Show pony, confirmed.

In my opinion, he slowed down hoping to get cleaned up after he had kicked the goal, so he might get another shot and an extra goal.

As it was he got shoved just after he kicked it and Maxwell was trying to claim another kick from the umpire on the spot.

To me it was completely team orientated, prepared to take the hit on the off chance we got another goal and keeping the small chance of winning alive.
I saw this and saw nothing wrong with what Thomas did but thought Maxwell was acting like a bit of a knob asking for another free kick. :rolleyes:

I think he played on because it would've saved 30 seconds, then slowed down to get the free kick after the goal.
Which i guess he was hoping would relate to 2 quick goals.

People are so hypocritical on this board, you have 1 thread saying how boring flooding has made the game then you have another thread saying how much of a show pony some bloke is (yes i realise you never said it was a bad thing but the negative connotation was there).

The show pony of the day was Eddie Mcguire who upstaged everyone in the red face stakes.... my god he was seething and looked like he was about to cry!
I would hope so and I would hope he gave the coach and the players both barrels after the game.

Pffft yeah this deserved a thread. :rolleyes:

Showboating would have been putting the ball out of the ground and celebrating like they were still in it, this is such a non-issue its not funny.

Yes well that it what the fireman is good at, creating non-issue anti collingwood threads.

i was at the game and it seemed as if he was showboating, however he may have been trying to draw the free i havent seen the replay. he came to my school a few months ago and stood having a private chat to goldsack while supposed to be taking questions. seemed to like himself a bit. the other 2 (Toovey and H. Shaw IIRC) seemed very friendly and at least pretended they wanted to be there.

Show pony, waiting for the day someone bumps him hard off the ball

Or for Barry Hall to sock him one like he did to Staker :D

Yeah real classy. Let's just hope and pray that one of the best young talents in the league gets knocked out, just because he does some flashy things. Real quality, champ.

Did anyone notice "Daisy" Thomas after his mark in the final minutes run to the goal line, look over the shoulder then slow down, allowing his opponent time to get close, before kicking the goal? This was in junk time , his side has been convincingly beaten and he still thought it was cool to be a smart arse.The kid can play, no doubt but there is also no doubt that he is a show pony.

Did anyone else notice that?

And you had the gall to come on here starting a thread about St Kilda bashing?
We need to be better pal...lets worry about our show pony's...ie Milney.

And you had the gall to come on here starting a thread about St Kilda bashing?
We need to be better pal...lets worry about our show pony's...ie Milney.

I'd give 2 Milnes to get Thomas to St Kilda, unfortunately i don't think Collingwood would go for it though maybe if we threw in a couple of draft picks.

You never know with the rules these days, Didaks mark that got taken away from him, but had everything we love about footy in it, the big fly from the back... however he put his hand to lift him up (which has happened in many of the biggest marks in the last few decades). Just frustrating to see that come out of our game abit.

Not a bag against the umpires as they weren't to bad after qtr time.. Just the rules.

What can you do?

We have Aaron Edwards looking to try and take mark of the year every round when if he just lead out he could probably add more for the team.

Do you try and kill that spirit? There are probably enough robotic players playing today that you can afford to have a player with flair that can excite the crowd in your side.

Gee thanks Fireman, those doing special comments need not say anything when we have comments of genius such as that.

:rolleyes:

Go those Sainters - Milne aint a showpony or anything. No. A good footballer. Nah he isnt a showpony.
Really!

Did anyone notice "Daisy" Thomas after his mark in the final minutes run to the goal line, look over the shoulder then slow down, allowing his opponent time to get close, before kicking the goal? This was in junk time , his side has been convincingly beaten and he still thought it was cool to be a smart arse.The kid can play, no doubt but there is also no doubt that he is a show pony.

Stephen Milne board.

In my opinion, he slowed down hoping to get cleaned up after he had kicked the goal, so he might get another shot and an extra goal.

I remember Hawthorn playing Brisbane at the Gabba about 5 years ago, I think it was Crawf strolling into an open goal, kicked the goal, then got barrelled. He then got another goal, then another Brisbane player knocked someone else down in the goal square, so we got 3 goals before the ball was bounced :D We still got smashed though :(

I did notice yesterday Thomas was extremely selfish in the way he played. Loves doing the impossible but is not a team player and that incident proves it. There were a couple of times when he could have dished off to a team mate in better position but when alone and coughed it up.

Brilliant talent though. Still very young. Will get better.

Haha, reminds me of mark williams with the gun thing. Even did it when the hawks were getting flogged

Should have tryed Milking a free kick after he kicked the goal.

Got shoved and I reckon he would have fell over If that security guard wasn't there.

Maxwell had a point.

I did notice yesterday Thomas was extremely selfish in the way he played. Loves doing the impossible but is not a team player and that incident proves it. There were a couple of times when he could have dished off to a team mate in better position but when alone and coughed it up.

He took a mark, landed 7 metres out from goal with a clear run to the goal line and he should have passed?

Nope. Didn't see it.

Yeah, he likes himself. Yes, he is a bit of a lair. It's what makes him a quality footballer and so important to Collingwood. The great things he does are only possible if you don't have a standard approach to footy, and doing dumb stuff is the price you pay for hundreds of special things he does. Don't get me wrong, I'd love to see someone run off the square and bust his ribs next week, but he is a gun.
Does it really matter he's good so he can do it.

Show pony, confirmed.