Sheedy ... Would you or wouldn`t you ?

• Thread starter Thread starter IDGAF

When you compare Essendon & Richmond, they are streets apart.

The main difference has been their admin over a long period of time. Peter Jackson is probably the best footy ceo in the land. Essendon is a rich club under his admin.

Richmond has been getting their house in order under Wright.

Essendon's senior players in Hird, Lloyd, Fletcher, Lucas are superior to Richmond's. That is what's getting them over the line in close games. Their young players are not that crash hot.

Hawthorn has done an outstanding job in recruiting. The chief of recruiting is Chris Pelchin who is a real pro. The list he has put together is impressive and they should be a powerhouse soon.

like it or not Sheedy still has a deep affection for tigerland.
It will be intersting to see if we make a play for him in a consutancy director of footy role next year when he gets the chop for essendon this year, not sure how wallace will react to it all...X factor

no way let him fester at windy hill with all of his chardonay set every time sheedy has come out of contract he uses us to get more money he always says oneday he would love to come back to punt rd absolute crap he has no interest in us at all . And remember his famous qoute when he coached his 416th game against us in 98 and he broke dicky reynolds coaching record at essendon and i qoute ' hopefully now people will realise that i am an essendon person and always will be " end of qoute stuff sheedy dont let him any wher near us . he won two premierships in his first 5 years . and two in his next 16 years . he inherited a fantastic list at windy hill when he took over and the players they were able to get from there fantastic zones meant he was given the first two premierships remember 99 what happened between 85 and 93 they should have won another 2 premierships in that time lets hope the bpmbers make the 8 this year so sheeds will get another contract there and leave us alone

Well said.

Did anyone else hear him on the ABC on sat afternoon ?

He was asked that after all he had done in football what else was ther that he wanted to do for the game. two things he said. 1) Spread the game internationally. 2) Return Richmond to a great team once again. !!!!!!!

Now lets see - does his contract expire this year? :rolleyes:

When you compare Essendon & Richmond, they are streets apart.

The main difference has been their admin over a long period of time. Peter Jackson is probably the best footy ceo in the land. Essendon is a rich club under his admin.

Richmond has been getting their house in order under Wright.

Essendon's senior players in Hird, Lloyd, Fletcher, Lucas are superior to Richmond's. That is what's getting them over the line in close games. Their young players are not that crash hot.

Hawthorn has done an outstanding job in recruiting. The chief of recruiting is Chris Pelchin who is a real pro. The list he has put together is impressive and they should be a powerhouse soon.

I think we have to give Wallace the full 5 years. We've made our bed, now we have to lie in it. Let's see what happens by 2009 and make decisions then.

I am sure that when Wallace came we were all excited and hopeful. I still wonder where we would be if Brown hadn't broken his leg in 2005 when we were 7-2 and flying. Maybe it is bad karma with Brown and Wallace.

We have tried to lure Sheedy on countless times in the past, but he has never come over. He is loyal to Essendon. He wants to break Jock McCale's coaching record at 1 team.

Sometimes you wonder where we would have been if he had been hired as coach for Richmond in the early '80's. Maybe the greatest club of all.

That's footy & that's life.

A couple of great posts, Terry. I especially concur about Essendon deriving their wins from the experience of their senior elite players - it's just so obvious that its the will of those old blokes getting them over the line. We just need time to develop those kind of kids into our own leaders, as our current crop of senior players (Richo, Bowden, Kane etc), as much as I love them as Tigers, have never had the capacity to win such games for us.

Nobody that is now at the club, with the exception of Nathan Brown who has made a habit of it, has ever put their hand up when the game is up for grabs and almost singlehandedly willed us over the line. Despite countless opportunities to do so.

Well said.

Did anyone else hear him on the ABC on sat afternoon ?

He was asked that after all he had done in football what else was ther that he wanted to do for the game. two things he said. 1) Spread the game internationally. 2) Return Richmond to a great team once again. !!!!!!!

What?! You're kidding peejay? That is just shameful.

The disturbing thing is that that the mentality of many Tiger supporters will allow them to be lured into this, and allow Sheedy's time-honored strategy to gather momentum. Just like every time we used to lose a game in the 90's some would want Tom Hafey brought out of retirement.

Thankfully the feud between Miller and Sheedy should nip it in the bud though.

I said earlier that one of Ploughs saving graces is that he has precious little to work with when it comes to "decent" experience leading the way ... i do acknowledge that that is our achilles heal ...

But you cannot deny KS`s ability to get a flagging team "UP" ... from one generation to the next ... this current Essendon resurgence may peter out ... but history would argue against it .

Fair comment IDGAF, but to my mind Sheedy is merely finally winning the games they dropped last season...for exactly the same reason we're dropping games this season - irreplaceable senior players out.

IMO Wallace pulled an average list up by its bootstraps to be competitive two years running, now injuries have crippled his ability to do so.

Add Knobel, Simmonds, Brown, Coughlan and Hall, you basically win most of the close games we've lost and turn at the half way mark as we have the past two years - competitive, but this season with 8-12 gradually improving juniors - many of them players so raw and inexperienced that no other side is forced to play yet.

Frawley was pretty good at getting an average side UP - took us to a preliminary final doing it. 'C'mon boys, give it a fair dinkum effort and play for your mates' style coaches are a dime a dozen IMO...Wallace has proven his ability to motivate in that way when he has a few genuinely good senior players available.

With a list largely propped up by ageing stars, that's all Sheedy has left.

In the meantime Wallace has been able to be more competitive than Essendon during his tenure, plus build depth and a long term future from virtually nothing.

Essendon will have to steal players from elsewhere to be vaguely competitive post Lucas/Hird/Fletcher/Lloyd. Given their recent record, they'll top up with overpaid Michael's and Camporeale's, and make 3 finals series out of the next 10 with no real chance of winning, while we make 7-8 and give the flag a genuine crack.

I wouldn't trade places with an Essendon supporter in a million years. Let them enjoy fleeting, pointless 'glory' - we're far closer to getting the glory that counts.

What?! You're kidding peejay? That is just shameful.

The disturbing thing is that that the mentality of many Tiger supporters will allow them to be lured into this, and allow Sheedy's time-honored strategy to gather momentum. Just like every time we used to lose a game in the 90's some would want Tom Hafey brought out of retirement.

Thankfully the feud between Miller and Sheedy should nip it in the bud though.

Unfortunately not - that is what he said word for word.

Went on to say that he is not saying wallace is doing a bad job, it's just that he hopes that Richmond deserve to be a great Victorian club again.

It was sickening.

i want terry as coach, sheedy is good but no.

terry hasn't had alot to work with but is building something give him time.

Unfortunately not - that is what he said word for word.

Went on to say that he is not saying wallace is doing a bad job, it's just that he hopes that Richmond deserve to be a great Victorian club again.

It was sickening.

interesting isnt it. he had his chance to come to us (more than once) and make it happen. why kevin, did you not do that if you do love the rfc as you claim to do?

Allan Jeans was a better coach at the Hawks than Sheedy has been at the Bombers.

How well did that work for us?

What guarantees are there that Sheedy can do at Tigerland any good, or anything better than jeans?

Sheedy only wants to come to Richmond if the bombers dont extend his contract. 2nd best again. How many times can we be Charlie Brown to have Lucy move the ball just as we're about to kick it?

If anything, football is a lucky game. Had we beaten them as we should have, we'd be saying something very different this week about Kevin Seedy.

If we had Hird and Lloyd, we wouldnt be winless for the year. The fact we dont have a Hird or Lloyd falls at the feet of Greg Miller, and his predeseccors, not Terry Wallace.

Yep, Sheedy gets the best out of his list, yes he is a great motivator, but he is also divisive. There are as many people ready to stab him in the back at Punt Rd as there are thinking he is our saviour.

If we had Hird and Lloyd, we wouldnt be winless for the year.

Yep, and in keeping with the same fact, without those two, Essendon would be in a much different position themselves. They probably would have coughed up the previous three matches, and their ratio would look completely different to what it does now.

:)Was drinking at a pub in Essendon on Monday arvo, watching the Dees and Pies. Some guy straddles up alongside me at my table and grabs a stool and sits down. He turns around to say g'day and it was Sheeds!!!
Remarkable moment for myself. Told him it was time to come back to Tigerland.
He was genuinely surprised that he had been away from our great club for 27 years, but could tell he still had a soft spot for us.
Remarkable record he has. Four premierships as coach, runners-up twice, missed two other grand finals by a solitary point and has missed the finals only a handful of times in that period.
In that same time, we've had one grand final appearance and played finals on only two other occasions.
Top bloke!!!

:)Was drinking at a pub in Essendon on Monday arvo, watching the Dees and Pies. Some guy straddles up alongside me at my table and grabs a stool and sits down. He turns around to say g'day and it was Sheeds!!!
Remarkable moment for myself. Told him it was time to come back to Tigerland.
He was genuinely surprised that he had been away from our great club for 27 years, but could tell he still had a soft spot for us.
Remarkable record he has. Four premierships as coach, runners-up twice, missed two other grand finals by a solitary point and has missed the finals only a handful of times in that period.
In that same time, we've had one grand final appearance and played finals on only two other occasions.
Top bloke!!!

Dont depend on Sheeds, he is Essendon now and I would be surprised if he returns. He has many opportunities to return and he has not. We need to support Terry, through the toughest time of our history and not bring up the past.

Sheeds was my favourite player in the era he played - not my favourite of all time, but he was up there - was a dirty little mongrel, the type of player I loved.

But when he used our club to get his contract with the Bombers, not once, but a couple of times, he lost me. He put the carrot in front of our eyes and got our hopes up, but it was just a ploy to get to where he really wanted to be at - the Bombers.

Screw him!

Wallace has the worst list going and it won't improve much until all the problem areas are addressed - ppl might be sick of hearing it, but them's the facts. We knew what we had to do - get a new crop of kids coming through. Unfortunately, we had more duds on our list that needed replacing than we had coming in. FACT!

We also had the mentality that we had to win games, which we did, and consequently we came 9th last year and whatever the year before. How many of us cried out we should not tank. Well, you cannot get the decent picks coming 9th, and having nothing on our list to trade for picks, well you see the dilemma - no, half of you probably wouldn't see it :rolleyes:

Doesn't matter how good a coach you are, you're not going to win games with the players we've got AT THE MOMENT. Pagan's a good coach, a ****ed up list like he had at the Blues a couple of years ago didn't help his reputation. But they're starting to show they're coming good now. Ours is just as bad, with a lot of youth and mediocre seniors and nothing in between. How can you win games with that? Never ceases to amaze me the constant criticism we have for our players, yet you expect us to win with them lol. Something really screwy there in that logic :confused:

Can't see Sheeds or any other coach winning many more games with the players we've had available this year. And you have to wonder how many we would have won if we had a Simmo or Browny. I reckon we would have won at least 4 games with them. The fact we've been competitive in all bar one game actually amazes me that Wallace has got that out of them.

The gods have not been very nice to us this year. They've been very nice to the Bombers in games that could have gone either way like ours. I don't think it's great coaching by Sheeds but pure luck, just as we have been unlucky. I'm pretty confident they won't make the finals 'cos I think they're just as crap as we are at the moment. Take out their match winners, like a Hird or Lucas, like a Browny and Simmo for us, you'd see pretty similar results - they'd be losing too.

Wallace is doing everything we asked him to do - turn over that list with new players. Unfortunately, when you get new kids, they don't have 50 to 100 games experience. We also don't have the resources to develop them the same as other clubs - hardly Wallace's fault.

If they turf Wallace for Sheeds next season, they'll be minus one member. If they let Wallace run his contract and there are no signs that we're on the right track at the end, I will probably say bye-bye to him. But it's just incredibly unfair on anyone in his position to expect anything more than what he is doing.

And that doesn't mean Wallace shouldn't be scrutinised for his recruiting, game day tactics etc, but you really have to factor in extraneous circumstances, like what players he had available etc - having no ruck division for a year would be something I'd take into consideration :rolleyes:

PS: Have a look at Sheeds' recruiting record from the 2001-2002 season I think - only one player from those years is still with the Bombers - Peverill. You knock our recruiting, that's a disgrace. You want the same, get Sheeds :thumbsd:
Good post Froars .

This thread was put together on the back of much chiacking from my bomber mates and plenty of cabsav v`s JD .

For the best part of the last 5 years i have been in complete agreeance with your sentiments visa v KS .... and in the cold hard light of day when you have senior players the calibre of Hird/Lloyd/Lucas/Fletcher/Johnson etc up and about then you are a big chance in any game you go around in ....

I JUST WANT THE F..KING FOOTY GODS TO SMILE ON US FOR ONCE IN OUR MISEABLE F..KING LIVES .... FFS ......... WE AINT GETTING ANY F..KING YOUNGER .

Will say though , the notion of KS putting his scone back into punt rd. would not come with a short term mindset to get more out of our list than TW may be able too ... it`s about the long term restoration of our culture and our identity .

I do believe to a certain degree we have forgotten what makes our club tick .

When we were successful, we were a ferociously, fearless, cohesive unit that treated any opposition side, media, anyone who got in our path with contempt. That's the Richmond I'd like to see again.

We still have those traits, but we've turned those behaviours back on ourselves, kniving those within, sacking coaches left right and centre at the whim of extremely weak supporters and administrations who can't handle the heat and we've become the club we are today.

Wallace was willing to take on a club with 25 years abysmal history, the best and worst supporters going, a club with no resources, with an ageing group and the rest were tryhards, but hacks all the same in the footy pedigree stakes. He tried to make us competitive in a system that rewards failure. Didn't work.

Little glimpses of what I saw last week makes me keep the faith that what he's doing is the right thing for us. Hopefully, it won't take my lifetime, but the way we've gone in the past, it will never happen in my lifetime.

Wallace is not a fool like a Frawley, and even though I'm not crazy about him personally with his oily slick style, I can't knock what he's doing at the club and deserves the next two years to carry out what he's put into fruition.

I would hate to see anyone, whether it's a Sheedy or whoever, come in on the back of him cleaning out that list and taking credit for someone else's work. He deserves support for taking on the hardest gig in the footy world IMO.

PS ID: Your Bomber mates are going to be suffering the same as we have in the next couple of years when their stars in Hird, Lucas, Lloyd retire. You cannot replace that experience easily. I think Sheeds went to the Frawley school of planning for the future - ie, he hasn't - and it will hit them hard, just like it's hit us hard. Well, I'm hoping it does lol.

Stuff Sheedy...
Where was he when we were getting smacked from 82 onwards...
He was wallowing in the place he actually thought he played for.

While Sheedy thought he was born and played for the Bummers,
his old mum lived and breathed the Tiges for as long as she lived.

At any time in the past when we had shite coaches, Sheedy could have
walked into our club and coached IMMEDIATELY.

Except, he left us to out to dry and hopefully for him, for us to shrivel away.
He basked in the praise of past Bummer greats. He wallowed in their Hall of Fame.

I hope that b*****d NEVER, NEVER, EVER has any CONTROLLING part in the Richmond Football Club.

This is OUR club, and that guy dogged us, and contributed to us having those horror decades.

Mates help mates, and I'm sure anyone here would give their right kidney to see us a power again......but not K.Sheedy!!

F@#k him.

:thumbsd:

When we were successful, we were a ferociously, fearless, cohesive unit that treated any opposition side, media, anyone who got in our path with contempt. That's the Richmond I'd like to see again.

We still have those traits, but we've turned those behaviours back on ourselves, kniving those within, sacking coaches left right and centre at the whim of extremely weak supporters and administrations who can't handle the heat and we've become the club we are today.

Wallace was willing to take on a club with 25 years abysmal history, the best and worst supporters going, a club with no resources, with an ageing group and the rest were tryhards, but hacks all the same in the footy pedigree stakes. He tried to make us competitive in a system that rewards failure. Didn't work.

Little glimpses of what I saw last week makes me keep the faith that what he's doing is the right thing for us. Hopefully, it won't take my lifetime, but the way we've gone in the past, it will never happen in my lifetime.

Wallace is not a fool like a Frawley, and even though I'm not crazy about him personally with his oily slick style, I can't knock what he's doing at the club and deserves the next two years to carry out what he's put into fruition.

I would hate to see anyone, whether it's a Sheedy or whoever, come in on the back of him cleaning out that list and taking credit for someone else's work. He deserves support for taking on the hardest gig in the footy world IMO.

PS ID: Your Bomber mates are going to be suffering the same as we have in the next couple of years when their stars in Hird, Lucas, Lloyd retire. You cannot replace that experience easily. I think Sheeds went to the Frawley school of planning for the future - ie, he hasn't - and it will hit them hard, just like it's hit us hard. Well, I'm hoping it does lol.

Got a tired neck from nodding while reading that entire post froars.

Never! Great coach, but would never want to see him at tigerland, nor would he come IMO.

Emailed my Bummer mate yesterday just so I could let him know the umpires won another game for them (even though there were 10 frees in the last 10 minutes that were for both sides 'questionable'-and just the fact the Bummers were right there winning the game was impressive!!).

But then I felt it was all the older guys STILL doing the job for them...and sure enough if you watched the game, it really was their 28-34 (especially the 34 year old) that not only kept them in it, but got them over the line with that 'desperation', not their youth. Although he is holding back a fair few players in the 2's that 'may' come on when all their geriatrics finally give it away.

you are wrong their mate, yes our older players were playing well but are you forgetting players like winderlick who arguably had as bigger impact on the game as hird did (watch the game, a lot of people agree he was up near hird for that game), watson won many important clearences, david hille was the person who got us back in the game by dominating cox in the second half... there were many young players who contributed as much or more then the older players your just seeing what you want to see

Next stop the retirement home Kevin, hes too old and hes ideas are from the stone age. Terry has a job to do and I don't want some old fart hanging around the Richmond Tigers Football Club. I think Terry has to has a massive job ahead of him. If it takes five more years so be it and let the board be 100% behind Terry. Also find the best recruiting manager to find the best players and thats the win for Richmond :)

It'd be a shame to see him leave Windy Hill and i think deep down he wont.
He's been a great player and coach for a very long period of time and i rate him as the best coach ever to coach the game.
BF Richmond supporters would be kidding themselves if they said they didn't want Sheedy, look at what he's done for Essendon and football in general, a hell of a lot more than TW has.

Good luck against Melbourne in a couple of weeks guys, i truly hope you get a win.:thumbsu:

It'd be a shame to see him leave Windy Hill and i think deep down he wont.
He's been a great player and coach for a very long period of time and i rate him as the best coach ever to coach the game.
BF Richmond supporters would be kidding themselves if they said they didn't want Sheedy, look at what he's done for Essendon and football in general, a hell of a lot more than TW has.

Good luck against Melbourne in a couple of weeks guys, i truly hope you get a win.:thumbsu:

10 years ago we would all have loved/wished to have sheedy come back and coach us, not any more, at least 2.5 more years with wallace if hopefully we(the kids) show improvement and some light at the end of the tunnel he will be here 3-5 years after that

good post:thumbsu: