Shattered

4 out of st kilda's 1st 5 goals came from free kicks, 2 of which were a joke.

I thought after that when they had a 5 goal to nothing headstart we wouldn't get back and we never quite got there still a good effort from our guys did exactly as I expected, unlucky in the end not to win.

i was so dissapointed in the umpiring tonight so many frees that weren't paid , but in the first ten minutes they paid everything to st kilda fev get mauled and nothing, you can see on his face he is so over getting nothing from the umps ,

Kruzerings thoughts

- Wish the umpires loved fev as much as roo...that first free that wasn't payed to fev was rediculous, I would love to ask what went through the umpires head when he saw dawsons fist go through fevs.

- Very happy with Rattan's work from the box, great match ups (with what he had). It was fantasic to see him not throw numbers back after we went behind early, we are most effective playing fast paced/ play on footy.

- Younger players were fantastic, Bower, Austin, Grigg and Joesph all really belong and didn't look out of place against good opposition.

-Kosi is a piece of sh!t and the most inconsistant player in the AFL, this guy would fustrate me more than JR, "out of my dreamteam forever!"

-Judd....do you just stay awake at night and think up ways to impress me, your courage was amazing! Is it possible to be paid over 1mil a year to play football and be underpaid?? Facts are, Judd doesn't have to go off...we win.

-Geelong will smash St.Kilda
Couldn't agree more, especially with regard to the young blokes.:thumbsu:

Originally Posted by SaintsPremiers08
Wouldn't say near Full Strenth. Missing King and Maguire. Gilbert, Milne back after missing 2 games. As well as a few others, can't think of them off the top of my head.

About the weakest argument I've read from an opposition poster. Out of that I'll give you King being a slight upgrade on McEvoy in the arse end of his career, but other than that, no....

compared to Walker, Waite, Thornton and 206.

Wouldn't say near Full Strenth. Missing King and Maguire.
The best of Steven King is in the past while Matt Maguire has been out for so long that he doesn't count anymore. Surely he would have to prove himself in the seniors before being mentioned as a player that is in St.Kilda's best side. Last season he played four matches and he only averaged 8 disposals and 2 marks per match.
Gilbert, Milne back after missing 2 games.
Why are you counting two players that actually played? :confused:
As well as a few others, can't think of them off the top of my head.
There was nobody else. St.Kilda has had a dream run with injuries this season and they have had the luxury of only using 26 players which is by far the least of any team, and they have not played a single first year player.

The down side for St.Kilda is that they don't have much quality youth coming through compared to other teams, so I expect them to slide in the coming years as they have one of the oldest lists in the league. It's now or never for the Saints. Playing only 26 players means that their players are not getting enough rest either, and this may hurt them later in the season.

They have done well to win 12 straight matches, but there is no doubt in mind that they've already played their best footy for the season, while other teams are definitely improving and narrowing the gap. Teams learn more from losing than from winning, and while other teams are learning and ironing out flaws, St.Kilda is not learning anywhere near as much about themselves.

They will definitely finish in the top-two though, and as long as they keep beating teams that are competing for fourth spot, then that is helpful to Collingwood, so I hope that St.Kilda do keep winning. I hope Collingwood plays St.Kilda in the finals because I believe they will be playing better footy in the second half of the season than they have been in the first half of the season, while St.Kilda will not be. I also think that Carlton and Hawthorn can beat St.Kilda if they play them in the finals.

Bad luck tonight, thought you guys probably deserved to get over the line.

It is amazing how much Reiwoldt is looked after by the umpires, whilst players such as Fevola and Franklin are continually infringed upon an equal or greater number of times for no reward.

Thought the umpiring in the first half was shocking.
But sometimes thats what happens, some of your lesser lights really stood up today, Bower was great, O'hAilpin and Grigg were both impressive.

And Waite and Thornton are both better than MacGuire.
I would say Waite is a 'premium rebounding defender' as well.

your anabsolute goose if you think fev shouldnt have got a few frees from hudgston was all over him fev never gets anything from the umps is crucified every single week

What can you do, Fev gets taken up the backside week in week out. If Princess Riewoldt was in that situation there'd be an uproar around the AFL.

Wouldn't say near Full Strenth. Missing King and Maguire. Gilbert, Milne back after missing 2 games. As well as a few others, can't think of them off the top of my head.

Premier rebounding Defenders? :o

Honestly, if a guy if hanging off your arms and chopping them at every opportunity, you wouldn't think it would be deserving of a free kick?

And don't say 'but Fevola was being held!'

Because if you watch closely, Fev does the holding most of the time, trying to suck the umpires in ad making them think his opponent is holding him when in fact Fevola is pinning his arms.

Piss off flog, if thats the best you've got against an undermanned, youngest team in the comp you aren't going anywhere, Geelong will destroy you if thats all you can throw at them!

Fev gets crucified, Judd gets held in every stoppage, we got r*ped by the umpires tonight! Not the reason we lost but geez!

Anyways i'd say our outs were bigger than your outs and if it wasnt for your first ten muinutes, which the umpires gifted you with, you would've lost the game! Now piss off and hope to god this team delivers you something to hang your tragic history on and soon!! cos in a year or two you wont get near us!

Honestly, if a guy if hanging off your arms and chopping them at every opportunity, you wouldn't think it would be deserving of a free kick?

Because if you watch closely, Fev does the holding most of the time, trying to suck the umpires in ad making them think his opponent is holding him when in fact Fevola is pinning his arms.

Alright then cokhead...

If Maguire was in your best 22 there is a fair chance he might have actually been selected at some stage this year. King? Yep suppose he is your number two ruckman, but not exactly a game turner is he? Let me know when you remember the others...

Premier rebounding defenders? That would be Waite and Thornton, our two premier rebounding defenders. Care to argue the toss?

And if anyone watches the first 10 minutes again they will find one free kick in your forward fifty that wasn't deserved, and one in ours that was. Pretty simple stuff that any non biased supporter would concur with.

But when all is said and done StK did just enough to win, and well done to them...not quite sure what you trying to achieve here though.

guys i was there tonight, a little bit robbed the simpson coloured people, but you had your chances.

but i can say this if that is stkilda at there best geelong will hammer them.
they had hardly anyone out, you guys where missing two key defenders and judd for almost a half.

if waite was in, i think it wouldve been a differnt story.

but carlton are looking the goods, remember alot of your side is very young,

Bad luck tonight, thought you guys probably deserved to get over the line.

It is amazing how much Reiwoldt is looked after by the umpires, whilst players such as Fevola and Franklin are continually infringed upon an equal or greater number of times for no reward.

Thought the umpiring in the first half was shocking.
But sometimes thats what happens, some of your lesser lights really stood up today, Bower was great, O'hAilpin and Grigg were both impressive.

And Waite and Thornton are both better than MacGuire.
I would say Waite is a 'premium rebounding defender' as well.

Is that a joke?

Waite is arguable.. but no way is Thornton > Maguire

Before Maguire's injury, he was the best CHB in the league

Maguire hasn't played all year. You were only missing King.

Don't underestimate the loss of Thornton and Waite to our young side either, not to mention some of the others on the injury list.

We were robbed by the umpires, particularly in the first half. What got paid for you guys wasn't paid for us and Fev is a prime example. Consistency is the biggest issue for the umpires. Some decisions looked bad at the game but boy do they look worse on tv. I suggest you get your glasses out.

But I am not going to blame the umpires because we cop it every week.

I am so proud of the effort from all of our boys tonight and in particular Simpson, Gibbs, Bower, AJ, Grigg, Austin and Jamo.

St Kilda had our measure but it's easy to see that we are not far off. A couple of wasted opportunities and if a couple of things had've gone our way, maybe the score might be different.

Alas it's not and we have a week off before we tackle Essendon.

Hard, tough and intense! We will take alot away from this game. We lost to the top side by 9 points only. Well done Blues :thumbsu:

Is that a joke?

I'm talking present day genius

Also, not saying this is taken into account in determining who is better, but Thornton is far more important to Carlton than MacGuire is to St Kilda.

I don't particularly rate Thornton that highly, but post injury MacGuire has shown very little.

Is that a joke?

Yeah, and before he retired, Kernahan was one of the best CHFs the AFL has ever seen.

I guess we can also say we were missing him?

Shmuck.

Is that a joke?

Yep he was great before his injury. If he was that good now he would have played this week. We're talking now, not 2-3 years ago. Pretty sure Goose is playing in the twos this week and has been all season.

Is that a joke?

Thornton is one of the premier rebounding defenders in the comp. Maguire is being kept out of the StK team by Zac Dawson.

Do we really need to take this further? I feel kind of bad about wailing on half wits...

Disappointed that we couldn't just get in front in that last quater, however, really proud that we were able to take it right up the St.Kilda tonight, given that both Waite & Thornton were out, which really did limit what we could do down back.

If you think back to the Bulldogs/Geelong game from a few weeks ago, even though the Bulldogs lost, they were really able to take a heap out of that game. Perhaps we can do the same, and with Essendon, Fremantle and Richmond coming up after the break, we really might be able to re-launch our selves at a top 4 spot.

i was speaking about this to the missus. i find it annoying that we can come out and play these sort of games against quality opposition and still be proud of the boys regardless of the result, and then dish up what we did against freo. i really hope this opens the teams eyes and the realise that the are genuinely top 4 material and start playing with that sort of confidence every week.

Thornton is one of the premier rebounding defenders in the comp. Maguire is being kept out of the StK team by Zac Dawson.

Do we really need to take this further? I feel kind of bad about wailing on half wits...
He is now our 3rd best defender if not 4th when fielding our best and his disposal and decision making this year has been questionable. Love him to death but would like some perspective. we need him but lets not over inflate him

Second in the comp for marks, third in the comp for rebound 50's and in the top handful for posessions (amongst defenders) and metres gained. Also in the top few in the entire competition for disposal efficiency, and its clear to see his anticipation is incredibly good...I think you draw a pretty long bow on the questionable disposal and decision making.

Which one of us is lacking in perspective BGS? I'll grant you Drummond, Goddard, and perhaps after tonight Bower, but Thornton is easily in the top handful of attacking defenders this year.

Anyway...let's worry about more important things, like how all St Kilda players and supporters suck big hairy balls.

What can you do, Fev gets taken up the backside week in week out. If Princess Riewoldt was in that situation there'd be an uproar around the AFL.
We lost fair and square...

Yet they hit Fevola with half the American infantry in the first quarter and nothing....

They took it straight down the ground and won a free kick against Grigg for a fifty-fifty contest...

Murphy pinged Gardiner in the middle with successive tackles and nothing.

Does a small mid have to throw a ruckman down to win a free? :D

Second in the comp for marks, third in the comp for rebound 50's and in the top handful for posessions (amongst defenders) and metres gained. Also in the top few in the entire competition for disposal efficiency, and its clear to see his anticipation is incredibly good...I think you draw a pretty long bow on the questionable disposal and decision making.

Which one of us is lacking in perspective BGS? I'll grant you Drummond, Goddard, and perhaps after tonight Bower, but Thornton is easily in the top handful of attacking defenders this year.

Anyway...let's worry about more important things, like how all St Kilda players and supporters suck big hairy balls.
Stats for defenders are meaningless. SOS many times never had double figures in possesions whilst keeping an Ablett goaless.
I stand by what I said about his disposal and decision making. It has cost us plenty in several games but I understand he is not alone in this department. My real point is we are developing a new unit out back. I suggest our future is with other players. Liked the idea ODN had about having him as a fwd with Waite gone.

if that's a 98% full-strength St.Kilda side, they are at least 5 goals behind Geelong. If they lose Reiwoldt or Kosi it would be catastrophic for their flag chances. From tonights showing if the Saints don't win the flag this year, they never will. Simple as that.:thumbsu:

The Blues are on the up. If they don't beat the stupid Bombers and Freo the next few weeks then we're bigger phonies than St.Kilda. But I don't think so :)

The best thing is we are starting to weed out the men from the Pagan boys so we will have player that will know how to win! No BS there, unlike St.Kilda!

Yeah, after tonights game I can picture the Cats hammering St.Kilda or at least beating them reasonably comfortably. I think it will still be a pretty cracking game however.

Far far far from shattered....

Best game from the navy blues i've seen in some time, the first game this season where everyone played their part, no passengers tonight bar 1, we played with tremendous heart and courage. No doubt if Judd was fit, we win the game, simple.

1 deficiency was clear though. Midfield clearences. We have a lot to improve in this area. We rely to much on Judd to be the extractor,we're probably 1 elite midfielder away. Also, we dont do enough shepperds,blocking and protecting the ball carrier, the positioning of defenders and midfielders is also something which needs work (due to inexperienced players).

Sorely missing a fully fit walker,waite,thornton and warnock (allowing Kreuzer to play as a permanent forward.) We don't have the depth to fully cover them at the moment.

1 player who clearly got found out was RYAN HOULIHAN. I'm sorry, a player who picks and chooses when he wants to play shouldn't be in the team. Not setting a good example for the young guys, hopefully in another draft's time we can weed out these sorts of players.

That said, we have an exciting young list, our young guys are coming, still 2 years away I reckon but I'll be enjoying the ride:thumbsu:

Stevens silenced a few critics tonight...

Piss off flog, if thats the best you've got against an undermanned, youngest team in the comp you aren't going anywhere, Geelong will destroy you if thats all you can throw at them!

Fev gets crucified, Judd gets held in every stoppage, we got r*ped by the umpires tonight! Not the reason we lost but geez!

Anyways i'd say our outs were bigger than your outs and if it wasnt for your first ten muinutes, which the umpires gifted you with, you would've lost the game! Now piss off and hope to god this team delivers you something to hang your tragic history on and soon!! cos in a year or two you wont get near us!

excellent work:D

Wow. 2.30am and the delayed telecast has just finished here. Before the game I said to my wife I would be happy to lose by less than 5 goals. After being 5 down after 10 minutes I thought we were in for a hammering. To get that close, to win 2 of the 4 qtrs, to have 1 more scoring shot and just lose, GREAT EFFORT. With 2 weeks to get over it and learn from it, I think we should finally get the win we deserve over the bombers, and perhaps the first of 3 in a row. Well done baggers.