Sheedy outcoached

• Thread starter Woof
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

W

Woof

As all the media gaffaw over that incoherant dribbler Sheedy look at his lack of ideas last night, against an undermanned Scraggers.
point 1; Why bother bringing that scared little shit Bewick into the flooded forward fifty where body contact is imminent, I reckon he is the biggest sheep dog the league has seen since Paul Roos.
point 2. It took him a half to realise that dopey Simon Cox, could be taken advantage of, and he put Fletcher down there, who looked their most dangerous forward.
point 3. I hope when Barnes gets his mandatory 3 he will have to play that wonderfull recruit Ilija Grgic (big lazy useless piece of shit)
Lets see how good this incredible depth is, the media has been baring up about all year when little Matty gets his obligatory 2 for hitting Croft

Exactly...

Let's see how good Essendon's second tier players actually are! The media has blown their depth out of proportion, as they are not as good as the media makes them to be.

Being a Collingwood supporter, I loved every minute of last night's match.

I think what Barnes did last night deserves (he won't get it though) about 6 weeks.

I think 'picking off' players like that, off the ball and when they aren't looking, is the lowest, weakest act possible on a football field.

John Worsfold made a career of being 'tough' by being weak and only collecting them when they weren't looking.

It's very easy to be tough when all the need to do is raise an elbow to the head while your opponent is looking the other way.

Last night Barnes proved just how weak he really is - and proved he isn't as good in footballing terms as many claim.

It will be good to see what Essendon do over the next few weeks... unfortunately they'll be up against us next week, so we can run them back into form.

Especially when we're playing for draftpicks (surely Malthouse wouldn't be trying to win with the Fremantle sideways chip policy).

Matt
http://mtffafl.ipfox.com

Gee the Scraggers have come out to talk now havn't they.

Well, rest assured, you may laugh and enjoy your moment in the sun, because if we get another crack at you (I hope), we will obliterate you.

There is an old saying. "The sun shines on a dogs ass at once in it's life".

This happened to the Bulldogs yesterday.

I also find it bemusingly hypocritical for a Dogs supporter to criticize other team for thuggery. Essendon have only had the one player suspeneded all season. This is the Bulldogs we are talking about......universally regarded as the filthiest team in the AFL.

There is not much Sheedy can do if Wallace is going to emply boring (but legal) tactics. If three Bulldogs players are just going to stand there and let Essendon get the ball in the midfield, but flood the bacline, no one can stop it. If the Footscray players just stand there, then no tactic can get rid of them. If that is their instructions from the coach, then so be it.

Sheedy is the best "match-day" coach in the AFL, and there would have been numerous moves and counter-moves going on that you and I would not even have been aware of. How do you know what goes on in the box ? Especially considering Essendon didn't have a bench in the last quarter.

I dish it out to opposition supporters all the time, and rest assured, when we lose I am prepared to cop it. But to imply Barnes (who I believe has never been suspended before, but I may be wrong, he may have been suspended once) should get 6 weeks, is both hypocritical and silly.

You may laugh now, and i admit I was shattered at losing, now that we can't go unefeated. That's it now.....the mythical undefeated season is gone forever.

But you will not be laughing in August. What goes around comes around, and the Dogs will get what is coming to them.

As for our depth....let's just wait and see. Any team is going to struggle minus their better players. I just hope we get them back at the right time of the year. Talk about Murphys law. We get injuries (and possible tribunal apperances) on the eve of the finals, after having none of them during the year. It's not fair, but that's life. Sheedy loves a challenge, and I'm confident we can pull it off.

Don;t know why people comment about our depth. It may not be that strong. So what ? Not much anyone can do about it, we've just got to get on with the game. Results will indicate our depth. If people want to use the "tall poppy syndrome" to verbally bash Essendon, then that's fine.

I love how people hate us now. Bring on the challenges I say.

Dan24 Good Post

It is a bit rich coming from Bulldog fans.

Just a thought though. Essendon have had very few injury (except for Hird) or tribunal worries this year. Then it all comes down on them in this game. Why is that?

This was really the first time that Sheedy was outcoached and the first time you could see the desperation in the Bomber players early in a game. I belive this is because it was the first time the players actually felt challenged this season.

I know they have been pushed to half or even 3/4 time by Carlton, Melbourne, Sydney and Adelaide this season but this was the first time they actually looked rattled.

Given that perspective perhaps the undisciplined acts are a result of the pressure other teams feel they are under most weeks. Perhaps they cant handle the pressure when the self belief is shaken. I think that even though the Carlton game was tough and tight, the players always believed they had the game under control and would win in the end. This was not evident after the first quarter of this game.

Is it a bit coincidental Dan that Johnson was easily the best player in the first half and Barnes had only recently come off the bench before their clash occured? Maybe under instruction

Servo,

Thanks. It's interesting when people talk about pressure. One could argue that the Bulldogs weren't under any pressure, while all the pressure was on the Bombers.

So, how can people say "Essendon didn't perform under pressure", when the opposition weren't under any (due to the 'backs to the wall' scenario)

Just because Fletcher kicks straight to a Bulldogs player doesn't mean that the other Bomber players would have done the same thing. When a mistake is made, it is made by an individual, so to blame the whole team (most of whom would not have made that mistake) is not correct in my opinion.

There was also the small matter that if Lloyd marked the ball in the last 30 seconds and kicked the goal, everyone would be saying "Essendon won a close one under pressure".

You also bring up a good point about our injuries, how they have all compounded in one game.

Now I don't want to harp on it, because I know you hate it, but what if injuries stop Essendon (who are clearly the best team i.e best attack, best defence statistically) from winning the flag. That wont be fair will it ? It will mean a 21-1 record won't mean anything, so what was the point winning all those games ? Shouldn't they count towards something (i.e winning the H&A premiership)

The Finals series can come down to luck, and who has the best injury run. So, for the AFL to competely ignore the H&A season is ridiculously unfair. It rewards excellence over a short peiod of time (i.e over the 4 weeks finals series), instead of over the whole 6 month seaosn, and is a great example of how the AFL have got it wrong.

So, sorry to bring it up, but you brought up a good point. Hope you beat the Power this week. Their supporters belong in the gutter. 15th on the ladder is all they deserve to be.

I love it how the Bulldogs have failed when it counts in their recent seasons of rejuvenation under Wallace. Hopefully that will happen again. I believe the Bulldogs are a team which bases its approach to the game on negativity – not usually tactically, but mentally and motivationally.

I am fairly sure they are inspired by hate and a desire to upset their opponents, rather than use positive energy to focus on playing as well as they can. While they continue to do this, which should be as long as Wallace is coaching, I am hoping fate will continue to deny them – you don’t deserve ultimate success using an antagonistic, aggressive and basically negative mindset.

People may not agree with this, but that’s how I feel about the Bulldogs. I believe Wallace presents a façade to the media and public which is nothing at all like how he actually coaches. It is all a PR exercise.

Sure, I found myself urging the Dogs on in Friday’s match when they were down, but that’s natural because they were underdogs and I wanted to see Essendon tested. The Bombers take a postive approach of wanting to do it for their own sake, rather than a desire to make others fail. May the Bulldogs continue to fail in finals.

What is the crap about "positive energy", jeez , Neil from the young ones has entered the chat room, "your giving me bad vibes maaan"
Quite frankly I could't give a toss what you think of Footscrays' tactics, may they continue to be angry nasty blokes who bully , intimidate and frustrate, sometimes it will work sometimes it will not, but I hope they never die wondering.
Don't give me the puritanical bullshit, that they play outside the limits of the spirit of the game.
It seems for some that they don't mind you as long as you don't start getting to competitive. It's far better to be despised than pittied

You're a WINNER WOOF!
It's great to see bomber filth whingeing, taking the loss quite well aresholes. The 'Dogs have knocked off bomber filth & carlton scum, watch out losers, we're coming to get you.
As for Mr negative energy, get back into your VW dickhead. What the f*** was Barnes doing to Johnno? That was real positive!
Lloyd got cleaned up by Croft all night & was never going to take that last mark, 3 goals in 2 weeks, what a choker.
Lucas IS the most over rated player in the games history - one sided & soft. It was sensational to see Libba bring him to ground.
Keep the whinge factor up bomber losers & happy 21st you pricks!

Woof,

Terry Wallace has built on Eade's ( and Walls ) ideas and has created a dilema for the so called super coaches - how do you coach around the idea of a perminant zone defence on match day ?

This sort of game plan requires discipline and concentration, plus a huge belief in your team mates - that they will help you out when the player you normally would be playing on is cutting loose. How do you get around this ? Both Parkin and Sheedy failed to counter this - no surprise that was going to happen.

Wallace shows that he really knows his players and they respond - the work of Scott West and Wynd in the last quarter was superb, and the many roles that Chris Grant was required to play, including both match saver AND match winner, shows the coach has HUGE faith in him.

The big one is - what about using this tactic on the MCG ( bigger grounds ) ? The guy who threatened to cut up the Dogs was Long swerving thru' the lines and producing some lateral moves.

Anyway, all good stuff and I can't see how DAN24 still reckons Sheedy's the best match day coach. Wallace is on top at present ( and added a few zeros to his contract ) but his challanges will come. And Hird is still to return.

Well done Dogs.

All you Bullies fans & others who are Bomber haters, so we lost 1 game, big deal.
Wait until the finals then we'll see who is the best team & I bet we don't hear a peep out of you when we win.
PS Barnesy will only get 1 week if anything & Lloyd 0.

------------------
Mantis

LOL, looks like Western do have some supporters after all. I'm not an Essendon fan. I just dislike the Dogs.

Terry Wallace is a good coach, insofar as he gets results from his players and has devised effective strategies, which I suppose is all you can ask of a coach. However, I believe he will never win a premiership, if he uses the style I suspect he does.

Obviously I wasn't speaking from fact, but rather outlining things I believe, which left me open to criticism. That was the kind of classy response one would expect from Bulldog fans.

Excellent Game to watch - to see grant kick that goal at the end and to see the joy and excitement on the doggies faces was quite 'speeeeecial'

On the Saturday morning radio show they have in Perth with Basil, Dennis and Brad Hardie - they were discussing if the tactics of flooding the backline was quite fair and should the AFL consider having a limit on players in their zones - personally I'm dead against this idea - it would be too much like soccer and players being 'offside'

I think Barnes will get a week or two, but Lloyd will get off - I didnt see anything in his incident . . . and well done to Brad Johnson for his after the game 'sucked in' speech to John Barnes

If a team floods only their 50m arc only (as compared to defensive half) why wouldn't the Opposing team put their best two long kicks outside 50 and pass directly to them 'up the guts' so to speak

Especially at colonial.The likelihood of scoring from 50 out, dead in front is much higher than anywhere else, or in the pockets at colonial for that matter.

If the Doggies try something similar against the Hawks it might be interesting because they have been totally dominant inside 50 (both ends) for 2 weeks now

Incidentally Doggies and Hawks have drawn twice in the last few years - how would that look in the finals ? - I THINK HAWTHORN NEED TO WIN

Oh poor little Daniel, offended by the replies from those aggressive Bulldog fans. Now Daniel, go to mummy & have a good cry! If you can't handle the replies, why post your crap in the first place?
You're just a typical soft, front running South Australian, that can't handle the close attention - in the mould of Simon Tragenza.

LOL, the fact that I'm still laughing at you should give you an indication of just how offended I am. Geez, you really hurt my feelings, man. Heheh.

To take the spirit of you last post, you must be a typical arrogant, bigoted Victorian with no class whatsoever, and who would rather resort to half-arsed insults than an intelligent post - analogous to many Bulldogs players.

May all your preliminary finals be 2-point losses. *choke, choke*

Dan24, you made some sound points in your reply to Woof. One thing I think your wrong on though is the flooding and having 3 blokes unmarked in defence and then conceding in the middle. As Blight said on Talking Footy last night why not try this.

MAN UP! Very simple really. Would reduce scoring overall but if the oppostition has 90% of their players in your forward line, surely you side is more favoured to score. How come (not just Sheedy) no coaches in the league are trying it?

that last bit was more a rhetorical question than anything
smile.gif

Pess, Thommo six again this week? whadda ya reckon? Just so long as the Hawks focus on this match and leave whatever comes after it until its due time comes.

Is that your best shot guys? How predictable & pathetic!! I could trade insults all day if you like, but I think that would be a waste of "positive energy."
Lets face facts, the Bulldogs aren't the first team to use "flooding tactics" as its been called & will not be the last. Talk of banning flooding is crap. It's now time for coaches to plan against it. The game evolves by new tactics being introduced & then counter tactics used to beat them. The Bulldogs have played that syle of game game twice this year, 2 out of 21 matches, hardly cause for concern. Is the only reason these tactics have been highlighted in the media because the popular Essendon & Carlton were defeated by that style of play?

[This message has been edited by Red Devil (edited 01 August 2000).]

What a pisser the herald boys from "It's seven o'clock lights out" town think they can upset doggies fans, don't even try we've been brought up hearing the best of them long before Victorians even knew there was a dinky little place called Adelaide.
As of this weekend you can go back to your boring little existence, secure in the thought that no-one over here will give a toss if that insignificant littler shithole slides into the ocean.

Grendel

you dont go man on man exactly because of what happened on Friday night. More players= crowded=harder to get the pill, and if the other side gets it out quick then can run it down the ground into an open forward line.
In my mind it's better to leave you blokes in the other sides forward line so that when they bring it down they are faced with the same problem they are providing up your end.

Please. Just leave us to lap it up while we can. We have just enjoyed one of our greatest ever wins, and yet, everyone just wants to continue to attack us.
You got beaten- once- get over it!!

Dan24, that argument about running the ball out just doesnt wash. If you are on your man surely you should be able to pressure them enough that clear take outs are not possible. Also if they run free they have to bounce the ball while doing so, this slows everyone down so that you should be able to tackle.
Are we heading for a form of soccer where its just bring it down one side then take it back up the other? If you were to man up then the pressure is surely put back onto the oppositition to be accountable for wherever you take possesion of the ball.
I just would at least like to see it tried instead of this game of rounder rounder park we seem to be devloping at the moment.

Christ, Red Devil, I never even criticised their flooding tactics. I agree with you on that and have stated that belief before. Let's let the game evolve and see who devises a strategy to overcome flooding before making changes that will have a large and unnecessary impact on the game. Flooding the way the Bulldogs used it is obviously a desperation tactic, but that kind of thing is required against the best team.

As for the other stuff, forget it. You weighed in with some typical insults and I replied in kind. It's stupid to make enemies on message boards. Same goes for you, Woof. I'll ignore your last post.

Sheedy outcoached