Smith's kick

• Thread starter Thread starter Todman

They could have beaten us by 10 goals the other night, the only reason it was respectable in the end is because they stopped and we played it out.
You're missing the point. We played them immediately after an inspiring win by them and a flattening loss by us.

If we'd beaten the Cats (as we easily could have with a straighter kick) then we get an additional week to rest players (and I have no doubt some of our players needed it) before picking off a limping Swans side. Bulldogs would have had to beat the Cats at the MCG (could have mirrored our game from Friday) before having to fly again to beat a rested Giants side. And then play us in front of 100,000 at the G.

At which point the only historical point between the two sides in 2016 would have been round 3 where we came at them hard in the final quarter to claim a close win at their home ground.

Providing we didn't cop any further injuries I believe we would have beat them under those circumstances.

The Smith kick is obvious however the blame for the loss lies elsewhere imo.
Birchell had the worst game of his career.

The worst thing to happen in the game was not Smiths miss.

It was 30 seconds to go in the 3rd qtr when we had just stole momentum back with Bruests goal. We then win the centre clearance (shock!) and kick the ball forward 15-20 metres but our half forwards did not run with their half back opponent to try and null their influence and the Geelong player (forget who) easily got the ball all by himself then sent it straight down their end and they goal and take the lead into the last qtr.
We should have been trying to shut down every area to see out the qtr. We used to be the time on specialist but now we are woeful in red time.

I thought this was an absolute disgrace on the night, something that we had not let happen for years.

It was 30 seconds to go in the 3rd qtr when we had just stole momentum back with Bruests goal. We then win the centre clearance (shock!) and kick the ball forward 15-20 metres but our half forwards did not run with their half back opponent to try and null their influence and the Geelong player (forget who) easily got the ball all by himself then sent it straight down their end and they goal and take the lead into the last qtr.
We should have been trying to shut down every area to see out the qtr. We used to be the time on specialist but now we are woeful in red time.

I thought this was an absolute disgrace on the night, something that we had not let happen for years.
This stuff just comes down to luck sometimes, what if the kick went 30m forward or bounced over that player and our flankers were in better position to duck back, gather and goal?

We did a lot wrong but no one knows how it would have turned out if you change those things.

Haven't seen a replay, but at the ground I remember Shiels nailing one from that spot.
From memory Sicily's were from further out.
Other end of ground I think - same relative spot (he kicked one and missed one)

This stuff just comes down to luck sometimes, what if the kick went 30m forward or bounced over that player and our flankers were in better position to duck back, gather and goal?

We did a lot wrong but no one knows how it would have turned out if you change those things.

We shouldn't have been thinking about getting a cheap one over the top, what was required was a complete shutdown of the qtr for only 30 seconds and we stuffed it. Mackie new this and was getting stuck right into Cyril (maybe his man) for the error. This was a major concentration failure like we haven't seen before 2016.

Boys really must have been tired as Clarko has them well drilled.

We probably aren't good enough to salute in 2016, but If Isaac kicks that goal and we are a week off with a home Prelim vs an interstate side you just never know.

I really wish this thread would get deleted.

I'm a big believer that every game, no matter how lop sided on paper, is a two horse race.

Plenty of rank outsiders have gotten up on GF day (see 2008 for example).

It was actually the Gunston smothered kick on the boundary against the cats when we're up by 17 points that lost the momentum and started their fight back.!
Against the Dogs it was Hodge miss timing marks and spoils when we were up that started the dogs fight back on both occasions not just Breust missed kick.!
Too many are blaming missed goal but its what happens prior to that when we have the momentum that a stupid little missed mark or spoil that cost a turn over .!

It was actually the Gunston smothered kick on the boundary against the cats when we're up by 17 points that lost the momentum and started their fight back.!
Against the Dogs it was Hodge miss timing marks and spoils when we were up that started the dogs fight back on both occasions not just Breust missed kick.!
Too many are blaming missed goal but its what happens prior to that when we have the momentum that a stupid little missed mark or spoil that cost a turn over .!

Yeah But reality is if Gunston's kicked does not get smothered we still don't know how the game plays out, if Smith nails that kick we know for a fact we have a home prelim final.

I've noticed this a lot this year, the quick kick out of the center...straight to an opposition player in front. What ever happened to Forwards playing in front of their man?

Thats what it boils down to - we weren't quite good enough. Look at the good fortune in making the top 4 with all those close wins
which in the finals we couldn't capitalise on. Our luck ran out against geelong but what about all the luck we had during the season.
Without it we finish maybe 6th or 7th. If we were good enough we'd be playing this week.

**** i know...i know

i keep watching the last 30 seconds of that game, its like animal cruelty..... it ****s me

ive got to stop.
At the game when he marked it I had one foot on the steps to make a quick get away if he missed so I didn't have to listen to that stupid cats song and all the cry babie fans...!
The worst part was seeing that idiot Taylor jumping up and down like a real deadest flog and Dangerous man grabbing his knob of a mate like idiots..!!
That haunts me more than the loss.

It was a centre square mix up after a rotation of players. Lewis was on wing and started running into the centre himself until whomever was on half fwd flank ran in as we were 1 player short...his Geelong opponent then won the ball in clear space and kicked it straight to Motlop for that goal.

Unfortunately, we got what we deserved.
We dropped off massively this year and didn't really deserve Top 4 even.
Making a Prelim or GF might have masked over some cracks.
This way, it laid bare what is wrong and we have slightly better picks to fix it.
Tough decisions will be made, a GF hammering to GWS might have been seen as an okay season.
We stunk and I think the margin just shows Geelong really aren't that much chop either.
They'll beat Sydney, but unless GWS choke they should be too quick and classy for them.
Otherwise all talk the last 3 years of winning a GF against non Victorian opposition being a diminished flag will be gone quicker than Franklin's 300 strikes when he boarded a plane north.
Smith missing is a blessing in disguise long term for our list.

This way, it laid bare what is wrong and we have slightly better picks to fix it.
Tough decisions will be made, a GF hammering to GWS might have been seen as an okay season.
We stunk and I think the margin just shows Geelong really aren't that much chop either.
They'll beat Sydney, but unless GWS choke they should be too quick and classy for them.
Otherwise all talk the last 3 years of winning a GF against non Victorian opposition being a diminished flag will be gone quicker than Franklin's 300 strikes when he boarded a plane north.

This GWS side is a different beast though. Whereas WC, Fremantle and Sydney were starved off quality Top 20 picks, GWS has an embarrassment of riches because this talent was funneled directly to them. Any side that beats them I have no problem in conceding that it is a massive achievement as their list is certainly scarier than anything that Freo, Sydney and WC have had in theirs for the past 4 to 5 years.

The only teams that compare talent-wise to the current GWS side is the hawks from the 80s and Brisbane from the early to mid 00s.

This GWS side is a different beast though. Whereas WC, Fremantle and Sydney were starved off quality Top 20 picks, GWS has an embarrassment of riches because this talent was funneled directly to them. Any side that beats them I have no problem in conceding that it is a massive achievement as their list is certainly scarier than anything that Freo, Sydney and WC have had in theirs for the past 4 to 5 years.

The only teams that compare talent-wise to the current GWS side is the hawks from the 80s and Brisbane from the early to mid 00s.

Understand your point of view, but every Premier should be respected. If you're top of the heap after a 25/26 game season, you deserve the Premiership.
The people making silly statements against our flags forget that in 2013 they were lauding the contested footy Freo were playing, in 2014 apparently Sydney were the greatest list ever assembled (and they had poached our and possibly the leagues best player) and in 2015 the Eagles web and pressure was the best thing since the invention of the wheel. But suddenly, because those Grand Finals were played at the MCG those sides became rubbish when defeated.
If Geelong win the Premiership vs GWS or the Bulldogs, they'll deserve it. It will just be assuming to see some haters backpedal if its against GWS.

And let's face it, the best sides are the best sides. The location should not matter if you're the best. Just like the Lions and Sydney proved.

Great summary...To make the top 4 this season was a miracle..if you go through every game this season, only the Eagles game in round 2 did the team play 4 quarters..every other week there were at least two average quarters..going into the finals this season, besides North Melbourne, Hawthorn were the worst form side in the top 8. The last 6 games of the regular season:
- beat Richmond by 70 points- first 3 quarters were as bad the team played all season.
- beat Carlton, who had lost 8 in a row and were the worst form side in the second half of the season by 19 points
- Lost to Melbourne, who lost to Essendon and Carlton this season by 5 goals
- beat a injury ravaged North Melbourne side by 39 points, after only playing 1 good quarter
- lost to the Eagles by 25 points- should have been 60
- beat a horrific Collingwood side playing for absolutely nothing by 1 point thanks to a miracle 65m goal from Jack Fitzpatrick, who couldn't do that again from another 100 attempts

Getting Omera and Tom Mitchell will certainly help but the lack of a key forward, ruck and one more key position defender are more important areas to address if the Hawks are to challenge again next season. If you think a team with Ryan Shoenmakers, Tim O'Brien and Tyronne Vickery as your key forwards and Ben McEvoy/Marc Pittonet as key rucks will help win the next flag...you're dreaming!

Totally bookmarking this post in case it does happen :P :D

Great summary...To make the top 4 this season was a miracle..if you go through every game this season, only the Eagles game in round 2 did the team play 4 quarters..every other week there were at least two average quarters..going into the finals this season, besides North Melbourne, Hawthorn were the worst form side in the top 8. The last 6 games of the regular season:
- beat Richmond by 70 points- first 3 quarters were as bad the team played all season.
- beat Carlton, who had lost 8 in a row and were the worst form side in the second half of the season by 19 points
- Lost to Melbourne, who lost to Essendon and Carlton this season by 5 goals
- beat a injury ravaged North Melbourne side by 39 points, after only playing 1 good quarter
- lost to the Eagles by 25 points- should have been 60
- beat a horrific Collingwood side playing for absolutely nothing by 1 point thanks to a miracle 65m goal from Jack Fitzpatrick, who couldn't do that again from another 100 attempts

I believe that they are working hard on rectifying the Ruck/key defender/key forward issues at the trade table.

If it all comes through we'll have an amazing transformation.