Sleep Walking

• Thread starter Thread starter BEEG

Was watching Step Brothers couple nights ago and it got me thinking about sleep walking.

Does anybody actually do this or know of anyone who has?

Never heard of anyone doing it over my life time is it common?

Do people have any stories?

My brother used to do it all the time. Tried to climb up walls a lot...

So could you stop him did you wake him what would your pearents do when this was happening?

i used to, the amount of times i'd fall asleep in bed and wake up on the couch in the living room with the TV on would be in double figures i reckon, although once dad noticed i have a sneaking suspicion that he'd move me just to stuff with my head.

Sister sleep talks really loudly

So could you stop him did you wake him what would your pearents do when this was happening?

My parents told me not to wake him. They let him do it, he never hurt himself or did damage. He spoke some weird shit too. HE also used to eat the cheese cracker things out of the pantry the bastard.

My brother used to do it a bit, and used to sleep-talk a hell of a lot when we were younger and shared rooms.. sometimes it would take me a couple of sentences/replies that didn't make sense before I realised he was asleep...

Was watching Step Brothers couple nights ago and it got me thinking about sleep walking.

Does anybody actually do this or know of anyone who has?

Never heard of anyone doing it over my life time is it common?

Do people have any stories?

Why in the hell were you watching that shite movie? :p

As for the topic, no i dont sleep walk or sleep talk (i have the pleasure of grinding my teeth at night- one day I will probably have no teeth :( )

There was an awesome ep of Amazing Medical Stories you should track down if you're interested, profiling cases of extreme type behaviours people would do in their sleep- including eating and sex. The sex one was pretty freaky, a bf in a zombie like state, maybe even aggressive would just begin having sex with his gf in the middle of the night. There was also a case of rape based on this.

Anyway was a very interesting ep. I do miss that show, was much better than that Embarrassing Bodies crap.

I sleep walk a fair bit. Once I was walking, tripped over a bag that i'd left out in my room, cracked my head on a desk, and woke up like 6hours later with a huge gash down the back of my head, and blood all over the carpet.

Fun.

well that just took the fun out of it

oldman would fall asleep on the couch and if we'd wake him up he'd often still be 'asleep' and would talk jibberish to us be appear to be completely awake. I remember one night he woke up at about 11pm and was convinced there was a taxi for us out the front, you couldnt convince him otherwise. He would have full on conversations eyes open and respond to what you say but next morning wouldnt remember a thing

I used to a fair bit. generally when on the piss but not always. Most memorable (or not).

- after a party in shared house, waking up sandwiched between a mate and his girlfriend, face down arm around each.

- following a day's drinking fat Apollo Nay festival and retiring to my tent, waking with fierce ankle pain in a dark field. After initial disorientation and flat out panic managed to cross the great ocean road back to the campsite (had snapped a ligament in L ankle).

Did it heaps as a child and still do it occasionally as an adult, usually when I am very fatigued but especially after a few drinks when fatigued.

For whatever reason it's generally when I am sleeping in a room other than my bedroom ie) hotels. I have locked myself out of hotel rooms naked a few times. Once while staying at a resort in Queensland I thought I was in the middle of a ski run in Falls Creek, I was standing on a golf course thinking I could ski away.

Also, for me there are two kinds of sleepwalking. One is pretty harmless, I will walk around thinking I am somewhere other than where I actually am. I can remember these but not in great detail.

The other kind is pretty scary where I know that I am in my own house but I pace around for 10-20 minutes with this constant feeling of severe sadness/guilt/depression because something terrible has happened. As someone who has never experienced these emotions so strongly in my waking life it is very distressing when it happens. The feeling goes away as soon as I fully wake up but I vividly remember the entire thing.

OH how did I forget this story. This one scared the crap out of me.

When I was 17 we had a Japanesse exchange student staying at our house for a couple of weeks. She was in my sisters year level, and slept in my sisters room. (my sister slept on the fold out bed in the lounge). Anyway one night I awoke and I had this strangest feeling. You know that feeling you get that you are being watched, or someone is in your room. I just had this feeling in my gut that someone was in my room.

My room was pretty dark and my eyes started to focus slowly and I noticed this figure of someone near the foot of my bed. Absolutely shat myself. Sat straight up and turned on my bed side light. Couldn't believe what I was seeing. The exchange student (Satoko, I think her name was) was kneeling on the ground about 3/4 of the way down the bed, with her head rested on my mattress.

I shook her to try to wake her up, but she just fell to the floor and kept sleeping. Tried shaking her, clapping near her ear, and lightly slapping her face but she just wouldn't wake. Went and woke my parents up, and they couldn't wake her up either. Anyway we ended up just picking her up and carrying her back to bed. She couldn't remember any of it when she woke up in the morning.

I swear the feeling I had when I woke up was intense, was pretty scary at the time. Was like something out of The Ring.

Edit- A day or two before she left, I saw these sheets of paper she had been doing drawings on. She had drawn a picture of a guy, then in english she had labbed it "I bleed Blue- Best boy in Australia".

Creepy

I used to do it all the time as a kid.
Not so much anymore.

Once, when I was about 8-9 I slept walked out the front door to the neighbours house (was in love with the girl there) and knocked on their door haha. My dad heard our front door open and knew it was me so he came and got me.

I used to always sleep walk to the lounge room where my parents were watching tv, proceed to ask them a really random question then just walk back to my bad. Obviously I didn't know I did this but they used to tell me in the morning.

A few years back at the canberra excursion a dude in our motel room warned us that he was prone to sleepwalking. A few nights later I woke up to find him walking around the room saying things like "wheres the bus driver? I want to change busses" and "how do I get off?". So I asked him if he was alright and he told me that he wanted to change to the other bus as "This one is making me sick", I asked him what day it was, he thought it was monday (this was wednesday morning). I told him that it was wenesday and that he was in the motel nd that he was sleepwalking, at this point he woke up, shook a bit and said "oh my god, thanks" and went back to bed.

Not anymore but when I was a kid I did. My parents found me one night stuck in a corner. I would hit the wall, turn the other way and walk into the other wall. Apparently I did this numerous times.

I used to sleep walk a fair bit when I was younger.. my parents caught me trying to piss in the fridge.
One of my mates brothers got caught doing this while sleep walking a few times. Would always go to the fridge instead of the toilet!