Skilled Stadium Upgrade Negativity - Geelong F.C. Responds Here.

RadioShark

Jan 26, 2002
Albury, NSW.
Chicago Bulls
In recent days, there have have been a number of negative comments about the re-development of Skilled Stadium and Kardinia Park in Geelong, a proposed joint venture between the Victorian State Government, the City of Greater Geelong, the AFL and the Geelong Football Club.

Hereunder is a letter from the Geelong Football Club's chief executive in response to some of those comments.

STADIUM REVAMP FOR BENEFIT OF WHOLE COMMUNITY

There have been suggestions in recent days that the City of Greater Geelong's contribution to the re-development of Skilled Stadium and Kardinia Park is a cash hand-out of $6 million to the Geelong Football Club.

Nothing could be further from reality. The new stadium facility, which if it proceeds will be funded by the State Government, the AFL and this club as well as the COGG, will be one for the whole community.

It will contain facilities to be used by all the people of Geelong, not just footballers.

There will be a 700 seat banquet and conference facility so that the people of Geelong don't have to travel to Melbourne for major functions.

There will be a Sports House to contain the administrative homes of possibly 40 local sporting bodies.

There will be an elite gym for use by athletes from a wide range of sports.

The development will ensure the whole Kardinia Park precinct remains a premier recreational area for the people of Geelong, something first envisaged for the area as far back as 1872 when the then Commissioner for Crown Lands proclaimed abour 60 acres of Chilwell Flat for public park purposes.

The Geelong Football Club is a relatively recent addition to the list of tenants of Kardinia Park, but we are a tenant that takes seriously the role of maintaining this area in the best interests of the city and the region we so proudly represent.

Research shows our city and region benefits greatly from the presence of our football club here. Each home game at Skilled Stadium is worth around $1.4 million to the local economy. At the moment that's about $12 million a year. Additionally, our club and its employees, including the footballers, spend a considerable amount of money with local businesses, regardless of whether those business-people barrack for the club.

We want to see Geelong continue to play as many home games as possible at Skilled Stadium. However, this won't happen if the stadium is not up to the standards of not just the AFL, but basic health and safety regulations.

At the moment, we are spending $1 million a year on maintenance while at the same time, the stadium continues to deteriorate.

As a club, we have worked hard to see this development proceed, but we have done that in partnership with a wide range of community groups and over a long period of time. The re-development was first mooted in 1999, when we put together our Stand Up and Fight Campaign.

The Geelong Football Club is proud of its place in the history of this town, the Bellarine Peninsula and the Western Districts. Over the past three to four years, the current administration has worked feverishly to ensure this club continues to exist in the AFL.

We have demonstrated enormous fiscal reponsibility. This year we will make a small profit of $307,000. This is the third year in a row we have announced a small profit while at the same reducing our debt from around $8 million to $1.9 million. Next March, that debt will come down another $600,000 when we make a further repayment to the Bengido Bank.

The current board members under Frank Costa now have a proven track record as prudent financial managers.

Under Frank Costa, the club also has a keen awareness of the responsibility to work with the broader community.

The re-development of Kardinia Park is part of that. We want this area to remain as a prime recreational place for the people of Geelong for at least another 130 years. That's why we are contributing our own funds to the re-development.

After proper analysis of the development, the State Government, the State Opposition and the AFL have also confirmed their determination to see it go ahead.

If the City of Greater Geelong decides to join in this partnership, your readers - regardless of for whom they barrack in the AFL - can be assured the funds will be used to provide them with a facility they can not only be proud of, but make regular use of, while at the same time guaranteeing a large financial return to the region.

Research suggests the financial return from the re-development will be around $100 million over the next 10 years. So any commitment to the up-grading of Kardinia Park/Skilled Stadium would seem more a case of sound investment in the future of Geelong than giving anyone a hand-out.

Brian Cook
Chief Executive Officer
GEELONG FOOTBALL CLUB

Still wrong. Waverley could have been saved, with more benefits to the community and to more clubs than this handout. Absolutely, positively wrong. It's pure grab-voting by both Labor and the Libs, with the AFL kicking some dosh in. They make the Bulldogs and Roos move heaven and earth for some money, but are more than happy to hand it over to Geelong to build their little stadium.

:mad:

The Hitman

Originally posted by The Hitman
Still wrong. Waverley could have been saved, with more benefits to the community and to more clubs than this handout. Absolutely, positively wrong. It's pure grab-voting by both Labor and the Libs, with the AFL kicking some dosh in. They make the Bulldogs and Roos move heaven and earth for some money, but are more than happy to hand it over to Geelong to build their little stadium.

The Hitman

I know Hitman, but we can take solace from the fact that they will always be Hawthorn's bitches, and will always put a heap of nice dandy footballers on the park. What is the point of a nice, new, government funded stadium when it houses overated nancy boys?

Think about that.

Waverley could have been saved but it was a s.hithole in the iddle of a rainbelt with inadequate transprot and was unpopular with the general public. Why save something that was so technologically deficient and would require so much spending?

Geelong is a different propositioon because it is not part of the same community. It is also different because it is not football money. If you have any objection, it should be a political issue not a football one. Equating it with AFL handouts is despiration at best and moronic at worst.

Originally posted by MarkT

Waverley could have been saved but it was a s.hithole in the iddle of a rainbelt with inadequate transprot and was unpopular with the general public. Why save something that was so technologically deficient and would require so much spending?

Even if it were true it was still massively popular. If it were around today crowds would be increasing not decreasing. and 26mill would have gone along way to doing it. In fact, the hawks had plenty of backers willing to invest but the top end of town didn't want too much competition for colonial.

Public money would not have been needed

Originally posted by NorthBhoy

I know Hitman, but we can take solace from the fact that they will always be Hawthorn's bitches, and will always put a heap of nice dandy footballers on the park. What is the point of a nice, new, government funded stadium when it houses overated nancy boys?

Think about that.

Have a sook tin rattler.

The Hitman
Classic dog in the manger stuff Hitman, bit emotional, must be that time of the month. While I agree that VFL Park could've and should've been saved, the fact is the AFL wanted it closed. Different issue.

Bulldogs and Roos not getting help!, I suppose you hadn't noticed that the MCG, North's home ground, is getting tax payer money to be upgraded, and how much is North contributing? Diddly squat. Western Bulldogs, did they put a mortgage on Chris Grant to contribute to the building costs of Colonial? Not a dime. How much are Geelong contributing to the redevelopment of Kardinia Park? $4.5 million, and this to a ground which is not owned by Geelong.

The Hitman

Do you want a tissue?

If Geelong are going to get to get their ground upgraded, then so bloody what ?? It will certainly be used for other things to the benefit of overall Geelong community, not just the footy club. I can't believe that people are actually complaining about it. A new stadium for all AFL clubs to play at, what's so wrong about that ???

And save Waverley ??? Oh ppaaaaallllease, give me a break !! It always was a white elephant especially with the lack of public transport.

Funny, didn't the Bulldogs just get a half a billion dollar shiny new stadium, and the Roos about to get redevelopments in their stadium of similar value?

And at least the Geelong 'handout' helps them help themselves and tries to address the underlying problem of not being able to generate enough revenue. The charity the Bulldogs and Roos are getting do sweet f*ck all towards addressing that problem and just delay the inevitable.

Originally posted by TheSheik
And save Waverley ??? Oh ppaaaaallllease, give me a break !! It always was a white elephant especially with the lack of public transport.

Hitter smirks and looks accusingly at Optus Oval...

The Hitman

Originally posted by Rob
Funny, didn't the Bulldogs just get a half a billion dollar shiny new stadium, and the Roos about to get redevelopments in their stadium of similar value?

Funny. The AFL will soon own Telstra Dome. Essendon, the Bulldogs, and St. Kilda have their home matches there. Several other clubs (Hawthorn, Kangaroos, Richmond, Melbourne, Collingwood, and even Geelong) play at least one home game there in 2003. I have a feeling Telstra Dome is there for the league, not one club. But hey, you wouldn't wanna let the facts get in the way of an attempted point.

The MCG is being redeveloped for the Commonwealth Games, which will bring millions of dollars into the economy. Once again, pretty much every Victorian club will have a home game there, and it is also going to be used in finals. A win for all clubs, the AFl, the MCC, and the state.

Get the trend?

On the other hand, you have the government and the AFL shelling out for a second rate ground in Geelong which - wait for it - only one club will get benefit from. Hawthorn won't see any benefit. Neither will Essendon or Collingwood. Nor the Doggies or Richmond. Only Geelong. It's a 13.5 million dollar handout to the Geelong Football Club. The AFL don't own the ground, but they owned Waverley.

Silly AFL. Helping out Kardinia Park when they could have done the same for Waverley, with far more benefits.

The Hitman

Silly AFL. Helping out Kardinia Park when they could have done the same for Waverley, with far more benefits.

They could've cared, but they didn't. They did care once though. You know there actually was a time when this 'anti-eastern suburbs' VFL/AFL was all for waverley. In fact they were the only ones who were. Everyone else thought of it as a derelict, rain-soaked, out-in-the-middle-of-nowhere,hard-to-get-to, pile of concrete. Of course now it's different. Now since it's everyone else who liked waverley, it should've obviously stayed. Believe me mate, Waverley had it's chances. But by the time the public realised that this ground actually meant something to them, it was too late.

Skilled Stadium deserves this upgrade. It helps the community of Geelong by a long way. Didn't you read the letter? Geelong FC is one of many tenants of the Kardinia Park complex. This isn't a handout to Geelong FC, this is a handout to the city of Geelong. What else was waverley used for other than footy?

Get over waverley man. It's gone. It's been gone for 3 years now. Believe me, I loved waverley too. But I also love kardinia Park. I don't want to see it go the same way.

Funny. The AFL will soon own Telstra Dome. Essendon, the Bulldogs, and St. Kilda have their home matches there. Several other clubs (Hawthorn, Kangaroos, Richmond, Melbourne, Collingwood, and even Geelong) play at least one home game there in 2003. I have a feeling Telstra Dome is there for the league, not one club. But hey, you wouldn't wanna let the facts get in the way of an attempted point.

Soon? If you call 30 years soon. And if you call Victorian clubs 'the league'.

The MCG is being redeveloped for the Commonwealth Games, which will bring millions of dollars into the economy. Once again, pretty much every Victorian club will have a home game there, and it is also going to be used in finals. A win for all clubs, the AFl, the MCC, and the state.

You seem to be confused. You equate 'all clubs' with 'all Victorian clubs'. Just ask the Crows how great the MCG agreement is.

I'm not saying the AFL shouldn't have invested in Colonial or the MCG, just pointing out that other clubs (predominantly Victorian)have got massive benefits out of the AFL funding their stadiums. And funding them to a much. much, MUCH larger extent than their small contribution towards Kardinia Park.

Get the trend?

On the other hand, you have the government and the AFL shelling out for a second rate ground in Geelong which - wait for it - only one club will get benefit from. Hawthorn won't see any benefit. Neither will Essendon or Collingwood. Nor the Doggies or Richmond. Only Geelong. It's a 13.5 million dollar handout to the Geelong Football Club. The AFL don't own the ground, but they owned Waverley.

Didn't think the AFL was contributing anywhere near that, only about $2 million from memory. About the same amount the AFL will pay for just one years worth of benefit to the Roos and Dogs having aboslutely no long term impact. I would expect that this would help Geelong FC generate more ticketing and corporate dollars to provide a brighter long term future.
The AFL handouts to the Roos and the Dogs do absolutely nothing towards solving their inherent problem of not being able to generate enough revenue long term.

I agree. But I didn't think this was a Waverley v Kardinia Park debate.

Originally posted by Rob

Didn't think the AFL was contributing anywhere near that, only about $2 million from memory. About the same amount the AFL will pay for just one years worth of benefit to the Roos and Dogs having aboslutely no long term impact.

The AFL handouts to the Roos and the Dogs do absolutely nothing towards solving their inherent problem of not being able to generate enough revenue long term.

Stop talking crap you tool, the only funding North has received from the AFL is a gaurantee in advance from the AFL so that they can take out a bank loan for two million dollars held against future proceeds from the sale of Waverly park.

This is the same as what every AFL club is entitled to. North has not recieved any emergency funding as per the Bulldogs.

Originally posted by Rob

And at least the Geelong 'handout' helps them help themselves and tries to address the underlying problem of not being able to generate enough revenue. The charity the Bulldogs and Roos are getting do sweet f*ck all towards addressing that problem and just delay the inevitable.

Refer comment above di ckhead. North has never received any charity, the funding of their new social club and gaming facility will come from both North and channel 7, the current owners of Coloniel.

Originally posted by choppy

Refer comment above di ckhead. North has never received any charity, the funding of their new social club and gaming facility will come from both North and channel 7, the current owners of Coloniel.

I understood that in addition to the $2 million advance of the Waverley proceeds, they also applied for (and received or about to receive) the $1 million handout from the special assistance fund conditional upon them achieving certain spending restrictions.

If that's not the case, I apologise. I have read it in both major Victorian papers as well as numerous times on this board (which admittedly is no proof whatsoever) that they had.

Originally posted by choppy

Stop talking crap you tool, the only funding North has received from the AFL is a gaurantee in advance from the AFL so that they can take out a bank loan for two million dollars held against future proceeds from the sale of Waverly park.

This is the same as what every AFL club is entitled to. North has not recieved any emergency funding as per the Bulldogs.

I withdraw my previous apology.

Aylett hails new start for Kangaroos
Angus Morgan
afl.com.au
8:18:58 AM Tue 17 September, 2002

Kangaroos chairman Allen Aylett has described the club’s access to $3 million in special funding as a ‘starting point for the future’ that will secure the club moving forward.

The AFL advised the Kangaroos on Monday that it had approved the transfer of $2 million – the club’s share of the sale of Waverley – and a further $1 million from the league’s special assistance fund established last year.

“We’ve been waiting a couple of months, but now that it’s approved, it will just be a matter of Geoff Walsh meeting with the AFL executive staff and I’m sure there won’t be too many problems with that money coming through very quickly,” Aylett told Sport927.

It seems you know less about your club than I do. Do your homework.

SO I take it that if Geelong are getting this much needed upgrade, they won't be playing any games at Telstra Dome? I mean, you have home games at Telstra Dome next season, and no doubt for seasons after that. Wasn't the general direction that you were eventually going to phase out Kardinia Craphole and move to Crocklands?

If Geelong recieves this extension, I'd hope to see them play every home game at the venue. There's no point doing it up and not playing there. You're not the Carlton Football Club.

The Hitman

P.S. If Carlton had to pay for their development, why don't Geelong? I bet if the Bulldogs asked for developments to Whitten Oval, which would no doubt help the community too, the AFL would have knocked it back. It's vote buying in the district, and no coincidence that both Bracks and Doyle are pussies.

Originally posted by Catman
Why should you? Why do the other clubs have to benefit from an upgrade of a stadium to which they have no association with?

If they upgraded Waverley, how would Geelong benefit from it?

Because Geelong would probably have played any home finals at Waverley, that's why. Also, the south-east is the fastest growing area of Melbourne, maybe Australia. Geelong is a stagnant area where they launched a scheme to pay people to move there. That tells me that the south-east was a viable commodity where St. Kilda and Hawthorn had most of their membership base, and other clubs would have many supporters in the area.

Oh, it held over 70,000 too.

The Hitman

Hitman is getting frustrated, and Geelong is the cause of his pain. Its like music to the eyes.

Before you start referring to our ground as 'Kardinia Craphole' and that 'little' stadium can I ask what happened to your true home ground? Thats right it went out of business 30-odd years ago. Lets compare apples with apples here thanks.

And for all those Doggies and Roos fans out there going the whinge, why would anyone show your clubs the money when they are clearly not financially viable? Geelong is, we just announced our third straight profit (small I admit, but a profit none-the-less).

Lets get back to the key bit of information Hitman keeps overlooking here in his emotive arguments. This development will benefit the whole Geelong community. Geelong is Victoria's second largest city and it deserves what it will be getting. Lets also remember the amount of money the GFC generates for the Geelong region, this is clearly a smart business decision. How much money do the Hawks pump into Hawthorn? Soon you will be based in Waverley, playing in Jolimont and Tassie, with a VFL side called Box Hill. Geelong is based in Geelong, plays in Geelong, and has a VFL side called Geelong.

Because Geelong would probably have played any home finals at Waverley, that's why. Also, the south-east is the fastest growing area of Melbourne, maybe Australia. Geelong is a stagnant area where they launched a scheme to pay people to move there. That tells me that the south-east was a viable commodity where St. Kilda and Hawthorn had most of their membership base, and other clubs would have many supporters in the area.

Oh, it held over 70,000 too.

The Hitman

If Waverley is so bloody special than tell me what else they did there apart from playing football during the winter?

You just don't get it do you? Kardinia Park is a complex that would not only benefit the Geelong FC, but numerous other sporting bodies. This is not a handout to the GFC, this is a contribution to the city of greater Geelong.

Besides, didn't Bracksy pledge to save Waverley at the last election? What were your thoughts then? I bet you didn't think of it as a handout to Hawthorn and St. Kilda, like you seem to now with Geelong and Kardinia Park.

Also, Geelong would've probably had their home finals at the MCG. Not many Geelong supporters appreciated travelling out to the eastern suburbs of Melbourne, when the MCG is much closer.

And another thing (this is how many inaccuracies you have). Waverley may have held over 70,000, but what the hell does that have to do with anything? Did 70,000 people go there week in week out? Alot of the time you could actually get lost in waverley.

Skilled Stadium Upgrade Negativity - Geelong F.C. Responds Here.