SgtSchulz

Apr 24, 2014
Bob McLean Sportsbar
Port Adelaide
Mark Webber
Currently both the AFL and AFLW use percentage as a tie breaker for premiership ladders. If the AFL is so paranoid about a low scoring game then they could replace percentage with points for. It wouldn't change a single rule of the game but it would significantly preference a high scoring game plan over a low scoring one.

For example: Melbourne would finish in the top 8 for the 2017 AFL season with this mechanism.

Screen Shot 2018-02-10 at 4.38.42 PM.png

Currently both the AFL and AFLW use percentage as a tie breaker for premiership ladders. If the AFL is so paranoid about a low scoring game then they could replace percentage with points for. It wouldn't change a single rule of the game but it would significantly preference a high scoring game plan over a low scoring one.

For example: Melbourne would finish in the top 8 for the 2017 AFL season with this mechanism.

View attachment 458496

Ross Lyon dislikes this

Also, this is exactly the kind of rule change the afl should go for - change the incentives at a high level, not tinker with speeding the game up (quick throw ins and kicks ins) and opening the game up (interchange cap) etc.

I like this suggestion - aside from the fact that I don’t agree that high scoring = better game. But for those that do this is the best and simplest way to create it

Far too much advantage to teams that play in good conditions. It'd handicap anyone playing in Tasmania, Darwin or even maybe Geelong?

Percentage takes weather, ground etc. out of the equation. It's much fairer.
Most grounds are rock solid fast tracks with great drainage nowadays, and while the weather can effect Tassie and Darwin, it's not like these stadiums see action week to week. I think the idea has merit.

View attachment 458496

So the ladder would have been

1. Adelaide
2. Geelong
3. GWS
4. Richmond
5. Port Adelaide
6. Sydney
7. Essendon
8. Melbourne

Yeah wow actually not a bad idea.

Incentivises both teams to go as hard as they can till the final siren - teams won't shut the game down as much at 7 goals up.

Perhaps not as fair a measure of a team's performance during the season but would make for some exciting footy.

That's the point. The AFL would much prefer a game where both teams kick high scores (like your initial example) and this suggestion is a simple way to incentivise it.
High scores don't equal good games! I enjoy the physically of our game. If we are rewarding high scoring games, I can see it turning into a non contact outside free for all!

The game needs blokes like Selwood, Viney etc smashing in with reckless abandon.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

You want higher scores 1 simple change will allow the ball to be cleared from the constant stoppages more often due to a mass of players around the ball . Would probably work better in AFW due to better tackling techniques in the mens game but i feel would limit stoppages in the mens as well possibly encouraging higher scores . How many times do we see 2 and sometimes 3 players wrapping up the ball carrier in general play with no chance of the player in possession being able to get an arm free to dispose of the ball . Ensuring a secondary and sometimes 3rd ball up in succession without it clearing . Stacks on the mill with players diving in and smothering any chance of the ball exiting . The second tackler pulling it back under the player on the ground who first takes possession looking for holding the ball but it ends up a ball up .
Answer only one player at any given time is allowed to tackle the player with possession of the ball encouraging an arm to get free to handball or drop it to boot . Its amazing how many times when watching footy the ball can continue to be live when their is only one tackler its when the second and sometimes third player comes in the ball becomes dead . Just a thought worth considering imo .

View attachment 458496
The AFL is fine as it is, but maybe they can implement another system for the AFLW to promote high scoring. Well, at least until the game becomes higher scoring.

Instead of using points for alone like you suggested, they could use a 'points for' and 'points against' differential like they do in the NRL. This way you reward teams that score higher over defensive sides, but you don't rule defence out completely.

For example: if team A scores 50-25 and team B scores 30-15 in the first round, both have an equal percentage of 200%. Under the percentage-based sorting of the ladder, both sides would technically be equal.
Under the differential-based sorting of the ladder though, if team A would be placed higher as their differential is +25 rather than the +15 differential by team B. This would promote teams to strategise offensively rather than defensively.
However, Team B would still be above Team C, who, let's just say, have scored 51-40 (+11), rewarding them for their defensive efforts over Team C's. So defence is not completely discounted.

I think this system of sorting the ladder could be good for AFLW since it would deter clubs from implementing a restrictive gamestyle and in turn could make it a more attractive and high-scoring spectacle since they only have two spots available on the ladder for a place in the Grand Final. Under this system, an AFLW side like Melbourne, who scored 101-63 (+38 differential) in 2 rounds but have a % of 160.32%, would be rewarded more for their high scoring rather than a side like Carlton, who scored 52-23 in 2 rounds with a % of 226.09%, but have a differential of +29.

Once it becomes higher scoring and teams post scores over 70 points often, then they can revert back to percentage again.

Here’s something else to think about:

If every match was 145 - 130, then imagine how you’ll feel in the 2nd quarter when you’ve scored 80 points and the opposition is on 50.

Every goal is diminished in importance.

You’ll never get that feeling of a really important single moment, because you know you need a handful of goals to ensure anything, and the opposition will be capable of piling on 5 goals at anytime, diminishing the importance of every one of those goals.

When you’re walking back to the car after the final siren, it’s those big moments that are more memorable than the blur of the game as a whole.

High scoring overload would make goals less valuable. I’m not uni soccer, but the great thing about it being such a low scoring affair is that 1 goal can generate insane hysteria.

I reckon our game has a pretty good mixture of being high scoring and having value in each goal.

That would give a massive advantage to teams who play almost all of their home games at Etihad as it has a roof which means they'll never have wet weather footy there

Nothing would change

Coaches will never prioritise percentage or points for over 4 points.

Most grounds are rock solid fast tracks with great drainage nowadays, and while the weather can effect Tassie and Darwin, it's not like these stadiums see action week to week. I think the idea has merit.
You're a North fan. Say there are two low-scoring games there in a season and you narrowly miss finals - still a good idea?

It'd be a disaster, and could throw up all sorts of unfair finals results. Just to fix a skill problem in AWFL? Why bother?