Should all ground dimensions be the same?

Should be the same for sure, doesn't matter what other sports do.

Having said that they should all be the same as the MCG.

Having said that, it will never happen.

It would be easier if all games were played at the 1 ground, rather than expecting all venues to be same dimensions. Thankfully, that’s already the case with the Grand Final.

lol, how would you suggest Geelong could have matched the dimensions of the MCG? Did you put any thought into your post at all?

Perth was different to the rest you've mentioned for the simple fact that it was built from scratch. All of the others you've mentioned have other structures and restrictions to consider and in Geelong's case a major city road in Moorabool Street. On the other side of the ground they have Kardinia Swimming pool, St Mary's footy ground and Latrobe Terrace hemming them in.
Knock a few rows of seats out along the wings. It is possible but not practical.

Obviously we play our ground well, and it helps training on it every day (virtually). Not sure many other clubs get that luxury? But the reason we aren't winning finals isn't because we cant play the MCG- we've lost finals at Adelaide Oval, GMHBA etc. The issue is we haven't been good enough. Nothing more, nothing less.

Thats right. Its not that hard to comprehend, yet the op has been whinging (he even had to take a break from bigfooty as he was getting so worked up over Richmond and the g.) about this crap full time, since they lost to Richmond at the G. Usually a bay poster, but getting nowhere there has forced him here to try and garner some votes. Sad really, as he used to be an alright poster until this. Its really hit him hard. Almost feel sorry for the little fella. :cool:

All's good and fair in the world when winning flags from 2007-11, owned the MCG, but lose to their bunnies after 11 years of dominating them and suddenly it's, "wa wa wa, its not fair, wa wa wa." The sad thing is, Geelong wouldn't even be playing finals without the huge advantage cheat park gives them.

Knock a few rows of seats out along the wings. It is possible but not practical.

Thats right. Its not that hard to comprehend, yet the op has been whinging (he even had to take a break from bigfooty as he was getting so worked up over Richmond and the g.) about this crap full time, since they lost to Richmond at the G. Usually a bay poster, but getting nowhere there has forced him here to try and garner some votes. Sad really, as he used to be an alright poster until this. Its really hit him hard. Almost feel sorry for the little fella. :cool:

All's good and fair in the world when winning flags from 2007-11, owned the MCG, but lose to their bunnies after 11 years of dominating them and suddenly it's, "wa wa wa, its not fair, wa wa wa." The sad thing is, Geelong wouldn't even be playing finals without the huge advantage cheat park gives them.

Agree with everything except the last sentence. We would have beaten most of the teams we played at GMHBA at the MCG regardless. Our team is and has been good, but not good enough when it counted.

In regards to 'cheat park' the club has done a fantastic job to redevelop the stadium and allow Geelong to be the only Victorian club to retain a true home ground advantage. They should be applauded.

Anything is possible but it's not practical, so why even mention it. If they were allowed to build a grandstand over the top of Moorabool St with traffic driving through a tunnel under it them we may have something to talk about.

Depending on where you get your figures from, Kardinia is anywhere from 25 to 30 metres narrower than the MCG if we're going to use that as the standard for the optimal width of a ground.

The whole competition is compromised. GF not a neutral venue (can be home ground of teams), fixturing isn't fair, teams are forced to not play at their home grounds for money, teams sell home games, some teams have academies. Why bother making the grounds the same....

WA had their chance. A brand new stadium built from scratch, no a redeveloped one, so what do they do? They make the playing surface longer and narrower than the MCG.:rolleyes:

It was the perfect opportunity to get an advantage over all of the other non-Victorian teams and even over quite a few Victorian clubs that don't play at the MCG a whole lot outside of finals.

They blew it.

Haven't you heard? It's a golden era for football and all teams are all going to get more time on the MCG. I'm pretty sure Eddie has booked it for his next family picnic.

if all grounds same, then what would non melb flogs sook about?
cant do it for the sake of the tissue industry

The AFL is the only football code to play on different sized grounds. Look at all the main football codes - Soccer, Rugby League, NFL etc. They all play on an identical sized ground.

Is it time the AFL got with the times and followed suit? Game plans are being developed more and more that revolve around the size of the ground and it is getting a bit ridiculous.

This is specifically the case and creates an advantage for MCG tenants, who have the luxury of developing a game plan suited to the size of the MCG, knowing full well the Grand Final will be played there.

I am proposing that every ground used for AFL have the same dimensions. This will only be possible by making every ground as skinny as Kardinia Park and every ground as short as the SCG.

I think this is the fairest solution.
Soccer doesn’t, and where will you guys play your home games in that scenario or are you suggesting all grounds be of kardinia park dimensions?

soccer fields vary markedly in length and width. rugby (union) also varies. there is a maximum length and width stipulated, but not a minimum.
Don’t let the truth get in the way of the op:cool::D

should all ground dimensions the same meat pies?

The AFL is the only football code to play on different sized grounds. Look at all the main football codes - Soccer, Rugby League, NFL etc. They all play on an identical sized ground.

Is it time the AFL got with the times and followed suit? Game plans are being developed more and more that revolve around the size of the ground and it is getting a bit ridiculous.

This is specifically the case and creates an advantage for MCG tenants, who have the luxury of developing a game plan suited to the size of the MCG, knowing full well the Grand Final will be played there.

I am proposing that every ground used for AFL have the same dimensions. This will only be possible by making every ground as skinny as Kardinia Park and every ground as short as the SCG.

I think this is the fairest solution.
No cos there is no right size. To be the best you need to be good at all types of fields. Just like in tennis, golf and cricket.