Sinclair

• Thread starter Thread starter DeZi

Name those better players.......

Just off the top of my head in the last 5 or so years.

McCarthy
Scotland (error, requested trade and it was almost 10 years ago)
Egan
Stanley

Obviously Egan and Stanley aren't/weren't world beaters, but in my opinion they're better than Sinclair.

Barham was a dud and J-Mac kicking is just as bad as Sinclairs....plus J-Mac is soft.

Agree with Barham, was a dud, but disposal wise the same as Sinclair. You're kidding yourself though if you think McCarthy's kicking is as bad as Sinclair. He is elite in comparison.

Barham was a dud

He had the same flaws in his game as Sinclair does. He chased and tackled well but it wasn't enough and he got delisted because his disposal wasn't up to scratch, Sinclair is heading along the same path.

Hell Barham even got a Rising Star nomination in his first game, 28 disposals and 9 tackles, Sinclair hasn't even come close to that.

Barham was a dud and J-Mac kicking is just as bad as Sinclairs....plus J-Mac is soft.

Have you watched any of his games in the VFL or for Port? He's neither soft nor a bad kick. He gave that impression at times in his limited senior appearances at the Pies but I don't think those performances were reflective of him as a player. I think it was an issue of getting up to the pace of the game when his games were punctuated by long periods of injury.

I'd also like to add that we didn't get rid of McCarthy. He left quite reasonably for greater opportunity. I'm sure there are quotes out of the club stating that we would have kept him on the list if his decision hadn't been to move on for opportunity. Theres a big difference between delisting a player and a player leaving for opportunity. People seem to ignore this important distinction when discussing McCarthy for some reason.

Jetta took forever to kick a goal for the Swans last year. He came onto the scene with the same explosive pace and inability to nail shots. Their patients has paid off.

Sinclair is harder at the footy, gets to more contests and his kicking action is not flawed as some suggest. He just needs to learn how to stabilize when running at full speed.

His lower body is extremely powerful for a young man - you only have to look at his thighs to see how strong he will become. Eventually I think he will end up in the midfield longer term.

Don't sell him short - his pressure is enormous and when he gets the rest right he will be very good for us.

I trust Buckley - he will do what's best.

Just got word that part of bucks' announcement tomorrow will be that Sinclair has signed on for an extra two years with the pies.
Buckley said it's a remarkable event and Sinclair will become one of the prime midfielders of the competition and has the potential to be as tough as Luke Ball.

Eventually I think he will end up in the midfield longer term.
It would be the best position for him if he can make it. A boot thrown at a ball is worth a lot more out of the centre. Or he could spread it out wider to an outside mid who can hit targets.

The Jetta comparison is not a bad one I reckon.

I said a couple of weeks ago that I think he needs the 30 games experience just to get that confidence and comfort that he belongs at AFL level. I also doubted if he was going to get that opportunity or if we could afford to give them to him.

He has improved in recent weeks and after watching him ANZAC day I think he can make it. A bit like Jetta he just needs to kick one of those goals in the last quarter and he might be away.....

That said, with Johnson, Wellingham and Beams back in the side and Shaw, Thomas and Didak not far away spots in the side are going to be few and far between so he needs to nail one of those crumbing pressure goals very shortly.

The poor kid has been absolutely smashed on the boards here for no good reason. He tries his guts out and does the 1%ers which is what you ask of your young players (which is vital to our gameplan)

To those saying that his disposals suck, that is something that he will get better at over time. You can't just drop a kid because his disposals are a bit shaky, esp when he has been tackling and putting pressure in our forward 50.

Just to remind you guys, a few years ago a majority of this board was LIVID that MM continued to play Toovey, he was being touted as the worst Collingwood player (barring his debut against Richmond) His disposal was crap (and still is) but he had HEART and now has cult-like status.

Ben Reid could always mark the ball but he couldn't kick a goal to save a life. But he kept trying and eventually found his way into our backline (and AA)

You can't drop Sinclair "cause he can't finish off" etc...give the kid a chance and let him get some confidence. Obviously our coaches know best (as has been proven in the past) Just let the kid breathe!!!

/rant

Great game today, sick of seeing everyone wanting to drop Sinclair. Didak won't be tackling in our F50...GO PIES!!! :):thumbsu:

Shit mate have you been watching any games this year??? Are related to him???

Have you watched any of his games in the VFL or for Port? He's neither soft nor a bad kick. He gave that impression at times in his limited senior appearances at the Pies but I don't think those performances were reflective of him as a player. I think it was an issue of getting up to the pace of the game when his games were punctuated by long periods of injury.

I'd also like to add that we didn't get rid of McCarthy. He left quite reasonably for greater opportunity. I'm sure there are quotes out of the club stating that we would have kept him on the list if his decision hadn't been to move on for opportunity. Theres a big difference between delisting a player and a player leaving for opportunity. People seem to ignore this important distinction when discussing McCarthy for some reason.

It's beyond many supporter's imaginations that a player could possibly want to leave Collingwood of their own accord. :rolleyes:

The best this about Sinclair is that, despite his stuff ups, he keeps at it. I'm sure when most people stuff up - particularly kids - they go into their shell and that's not good a good thing. Sinclair keeps having a crack.

But he needs to deliver. He's playing in the same forward line as Travis Cloke. which means many opposition coaches will double team Cloke and leave Sinclair free. And Sinclair needs to make the most of that opportunity and punish the opposition by kicking goals. He's not doing that.

It is ridiculous to call for him to be delisted - that's premature. He needs to go back to the VFL and practice kicking goals in the forward line.

I liked his game against the Dons should hold his spot. Was a bit inaccurate but most of them were.

The best this about Sinclair is that, despite his stuff ups, he keeps at it. I'm sure when most people stuff up - particularly kids - they go into their shell and that's not good a good thing. Sinclair keeps having a crack.

Did you see Anthony last night for Freo? He completely lost his shit after giving away a silly free. He sweated everything that come his way inevitably stuffing it up until he got substituted. You wonder if thats the end of Anthony in the AFL, or Freo at least.

The end of him in the AFL, he's running on completely 0 confidence.

Just got word that part of bucks' announcement tomorrow will be that Sinclair has signed on for an extra two years with the pies.
Buckley said it's a remarkable event and Sinclair will become one of the prime midfielders of the competition and has the potential to be as tough as Luke Ball.

April fools' day has come and gone.

This thread is a joke, can't believe some supporters...

All those saying Sinclair cant kick are a joke, in fact he has always been known through junior footy and Oakleigh days to have a great set of skills. The fact that the work ethic is there and he is a natural hard-nut suggests to me he can make it.

Okay, so he is struggling to take the next step, showing his skill on the big-stage. That will come with experience and confidence, everything else is there!

This thread is a joke, can't believe some supporters...

All those saying Sinclair cant kick are a joke, in fact he has always been known through junior footy and Oakleigh days to have a great set of skills.

Have you been watching season 2012 thus far?

This is not the juniors.

He does not have a great set of skills. His kicking is the joke at the moment. That is FACT!

Don't be precious.

I think we're all being a little too hard on him now.
He deserved a serve and has got it.
No need to end his career "sans reason" simply for the argument.