Draft Watcher Slice of Pie: 2019 Draft Thread

Pete what are your expectations for Ben Kelly re the draft, surely someone will give him a shot at least in the Rookie draft this time?

Can't say my thoughts have changed a great deal on him since you last asked on the page prior ;)

Pete, do you think Bushies over ager Ben Kelly is likely to have any interest in the National Draft?

Seems to have fallen off everyone's radar yet I think he's definitely worth a late pick and absolutely worth a pick in the Rookie Draft, good size, capable back, forward and ruck and reasonably athletic.

I think he has interest. Some clubs were chatting with him at the State Draft Combine so obviously there's still a bit of interest. Definitely a rookie type selection though.

Henry I can absolutely see. Maginness, I would not be shocked if Hawthorn didn't match. Don't get me wrong, if push came to shove they'd probably pull the trigger, but it's one of those scenarios that if say a McAsey is still on the board, then I reckon they will let him go potentially. It rarely happens a club that early will bid and the player not matched though.

Hawks should have the live 11, then Maginness will force their next picks back. But it's effectively two top 20 picks anyway, so a good win for them.
They may not match but I suspect they would not want to lose him. Perhaps a quick trade out if a bid happens ... Im sure they certainly hope to get 2 r1 kids..

Yeah. Reckon the only two guaranteed matches are Henry and Green. And by guaranteed matches, I'm saying if GC decided to be funky and bid Pick 1, the clubs would find a way to match. The rest the clubs would not (obviously in this totally unrealistic scenario). Reckon a mid top 10 bid would put the Hawks out of place, just like a top 15 bid for Mead, or first round bid on Delahunty etc etc. Of course we expect they'll all (or nearly all) make it to the clubs they are tied to, but Green and Henry are the two you tick off now as the two that will land there. They already seem part of the furniture in every bit of communication.

Id say with your links you may be able to confirm but CalT mentioned that McG is starting to be furniture like at Hawkville as well.(as much as they like to pronounce their dispassionate view of such things) I feel after Kennedy and looking at the Dunkley non bid ... they would have to strongly consider the neg outcome of not taking him. And his type would fit well at Carlton if they didnt match.. personally id certainly be happy to take him at the Cats. His Combine indicates upside and plenty of it.

The most likely outcome is no one bids. Traditionally ..clubs let players slide to well lower than their true worth.. I think they fear a return of serve when they have a FSon or academy player.

The in draft trading changes the possibilities for mine. Makes it a "nightmare" for guys like yourself to get a phantom right

Ignore F/S kids sliding for a moment. No one's going to bid when there are better players still on the board, and Maginness just isn't top-10-good. Top 20, sure, but pick 11 will be long spent by then.

I agree, Maginness isn't top 10. He's top 8.

Ignore F/S kids sliding for a moment. No one's going to bid when there are better players still on the board, and Maginness just isn't top-10-good. Top 20, sure, but pick 11 will be long spent by then.

Its not like they have their number tattoed in their forehead ... it only takes one club ..and this years draft is very opinion based.

Its not like they have their number tattooed in their forehead ... it only takes one club ..and this years draft is very opinion based.

You seem obsessed by the fact that Hawthorn will snag both McAsey & Maginness in this draft....I'm sure the Cats will have their chance to bid at 14 & we'll pay the price accordingly.....But you need to get over the fact that we've finally held onto a Round 1 pick for a change & will score a decent F/S into the bargain.

Well at least this year we know which loop holes they'll be using rather than being surprised by Sydney like last year...

Bit of a weird scenario. I would think the logical thing would be once a bid has come in, you have what you have and that's it. But they are trying to encourage live trading, so that would be why.

Live trading is fine.

Just need a simple rule.

Once a bid comes in you can trade out of the round the bid falls in but cant trade back into that round once the bid is matched.

Means clubs can split picks to gain a player bid on and manage what they pay but cant trade back into that round to get too much advantage.

We would love to be able to do that for you... but copyright prohibits us from doing so unfortunately. We did it a few years back then got a tap on the shoulder just saying about TV rights. We are allowed to go to NAB League games and film, but given the highlights now available, there's not much point. No filming allowed at Champs, whereas SA and WA I'm not as familiar with the rules there, but would be some restrictions I'd imagine. If we get the green light to have highlights on the site we sure as hell will.

Well I am pretty underwhelmed with the AFL sites player ranking set up they just released for the draft.

Your site and player profiles are 10 times better. You should be selling your work to the AFL as its significantly a higher standard. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

You seem obsessed by the fact that Hawthorn will snag both McAsey & Maginness in this draft....I'm sure the Cats will have their chance to bid at 14 & we'll pay the price accordingly.....But you need to get over the fact that we've finally held onto a Round 1 pick for a change & will score a decent F/S into the bargain.

Obsessed no..good luck to you..I think kid will be a ripper and id bid if I had 9. I dont have to get over anything.. its not like have any control on the outcome.

Obsessed no..good luck to you..I think kid will be a ripper and id bid if I had 9. I dont have to get over anything.. its not like I have any control on the outcome.

Exactly.

However, you've been pleading in more than 1 draft thread now for 'Won't someone please make a bid on Maginness before Hawthorn's pick 11'.....For the love of God....Hyperbole added for effect, of course.

It's bemusing.

I think most pundits are aware of the Cats desire for McAsey…...You'll need a pick before 11 or 12 to get him.

Exactly.

However, you've been pleading in more than 1 draft thread now for 'Won't someone please make a bid on Maginness before Hawthorn's pick 11'.....For the love of God....Hyperbole added for effect, of course.

It's bemusing.

I think most pundits are aware of the Cats desire for McAsey…...You'll need a pick before 11 or 12 to get him.
Melbourne trading pick 8 for 14 & 17 from Geelong.

Well I am pretty underwhelmed with the AFL sites player ranking set up they just released for the draft.

You site and player profiles are 10 times better. You should be selling your work to the AFL as its significantly a higher standard. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Thanks, it helps to be focusing on it full-time and be able to share the information because there aren't too many roles out there that have both advantages (either recruiters or the like full-time but not able to share, or AFL journalists able to share but have to juggle the U18 coverage with obviously the AFL). It's a credit to the team who have put in a lot of hours and clocked up plenty of km's over the years to where we are now. To be able to watch footy, determine the content and write about it is honestly a dream job.

Exactly.

It's bemusing.

I want you to quote when I said exactly above.. otherwize you are accentuating and distorting what I have said. Its opinion ..the whole forum is opinion.. Im sure its bemusing the thought of missing on two R1 picks... but in all likelihood .. if a bids occur like most years players are not bid on till way after their expected value. The kid starred at the combine. Imagine if you had played Anderson for enough games to get him as FS.. might have made a big draft haul.

I want you to quote when I said exactly above.. otherwise you are accentuating and distorting what I have said. Its opinion ..the whole forum is opinion.. I'm sure its bemusing the thought of missing on two R1 picks... but in all likelihood .. if a bids occur like most years players are not bid on till way after their expected value. The kid starred at the combine. Imagine if you had played Anderson for enough games to get him as FS.. might have made a big draft haul.

Chillax dude, I was merely voicing what was implied....Did you lose sight of the 'hyperbole added for effect' disclosure?

And Yes, Anderson would have made a very nice F/S draft-haul indeed.....Shame we can't go back in time & play his father for 1 more season.....Oh well.

There'll be plenty of good kids still on offer, should your club fail to move up the board on Draft night....35 good kids here in my estimation.....If nothing else, it should make for interesting viewing, what with all the mooted bids & trade offers flying about.....The first round could take 5 hours..... A painful thought indeed.

As some one who was watched every NBA Draft since 1995, that would...Awesome!!!

I'm in no way a fan of the Americanisation of our sports & their processes & procedures....Gill is a corporate git....He's fast becoming even worse than his predecessor.

We proved after Mozzie fist pump gate last year, that if a club reaches for one of our kids, we'll lump you with him. Wright will not blink if there's a top 10 pick for Finn. He'll pass in a heartbeat.