Skippos's 2015 Draft Resource

Could see the AFL screwing Brisbane over and giving the blues a band 1 compo pick don't think they would give us a band 1 compo most like end of first round missing out on Schache is going to hurt
Don't the offering club need to be in the top 25% of payed players to be in the band 1 zone?

Who in there right mind is paying (simply guessing here) $450,000+ for both Kruezer or Lleunberger?

Lleunberger (108/220 games) and Kruezer (119/176 - 30/66 games) are hardly "over pay me" numbers.

Premium position players or not, I don't see it happening

Don't the offering club need to be in the top 25% of payed players to be in the band 1 zone?

Who in there right mind is paying (simply guessing here) $450,000+ for both Kruezer or Lleunberger?

Lleunberger (108/220 games) and Kruezer (119/176 - 30/66 games) are hardly "over pay me" numbers.

I hope so I personally prefer the end of first round pick would make it getting Keays and Hipwood a lot easier

Well it is happening. Whether you like it or not

A deal under $550 will probably not be high enough for a band one compensation. Higgins at $450 last year was band 3, yet the cap has increased and it has been reported that Carlton have offered less than <$450. Band 3 compo at this stage at best.

Skippos, love your work mate. Just noticed on your twitter (easier to harrass you here, sorry) that you don't think Curnow takes his footy seriously enough. What is that based on? Workrate, body language, hearsay? From what little I've seen, I wouldn't be at all disappointed if we took him instead of Parish at 4, so I'm curious. Cheers.

Hey Skippos, who do you think West Coast will be looking at with their first three selections? And do you think a Redman/Tahana/Milera would be a good fit in the second round (provided they're still available, which I highly doubt with Milera)

What is your view on Carlton taking Curnow if we have pick three?

If Francis and Curnow are similar tall utilities on paper, then I'd go for the powerful forward/inside mid with Curnow having the same running power as his siblings. A taller Curnow with the same aggression plus first class skill and height makes for an exciting prospect. Would kickstart our midfield and squad if we add another beast to go with Cripps. Another tall running machine like A.Walker or Bell who are aggressive. Not mad on getting smaller types in today's AFL.

Francis sounds like a talent, but we have plenty of half backs with Rice and Silvagni a chance to join Carlton as utilities.

I think it's a viable option, that said not as relevant now given the weekend's results.

Curnow is someone I reckon would thrive at a big name Melbourne club. Francis is a gun but pencilling him as a half back is rash. If you trained him as a KPF from day one, you'll likely get a top line KPF out of him. Wherever you work him into, he'll thrive.

Skippos- Your thoughts on what happens if the draft goes like this? Who would they draft.

1. Carlton
2. Carlton (Kruzer compo)
3. Brisbane
4. Brisbane (Luey compo)

Interested to see what you think would happen if this happened (very unlikely as it may be)

Kreuzer compo likely will be pick two, I suspect. Brisbane being a less valuable club likely only get a second for Leuenberger. Until the AFL publish the FA compo formula I have no reason not to think they're hiding it for a reason. Have serious ?s over the whole concept. But that's for another day.

1. Weitering
2. Schache
3. Francis
4. Parish

Is probably what I'd propose. Feel Curnow and Brisbane aren't good fits.

Skippos if the dogs where to go after a mature KPD as a rookie who would be the best player to target?

In general not a massive fan of drafting mature KPDs unless there are genuine standouts which there aren't this year. Levicki is okay but I still have doubts. Mitch W. Brown looks a solid get but defensively is he that flash? I'd probably look in your own backyard and grab Coughlan.

Kreuzer will get close to 600+, maybe more. Salary cap rises (especially given the new rights deal) will make long term 'big money*' deals more common.

*big money at the time. by the end of the contract the cap will have increased by so much that said amount looks like unders.

Skippos, love your work mate. Just noticed on your twitter (easier to harrass you here, sorry) that you don't think Curnow takes his footy seriously enough. What is that based on? Workrate, body language, hearsay? From what little I've seen, I wouldn't be at all disappointed if we took him instead of Parish at 4, so I'm curious. Cheers.

Yeah I can mention things in passing on twitter that I'm wary of proclaiming on a public forum. But yeah, he's got some issues. Has had passion issues, perhaps not the devotion to the game some does. Believe he's considered throwing it in before. Just has some attitude issues.

Which in an elite system close to home I'm sure can be ironed out. But would he be a great fit for a (with all due respect to them) disfunctional club like the Lions, as has been mooted recently? I don't think so. An unstable club and an immature kid don't mix too well. Being so far away from home only serves to destablise that too. That said, perhaps getting away might be the best thing for a young fella like that. Baptism of fire.

Hey Skippos, who do you think West Coast will be looking at with their first three selections? And do you think a Redman/Tahana/Milera would be a good fit in the second round (provided they're still available, which I highly doubt with Milera)

It's interesting. Big *if* they retain them, of course. Mixture of filling needs and immediate production/competition. Suspect they continue looking at the midfield/defence. A Tahana type could be a good get. If Milera's there at R1 surely you pounce. Redman in round 2 another one that'd be a good get. Clayton Oliver as a big body would be solid, likewise the elite running and kicking of Bonner.

We should start to hear rumors about contract size and $$$ offers for Kreuzer over the next few weeks. So far it appears a minimum 4 year deal is required combined with at least $600k per year, ie contract value of minimum $2.4 mill. Will be interesting.

Read an article not a new one about Ryan Burton, stating that he wants to be the next Fyfe and transition from being a forward to a midfielder. Do you see him doing this? In your write up you say is doesn't have much exposed midfield form? He says he played midfield before under 16 or something but why would you give up the forward game when he is seemingly so good at it? Just undersized? Sorry rambled a far few questions out there.

I'm sure you've probably been asked this before, but has Riley Bonner shown any potential as a midfielder?

Any chance Kieran Malone from the Northern knights gets picked up? Has had some monster games in the TAC cup this year.

No idea. Suspect not; his performances came in a depleted TAC cup when APS etc. were out as were the champs on.

Read an article not a new one about Ryan Burton, stating that he wants to be the next Fyfe and transition from being a forward to a midfielder. Do you see him doing this? In your write up you say is doesn't have much exposed midfield form? He says he played midfield before under 16 or something but why would you give up the forward game when he is seemingly so good at it? Just undersized? Sorry rambled a far few questions out there.

He's got a leap and some natural touch. There's a skill base there. I haven't seen it so it's hard to judge but he's that good forward I'm not sure why you'd take him out of there. He's undersized as of June 2014. May have grown. For his sake, certainly hope he can become an elite midfielder.

No idea. Suspect not; his performances came in a depleted TAC cup when APS etc. were out as were the champs on.

He's got a leap and some natural touch. There's a skill base there. I haven't seen it so it's hard to judge but he's that good forward I'm not sure why you'd take him out of there. He's undersized as of June 2014. May have grown. For his sake, certainly hope he can become an elite midfielder.
Will he be back playing this season?

A deal under $550 will probably not be high enough for a band one compensation. Higgins at $450 last year was band 3, yet the cap has increased and it has been reported that Carlton have offered less than <$450. Band 3 compo at this stage at best.

Still stand by that do you? :D

Great compensation picks for clubs finishing near the bottom are also a way of assisting 'list equalisation' now that priority picks are out. If Kreuzer gets a 4 year plus deal on $600 plus wages and fits a pick 2 scenario then that is what Carlton should get.
The best players seem to migrate towards the best teams. If there were no 'list equalising ' picks given the bottom teams would eventually turn out to be no more than feeder teams for the top clubs - at the least it would make it very tough for bottom teams to get to the top. I do not think anyone wants to see that - except for the supporters of the top teams.
The problem with the suggestions that the receiving club should pay with their picks (including future picks) rather that draft compensation picks is that it may deter clubs from recruiting them which hinders player movement which in part defeats the purpose of free agency.

Hey skippos, likelyhood of essendon picking curnow over parish.. Parish seems like a perfect fit for them. If essendon do take parish will the saints take curnow with the next pick? Or look at someone like balic. Cheers

Hi skippos , crows losing their draft position with this late season surge
I have bonner, milera, tucker and AhChee on the board for option with 1 st round pick presuming we don't shock with a tall

Who do you draft for Adelaide out of those guys and why?

What order do you think those aforementioned go in?

Hey Skippos
Just want your take on Charlie Curnow's skills and decision-making. Put simply, is he a good kick, can he hit targets and does he make the right decisions under pressure ?
Thanks
I'll get back to you within a week. Still have two games of his to review that I haven't yet.

Hi Skippos, was flicking through and couldn't find if you got back to this or not? Was just wondering what your thoughts were after reviewing those two games and his game back since injury of late. I watched him on the weekend against Eastern Ranges and wasn't hugely impressed.

I watched the game and I feel Curnow is trying to wrestle for his Marks instead of continually presenting on the lead, this may be due to his lack of fitness through missing a large chunk of the season and only recently returning to playing. I haven't seen enough of him to make judgement on his forward playing style of leading patterns or whether he prefers to use his strength to win the ball in the air. For those who suggest he could go through the midfield I feel are a long way off, look forward to other opinions.