Smoking

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes

You obviously make that comment knowing why those people spit the phlegm? Right?

Its one thing when people spit saliva because they think its cool, but criticizing someone for spitting phlegm, which is usually the result of being sick, is just not right. Spitting it out is much more pleasant than swallowing it.

Personally, when i have to i spit my phlegm I do it into a tissue then throw it in a bin, as i too find it quite disgusting. But sometimes there's only that many tissues i have in my pocket (though if i have no choice but to spit on the ground i try to spit onto the street where it won't hit people, and as disgusting as it is, the phlegm has to go somewhere).

I understand "better out than in" but there is no excuse for gobbing phlegm onto the middle of the footpath, I don't care how sick you are. Find a patch of dirt and kick it over or into a bin or something!!

I like lots of beer.

Lots of beer makes me want to urinate.

I will urinate on a smoker.

What? Don't you like that? Well stand somewhere else.

:D

Originally posted by Docker_Brat
I like lots of beer.

My simple question is: Why do people smoke when they know its killing them?

The people who smoke that i don't like are the ones that say your sitting on a bench then they come after you and puff it all in your face. Then they are killing you. Those are the people with no consideration. Not all smokers do that, though.

I personally couldn't sit there when someone is smoking, whether it is rude or not i would just say excuse me and leave.

Originally posted by Docker_Brat
I like lots of beer.

So you take a leak on people who smoke?

Yuck.

You would have to be careful that the person who you take a leak on isn't an off duty policeman.

Originally posted by suzi_olsen

So you take a leak on people who smoke?

Yuck.

You would have to be careful that the person who you take a leak on isn't an off duty policeman.

He's friggin joking. :rolleyes:

I wish women wouldn't smoke. It's my number one pet hate in women, and I wont even go near them if they do. Cuts down my options on a night out, but you gotta stick to your guns I reckon.

Unfortunatley I am the worst kind of Ex-Smoker, the militant hate all other smokers type. Well perhaps hate is too strong a word, I just feel sorry for them. I quit, got fit, feel a million times better than I used to, esp after a night out when I'd go through enough ciggies to kill a camel. Nowadays I just HATE the smell and the look of people slowly killing themselves. The worst ones are the teenage girls/schoolgirls who are striking the 'smoking' pose, in an attempt to look cool. So Sad.

Originally posted by Hoggy

He's friggin joking. :rolleyes:
I am? :) Really though, it is pointless with suzi, she was born without the humour gene. ;)

Shame you quoted her, I have her on my ignore list now.. you think she wouldn't bother replying.

Originally posted by daicos4ever
In keeping with serious threads on this board, here is another serious topic.

Here is how I see it - Why are some people so precious about smoking? On my way home tonight, some evil, evil woman told me to go away and smoke somewhere else

Next time, pour the Bong water all over the bitch.

Personally I hate smoking and think it should not be tolerated in any public places. But of course, that is just my opinion.

What annoys me is that there are smokers who don't consider others. Smokers should only smoke around other smokers. Everywhere I go, besides school and at home of course, I get people smoking in my face. I feel bad asking them to stop, as they have every right to smoke, so usually I leave. But, for example - at our local footy rooms. You are not allowed to smoke inside at all. Yet do you think any of the smokers actually obey this? No way. I come home covered in smoke every time I go there. If people want to smoke, go right away. I did research on smoking for H&HD earlier this year, and a massive percentage of people who die from lung cancer and heart disease are actually passive smokers. I don't remember the figure now. But it was scary. (Follow this link for something about it: Health Effects of Passive Smoking ) Those of us who choose not to smoke, should not have to put it with the (disgusting) habits of others. If you smoke, make sure you are the only one, and not others around you. Sure, you have rights as smokers, but you shouldn't be harming other people while doing it.

I apologise if I have offended anyone who does smoke, but that is just my opinion - sorry, I hate smoking with a passion.

Originally posted by BomberGal
Personally I hate smoking and think it should not be tolerated in any public places. But of course, that is just my opinion.

What annoys me is that there are smokers who don't consider others. Smokers should only smoke around other smokers. Everywhere I go, besides school and at home of course, I get people smoking in my face. I feel bad asking them to stop, as they have every right to smoke, so usually I leave. But, for example - at our local footy rooms. You are not allowed to smoke inside at all. Yet do you think any of the smokers actually obey this? No way. I come home covered in smoke every time I go there. If people want to smoke, go right away. I did research on smoking for H&HD earlier this year, and a massive percentage of people who die from lung cancer and heart disease are actually passive smokers. I don't remember the figure now. But it was scary. (Follow this link for something about it: Health Effects of Passive Smoking ) Those of us who choose not to smoke, should not have to put it with the (disgusting) habits of others. If you smoke, make sure you are the only one, and not others around you. Sure, you have rights as smokers, but you shouldn't be harming other people while doing it.

I apologise if I have offended anyone who does smoke, but that is just my opinion - sorry, I hate smoking with a passion.

I agree 100%:)

Why are some people so precious about smoking?

Because it kills.

On my way home tonight, some evil, evil woman told me to go away and smoke somewhere else, while I was waiting for the train. Open air enviroment.

So she should have. Sorry, but why should she have to be sick or put at risk because of your habit?

However, I'm sick of being pushed around by precious little people who can't bear the sight or smell of cigarette smoke.

It does make us non-smokers physically sick.

I don't smoke, but I suspect that woman that was having a go at Daics was just looking for an argument.
The woman had the option of walking away. Smoking shouldn't be allowed where that option doesn't exist, such as in enclosed areas or at the football where you're allocated a reserved seat. But when Daics was there first, it's fairly obvious she was just looking for an excuse to have a whinge.
I can understand why that woman didn't want to breathe the cigarette smoke. But she didn't have to.

Pete, your folks are dead. I've noticed.

I say let smokers smoke. Let them die of various respiratory diseases - COPD most common. Everyone has the story of an old guy they know who smoked all his life and was healthy until that horse kicked him in the head etc.

Most everyone else developes a respiratory disease if they don't die of heart disease first.

Smokers are always quick to defend their "choice." Then they or their families want to sue the tobacco companies when they are dying. The "choice" suddenly is forgotten. I don't want to get preachy about the dangers of smoking, but I will always preach for people taking responsiblity for their own actions.

I'm signing off. When I have more time, I'll try to take more notice of Pete's folks being dead (in case no one has noticed).

Peace,

Originally posted by Mooster7
Pete, your folks are dead. I've noticed.

My eyes are welling up. Thankyou so much for noticing that my parents are no longer with us. You're a very special person you know that. Don't let anyone tell you differently. You're an incredibly special individual.

Dad would be so proud of you - if he was alive.

Originally posted by Bomber Spirit
Why does The Pirates of Penzance come to mind?:confused: :p
Have you ever known what it's like to be an orphin? Orffin... yes, orphin, have you ever known what it's like to be one. Orffin.

Grrr, what are you doing to me? The other day I watched a really old video of err... the pirate movie. You know the really bad one with Gary Sweet filmed in Werribee and on the shipwreck coast? And guess what, you reminded me of that and now I have "The Pirate King" stuck in my head. Thanks a lot for nothing!

What were we talking about? Smoking? yeah it sucks, my grandfather died from it and I never smoked again after that. What I hate is when people blow it in your face, and then apologise and then do it again.

I still miss being able to smoke at the footy whilst standing up. that goes for both types of smoking.

In 1996 at the Western Oval when Fitzroy were playing WCE I think a friend of mine decide because there was no-pone around he would pull a few cones.

After a couple a young child around about 4 asked his father what he was doing.
'He's smoking son.' was the reply
'But that's not how you smoke daddy. Why is he smoking differently?'
'Because what he smokes is a little different to what I smoke.'
'Why is it different?'
'I'll tell you when we get home son. Now watch the footy.'
'But why daddy I want to know now.'
'I'll tell you when I get home now shut up.'
This went on for a little while until the boys in blue walked past when the young kid asked them what my mate was doing to the response of 'Ask your father son, he should be able to tell you.'
'But sir he won't tell me.'
'That's because son you shouldn't know about these things at your age. Smoking is bad for you.'
The kid pestered the cops for a little while longer until the eventually confiscated the bong and only gave my mate a warning.

Ah, the benefits of supporting a club that played in Footscray and no-one turned up to watch. Now I need to smoke something.

Smoking