn't matter if the scoreline is close or a blowout, you can always count on Parker to be right on his opponents tail.

The biggest reason he doesn't recieve the respect he deserves from either the AFL or his own supporters is that too much has been asked of him since the day he stepped on the field. He is NOT a tall. Just because he has played on everyone from Davey to Richardson, doesn't mean that is the best position for him. Parker is the true champion that he is, because he has given his all for the club every game he has played. He's never dropped his head or complained because he is playing on the oppositions best forward - he's just gone out and done his very best.

Plugga, you are right that Parker is not close to our best backman. But you are wrong in suggesting that there is no place for him. No one seems to be prepared to accept that the backline has been severely depleted with players like Black, Johnson and Thornton unavailable. These guys are important, because they allow someone like Parker to do what he does best, and right now, that should be playing on the 4th or 5th or maybe even 6th forward.

When the time does come that Parker is no longer up to it, I'm sure there won't be any need for a tap on the shoulder or the embarrassment of being dropped. We probably won't even notice him as he walks out the door.

chook, got a tear in my eye when I read that. Seriously... :o

He might not want us to notice him leaving, but there's no dount that we will.

At some stage this year, without any fanfare (and much to his own embarrassment) Shane will wander in and say, I'm off. It's been fun but I've got other things to do.

Dom what draft pick would we get?

Definately first round, probably top ten. A lot of teams would be interested in a 34 year old defender who gets loads of possessions and is fantastic at kicking in after a behind. Best in the business in that department IMO. :thumbsu:

At some stage this year, without any fanfare (and much to his own embarrassment) Shane will wander in and say, I'm off. It's been fun but I've got other things to do.

That's Shane for you, I love players like that.

Shane & Macca are of the same ilk, you never see them complain about the tasks they are given, just put their shoulder to the coalface. That is why I respect these two, to the fullest.

Definately first round, probably top ten. A lot of teams would be interested in a 34 year old defender who gets loads of possessions and is fantastic at kicking in after a behind. Best in the business in that department IMO. :thumbsu:

I think you may have needed to be a bit more obvious Dom...

I remember years and years ago, in the Freo backline, just as it looked like we might be building something towards goal, or getting a run on, someone would monumentally stuff it up. That person was named Parker.

These days, just as it looks like things are going to fall apart, in comes the hero and saves the day. That blokes name is Parker.

Of course, one of those Parkers was named Dan, who was so bad, that I reckon Shane probably has endured some of his legacy. I remember back in the day when either of them stuffed up, I would yell "those bloody Parker brothers". One of them was far worse than the other and has gone now, but thaty doesn't mean Shane still doesn't cop the lingering "bloody Parkers" every now and then.