Opinion Should the team ask for a Priority Pick 2025 edition.

Should the team ask for a Priority Pick 2025 edition.

Believing the AFL would look out for our best interests is naive.
I don't think that a single person on here has said this or believes this.

100% of people on here are convinced that the vAFL will screw us at any and every opportunity. And all evidence suggests that the 100% are correct.

So im at the pathology waiting on my bloods. Across the TV, "afl unlikely to offer assistance". Then some ****from the afl says: there are lots of things they can do: recruitment, talent, they have many levers.

F**** them. Im furious.

We are Fitzroy levels of shitness and they won’t give us a dime. We should be getting the North package as a starting point - the McKay compo pick leg up, and tradeable end of first picks etc.

We are a historically bad football club right now. Our case is as strong as anyone’s.

Do those vAFL luminaries Hird and Bartell rattling on about our money and size realise we can't use those resources to "get ourselves" our of the shit we are in? The fact that the soft cap imposed by their mates at vAFL headquarters to prop up failing clubs is a big part of why we are in the shit in the first place?

Welp, Swann, first day on the job and says nope basically.

"AFL footy boss Greg Swann wants West Coast to copy other re-building teams as priority pick calls fall flat"​

We should still put the application in though, make them say no.
That thickhead James Hird is talking out of his arse when he said that we are a rich and powerful club with resources and shouldn't get a priority pick.
What Hird has chosen to forget is that all 18 clubs have the same salary cap and soft salary cap, with huge penalties if exceeded.
The Eagles get the least divdend money of all 18 clubs, even f***ing Collingwood get about $5m more than us.

A part of me thinks to go back and say

"We want to use the assets at our disposal so we will request soft cap relief to improve our recruiting and coaching teams"

They will give us a prioriy pick so fast the heads will spin. The last thing they would want is us to flex our financial strength
As would I.

But the the VFL will f*** us over even harder. Multiple 5 day break games, more away games in tassie, **** time slots.

Umps: any call you can, go against WCE.

That thickhead James Hird is talking out of his arse when he said that we are a rich and powerful club with resources and shouldn't get a priority pick.
What Hird has chosen to forget is that all 18 clubs have the same salary cap and soft salary cap, with huge penalties if exceeded.
The Eagles get the least divdend money of all 18 clubs, even f***ing Collingwood get about $5m more than us.

And we (and Freo) send chunks of our profits to the WAFC.

So im at the pathology waiting on my bloods. Across the TV, "afl unlikely to offer assistance". Then some ****from the afl says: there are lots of things they can do: recruitment, talent, they have many levers.

F**** them. Im furious.

Yeah if we just recruit better players we will be a better team. Why has no one thought of this?

I genuinely don’t care if we get a PP.
Being screwed over the last 2/3 drafts with academies, and getting doughnuts should just reignite the core WC persona of F**k the east.
We are the juggernaut the AFL can’t control, have the best supporters, and don’t give care about hand outs. Our BSD arrogance needs to induce blue and gold tears from every Vic pundit going round.
We are eagles feasting on the ground before taking flight to soar above the rest once again.

Being screwed over the last 2/3 drafts with academies, and getting doughnuts should just reignite the core WC persona of F**k the east.
We are the juggernaut the AFL can’t control, have the best supporters, and don’t give care about hand outs. Our BSD arrogance needs to induce blue and gold tears from every Vic pundit going round.
We are eagles feasting on the ground before taking flight to soar above the rest once again.
Ok, and given that the future drafts are also going to screw us over with academies, and they have also changed the rules to implement the soft cap which means we can't actually use our financial strength, how do you plan on being the juggernaut again?

This is what I keep saying over and over - if a team finishes last yet only has pick 30 as the second pick, they deserve assistance because the draft is screwing them over.

If they wont fix the compromised draft with FS, AC, then lower teams should take all the legs up they can get.

How’s these campaigners! Four wins and they cop a pick 😀

The Lions finished second bottom in the past two seasons with three wins in 2016 and four wins in 2015, after finishing 15th in 2014.

They appointed new coach Chris Fagan on Tuesday after new director of football David Noble joined the club a week earlier.

Lions CEO Greg Swann said the club was pleased to receive a priority pick and was now focused on adding more talent to the playing list.

"In the past fortnight we have appointed a new senior coach in Chris Fagan and a new GM of footy in David Noble, and the announcement of a priority pick adds to the momentum building behind our new start as a club," said Swann.

The blueprint! Swanny has the blueprint to return to success!

We have been screwed with the explosion of the NGA/Academy's and some father sons in the last few years

1753164416230.png

2025 first pick of the second round will be 30+. It's at 30 based on the latest ESPN Mock, without considering any free agent compensation which will push it it back even further..

Not sure how you're supposed to get better, when the only way to generate extra first rounders is via trade (losing a good player), or letting free agents walk (losing a good player), or splitting, when give up one top talent for two lesser talents. We've done all three of those in a bid to improve. What more can we do?

"In the past fortnight we have appointed a new senior coach in Chris Fagan and a new GM of footy in David Noble, and the announcement of a priority pick adds to the momentum building behind our new start as a club," said Swann.

"We". I'm sure the AFL didn't help at all there...

2024 flag side:

Andrews, (late) academy
W Ashcroft, F/S
Hipwood, academy after using pick 2 on Schache
Fletcher, F/S
Dunkley, traded for the year they selected W Ashcroft
Zorko, zone selection (GC, traded to Bris)
Cameron, traded for first round PP
Daniher, signed with iffy FA deal to get Essendon band 1 compo

+

L Ashcroft, F/S after winning flag
Marshall, academy after winning flag

Cool so we'll just pick kids from the academy we don't have, use a PP the AFL won't give us, and operate under FA and F/S rules that have changed to our disadvantage before we've had a chance to benefit. Genius.

The vAFL hierarchy are just hanging their hatreds and bias out in the open. I reckon the penny has started to drop that there too little talent around to sustain the competition and that's turned to panic with Tassie coming in. Terror that we might soak up talent before the tap gets turned off again for a few years.

The tide may be turning....

All three journos on Fox's "Mid Week Tackle," John Ralph, Lauren Wood and Corbin Middlemis, stated we should get draft assistance.

Ralph thinks extra list spots for rookies and NGAs, etc Middlemis said an extra end-of-round-one pick that we need to trade for a WA player to get them back home, and Wood said we need it now, as it is affecting the competition.

The tide may be turning....

All three journos on Fox's "Mid Week Tackle," John Ralph, Lauren Wood and Corbin Middlemis, stated we should get draft assistance.

Ralph thinks extra list spots for rookies and NGAs, etc Middlemis said an extra end-of-round-one pick that we need to trade for a WA player to get them back home, and Wood said we need it now, as it is affecting the competition.
Is this the Monday there is no way a PP will be given and Tuesday leak too break the news that we are considering giving WC rookie picks for NGA players?