Sinclair

Yeh I'm not on the bandwagon yet either.

He did some very nice things i.e. his attack and desperation at the footy (we know he can do this though) and he did kick 2 goals.

However, as others have pointed out, he managed to avoid doing what we all know he is rubbish at- kicking the footy via drop punt. Evidently, this was good for him and didn't affect the team either- so it was a win-win I guess.

He will not be able to get away with this too often. He must improve his kicking and until I have seen the substantial improvement required to be of a league standard footballer, I won't be on his bandwagon just yet.

Its very clear that not everyone is on the sinclair bandwagon yet which is fair enough but i think we all can agree that everyone feels frustrated and anxious when he gets the ball!

Loved his effort again last night and the one thing some people are missing is his forward pressure is outstanding, give the kid some time to get his confidence to a level where he feels he truly belongs and everything else will improve eg: kicking and awareness with the footy.

Remember that L Brown was a horrible kick and horrible everything really when he first came over, but its amazing what confidence and support from the coaches did for his game at a much later stage in his career than Sinclair, im prepared to back him to make it into a pretty good player eventually.

Very pleased for Sinclair last night that he got the end of a couple, great for the confidence. The first few weeks he was getting to the right spots just not finishing.

We have to remember he has played very few games in what I would describe as the hardest position on the ground as a permanent small forward trying to win his own ball often outnumbered so he is going to believe he is under immense pressure and rushed whenever he gets the ball until he gains real confidence, realistically he would only get a handful of genuine chances to kick a goal (without doing something special) a game so if he snags two that's great.

We have been crying out for forward pressure since Leon went back last year and he along with Goldsack provides that in spades, and people want to get him out of the side, i think we need him to stay so long as that pressure stays especially if we brink Didak back in.

I like the kid and have always liked him regardless what anyone else had to say.He shows determination. He is just a kid coming into the game. I reckon he'll be a great player in a few years. Alot of people used to bag toooooooooooves and look what happened. And harry o'brien.Dad would say "get harry off he's a dud".Now he loves him. For people who have Never played afl ya'll are quick to judge. Give him a go.

Kid is definitely growing on me. Still get worried every time he has the ball, but he seemed to be playing within his limitations a bit more last night, handing it off instead of kicking, putting it in front of reid instead of going for the goal, etc, made me like him alot more. At this stage I'd take him over fasolo who i think should get dropped for dids.

Agreed.

Liked him last year but with his first few this year he just did not belong in the side. Now after Friday's game he is certainly warming to me.

Ben Sinclair
Career Games ............ 10
Career Goals............... 5

Yeah i should take that back. i was only thinking of that one incident.

However does anyone think he is too easily shrugged off in tackles.?

His kick to Reid was awesome and also the fact he was at the bottom of a lot of packs.

Of we improve his kicking we have a 200 gamer

I love the bloke.

You are a champion, Tbone. So many posters make generalizations based on an isolated incident picked up in the commentary or replayed in the telecast. Very few admit that their judgement is based on such flimsy evidence. Love the honesty.

Can't remember David Robertson. When did he play with the Pies?

he played forward pocket / rover in the late 80's, he had real pace but didnt make it, which was interesting given our lack of rovers at the club during that period.

i actually met him three weeks ago, at a ladder platform drill (he works at the fire brigade) when he was playing for collingwood McAllister actually rang up the brigade and told the commanders that he needed to spend more time at the club instead of working at the brigade. back in those days people had full time jobs playing in the VFL/AFL

A knockout poll on http://www.foxsports.com.au/. Picked from five players who did their job without fuss and helped their team in their bid for victory. Winner revealed on Tuesday night on AFL Insider on FOX FOOTY. Sinclair got nominated for his speed, 19 pressure acts and 2 goals.

Sorry guys, but I'm just about turned on Sinclair.

Tonight he showed me pretty much 100% why he's in the side.

He finally kicked 2, but he created 3. His pressure is great, and he was on his own on a LOT of occasions tonight. Credit where credit is due, the kid seems to know where to be and when.

I doubt he'll be dropped for the rest of the year.

I don't think anyone could question Sinclair's efforts this year. He gives 110% which is what you want to see and why the coach likes him. A couple of his smothers on Friday night were brilliant. His pace & pressure are top class.

His downfall as we know is his foot skills. They are improving but are still sub standard, this is a problem given he is a small forward who needs to be kicking goals or setting up other forwards.

He is currently doing more than enough to hold his position, but we are missing the finishing skills of Krak & Didak, becasue at the end of the day pressure etc is great, but if you don't hit the scoreboard as a result of it what is the point.

I have been one of his biggest baggers, but certainly never his effort. I dont know why people thought his Essendon game was good because i thought he nearly cost us the game. However on Friday night he started with a few poor kicks and then BAM turned the corner. He did have a very good game and if he can play that way then there is a spot for him in the forward line. 2 goals from roving close to goals, still needs to show he can slot them from 30 - 40 out. Given his speed and tackling I think he has a long term role as a tagger not a forward pocket

Sinclair had a good game by his standards to date. He did a few nice things. He earned a spot for a week or two.

He has been getting better by the week which is what you want to see. He is still not up to it IMO. Time will tell.

Sinclair