Roast Simmo - Time for a shave

• Thread starter Thread starter Stamos

Insulting I said it or insulting that this is a fact?

http://www.afl.com.au/video/2013-04-07/postmatch-blues

Here is a link to MM's post game presser...if you don't want to watch the whole thing, start from 5:50 and listen to what he says at 6:45...

He finds it insulting that the journo (I think it was that ****wit Barratt) implied that the club is less serious about some games than others....the key concept here is professionalism, which is what you question when you imply that Carrots and Simmo are playing poorly because they are acting like school-boys jealous of their mate.

I reckon he should shave cos it looks stupid.

One thing that's annoyed me has been listening to uninformed commentators carry on about how great Simpson's disposal is. You wanna know a secret? His kicking isn't that good. The reason one might THINK it's good is because Simpson IS exceptional at finding open space, or turning and arcing his way out of trouble to get a kick away. But his left peg is a pretty blunt instrument, and he is not a good set shot for goal. He can miss targets with the best of 'em.

I reckon there's just a possibility he could get a changed role or even be an ultimate casualty of a new coaching regime. He's a scrapper, brave, and a fantastic runner, etc. But there are flaws in Simmo's game - I just wonder if he's not struggling a bit in the new MM world.

for some strange reason - I reckon the frees against as well as the tackles missed had more to do with the game's results than Simmos beard- I could eb wrong though.

Or the fact we leave Elliott by himself twice inside F50.
And how many goals did Collingwood get as a direct result of a Carlton turnover - must have been a few...

Or the fact we leave Elliott by himself twice inside F50.
And how many goals did Collingwood get as a direct result of a Carlton turnover - must have been a few...

5 goals from a bloke who had hardly score any previously - is a big five for sure.

Less turnovers when the side becomes better drilled in how to help each other out of tight spots. Watch the last 15 minutes - they had more run and spread- lifted a gear. The in the back not awarded to Murphy - would have made a huge difference at that point in the game stopped their momentum dead - learning how to control the ball more is the challenge that the lesser skilled players in the team have to get over - bit of a leadership vacuum or lack of game plan or whatever are all part of the picture.

Still no one is potting Carlton's effort - I reckon a few of the nay sayers are having a rethink about what the team will play like against any opposition - soon enough.

I don't know why, but something is affecting his footy
The wings are crowded now, they used to be wide open for him to run along. It'll take a while for some players to adjust, others will drop off or move to other positions. Simmo to the back line works for me, he'll be able to find some space again running off half back.

May be a role for him in "Game Of Thrones" once his footy's over.

Would be some serious groom time put into it nightly.

Epic Beard though.:thumbsu:

pretty hard to bag a player like simmo heart and soul of the club,i think the change in structure has not suited him but i reckon he will shave the beard and get 30 touches next week, go simmo the mostc courageous bloke you'll see on the football field

The weight of his beard really affected his ability to take the kick outs yesterday. Time for a shave son!!

Honestly... I really dont think that Simmo has been the same since Wellingscum cleaned his clock last year.

I think being knocked senseless and having your jaw broken might have that sort of effect on a bloke.

I can also sort of understand the why of the beard... it would have a tendency to cushion blows against the jaw (which is why I think that he hasnt been the same since that day). I would love to see him come out and rip it up... but at the moment, he is a bit cautious about things...

Simmos kicking has been well below his best since the beard. If u want to stand out looking like your in the Kelly gang at least maintain ur kicking skills.