• Thread starter Thread starter CrowToon

Who wins?

Despite my misgivings I could never hope for a loss against Port

I must admit I am not certain how this goes . We could blow them away and everything is kumbaya or we struggle and repeat our chase catch up then win or lose by 5

I will be with a room of Port and Crow supporters watching on a small tv so lets see who has the most fun

What's sooky la la about a statistical truth?
This is a game day match thread. Nick’s finals record has absolutely nothing to do with this showdown and considering there’s already a dedicated thread for Nick’s statistics there’s no need for it here.

It has EVERYTHING to do with it. Nicks was exposed at the end of last year. Now we're paying for it.

Do we have to hear this shit in every thread?
Mate, we wouldn't have to hear "this shit" at all, if Nicks wasn't so shit.
Shit Coaching ==> valid complaints.
keep ya coach bashing sooky la la posts for the coach bashing sooky la la thread
If the Mods had a problem with the post, they'd have deleted it.
It is Nicks 139th game tonight, which makes it relevant to this thread. It is his terrible record.

I've tipped Port in a close one, 1-3 goals.

Been a showdown I expect that we'll put up a fight tonight but our defensive game cannot handle the heat and poor turnovers and lack of focus (at times) have killed us all season. Injuries to key players don't help, Dawson out is a big loss, he was very good last weekend despite the the tough situation he is facing.

And it's a Friday night, but not on free to air TV. Probably the reason why the Adelaide game is always the 2nd Friday night.

Looking at their very average list with the exception of Zac, JHF and Mitch, if we can't beat them then pack it in, seasons done.
This, and I've said it before - give a sucker an even chance, and a bad team's best in this comp is equal to and better than a good team's worst. Port were at their best against Geelong and geelong were deplorable. I reckon we've been at our worst for some time now so unless we stop ****ing around we could do the same as Geelong but without Geelong's great start. Now that would be catastrophic. But yes, lose, and the season becomes very shaky.

Haven't felt this meh about a Showdown since 2020.

We should be good but we suck. They should suck but they're good.

If they win it's a nightmare, if we win it's just us winning one we'd have had pencilled in at the start of the year as a guaranteed win.

Just has the feelings of a loss with one of their most annoying players playing out of their skin and one of their biggest potatoes having a career best night.

Agreed. I'm finding it hard to be excited about the boring, unproductive football we're playing. It feels like such a step backwards compared to how we were playing this time last season. And this is the least confident I've been of getting a win all season. Key players out or massively down on form, non-performing players kept in. Port just hitting their stride. It feels like a 6+ goal loss to me.

And even if we do come out breathing fire and get a win, I'll have to question why it takes the emotion of a Showdown to get our players up after their limp performance last week.

Eh, I'm sure I'll get excited once the match starts. Probably.

I like your optimism (wish I had it too), but:
We need to start well, hard this year, and keep the foot down.
I wish!! :thumbsu:
With respect, we have not started well in a single game this year, nor when we get ahead have we put the foot down.
But it'd be a great change if we did, for sure.
But yeah, I reckon this is the game it all clicks and we just blow out all the crap from the first few weeks.
Dawson out (and fair enough too). He was inspirational last week and is irreplaceable.
Keane and Hinge still out.
Draper? Who knows?
Curtin was ok in the SANFL but will not have AFL-speed or match-awareness, yet.
NMurray out, with momentum-killers Laird, Butts and Borlase to slow down our D50 exits <== that's trouble!
Bunny-in-the-headlights TMurray retained for reasons I do not understand.
Thilthorpe looks winged/underdone/something wrong.
They schlepped Tex over to Bizzy for half a game, then a 5-day break.

Seriously, I envy your optimism, but you're talking about some serious clicking, all at once.
It has to be......
I hope you're right!

We will win this by 11 points
I want to “hope” for positivity
The last week up here has been horrendous
What happened last night outside Alice Springs hospital where my son was born was a tragedy
Need some good outcome

Agreed. I'm finding it hard to be excited about the boring, unproductive football we're playing. It feels like such a step backwards compared to how we were playing this time last season. And this is the least confident I've been of getting a win all season. Key players out or massively down on form, non-performing players kept in. Port just hitting their stride. It feels like a 6+ goal loss to me.

And even if we do come out breathing fire and get a win, I'll have to question why it takes the emotion of a Showdown to get our players up after their limp performance last week.

Eh, I'm sure I'll get excited once the match starts. Probably.
1777605731675.webp
+
1777605768583.webp
+
1777605796798.webp ... etc :sneaky:.

Coaching his 139th match, Matthew Nicks moves into outright second of most games coached without a finals win.
He did inherit the worst list we ever had in our 30-year history when he did take over but he should not have been there past 2024. Funny how we continue to employ coaches who suck in big games/finals etc.. Don Pyke did coach us to 3 finals wins but also failed on the biggest day as a club we had in over 20 years at the time.

I will be with a room of Port and Crow supporters watching on a small tv so lets see who has the most fun
More detail, please?

I'll be in a room of me in my super-comfy recliner and a big-screen TV,
looking like this: :sadv1: :shoutyoldman: (anxious, shouty old man)

More detail, please?

I'll be in a room of me in my super-comfy recliner and a big-screen TV,
looking like this: :sadv1: :shoutyoldman: (anxious, shouty old man)
Ill be at a footy club who havent heard of 55'' tvs

We will win this by 11 points
I want to “hope” for positivity
The last week up here has been horrendous
What happened last night outside Alice Springs hospital where my son was born was a tragedy
Need some good outcome
Yeah that whole situation is horrible.