Sin City's 2012 Phantom Draft

Thanks. What do you think about quigley's criticism of Plowman, that he's too short to be a KPD, due to the fact that forwards are becoming taller?

Colquhorn is to me a prospect, I can't remember, but someone was bagging him, was it knighmare? Not sure, but he's probably one of the youngest kids in the draft yet he's highly rated. Impressive.

O'Rourke is interestingly, along with Grundy, Wines, Stringer, Simpson and others a player who has his fans and his critics.
Plowman obviously won't be playing deep in defence on Daniher or Tippett obviously but that's not the only kind of KPD. As a CHB he'd be able to stick with anyone on the lead, match them body on body, read the ball better than most in the air and win the ball when it hits the ground so I don't think he'd have any trouble at all.

Don't think Knightmare was so much bagging him as overstating a few possible deficiencies in his game. They've all got flaws so it's no big deal when the positives far outweigh the negatives but I'm pretty sure he had Colquhoun going at pick 11 just a week or two before that anyway.

I'm glad there's so many people that see different things in the players this year, makes the discussions more interesting and it's good to see things some people are picking up on that others might be missing.

Ah.

If we pass over O'Rourke, Stringer and Menzel for Nick Graham I will spew. Bryce Lewis should be sacked. I predict Graham will be closer to undrafted than a first rounder.
Graham understandably had question marks over some aspects of his game but he had a fantastic finish to the year and really answered his critics in the best way possible. He's got that one trait that's more important than any others and that's that he can really play the game, he's a natural footballer and he'll get the best out of himself. I can see him becoming a very productive inside midfielder in the AFL.

I think you are correct, the dogs would love a quick outside player to go with Wallis, Libber and plus you gave them Wines.If you think about how important Jetta or Hill are for Freo and Sydney then it is obviously the right choice.

As for Fremantle's pick, I haven't much of Kyle Martin or Marvin Warrell, but I would love anther KP player there.

It appears you don't rate White as highly as some, but if you edit your Phatom draft can we please have another Key Position player.
Yeah I see Garlett as the perfect compliment the quality inside midfield the Doggies have. let's hope the attitude will match the ability when he gets to the AFL. Jetta is a good comparison because he really puts the finishing touches on all that grunt work the Swans do.

White has some great physical attributes but looks a bit awkward to me and I'm not sure how effective he'll be in the AFL. I could be wrong and hope I am but where others saw Buddy Franklin I saw a bit of Jordan Lisle.

Nice attempt, though if Clurey was available at our pick I can't see us going past him. Pretty desperate for young KPD depth, probably our most pressing need.
Fair enough, it'll be interesting to see which way you guys go. Hope you guys get your man but I still reckon the Swans will draft the type of players I selected and fix up other deficiencies through pulling off good trades.

Cheers Azul :thumbsu:

Wasn't too hard of a decision at all in the end.

Really do not see us going for Kennedy if we had the choice of O'Rourke, good sized midfielders in today's footy are invalvable, we already have Murphy as a small mid for at least the next 4-5 years, not sure having two mids that size complement each other, not doubting Kennedy is a good player, just believe O'Rourke/Mayes/Jaksch/Stringer if available will all be picked before Kennedy.

I have Mayes going well before our pick, with the others as you can tell from my ratings I don't believe any of them are as good as Kennedy. They have good attributes, but so does Kennedy and he has produced much better performances.

Fair enough, l personally do not see that Kennedy compliments our mid-field structure, Judd is 29 if we can obtain another mid with a bit more size, Stringer/Mayes if he slips or O'Rourke it would be a better fit for us.

11. Carlton - Ben Kennedy
With Carlton boosting their tall stocks in recent years and Judd, Scotland, Carrazzo and Simpson all getting on it's time to boost their midfield and Ben Kennedy would be a great fit here. Small but productive player that wins a heap of the ball, runs fast and hard all game and is a nice kick capable of bombing some beautiful long goals.

13. Gold Coast - Jonathan O'Rourke
I will admit I'm not as big of a fan of this bloke as others seem to be. I do consider him the best kick in the draft (yep, even better than Mayes or Colquhoun) but aside from that he has a lot of areas to work on. Really hurts teams with his kicking when he has the ball but goes missing for large periods of time and doesn't get in and get his own ball enough leading to less disposals than he really should be getting. I wouldn't be surprised if he has a Kane Lucas type struggle to find a position in the AFL as I don't see him being an on-baller with his lack of physicality and I'm not sure he'll get enough outside ball to be a wingman. That aside, he is highly rated by pretty well everyone and is a brilliant kick so should be a good addition to the Suns who have time on their side to develop him. Really considered reaching for Hrovat here to suit the Suns need for an inside mid but I'll stick with my prediction of O'Rourke.
Think you're hard on O'Rourke and Lucas who can find the ball as a forward and mid. I would gladly add another gutrunner like Lucas to our 22. They mightn't have a crack like Simpson and Bootsma who are slight, but I reckon hardness can be improved a bit. Lewis Jetta isn't as hard as Rioli, yet he can find the ball and hurt sides. O'Rourke or Garlett could be picked to eventually replace Simpson who is one of our best runners and kicks. We could possibly play O'Rourke back to release Yarran. Or he could replace Scotland.

Unless a bigger mid such as Vlastuin or Stringer slides, I can see us going for O'Rourke or Garlett. Reckon O'Rourke could develop into an inside and outside player like Murphy. Hughes was in charge up until this year, yet I reckon Rogers would have had a fair say in our rankings of Lucas, Pittard, Yarran, Jeffy Garlett and Lewis Jetta. Not sure that we'd favour a smaller mid/forward like Kennedy. We liked more Robinson more than Ballantyne.

Big mid with 11 and a small such as Boston (poor man's O'Rourke?), Temay or Carter with pick 36 could be the ideal draft.

Kamdyn McIntosh at #46 for West Coast :thumbsu:
Would be stoked if he was still available, hopefully one of him or Rodda are.

Fair enough, l personally do not see that Kennedy compliments our mid-field structure, Judd is 29 if we can obtain another mid with a bit more size, Stringer/Mayes if he slips or O'Rourke it would be a better fit for us.
Kennedy does not have to fit our current midfield structure, you draft for the future and with a new coach no one knows how our midfield will be structured but Stringer and O'Rourke I have ranked well below him and I think it's fair to say a hard running, ball winning midfielder who can kick long goals would be a welcome addition to any team.

Kamdyn McIntosh at #46 for West Coast :thumbsu:
Would be stoked if he was still available, hopefully one of him or Rodda are.
I'm really not a fan of McIntosh, not sure where all the love for him is coming from of late. I didn't mind Howson, not expecting any world beaters in the later picks but he had a good combination of defence and rebound at least.

Think you're hard on O'Rourke and Lucas who can find the ball as a forward and mid. I would gladly add another gutrunner like Lucas to our 22. They mightn't have a crack like Simpson and Bootsma who are slight, but I reckon hardness can be improved a bit. Lewis Jetta isn't as hard as Rioli, yet he can find the ball and hurt sides. O'Rourke or Garlett could be picked to eventually replace Simpson who is one of our best runners and kicks. We could possibly play O'Rourke back to release Yarran. Or he could replace Scotland.

Unless a bigger mid such as Vlastuin or Stringer slides, I can see us going for O'Rourke or Garlett. Reckon O'Rourke could develop into an inside and outside player like Murphy. Hughes was in charge up until this year, yet I reckon Rogers would have had a fair say in our rankings of Lucas, Pittard, Yarran, Jeffy Garlett and Lewis Jetta. Not sure that we'd favour a smaller mid/forward like Kennedy. We liked more Robinson more than Ballantyne.

Big mid with 11 and a small such as Boston (poor man's O'Rourke?), Temay or Carter with pick 36 could be the ideal draft.
I wasn't bagging either but it's fair to say Lucas hasn't yet made a position his own at AFL level as he still is not a regular in the team. My point was just that I could see the same happening with O'Rourke because he doesn't win his own ball, doesn't get in and get his hands dirty and although his best is excellent he goes missing too often.

Wouldn't mind either Vlastuin or Garlett, I rate both of them pretty high. Ballantyne is not a good comparison for Kennedy at all, he's much more a Boomer Harvey style player that can consistently win a lot of possession in the midfield where Frodo is more a forward.

I'm really not a fan of McIntosh, not sure where all the love for him is coming from of late. I didn't mind Howson, not expecting any world beaters in the later picks but he had a good combination of defence and rebound at least.

What don't you like about McIntosh? I haven't seen a huge amount of him, and saw him listed at 190cm so are you thinking he may struggle against the big forwards? He's could go first round but may slide to our first pick, so just interested to here your different opinion.

Not so much his height it's just that the games I've watched him in he's actually performed quite poorly. Made a lot of mistakes and bad decisions which have been quite costly for his team and hasn't really done any good work to make up for it.

I wasn't bagging either but it's fair to say Lucas hasn't yet made a position his own at AFL level as he still is not a regular in the team. My point was just that I could see the same happening with O'Rourke because he doesn't win his own ball, doesn't get in and get his hands dirty and although his best is excellent he goes missing too often.

Wouldn't mind either Vlastuin or Garlett, I rate both of them pretty high. Ballantyne is not a good comparison for Kennedy at all, he's much more a Boomer Harvey style player that can consistently win a lot of possession in the midfield where Frodo is more a forward.
Blind Freddy and The List Manager could tell you that he'll be picked in the first round.#lockedandloaded

Yarran doesn't win inside ball like Murphy, Robinson and Mclean, yet still cuts sides up with his run and class. Don't know if O'Rourke is good overhead like Yarran, yet his side step in traffic and skill was Yarran-like in his highlights.

The Ballantyne comparison was more about where smaller players are picked and who was available. Forgot Prestia and Devon Smith, but it might still count against Kennedy if the likes of Mayes, Stringer, Garlett, O'Rourke (unlikely) and Vlastuin are available at 11.

Blind Freddy and The List Manager could tell you that he'll be picked in the first round.#lockedandloaded

Yarran doesn't win inside ball like Murphy, Robinson and Mclean, yet still cuts sides up with his run and class. Don't know if O'Rourke is good overhead like Yarran, yet his side step in traffic and skill was Yarran-like in his highlights.

The Ballantyne comparison was more about where smaller players are picked and who was available. Forgot Prestia and Devon Smith, but it might still count against Kennedy if the likes of Mayes, Stringer, Garlett, O'Rourke (unlikely) and Vlastuin are available at 11.
I have him getting picked in the first round, and also high enough to be first round in my personal rankings. Not just as high as players who have shown more (talent, not just performance) to me.

He will have moments where he will cut teams up as you put it, the first quarter in the championships against WA is a good example of this but was then virtually unsighted for the rest of the game. He's going to have to get a lot more productive in his games, not just a little more productive and with the contested nature of AFL he'll need to win a lot more of his own ball. Has not shown that he can do that.

Prestia and Smith are good recent examples, I questioned how Smith's game would translate to AFL but he did a great job this year. I won't be making the same mistake with Kennedy, he can really play and could end up very similar to Boomer Harvey, not just in style but also because he wins a heap of the ball.

Good stuff Sin. Interesting read with the different ratings of players.

Cheers tigs, sorry mate I only just realised I hadn't replied to you. Glad you enjoyed it. Seems like a rate players differently, I just try and judge it on how I see them going at AFL level.

Should add that we were looking at Tipungwuti as a late/rookie pick so you may have that right.

I really like him, he's made a lot of improvements this year physically which was necessary and he's great when he has the ball. Wonderful skills and seems to have all the time in the world to execute them.

Would prefer Carlton to pick up O'Rourke rather than Kennedy. Why would you consider Kennedy a better fit?

Welcome aboard Gibba4, noticed a few enthusiastic draft related posts on the Carlton board already. Do you follow junior footy much?

I've gone over this a few times already but basically I consider Kennedy a comfortably better player which is why he goes higher. O'Rourke is a great kick but compared to Kennedy he doesn't get as much of the ball, doesn't do enough dirty work and doesn't win enough of his own ball. O'Rourke will need to improve in these areas considerably to make it in the AFL because it can be pretty hard to get a kick at times.

1. GWS - Lachlan Whitfield
2. GWS - Jimmy Toumpas
3. GWS - Lachlan Plowman
First surprise here in the eyes of some but I felt with GWS re-signing Giles as well as having Phillips and Downie developing that they weren't after another ruck so passed on Grundy and they're well set for forwards and mids. Plowman is a terrific player who is also best available and after trading away Hombsch they add Plowman to really strengthen up their defensive stocks. Will team up with Davis, Mohr and Buntine for a very strong defensive unit while freeing up Tomlinson to be more of a swingman.

http://m.heraldsun.com.au/afl/more-...-in-at-the-draft/story-e6frf9jf-1226516135805

With their No. 3 pick, the Giants are eyeing Calder Cannons defender Lachie Plowman, who has impressed despite missing four months with a dislocated elbow.

http://m.heraldsun.com.au/afl/more-...-in-at-the-draft/story-e6frf9jf-1226516135805

Been on about this one for a while now, makes a lot of sense to me given they're already very strong in the midfield and forward line.