Moved Thread Skilled stadium for finals clarification

If Cats finish top two that would make the 4 finals game in week 1, all Melbourne games.

All being big Melbourne/Victorian clubs to: Hawthorn, Geelong, Richmond and Collingwood.

You would think Hawthorn and Geelong would get priority as they finish top two and you would assume both will play at the MCG. A qualifying final will be played at the 'G. I don't think the AFL will let them play at Skilled.

Would one of Richmond or Collingwood have to play at Etihad?

Can a game be played in the arvo and then another played that night? Wouldn't think so.

No way in hell would Geelong/Hawthorn v Sydney/Freo get preference at the g over a Essendon/Richmond/Collingwood combination.

But you could play Friday, Saturday and Sunday

No way in hell would Geelong/Hawthorn v Sydney/Freo get preference at the g over a Essendon/Richmond/Collingwood combination.

The teams that finish in the four deserve priority over the teams that finish in the bottom 4 of the 8.

If Geelong finish 3rd of 4th it can work. They will go to Perth to play. But they are likely to finish second so Hawthorn vs. Fremantle or Sydney and Geelong vs. Sydney or Fremantle should play on Friday and Saturday (night?) at the MCG.

One of Richmond and Collingwood will have to play at Etihad.

Just another bias against Geelong that no other team has. Yet we are still the most successful team in the AFL era. Damn we are good.

It's just a contract and cost thing.
The interstate clubs clubs have historically been shafted because of the MCG contract.
The Swans play at ANZ which is not a really any advantage it's just size.
Play at SS over Docklands if it's a better outcome for the AFL but I doubt it atm.

It's just a contract and cost thing.
The interstate clubs clubs have historically been shafted because of the MCG contract.
The Swans play at ANZ which is not a really any advantage it's just size.
Play at SS over Docklands if it's a better outcome for the AFL but I doubt it atm.
The finals were massively comprised because of the old MCG finals rule. No one but a crusty old MCC member would disagree. Yeah it may not be better for the AFL gatekeepings, but that should have nothing to do with. It is about the integrity of the competition. Every other club who finishes higher ranked then their opponent gets a home final in their home city in front of mostly their home fans. Geelong is the only team that doesn't. These facts can't be disputed. The fact that Geelong is forced to play so many of its homes games at an opponents home ground and therefore gets the comments "they should be used to it" is ridiculous.

Presumably whoever plays Port will get Etihad. Richmond or Collingwood at Etihad? They'd be spewing.

Yes. If Port make it and all finals are in Melbourne, then their final would be at Etihad.

What about a Monday Night final? Crowd would show up regardless. That way all finals can be played at the MCG.

Never.

KP is already an advantage (although a completely necessary one), but to play finals there as well it would tip it over the edge. 7-8 genuine home games against sides who see the unique skinny wings of KP at best once a year, only have to travel interstate 4-5 times a year, still get to play at the G 3-4 times during the year AND play finals at KP is too much.

Haven't you guys learn't how this works yet?
The big clubs play at the MCG despite ladder position come finals, hence a Richmond, Essendon & Collingwood combination.

Silly people, you almost made out as if the AFL cared about ladder positions over pure cash :rolleyes:

Nah. then you'd have short breaks for sides.

Six day break if a Semi Final is played on Sunday in Week 2, which used to happen until 1995.
Would personally prefer it... find it odd that there is no finals footy on weekend day in the middle of September!

Week 1 - Fri N, Sat N, Sun, Mon N
Week 2 - Sat, Sun
Week 3 - Fri N, Sat T/N
Week 4 - Sat

If the cats finish top 2 do have the right to host a final at Skilled stadium?

Try Simonds Stadium

It'll never happen while Vlad is in charge,so maybe next year we;ll get home finals when Vlad does a runner to stuff up tennis ;)

BTW Simonds Stadium will be used for GFL finals in September,so it would be unavailable this year.

Whilst I don't mind us playing finals at the 'G or Etihad instead of Simmonds Stadium, I reckon the league should be open to the idea of Geelong hosting interstate teams there for the first week of finals, should games configure that way.

I'll laugh if we finish 2nd and have to play at Etihad. The fact that it's not just possible but actually likely goes to show how much of a joke our league can be. That being said, we almost pinched a Grand Final spot in 04 by getting Brisbane at the 'G so we've had the good side of finals fixturing before.

In tho words of the great wayne carey. " well play them anywhere and beat them anywhere"

(Eagles won the flag that year)

Except that Robinson stated that Hird was the driving force behind it and since he isn't there at Geelong now, how do you explain us in 2011 (since he left 2010) and being second on the ladder this year?

As for topic, I wish! Would be awesome playing finals at Skilled.

Itd be cheaper and youd have to let the away team get 40% of the seats