Showdown 15

• Thread starter Thread starter maccas_no1

Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
excellent win - backs against the wall.

I have no voice - but I don't care - it was worth it!

k
xx

I know how you feel!! ;)

What I loved is how our players silenced the Port crowd. I was surrounded by a sea of teal, but there was more muttering and cursing than there was supporting from them. :)

Mind you, in recent weeks we've known how they felt.

As a crows supporter I'm happy with the win but I feel I must point out:
- Bassett must stop yelling and looking for someone/something to blame everytime his opponent outmarks him. That abuse of Begley was disgraceful.
- Still kicking too many points
- Perrie still can't snap a goal, all forwards must be able to do that surely

Apart from that very happy with the team's performance.

Congrats.

Midfield and forward line smashed us. We rarely if ever lose when Tredders has a good game so I think that sums up how much you guys controlled every other facet of the game.

Originally posted by macca23
I think we have to give Gary Ayres a heap of credit for the win.

He pulled a big sh*tter with Perrie on Tredrea early but rectified it much earlier than normal.

His structuring of our forward line was brilliant and the main reason for our success. He played 2 CHF's across HF, with each out wide, which gave us a target no matter which side we attacked from and left a space at CHF proper to lead into.

Up forward he changed the small quick targets in Edwards and Macca, with space in front of them.

Choco tried to counter this by dropping a couple of loose players into our forward line, but this time Ayres didn't fall for it by pushing our players forward. He left our players loose in their forward line and as a result Port found it too hard to score.

And he won the loyalty and effort of his players with his calmness during the week.

We all bag Ayresy quite a bit. Tonight we should salute him!!

Well done Gary Ayres.

I agree credit where credit is due he coached very well tonight except for the Perrie Tredrea but he got Bassett on him and I thought Bassett did a great job on Tredrea afterwards he played him very well

Originally posted by maccas_no1
WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO We are No 1 we kicked the Alberton Idiots arses never doubt our boys never doubt the Pride Of South Australia we are No 1 we played the best footy i have seen in a longtime well done Crows toughhard footy showed some ticker and this is the rewards:D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Eat **** Port you are lowlifes you are crap you are chokers go **** yourselves we gave everything tonight 2004 is not over fight hard Crows the rewards will come:D :D :D :D :D

Roo fantastic Carey,Edwards,Johncock,Stenglein,Clarke Jericho,Burton,Clarke absoulutly everyone gave it there all :D :D :D :D :D

Harsh, but fair :D

Excellent win tonight, shows a lot for the future.
The two differences tonight were:
1. Our midfield dominated Ports, which set up free running players direct to the forwards.
2. Our Tackle count (always an indicator) was fantastic.

It does reinforce the need to rebuild the midfield in this years draft, remembering Port have been decimated in the midfield with injuries, and we should have been dominant there.

As in a win of this nature, all players played well, although Bodes future remains in doubt?
Can't analyse this game too much because of all the positive emotion from the win, suffice to say we still have a long way to go.
But some great signs tonight, the club is a proud club, that always gives us supporters great value.
We have unearthed some good young talent, some players that have been bagged have stood up, and Macleods trade value (in the eyes of some supporters) has risen;)

Congratulations on the showdown win, thoroughly deserved (it hurts to say). Was surprised with Roo winning the medal even knowing he had heaps of the ball, from the outer wing CLARKE was the man who gave your midfielders excellent 1st use of the ball time and time again. Well done.

Originally posted by Jumbo
Congratulations on the showdown win, thoroughly deserved (it hurts to say). Was surprised with Roo winning the medal even knowing he had heaps of the ball, from the outer wing CLARKE was the man who gave your midfielders excellent 1st use of the ball time and time again. Well done.

No mate Roo fully deserved the medal not just for the amount of his disposals but for his leadership & continual self sacrifice.

That was the first showdown that i have been to where we have won & where i was sitting in the north-east corner among some very upset Papsies i gotta say the feeling was out of this world especially in the last quarter. :)

What about with 10 min to go did you take note of all the teal jumpers climbing over each other to get out of the stadium all i got was a mouthful of abuse when i pointed out " Port Power supporters are supposed to stay till the end" :D

The Roo was magnificent & lead from the front
Carey at last got something in return for his efforts
Clarke dominated the ruck contests
McLeod was nearly the McLeod of old.
Bassett done a fair job on Tredrae.
Stiffy set us alight in the 2nd Q
McGregor won his position all night & kicked some crucial goals
Stenglein, Burton, Edwards, Massie & Begley put in when it counted.

Well done to Ayresy who coached really well & didn't take for ever to make changes

Well done to the Port guys like Macca19 who acknowledged the win & i gotta say Warren Tredrea is the most influential player in the AFL & what i wouldn't give for him to be in the tri-colors, he was the difference between a 5 goal loss & a 10 goal thumping for the Paps a great player for many years to come.

All in all a very enjoyable evening even if i was dragged down to Adelaide to see the game live.

Well done.

Nice to see the team getting back into some sort of form, and against us is the best way to go isnt it ;)

Too bad we didnt have more of Tredder's Talent to give to our other players...

again congrats and hope the form conts ;)

:p

Originally posted by _espoir
Well done.

Nice to see the team getting back into some sort of form, and against us is the best way to go isnt it ;)

Too bad we didnt have more of Tredder's Talent to give to our other players...

again congrats and hope the form conts ;)

:p

Thanks for the kind words ;)

Your injury list is really starting to hurt you now... Kingsley out for 4 weeks from this one too.

Hopefully there's a medical miracle or seven down at Alberton so Primus, Francou, Carr, Pickett, Hardwick, Kingsley, Pettigrew can all continue their careers sooner rather than later.

Originally posted by Macca19
Congrats guys. A completely deserved showdown win.

We were out classed in every aspect of the game (except Tredrea).

I must ask the question tho.

You played hard, tough, quick, direct football tonight. Why the **** have the Crows waited till now to do that? Why the **** havent you guys done this all year?

Had of played in this fashion all year you would have barely lost a game.

Well done.

Top stuff Macca19. You show a good deal of class with this post.

As for your question, we Crows fans are as mystified as you.

Originally posted by macca23
I think we have to give Gary Ayres a heap of credit for the win.

He pulled a big sh*tter with Perrie on Tredrea early but rectified it much earlier than normal.

His structuring of our forward line was brilliant and the main reason for our success. He played 2 CHF's across HF, with each out wide, which gave us a target no matter which side we attacked from and left a space at CHF proper to lead into.

Up forward he changed the small quick targets in Edwards and Macca, with space in front of them.

Choco tried to counter this by dropping a couple of loose players into our forward line, but this time Ayres didn't fall for it by pushing our players forward. He left our players loose in their forward line and as a result Port found it too hard to score.

And he won the loyalty and effort of his players with his calmness during the week.

We all bag Ayresy quite a bit. Tonight we should salute him!!

Well done Gary Ayres.

I have got to say, I think this post hits the nail on the head.

The Crows gameplan has been abysmal all season, and Ayres hasn't been able to keep the Crows from going wide down the wings all year long.

So I think his tactic of playing two CHFs both out wide, and leaving the rest of the forward line open for small forwards to operate in was very innovative.

At least Ayres is reacting. To see that reaction was a very encouraging sign.

Mattner's tackling

No-one seems to have mentioned our favourite player, in Mattner. I thought his tackling was sensational and I reckon we should stick with him even though his disposal and decision making lets him down at times. He was a little stiff to get the holding the ball decision against him in the 3Q also....seemed more 'in the back' IMO. There were still a few of our guys, however, who didn't do a lot though....Welsh and Bock spring to mind! Bode and Gallagher also had little impact on the game when they came on (in fairness though, it's sometime hard to pick up the tempo after coming off the bench).

Hopefully we'll get S.Stevens back this week (for Welsh) and bring back Reilly and maybe even Smart (he usually plays well on LLoyd).

Congratulations to Adelaide for the victory.

Totally outplayed Port in every facet of the game... great team performance from experienced guns down to lesser known players, great coaching moves, ruck and midfield slaughtered us.

The play spent most of the night between Adelaides mifield and their attack due to their midfield dominance. The few occassions Port managed to get it forward Tredrea dominated (even against Bassett... from being live at the game I don't think Bassett did as great job on Tredrea as the media is reporting... Bassett often had 1/2 other players coming in to double/triple team Tredrea to help Bassett out).

Everything just seemed to fall right for Adelaide from coaching moves paying off to ball bouncing up nicely for the midfielders to forwards being in thet right spot at the right time to mark miss kicks and hack goals off the ground from packs etc. Not taking anything away from Adelaide but it was their night and teams often create their own luck or fortune favours the brave... yadda yadda yadda.

Adelaide have to now string a few together and back up that team effort weekly.
Port have to learn to adapt during games when their normal game plan fails and then learn to produce in the finals.

Cheers
SKC

Went to the game on Saturday night, my 1st in about 3 years. Really impressed by the way we played, out intensity was fantastic all night. Watched the tape yesterday and here are a few of my impressions.

Great to see Carey in the flesh in a Crows jumper (something to tell my kids about one day!). Was surprised at how freely he moved and the amount of ground he covered. Really gave Wakelin the runaround.

Loved McGregor's game. Gave the All-Australian in waiting CHB a touch-up. Johncock's 2nd quarter was fantastic, was sitting in the NW pocket so all his goals were right in front of me & Wilson should be looking at a fortnight for his swinging arm.

Backline was great all night. Not much we can do about Tredrea. Maybe next time we can give Port a 5 goal start if they don't play him? My knees were knocking when Perrie picked him up. I don't mind so much if he picks up the 3rd tall forward but the gun forwards of the comp are just too clever for him. We need Perrie in the 22 as a 3rd tall option either up forward or down back but hopefully Ayresy has now learnt not to play Perrie on the "marquee" forwards. Begley was great on S Burgoyne & his kicking in was good all night. Massie mopped up well & his hard running resulted in a great "team lifter" in the 2nd quarter. "Potential" took another step too. Bassett fought hard on Tredrea but (as already posted) he has got to stop spraying team-mates when he gets outmarked. Doesn't he realise that as backmen they have players to look after too? Doughty was great too. I have been critical about the defensive side of his game before on this board, but his spoiling & rebounding was really impressive.

The midfield was super. Clarke was a real catalyst in the 2nd quarter, he destroyed Brogan & Lade at the stoppages. Stenglein was tough in the clinches, Roo was Roo & McLeod is on the way back. Burton & Jericho offered some real pace & Mattner's tackling was a feature.

All in all, a great night to be a Crows fan & the reception Ayresy got when he walked down to the ground topped off a great night.

Originally posted by Dogga
Gave the All-Australian in waiting CHB a touch-up.

Agree with everything you've said, just looking at Cornes' stats he still managed 16 touches and 9 marks - which was identical to McGregor's stats - but yup, Kmac's three goals gives it to him on points.

Originally posted by dyertribe
Agree with everything you've said, just looking at Cornes' stats he still managed 16 touches and 9 marks - which was identical to McGregor's stats - but yup, Kmac's three goals gives it to him on points.

Cornes may have had 16 touches but I'd say that this week most of them were under pressure and did not really go to our advantage. Thus, McGregor won easily (probably more a TKO than a points decision).

I wonder how Mark Stevens would've gone;) (before I get a long list of responses, this was a rhetorical question only aimed at s***stirring).

I dont if this has surfaced on another thread, but had this sent to me by son at work today!

>Now the game is over, the secret weapon used by the Crow's players to
> thrash Port Adelaide can be disclosed.
> At the start of the game, each Crows player was told to engage in the
> following conversation with the Port Adelaide player he was standing.
>
> Crow player - " All the best. It's going to be a big game"
>
> Port player - " Yeah. It will be big."
>
> Crow player - " After losing the last 7 showdowns and being 1 in 5
> this season, this is like a final"
>
> Port player - "Did you say, like a FINAL ? "

Enough said!!
:D

Originally posted by dezzmo
I dont if this has surfaced on another thread, but had this sent to me by son at work today!

>Now the game is over, the secret weapon used by the Crow's players to
> thrash Port Adelaide can be disclosed.
> At the start of the game, each Crows player was told to engage in the
> following conversation with the Port Adelaide player he was standing.
>
> Crow player - " All the best. It's going to be a big game"
>
> Port player - " Yeah. It will be big."
>
> Crow player - " After losing the last 7 showdowns and being 1 in 5
> this season, this is like a final"
>
> Port player - "Did you say, like a FINAL ? "

Enough said!!
Yeah, got that one too. :D

Originally posted by dezzmo

Well, there has been similar posts on the main board about 20 times already this week, and every other time we lost a minor round game for the last 2 years. I know it is being a bit pedantic to expect email jokes to stop circulating after 18 months and several hundred repetitions ;) There is always someone who hasnt heard it I guess. Kind of like when you get sent a Carey joke these days, or the showdown jokes that were going around since late 2000.

Mostly all been said already. :D

Fair dinkum, I have been critical in the past of Hawthorn, whose best and worst are poles apart, but at least they either play consistently bad or consistently good. We have set a new standard in yo-yoing on that performance! Hopefully we play like that again next week and for the rest of the season.

Ayres was magnificent. Enough said.

Jericho will be something very very special I'd say.

Interesting comment in the Swans Richardson game when Sugar got dragged half way through the second quarter. The commentators made the point that he was traded by Adelaide for pick 2, cant remember the second and 31 and Torney. They went on to point out that pick 2 was Wells and pick 31 was Luke Jericho! :D Very selective and not terribly accurate commentary, but I liked it.

Finally, the paps should be concerned now as we have won one in a row and they haven't beaten us in a showdown since last year. ;)

Originally posted by MrMeaner
...and to think I made my flight.

Bad luck there mate, but I guess it couldn't go on for ever.

Now, where did I put my gun, sure I saw some comment about M Stevens somewhere...