Strategy Should the West Coast Eagles buy the Melbourne FC?

Should the West Coast Eagles buy the Melbourne FC?

• Yes

Votes: 34 32.4%
  • No

Votes: 11 10.5%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 60 57.1%

I didn't realise they were for sale o_O

You obviously didn't look in Gumtree then.

Cheap price, one owner who was a little old lady who used to only drive it church on Sundays.

That's a nice story mate but you haven't stated anything that makes running HFC more expensive than WCFC. You've basically mentioned a social club and the fact that you train in a suburban ground as to why it's so hard for Victorian clubs. Oh and an emphasis being placed on history, I'm not sure how any of that incurs substantial additional costs though.

On the bolded part of your quote:

Freo - came into the comp 20 years and haven't accomplished anything yet (not a troll to Freo supporters, just a fact) so I'm not sure what all this history is that makes things so hard for them is. What you could have said is that West Coast already have a lot of the market which makes it harder for Freo to break into (nothing to do with footy culture though). I understand the long history of footy in Fremantle but I'm not sure how that disadvantages the dockers.
Sydney - was South Melbourne, moved to Sydney. I'm sure everyone that supported South Melbourne was stoked at the time. Wow, the culture! (Perhaps it's harder for them because they moved to a non-AFL state and find it hard to fill membership, particularly during down times on the field. They alsohave historically paid their players more - I'm happy for that to apply to West Coast!)
Brisbane - merged with Fitzroy, I don't remember their supporters being too pleased at the time, nor were Fitzroy supporters. Perhaps if Fitzroy had spent more time "just winning games and running a good business" they wouldn't have gone belly up.
Port - I'll give you as they do pride themselves heavily and vocally on their culture but you watch their membership dive when they're not performing on the field - all this history and culture they're paying for is really working on their members.

I'm not even arguing West Coast runs like a business because I think it does but at the end of the day, but winning games and being financially viable is what life should be about in 2015. Coming up with "your club is financially successful therefore you're north American franchise" and "it's complicated because of our culture" is pretty baseless.

And yep, you are the family club, taking all those old grannies money through your pokies - nice one!

I never said running HFC was more so than the Eagles. So, as simple as I can make it. Your club founded fairly recently, created a model for the club that works very well in the current financial and highly commercialised market. It hasn't had to be drastically overhauled to accommodate the current market like most of the other teams have had to. It is a model that is much more aligned with North American franchises—which is not a bad thing as I believe you are assuming I think. This also doesn't mean the Victorian clubs can not be profitable, there is just a whole lot more intra club politics involved, which can stunt growth, and has for Melbourne FC. Have you been strongly involved with an established local club or a WAFL club? If so you should understand that there can be quite some loops to get through if you want to get things done. When West Perth moved to Joondalup, which they had to do, it was all pretty ugly. It took a lot more work because there were many that thought decades of traditions was more important than being financially sound. The West Coast could play anywhere in the state, and it wouldn't matter, the traditions you do have are not based on a culture that doesn't exist anymore. As far a Grandma's and pokies goes, you've probably been watching too much Today Tonight.

Ps. I still struggle with the idea of East Perth being based out of Leederville oval.

I never said running HFC was more so than the Eagles. So, as simple as I can make it. Your club founded fairly recently, created a model for the club that works very well in the current financial and highly commercialised market. It hasn't had to be drastically overhauled to accommodate the current market like most of the other teams have had to. It is a model that is much more aligned with North American franchises—which is not a bad thing as I believe you are assuming I think. This also doesn't mean the Victorian clubs can not be profitable, there is just a whole lot more intra club politics involved, which can stunt growth, and has for Melbourne FC. Have you been strongly involved with an established local club or a WAFL club? If so you should understand that there can be quite some loops to get through if you want to get things done. When West Perth moved to Joondalup, which they had to do, it was all pretty ugly. It took a lot more work because there were many that thought decades of traditions was more important than being financially sound. The West Coast could play anywhere in the state, and it wouldn't matter, the traditions you do have are not based on a culture that doesn't exist anymore. As far a Grandma's and pokies goes, you've probably been watching too much Today Tonight.

Ps. I still struggle with the idea of East Perth being based out of Leederville oval.
I'm not assuming you think the way West Coast operate is a bad thing, but it worries me that you think they're the only ones interested in being financially sound. It's 2015, the AFL is a billion dollar industry, and every club is doing what it can to stay in the black. Otherwise Fitzroy serves as a stern warning.

Perhaps to "make it simple" for me, you could fill me in on a couple on a couple of practices that West Coast has that are in alignment to a North American franchise?

I'm not assuming you think the way West Coast operate is a bad thing, but it worries me that you think they're the only ones interested in being financially sound. It's 2015, the AFL is a billion dollar industry, and every club is doing what it can to stay in the black. Otherwise Fitzroy serves as a stern warning.

Perhaps to "make it simple" for me, you could fill me in on a couple on a couple of practices that West Coast has that are in alignment to a North American franchise?

Again, I don't say that other teams are not trying to make money, and being financially sound is the business goal of every club. It is just harder for some because in most the other teams cases, you have to wade through strong traditional issues. North, in their current form, make no sense as far as the AFL goes. They have a small supporter base, and run in a highly saturated market. The members constantly chose to battle it out in Melbourne instead of taking up relocation offers. That is why I keep dragging the WAFL into it. The VFL clubs were the same as, and in many respects still run like the WAFL clubs. They are essentially owned by members. The West Coast, as far as I understand, are owned by the WA Football commission as a revenue generating business, which is where it is fundamentally more like a North American franchise. I don't think any other club is run like that anymore (Sydney and Brisbane were, but failed as business ventures). Does that make sense?

I think we can all agree that East Perth are a bunch of campaigners.
Do you guys have a thread about how it feels to have your AFL club aligned with a WAFL club you despise?
Campaigning to win the flag, of course. If it was a club we all despised it'd be Swan Districts...right...?

Again, I don't say that other teams are not trying to make money, and being financially sound is the business goal of every club. It is just harder for some because in most the other teams cases, you have to wade through strong traditional issues. North, in their current form, make no sense as far as the AFL goes. They have a small supporter base, and run in a highly saturated market. The members constantly chose to battle it out in Melbourne instead of taking up relocation offers. That is why I keep dragging the WAFL into it. The VFL clubs were the same as, and in many respects still run like the WAFL clubs. They are essentially owned by members. The West Coast, as far as I understand, are owned by the WA Football commission as a revenue generating business, which is where it is fundamentally more like a North American franchise. I don't think any other club is run like that anymore (Sydney and Brisbane were, but failed as business ventures). Does that make sense?
I don't think that being owned by WA footy commission makes it a North American frnachise as Freo are in the same boat.

I understand your point but based the facts you've provided I'm just not convinced. There's definitely elements of west coast that are more corporate, but sometimes you just have to move with the times. We're not a WAFL club, nor should we act like one.

You've used North to support your argument but even North were happy to change their name for a while, they're also bringing athletes from other backgrounds into their team for publicity. One who happens to be from "North America".

That is why I keep dragging the WAFL into it. The VFL clubs were the same as, and in many respects still run like the WAFL clubs. They are essentially owned by members. The West Coast, as far as I understand, are owned by the WA Football commission as a revenue generating business, which is where it is fundamentally more like a North American franchise. I don't think any other club is run like that anymore (Sydney and Brisbane were, but failed as business ventures). Does that make sense?

The WAFC is a not-for-profit organisation that invests back into the game. Pretty different to your typical perception of franchises.
I just don't see how it's a worthwhile comparison.

Feel free as long as you don't steal our players. Would love to have the power of West Coast's bank account in our corner :)

Pfft. You've had the AFL's bank account in your corner, no need for West Coasts.:p

I also hasten to add guys that I am a big supporter of provincial Australia. I really like what you guys do over in Perth - you know, digging the holes and all that stuff.

Best wishes, B

I also hasten to add guys that I am a big supporter of provincial Australia. I really like what you guys do over in Perth - you know, digging the holes and all that stuff.

Best wishes, B

Thanks for your kind words. If you're such a fan, perhaps you and the other four Melbourne supporters could start your own colony somewhere? :D

Champ, I also hasten to add that the road from Perth airport to the CBD (as I will call it) is one of the great boulevards of the world and really does the township proud. And when I was there last, I was astounded to note that a production of Gilbert and Sullivan was in town - and John Kizon was getting quite excited by it. Wonders will not cease. Perhaps one day there'll be a Perth Festival down at the old Brewery where Perth's "nobility" ("I loooooove Lang") can make a grand appearance on a jet-ski.

656896-red-symons.jpg

Champ, I also hasten to add that the road from Perth airport to the CBD (as I will call it) is one of the great boulevards of the world and really does the township proud. And when I was there last, I was astounded to note that a production of Gilbert and Sullivan was in town - and John Kizon was getting quite excited by it. Wonders will not cease. Perhaps one day there'll be a Perth Festival down at the old Brewery where Perth's "nobility" ("I loooooove Lang") can make a grand appearance on a jet-ski.

Does the jetski also jump over a shark?

Please do , that would make a combined 2 premierships in the last 25 years for us !

We've won 3 in that time?....

Unless you are suggesting Melbourne's are contributing -1 flags to the list which is entirely possible.

We've won 3 in that time?....

Unless you are suggesting Melbourne's are contributing -1 flags to the list which is entirely possible.

Damn , we are so shit even our jokes are losing now

Strategy Should the West Coast Eagles buy the Melbourne FC?