Should we get Richo?

I say no.

Firstly, as Special Bruce has mentioned, we can switch Leppa up forward, which should give some time for Spandermann time to develop.

Secondly, I just could not put up with Eddie having a sook about Salary Cap cocessions again, even though it would primarily be the Tigers paying him from what I have heard.

We have done alright so far by basically developing the young players. Don't mess with the formular me says.

Must admit I'm warming to the idea. He is unstoppable when on song. His propensity to crack the occasional OFS doesn't bother me much. I reckon he'd get looked after so well he'd never have to chuck one.

Only concerns to me are his hamstrings and the amount of $$$ he'd suck out of the pool when our cap is diminishing relative to the rest of the comp - and that that could cause some disharmony with new teammates who might think that they're more deserving of the big bikkies.

Anyway, it'd only be a short term solution because three to five years down the track, the Merrett/Spaanderman ruck-forward combination will be the envy of the league.

Bookmark that. ;)

If he's willing to take a big paycut and willing to lose the media exposure for a premiership medal I think he's our man.

He's also popular with the ladies so fills all of Alistair's roles.

Originally posted by kimp
If he's willing to take a big paycut and willing to lose the media exposure for a premiership medal I think he's our man.

Hahaha .. nice one.

But if he comes here he sleeps in a box in Leigh's basement and is only let out to train and play. The ladies can buy the DVD ;)

There's no way we'd pay big biscuits for him. He'd have to be coming here for low dough on his last chance at glory.

Pikey was a gamble. 4th club. Blueing with Pagan. Rep for trouble.

But in the end Pike, Mal and Browny have been the key differences between Lions 99-00 and Lions 01-02-03.

Oh yeah for sure. Richo's made the big money and will probably get media work when he retires what he really needs is some credibility and who better to give him that than Leigh and the Lions.

The people that have said no are neive. If the lions were to pick up Mathew Richardson then look out the next three premierships because with the delivery he would receive from the lions midfeild he would be unstoppable. Look at him now. When the Richmond midfeild is on song then he carves the competition. Second best Full Forward and would kick 100+ goals if he was to head North. I think he is originally from Queensland am i wrong?

Originally posted by SpecialBruce
I'll pass!

Mercuri will be back to 1999 form if given a new environment.

Bookmark that.

Get Richo!!!

Forget Freddy Mercury!!!

Mercuri is firing blanks these days .....another David Calthorpe disaster waiting to happen if the Lions were silly enough to take him on.

Richo has got plenty left in the tank....that so called "sooking" everyone is on his back about, is the result of him suffering the slings and arrows of outrageous Richmond midfielder delivery.

I'd sulk too if I looked up and saw the likes of that lot wearing the same jumper as me.

Put him at FF under Matthews' tutelage and with Aker, Voss, Brad Scott and Co feeding him and Richo will be too busy lining up shots at goal to even think about sulking.

Now if only he can iron out that kicking for goal............................ :D

Originally posted by luthor
Get Richo!!!

Forget Freddy Mercury!!!

Mercuri is firing blanks these days .....another David Calthorpe disaster waiting to happen if the Lions were silly enough to take him on.

For David Calthorpe to come up here, we off-loaded Derek Wirth. He was a handy footballer who was heading places, but we dumped him for Cartman :confused: :confused: :confused:

Originally posted by kimp

Nah he couldn't fill that role! Lynchy will always be the one! :p

Seriously Richo's best is unbelievable and his fustration is warrented with the cr@p the richmond midfeild give him.

Yes he's a wild child but no more than what Pikey was before coming to the Lions! For Richo, a change of team would be great for him - a change is a good as a holiday!

GO GET HIM LIONS!

btw i think he's from tassie, Dinga_19

Originally posted by luthor

Richo has got plenty left in the tank....that so called "sooking" everyone is on his back about, is the result of him suffering the slings and arrows of outrageous Richmond midfielder delivery.

Beautiful turn of phrase. 3 Votes.

Should we get Richo?