Past Simon White

• Thread starter Thread starter Jeremias

Re: 43. Simon White (Rookie)

Whitey did the handball challenge on TSFS....

He was pretty shocking haha. Got a 2 :o:D
Sack Teague...

Simon says “hip hip hooray”
White shortly boards a jet en route to Hobart, to the premises of orthopaedic surgeon Michael Pritchard, who performed similar surgeries to the likes of Michael Jamison, Marc Murphy and Matthew Kreuzer.

“It’s annoying, but it has to happen I suppose. There’s nothing I can do about it,” White said this week.

“Towards the end of last year and through the finals series in the WAFL the groin problem was quite bad. Through the draft period I wasn’t really running at all because I was just too sore, and even after I got picked up I was just trying to get my groins right,” White said.

“I’ve talked to a lot of the other boys who have been through it also, and they’ve said ‘Mate, when you’ve had it done you won’t know yourself’,” White said.

White expects to be back in full running some 12 weeks after his hips are repaired. In the meantime he’ll be put through his paces on the club’s state-of-the-art G-Trainer.

I would do it just to see that happen but I don't want to be responsible for him getting de-listed :D

Then I'll seriously go apeshit. Btw. Congratulations to Simon White. This kid has talent. :thumbsu:

White shortly boards a jet en route to Hobart, to the premises of orthopaedic surgeon Michael Pritchard, who performed similar surgeries to the likes of Michael Jamison, Marc Murphy and Matthew Kreuzer.

Good old M. Pritchard. One of the best in the business.

He really does work wonders :thumbsu:

Needs to do a lot of work on getting stronger in 1 on 1 contests. This is a major flaw in White's game which can hopefully be improved. Similarly to Bower however, they both provide run off half back which is essential to our back half.

This. Needs to do some spoiling workshops with Jamo too.

Very courageous though and hope we get to see him, Jamo and Bower in the same defense with all in form in 2011 :thumbsu:

43. Simon White (Rookie)

Three wins for work ethic
“When he got into the seniors in the WAFL it took him a little while to get going, but he had all the attributes you’d think an AFL player would need,” Rogers said.

“We haven’t seen the best of Simon White. We’ve seen about 60 per cent, and I joke with him, saying ‘Mate, they don’t know how good you’re going to be’. He’s more mature and he’s got a better attitude now, which is not to say he didn’t have a good attitude before. I just reckon that when you suffer disappointment and you work your way through that you become a better person.”

“We were lucky. All of us had seen a bit of him, and I probably pushed a bit harder just to get him because I thought we needed that type a player - a player able to play at both ends,” Rogers said.

“For us he’s probably better suited forward, but for him he’s probably better suited back. I reckon we can probably cover him across half-back with Paul Bower and those blokes and we don’t have that forward that can be hard at the footy, lead up and be the hit-up forward.

“Everyone here thinks he’s a really hard-nosed, tough player, but he wasn’t like that at Subiaco. When he had to go he did, and I knew he had it in him, but he was actually a really good runner, which is the bit we haven’t seen yet."
Three wins for work ethic

White's run in his second game was sensational.

Very quick, but also bodied Podsiadly over the boundary line in a contest to kill the ball.

57999_476226088333_108959538333_5647564_894176_n.jpg

My man White.

My 2011 buddy.

It will be a very interesting year for Simon White with the blues faithful liking what they saw of him last year albiet a very small dose as he succumbed to injuries after a some solid performances in the navy blue.

A mature age recruit from Subiaco who has hopefully put his injury problems behind him. I am lucky that I know quite a few of his team mates from Subiaco and have only heard glowing reviews of White as a player and a bloke.

I see White being a very handy player for the blues in 2011 with his ability to play back and forward, tall and small.

My thoughts on Simon White for the 2011 season:
  • Is he in the best 22 come round 1 - I dont think so but would be close. The subsitute rule may work in his favour as he is a good swing man.
  • How many games do I expect him to play in 2011 - between 10-15 depending on injuries to both himself and the rest of the squad.
  • Which current carlton player should he mould himself on - Jarrad Waite, may not be athletic as Waite but has the ability to go back and forward and if needed could play on the wing.
  • What does he need to work on in 2011 - awareness, he was caught a couple of times last year looking for an option. The good thing was he didnt drop his head and continued to attack the ball. He also seems to be a guy who when told to work on something he will leave no stone unturned to get it right.
Overall I expect White to play quite a few games for the blues this season, it may take a bit of time to get game but once he is in, I think the MC will find him hard to drop.