Should Tarrant be traded?

Hahn, remember bandy was for free....., okay no then, 2nd rounder and power/murphy.

Tough inside midfielder, a player with fast leg speed and good kicking skills and pick 24.

Here's a stock market tip, you buy low and sell high. I'm not interested in these ridiculous trade scenarios and none of these Bulldog players are of interest. They can offer their second round pick for Whitnall now thats realistic. This is what our forward line will look like next year

HF Bucks Trav Tarrant
FF Didak Rocca Caracella

And that's not including Fraser and Rusling. If we can trade our early picks for a ready made midfielder who fits our needs fine, do it but trading our talented big bloke for a handful of magic beans isn't they way forward.

PS Didak changes on the ball.

DidaksLeftFoot said:
Let's take some time and remember a few things...

- Tarrant goes missing whenever Rocca isn't playing. One of the main reasons were were good in 2002-2003 was because the two of them hardly missed a game.

- There is nobody in our midfield who can deliver the ball to the guy's chest, apart from Buckley. Blokes like Rowe, Swan, Licuria, Holland and others, no matter how good or bad they are overall, are not the greatest disposals of the ball by foot. The delivery to Lloyd and Lucas last night was damaging.

- He's injured.

Give the guy a break.

agree with this synopsis....especially the delivery.
however the recent drop of 2nd efforts and off the ball work is concerning for the example he sets with such a inexperienced team

to be honest i'd give tarrant away for robert murphy and maybe another player or pick. i reckon he'd be tops in our mid. very classy

trade him for the right deal...hopefully they dont convince themselves they must trade him, then rush a deal and get screwed over by whichever club it may be, because they feel they will lose him for nothing

robert murphy would be very nice i reckon, but cant see Doggies letting him go

If WCE struggle in the finals this year, they may be pretty desperate to pick up a key forward.
I doubt tarrant would be willing to live in the west though.

Do you guys know if Tarrant is popular around the club?

Somethimes clubs take that into account when trading because of the effect on other players. Can come into play if a decision to trade or not is borderline.

A Pie supporter told me he was an insular type of bloke who doesnt socialise a hell of alot with the main playing group.

He also said that he hangs around blokes from another club a fair bit.

DidaksLeftFoot said:
Let's take some time and remember a few things...

- Tarrant goes missing whenever Rocca isn't playing. One of the main reasons were were good in 2002-2003 was because the two of them hardly missed a game.

- There is nobody in our midfield who can deliver the ball to the guy's chest, apart from Buckley. Blokes like Rowe, Swan, Licuria, Holland and others, no matter how good or bad they are overall, are not the greatest disposals of the ball by foot. The delivery to Lloyd and Lucas last night was damaging.

- He's injured.

Give the guy a break.

well put.

i personally think that taz will be fine. i wouldnt trade him at all. sure he has had a crap year, with form, injury, delivery, etc. but i think if he gets over this knee problem, he has a very good pre-season along with rocca's return next year, i would not be surprised if there is a thread on this board around may next year singing his praises. he is so highly strung that a few things go haywire and its all bad and gloomy. but, if and when those things are fixed come next season, i have faith in tarrant playing very well. taz is a star, 03 he was AA, 04 was injury, this year has been down to pre-season and injury. i will call, that taz will be back to his best next season. cmon taz..

It would have to be a good deal but anyone who wouldn't trade Tarrant for a very early pick or a top line midfielder is kidding themselves. The bloke has unquestionable talent but he has a small brain and he can't kick. He's taken 2 or 3 screamers in the last 3 or 4 years and he's kicked a few 5+ bags but not many. In 2003 he was very good but the fact of the matter is he was doing what our ruckman and midfield should have been able to do and unless they can we can't win a premiership anyway. His effort in the 2002 GF probably cost us a flag and his effort in the 29003 GF (along with a few others) cost us any credibility as a football side and an opponent.

Tarrant may be talented and when he is on he is impossible to match up on but it is all too infrequent and hardly ever when it is rarely needed.

I dont think taz should be traded why not have a line up like this,

B:Swan , Prestigiacomo, Clement
HB:Lonie, Wakelin, Maxwell
C:Rowe, Burns, Lockyer
HF:Taz, Pebbles(ROCCA),Caracella
F: C.Cloke, T.Cloke, Didak
FOL:Fraser,Buckley,Licuria
INT:Holland, Egan, Woewodin, Johnson

Swap Fraser and C.Cloke around in the ruck and T.Clokeand Pebbles swap at CHF anf FF depending on opponent. give me ur comments on that line up

jaffa39 said:

Swap Fraser and C.Cloke around in the ruck and T.Clokeand Pebbles swap at CHF anf FF depending on opponent. give me ur comments on that line up

For starters the name in bold will not feature in the black and white team after 2005. 2nd of all, when will people realise that lonie is not a half back flanker, he is the perfect offensive wingman. Thirdly, why do u want a 30+ yo in the centre, flanked by a 34 yo rover and a 28 yo ruck rover...

I think we should keep taz, and tell him to stop with the upper body building, then line up as follows.

B: Swan, Presti, Clement
HB: J.Clo, Wakes, BJ
C: Lonie, Lica, Taz
HF: Bucks, Pebbles, Cara
F: Burns, T.Clo, Fraser
Foll: Stretch / C.Clo, Dids, Race
INt: Egan, Holland, Tarks / C.Clo, Rusling

jaffa39 said:

It's sad how you can forget about Rhyce Shaw so easy. :(

Woey out for Shaw.
Holland on for Rowe.
Shaw on for Lonie.
Johnson on for Swan.

B: Ben Johnson - Simon Prestigiacomo - James Clement
HB: Rhyce Shaw - Shane Waklein - Nick Maxwell
C: Brodie Holland - Scott Burns - Tarkyn Lockyer
HF: Chris Tarrant - Travis Cloke - Blake Caracella
F: Alan Didak - Anthony Rocca - Josh Fraser
FOL: Cam Cloke - Nathan Buckley - Paul Licuria
INT: Ryan Lonie - Julian Rowe - Chris Egan/Sean Rusling - Dane Swan
EMG: Shane Woewodin - Jason Cloke (Sorry Jas) - Chris Egan/Sean Rusling

I don't think his mindset is right for footy lately, but this is a thing to work on rather than a reason to offload him cheap.

Herald Sun "Best 22" at the start of 2004:
B: Johnno - Wakes - JC
HB: Crab - Tex - Old King (Cole)
C: Rowe - Lica - Woeful
HF: Rogan - Pebbs - Carrots
F: Scotty - Taz - C2
R: Stretch - Bucks - Dutchie
INT: Lonie, Tarks, C1, Dids
EMERG: Magic, Rhyce, Presti

From that squad, we get:
IN: C3, 86, Ego, Swan, Ruz
OUT: Crab, Woeful, Stretch (Assuming Rogan is fully fit and playing well), Tex, Old King (Cole)

To give:
B: Johnno - Presti (no known replacement) - Swan
HB: JC - Wakes (to be replaced by 86) – Rhyce
C: Lonie – Lica – Rowe
HF: Taz – Pebbs – Carrots (to be replace by Ruz/Magic)
F: Scotty (to be replaced by Ego) – C3 – Dids
R: Rogan – Bucks (to be ‘replaced’ by Yakka in 2007) – Dutchie
INT: C2, Ego, Ruz, 86
EMERG: Magic, Tarks, C1

Possibly start 86 for Swan if the opposition have a taller forward line.

Madd Matt said:
Herald Sun "Best 22" at the start of 2004:
B: Johnno - Wakes - JC
HB: Crab - Tex - Old King (Cole)
C: Rowe - Lica - Woeful
HF: Rogan - Pebbs - Carrots
F: Scotty - Taz - C2
R: Stretch - Bucks - Dutchie
INT: Lonie, Tarks, C1, Dids
EMERG: Magic, Rhyce, Presti

From that squad, we get:
IN: C3, 86, Ego, Swan, Ruz
OUT: Crab, Woeful, Stretch (Assuming Rogan is fully fit and playing well), Tex, Old King (Cole)

To give:
B: Johnno - Presti (no known replacement) - Swan
HB: JC - Wakes (to be replaced by 86) – Rhyce
C: Lonie – Lica – Rowe
HF: Taz – Pebbs – Carrots (to be replace by Ruz/Magic)
F: Scotty (to be replaced by Ego) – C3 – Dids
R: Rogan – Bucks (to be ‘replaced’ by Yakka in 2007) – Dutchie
INT: C2, Ego, Ruz, 86
EMERG: Magic, Tarks, C1

Possibly start 86 for Swan if the opposition have a taller forward line.

geez mate, do u think u could be a bit more vague and obscure with nicknames?? i read this board pretty frequently most of those names are registering a big blank WTF!! 86???????????????????????????is that maxwell..?? :confused:

pocketrocket#24 said:
geez mate, do u think u could be a bit more vague and obscure with nicknames?? i read this board pretty frequently most of those names are registering a big blank WTF!! 86???????????????????????????is that maxwell..?? :confused:

Sorry! :o Nicknames:
Crab – Chad Morrison
Carrots – Blake Caracella
86 – Nick Maxwell (Smart)
Rogan – Josh Fraser
Stretch – Guy Richards
Ego – Chris Egan
Ruz – Sean Rusling
Tex – Tristan Walker
Magic – Leon Davis
C1, C2, C3 – Cloke brothers (Jason, Cameron, Travis)
Dutchie – Brodie Holland

Anyone else?

MarkT said:
It would have to be a good deal but anyone who wouldn't trade Tarrant for a very early pick or a top line midfielder is kidding themselves. The bloke has unquestionable talent but he has a small brain and he can't kick. He's taken 2 or 3 screamers in the last 3 or 4 years and he's kicked a few 5+ bags but not many. In 2003 he was very good but the fact of the matter is he was doing what our ruckman and midfield should have been able to do and unless they can we can't win a premiership anyway. His effort in the 2002 GF probably cost us a flag and his effort in the 29003 GF (along with a few others) cost us any credibility as a football side and an opponent.

Tarrant may be talented and when he is on he is impossible to match up on but it is all too infrequent and hardly ever when it is rarely needed.
MarkT, we've been waxing lyrical on the Bulldogs board about Tarrant. Personally, I'd entertain the idea of our first 2 picks for Tarrant. They would be around 7 and 23. You could pick up a quality midfielder with one and a project backman with the other, who will be groomed to replace Presti and Wakelin. If that is not enough, I would throw Eagleton in and we'll take Billy Morrison off your hands. Rusling is the potential to be a similar player to Tarrant, so you already have cover on your list for his loss. We need to address clear deficiencies on our list, and we need to do it in 2006.

Others on the board would give you Hahn and Eagleton. And 5th rounder for Morrison. I think Tarrant could be able to provide for the clubs future.

Not unless we get something good. We have supplied enougth players to other teams.

vinnie_vegas69 said:
I keep saying it. Chris Tarrant + First round pick for Ryan Griffen + Second round pick :cool:

You've got to be kidding.

I think it'd be more of a case of Tarrant + 1st round pick for Griffen.

Sedat! said:
MarkT, we've been waxing lyrical on the Bulldogs board about Tarrant. Personally, I'd entertain the idea of our first 2 picks for Tarrant. They would be around 7 and 23. You could pick up a quality midfielder with one and a project backman with the other, who will be groomed to replace Presti and Wakelin. If that is not enough, I would throw Eagleton in and we'll take Billy Morrison off your hands. Rusling is the potential to be a similar player to Tarrant, so you already have cover on your list for his loss. We need to address clear deficiencies on our list, and we need to do it in 2006.
I think this years draft makes that an ordinary deal. We need a top 3 pick to get the midfielder we need. Pick 7 & 23 and a quality young midfielder would be what I would consider or pick 7 and a gun midfielder. The reality is if you want a tall that can take marks you have to pay because there are bugger all around and few of them change clubs. Rawlings is a lesson. He was let go because he had a dodgy knee and he wanted a longer deal than his knee would make sensible. Look at what Jacobs went for. Look at the 2 Croad deals and the Thompson and Ottens deals this year.

Tarrant has serious talent. I am frustrated with him but unless we get what we really need we should keep him.

At the end of the day it is all an academic discussion. I would be absolutely amazed if Tarrant was traded. He is the marketing department’s number 1 man for the next decade for starters. The only way I could see him being traded would be if someone like Blight was appointed and given a mandate and he said not required.

MarkT said:
I think this years draft makes that an ordinary deal. We need a top 3 pick to get the midfielder we need. Pick 7 or 23 and a quality young midfielder would be what I would consider. The reality is if you want a tall that can take marks you have to pay because there are bugger all around and few of them change clubs. Rawlings is a lesson. He was let go because he had a dodgy knee and he wanted a longer deal than his knee would make sensible. Look at what Jacobs went for. Look at the 2 Croad deals and the Thompson and Ottens deals this year.

Tarrant has serious talent. I am frustrated with him but unless we get what we really need we should keep him.

At the end of the day it is all an academic discussion. I would be absolutely amazed if Tarrant was traded. He is the marketing department’s number 1 mane for the next decade for starters. The only way O could see him being traded would be if someone like Blight was appointed and given a mandate and he said not required.
I was going to respond to this bulldogs post
but MarkT has summed it up beautifully. And well done on being able to have a rational football discussion. This proposed deal would be a big step backward for us and a step forward for the Doggies. Now a deal of Taz and Cole for Murphy and Power the club I'm sure would seriously consider.

pieman1 said:
I was going to respond to this bulldogs post
but MarkT has summed it up beautifully. And well done on being able to have a rational football discussion. This proposed deal would be a big step backward for us and a step forward for the Doggies. Now a deal of Taz and Cole for Murphy and Power the club I'm sure would seriously consider.
I assume you mean Rob and not Brad. No thanks boys.

Fair enought that you don't think our first 2 picks are enought to get the deal through. In terms of quality of player and relative age, I would have thought picks 7 and 23 for Tarrant would be comprable to picks 12 and 16 (Ottens), picks 10 and 26 (Thompson) and picks 6 and 20 (N.Brown). What each of those 3 guys have achieved in their careers has been not too dissimilar to Tarrant. I do think that Tarrant has had a slightly better career than Ottens and Thompson, but they also have the added advantage of being ruck relief as well as KPP's, a string to their bow that Tarrant doesn't possess.

It would be a ballsy move by Collingwood to trade Tarrant, but I suspect that the marketing revenue he brings to the table will prevent any possible deal occurring. If you keep Tarrant, you will have a terrific forward line next season, but you may have missed the opportunity to bolster your midfield and also your key defensive posts. No point having all your guns up forward when the ball doesn't get down there.