SJ Fair Dinkum

• Thread starter Thread starter AM

Shell said:
Gotta say "Ammo Man", you on ya period or something?

If you're sick of my snide attacks, DON'T READ EM. Sheesh!! I'll post what i want, when I want.

DING!
DING!
DING!
DING!

There we have it folks!

Permission to create 100+ SJ threads a day.:thumbsu:

And about time too.

why hasnt this thread been closed or amalgamated into the one of the other million threads on the great man?? the next person or the person that started this one should be sent into big footy cyber prison.

and on SJ, once he shows application and dedication then we will start believeing the hype, til then its a wait and see approach.

Catman said:
I hope no one gets sucked in by these false promises.

Good to see Mike ask if he'd stay off the booze for the entire season, the stuttering response from Steve said it all.

Well said Catman. For someone who is so "fair dinkum" I couldn't believe his "I'll, I'll, I'll..." response to staying off the bottle. Words are easy. Let's wait for the action (and wait... and wait?). Like everyone I hope Johnno can turn it around but I ain't holding my breath...

My5t3r10u5 said:
Well said Catman. For someone who is so "fair dinkum" I couldn't believe his "I'll, I'll, I'll..." response to staying off the bottle.

Yeah I thought that was terrible. If he is fair dinkim about turning it around he can stay off the piss for 6 months.

someday-somehow said:
Real classy, keep your bigoted opinions off this page

100% correct S.S.

Isn't the issue that, unlike other years, Johnson now knows nobody else wants him. If he stuffs-up this year his AFL career is cactus. No more safety nets. If that doesn't get him back on track nothing will. I have my doubts, but I'm hoping.

nananana catman said:
It begs the question, why hasnt he been fair dinkum all along?

This seems to happen to a lot of these blokes. Some clubs has a more professional off-field culture than others, I don't think Geelong has really had this enough. We have to remember these are young men thrust into stardom (they're treated like that in Geelong anyway) and unless they are clearly level headed they get carried away with their own self worth. I don't think SJ is the sharpest tool in the shed so he suffers from that.
SJ reminds me of Clint Bizzel, he thought he was a valuable commodity until Geelong off-loaded him and for a couple of years put his head down and worked his arse off.
I'm not sure SJ is mature enough and bright enough to realise his time is limited and this probably won't dawn on him until he's too old and broken down to realise the potential he has.
I also think there's a couple of players down at Skilled Stadium that fit into this category. My thoughts are he is given 1 more year then if he doesn't come up with the goods big-time then he is delisted if he can't be traded. It is better to have the workhorses that may not necessarily be blessed with natural talent to at least create a good work ethic at the club. Look at Steven Baker, he is a classic hard worker and has turned himself from a AFL misfit to a very valuable player.