AFL Autopsy Smashed by port

Problem is the basics don’t win.

This is the new “basics”

The players are going to have 24 weeks to work it out and any that cant can play more simple football on another team
by basics I mean defence

Our seniors would not win a game let alone play finals in the EDFL.
WE ARE NOT A TEAM!
We are a bunch of individual panic merchant man-gina's.

It grosses me out when anyone suggests our midfield is quality.

We would loose to the Giants and the Suns the first year they joined

Teams reflect their leaders.

If the playing group has this little effort a few more weeks from now then you can just start dropping leaders who aren’t playing hard enough.

That’s the next major lever

Mate, if he’s not dropping senior guys after 15 consecutive losses, he’s simply never going to. As long as Scott’s coach, the older guys are playing irrelevant of form/effort

I
Same.

Simple defense is getting exposed by top teams. The defence that’s “too complex” is the modern version of simple
I disagree - we haven't defended either game this season. The players don't know where they need to stand they move too high up the ground - McGrath in particular - and when there's an interception in our F50 there's no one to defend. So many times the opposition was forward of their goals to us. There's no point in having a game plan that is beyond the ability of the players. It just breeds discontent and lack of confidence that builds on lack of success. Especially in a young team.

First thoughts for next week.

Out: Redman (injury) Langford (omit) and Parish (omit)

In: Ridley, Farrow and Day-Wicks

Day-Wicks replaces Langford at half forward.
Ridley, Roberts and Farrow into the backline and McGrath into the middle to replace Parish.

McGrath to play the defensive grunt work role in the midfield to set the tone like a leader should.

First thoughts for next week.

Out: Redman (injury) Langford (omit) and Parish (omit)

In: Ridley, Farrow and Day-Wicks

Day-Wicks replaces Langford at half forward.
Ridley, Roberts and Farrow into the backline and McGrath into the middle to replace Parish.

McGrath to play the defensive grunt work role in the midfield to set the tone like a leader should.
Agree. But also, Sharp probably misses. I reckon being in Tsatas

Structurally, it’s time to go back to basics, simple man on man defence. Down to sheer “can you beat your man” basics. Because there’s little evidence that we can execute anything more than that. See who’s willing to compete for 4 qtrs and work out what we have on our list.

Team changes, Wright, Perkins, Parish, Langford have to be in the gun. All have played far too much footy to be as meek & passive as they are. Understand that you can drop them all, and we likely won’t drop any, but they’re setting a bad example at simply competing for a full game.
Play Tsatas, Farrow, McMahon & El-Hawli and keep bringing players in until we find the ones that we can trust to work hard for 4 qtrs.

As for Scott, no point pulling the trigger on him. We’re shit & being shit is the best for us long term. See it out and work out what is the best course of action after a full season playing kids every week.

1st years and 2nd years exempt but I’m not just saying this to be provocative this in my 50 years of age is the worst Essendon list of players I have ever seen in my time!
The top ups would flog this lot.

I

I disagree - we haven't defended either game this season. The players don't know where they need to stand they move too high up the ground - McGrath in particular - and when there's an interception in our F50 there's no one to defend. So many times the opposition was forward of their goals to us. There's no point in having a game plan that is beyond the ability of the players. It just breeds discontent and lack of confidence that builds on lack of success. Especially in a young team.

I agree that our defence has been awful these two games.

There absolutely is a point to having a game plan beyond the players comprehension. If you are looking for players who can run an advanced modern system then it’s an attritional process designed to weed out those who can’t. Even if that’s McGrath who really should know better.

You learn a lot about players when they are loosing. You learn who’s effort isn’t conditional, who stays comitted to develop and doesn’t have their self esteem rocked by the fact that professional football asks for resilience.

If there’s discontent and players want out. Then the process is doing its job. The players that grow through it are the players team success is built on

Very hard to change culture. Players who have been there a while just disillusioned. Workplaces can get like that. There’s a bit of money out there on the park week in week out and that’s the ROI. Not blaming the newbies but they will learn bad habits fast.
I think it’s been that in perpetuity. We’ve refused to rebuild properly and we’ve recruited poorly. I’m hoping we’ve turned the corner with the latter but that’s all it is, hope. We needed to offload some senior players who still have currency. We needed to make tough decisions with players that were all love (or don’t).

I agree that our defence has been awful these two games.

There absolutely is a point to having a game plan beyond the players comprehension. If you are looking for players who can run an advanced modern system then it’s an attritional process designed to weed out those who can’t. Even if that’s McGrath who really should know better.

You learn a lot about players when they are loosing. You learn who’s effort isn’t conditional, who stays comitted to develop and doesn’t have their self esteem rocked by the fact that professional football asks for resilience.

If there’s discontent and players want out. Then the process is doing its job. The players that grow through it are the players team success is built on
They go hand in hand - Scott's presser seems to say as much. Demoralised players are going to get more disillusioned if the game plan is beyond them - think Langford running past a live ball to rotate.

We can probably stop flogging that as excuse when that happened a) under Worsfold in 2019 & b) he kicked 50 goals 2 years ago.

That didn’t happen under Scott, so let’s stop using that as an excuse of Scott’s coaching, regardless of the fact that Langford has been rubbish so far this season. There’s so many other things to point the finger at with Scott’s coaching than something that happened 3 years prior to him joining

As harsh as it is to say. That’s okay. It’s actually the point to not have players who don’t understand fundamental zone defence.

If they get disillusioned to the point of leaving that’s okay. That’s the point.

They have every training session and 21 more games to practice playing Zone defence and the goal is to be better at it in week 24 then they are now.

like Scott said they were playing selfish and pressure was non existent. There’s 20 people in the VFl and countless more in state leagues who’d love the chance to play AFL football. If today’s best 23 can’t manage to play as a team then others who can will be found