pie time

what is with all this talk about wanting to delist/trade him, in my eyes this year he has improved significantly and next season could very well be in the best 22 considering he has one of the best disposal effieciency's at the club. so why? he is looking okay in my eyes.

Disposal efficiency is a horrible stat, as he kicks long quite often unless it's a direct turnover it's considered efficient, even if he's chosen the wring target or bombed to nothing.

He has improved significantly though and I don't want him cut, but seriously disposal eff is terrible argument back up.

Also who wants him delisted? Literally haven't seen it posted

His disposal efficiency is the 18th at the club, @ 72%, which is pretty poor for someone who rarely gets a contested possession.

Also who wants him delisted? Literally haven't seen it posted

Knightmare posted it in his thread somewhere.

what is with all this talk about wanting to delist/trade him, in my eyes this year he has improved significantly and next season could very well be in the best 22 considering he has one of the best disposal effieciency's at the club. so why? he is looking okay in my eyes.

a better question to ask is.. if he survives the chop, who are the ones to be cut?

Was very impressed when he stood up in our only loss this year, just needs to be more consistent.

I've seen the sentiment in the list management thread, but TBH I fail to see what impact a few posters thinking he should go would actually have on our list management anyway. So my advice is to just ignore it if you don't agree with it.

Overall I've been happy with his improvement as he does have some good qualities and he is rated internally. However that one lingering question over his decision making is what will always hold him back.

The statistic I'd be interested in with him is score involvements I just have a feeling that despite him averaging 18-20 touches per game he would be very low on any score involvements lists. Whereas our more creative and better runners in Shaw, Davis and Johnson would be very high on the list. To put it bluntly despite being such a beautiful kick of the footy Buckley has a low hurt factor IMO.

I think he has improved as the season has progressed. It is his decision making that can occasional be a worry, but after 2 years out of the game through injury I think he has genuinely improved, and absolutely provides quality depth.

a better question to ask is.. if he survives the chop, who are the ones to be cut?

good question...i cant think of a year where it was this hard to pick 3 blokes to delist....anyone delisted could consider themself relatively unlucky and would probably get picked up by another team in the PSD. At this stage id probably go JMac (had his chance and has been passed by younger players), Brad Dick (too injury plagued) and maybe Buckley. I guess Leon's decision will have a bearing on that. Ideally id like to see us package a few players in a deal for a draft pick upgrade, Say Jmac and Dick for a pick around 25ish.

Dick, Stubbs and Johnno to retire. Maybe Johnno to stick around and Jmac to ask for a trade, something like that.

Buckley's safe as houses, there is next to no chance he'll be delisted. He is great depth, fills gaps admirably and he has improved quite a lot. Doubt he'll be a regular under B1, but we'll wait and see.

I find him a bit underwhelming personally, but on the whole, I think he has been decent.

He is one of those guys who when you talk about him, you say; yep reasonable depth player, comes in does a job.
But then when you say; if there was a chance of getting a gun young draftee who would you delist, it would be Buckley

Wouldn't be shocked if he got another year at the club since he has certainly improved. And those around the club are remarkably optimistic and encouraging whenever he is talked about.

If a Davis or Johnson retire it is even more likely that he is retained.

But don't see him as anything better than depth myself. We have better young talents coming through. Buckley is 24.. and doesn't project as a best 22 player at any point. So would personally move him on. Whether that be through trade or delisting.

Wouldn't put it past him to make it at another club, because he isn't without talent. McCarthy same and probably to a greater extent.

I would keep him as depth, but I don't really see him as anything more than that. He's a ready made player to bring in when Heater/Harry/Tooves, etc are out, but I can't see him forcing his way into the side as a regular first choice.

Buckley is way ahead of Rounds, Sinclair and J Thomas in terms of improvement this season and also on the depth chart.
Mate, I just got back from seeing Josh Thomas who was clearly best on ground today. Absolute ball winning inside gun who is simply our Luke Ball replacement.

JT had an injury affected start, but he finished off the year well and was an out and out superstar today.

Sinclair hasn't been bad, but hard to compare 2nd year players with blokes drafted in 2005!

Rounds would be at the top of my list of delistees, along with Sucks. I think both are rated by the coaching staff though, so I expect both to linger.

I would keep him as depth, but I don't really see him as anything more than that. He's a ready made player to bring in when Heater/Harry/Tooves, etc are out, but I can't see him forcing his way into the side as a regular first choice.

I reckon he sees him self in exactly the same light.
Unless he taking up a spot we absolutely have to turnover then I'd keep him.

his a good depth player, thats about all. Not worth delisting, but worth keeping if he doesnt demand much $$

IMO, he is harshly treated on this board.

We all know his big weakness is decision making. Maybe its got a lot to do with not having played enough with the team. He certainly seems to have improved in that aspect this year, so it is not at this stage terminal.

Being singled out by MM at 1/4 time will only inflame his detractors and players with the runs on the board will be given leeway to commit the very same error eg Dale Thomas tonight.

Has had a good offer to go to Richmond next year, so he may request a trade. I hope he stays, as I think he has something to offer. Could just be a late maturer.

wouldn't trust him in finals

This. :thumbsu:

He cannot play in the finals. He would be a massive liability.

IMO, I'm starting to think The Sack should be in our best side come finals. His defensive efforts are top notch and his will to just compete and get to every contest hitting it hard is what finals is all about. He is also very good overhead or on deck so his flexibility will be of good use. Can kick a footy to.

I get frustrated with Bucks at times. At one point he needed to run at a Brisbane player tonight, but he just watched him run in and kick a goal.

Yeah, I remember that, it was late in the game. He did run eventually, but it was way too late and probably for show. It was as if he was caught daydreaming.

Has had a good offer to go to Richmond next year, so he may request a trade. I hope he stays, as I think he has something to offer. Could just be a late maturer.

I reckon we've seen all that Buckley can be. For my thinking there's no chance of him being a late maturer a'la Swan - doesn't have the natural confidence.

But letting him go is something that would require a few seconds thought. It'd depend on how him and N.Buckley see each other (maybe will respond better?) And him going may leave a hole in our depth when we don't have too much coming through. But on the balance, if he wanted a trade to Richmond I wouldn't stop him and I'd wish him well.

(BTW, this is not just on last nights performance, always rated him behind Goldsack)

wouldnt mind seeing him caff and mcarthy go to GWS in the mini draft... all of them getting passed by the young kids and eventually not even gonna be in the best 25 with fasolo young ect and the 2011 draft kids. Would be a huge win if we lost those 3 and got a young superstar in the mini draft (plus more salary cap space)

I thought he clearly dogged it on a couple of occasions, really badly once.

Not the sort of thing you expect to see from someone who should be out to impress.

I'm not worried about the bake MM gave him. If it effects him then it just shows that he is mentally weak.

He has some ability and I would probably keep him for depth but I'd hate to have to depend upon him.

Dick, Stubbs and Johnno to retire. Maybe Johnno to stick around and Jmac to ask for a trade, something like that.

Buckley's safe as houses, there is next to no chance he'll be delisted. He is great depth, fills gaps admirably and he has improved quite a lot. Doubt he'll be a regular under B1, but we'll wait and see.

I find him a bit underwhelming personally, but on the whole, I think he has been decent.

Why would Stubbs retire? He's a first year player..