Smorgan rigging the Best & Fairest count !!

FitzroyJamesDio

Suspended
the Herald Sun story today spoke volumes on the credability of Smorgan

I could easily see him rigging the best and fairest count to keep Chris Grant happy.

Oh the SHAME..the SHAME!!

bring back the Footscray Football Club...drop kick the Western Bulldogs dribble..

Just read about it on the AFL Website and I must say it does sound pretty dodgy.
Is there anything that the Bulldogs can do properly, theyre scum on the field and now they SUPPOSIBLY rigged a best & fairest count to keep a player....thats just really shonky if u ask me, get it together dogs.

[This message has been edited by vanders (edited 02 May 2001).]

If the Hawks had been in a same sort of situation (say losing Holland to the Crows or somesuch) if it had been in my power to rig a B&F to make sure that he would stay, well id have done it.

Grants still there and the bottom line is hes the best they have got, to hell with how he was kept, just so long as he was kept.

Originally posted by Grendel:
If the Hawks had been in a same sort of situation (say losing Holland to the Crows or somesuch) if it had been in my power to rig a B&F to make sure that he would stay, well id have done it.

Grants still there and the bottom line is hes the best they have got, to hell with how he was kept, just so long as he was kept.

Grendel i know where your coming from but if the allegations are true it is a disgrace, Grant stayed for all the right reasons and i dont think a rigged reult in the B&F would have influenced him, it just degrades the whole awards and integrity of the footy club....if its true

Consider the source of the "story' - Mike Sheahan. Enough said. (Surprised it wasn't Caroline!)

------------------
"Sons of the West, red, white and blue..."
"Oh say, can you see..."
"California dreamin'..."
THE TRINITY OF SONGS

Wouldnt do it under any circumstances, if a player needed that to stay then they can leave

------------------
"61, 71, 91...2001??"

"Give McCabe a well deserved payrise"

http://hfchotspot.homestead.com

Originally posted by FitzroyJamesDio:

bring back the Footscray Football Club...drop kick the Western Bulldogs dribble..

The 'Footscray Football Club Ltd.' currently trades as the 'Western Bulldogs'. There is no need to 'bring back' the Footscray Football Club as they already exist and the Western Bulldogs who play in the AFL are officially known as such.

Originally posted by Roylion:

The 'Footscray Football Club Ltd.' currently trades as the 'Western Bulldogs'. There is no need to 'bring back' the Footscray Football Club as they already exist and the Western Bulldogs who play in the AFL are officially known as such.

Thanks for the support Roylion but as you've posted this info before, and ppl such as
FitzroyJamesDio are still spouting the same nonsense, it's clear they can't read.

As for this Sheahan beat up, hasn't he got anything better to write about than five year old gossip which was laughed at then, and is yawned at now?

its true..i heard ernie sigley interviewing Dennis Galimbreti on 3AW this arvo..and he said he quit the week before..and at that week he knew that jose romero was at last 10 votes ahead of anyone else..so it wasnt possible for anyone to get that many votes to catch up in the last round..he said he doesnt know who did it but smorgan took over at that point

this is so sketchy for anyone to do this..and to think its a best and FAIREST..what a JOKE!

smorgan has ruinned FOOTSCRAY with all his dodgey-ness! expect it to be talked about big time on the footy show

chris grant must be feeling pretty small!

thanks to smorgan!

even Ernie thought it was a disgrace!

------------------
Fitzroy James Dio II

with all due respect Roylion...but Footscray Football Club has then been well swept under the carpet..and to me that is shameful!

Oh rubbish! Come on. I don't even support Footscray, yet fair's fair. Anyone with a bit of nous and a bit of research can establish and understand quite clearly that the Western Bulldogs are exactly the same as Footscray. All you are doing is putting your own prejudices against Footscray for whatever reason, ahead of common-sense and logic. I''ve already stated several times, the Western Bulldogs are still officially known as the Footscray Football Club!

As that is the case how on earth can you claim that Footscray has been swept under the carpet? Isn't Footscray's history acknowledged? Aren't there past players recognised? Isn't their admin and training HQ still the Western Oval? You obviously know something I don't. What is it? Tell us. From what I can gather from your previous posts, in your eyes it is a huge sin, that the elected board of Footscray decided to market themselves as the team of the western suburbs by adopting a different trading name from their official name, becuase that is all that has happened. Good on them.

If it had been Fitzroy wanting to change themselves to the Western or Northern Lions in order to gain more members, sponsorship etc. which would have assisted to maintain their own stand-alone identity in Melbourne , I would have been all in favor of it if it was the difference between survival, or merger/extinction. We would have still been in Melbourne, we would have still worn the FFC logo on the front of the jumper, we would have had the colours, the song,our history would have continued, we still would have been part ofthe AFL in our own right, the official name would have still been the Fitzroy Football Club, (Ltd.) etc. I take it you would have opposed this move and preferred us to do what we eventually did. Because if you don't oppose this concept, what on earth is your problem with Footscray doing exactly that? Footscray have ALL of the above.

And just in case you don't think it would have happened to Fitzroy, I was told on the quiet by a Fitzroy director in 1994, that if the AFL approved the plan by Fitzroy to play home games in Canberra, it could lead eventually to the change of FFC's trading name to the 'Canberra Lions', while the club would still have officially been known as the Fitzroy Football Club.

Bearing in mind what happened to our club, I am surprised that as a Fitzroy supporter you aren't more sympathetic to the efforts of other Victorian clubs to drag themselves out of the mire..just as Fitzroy tried so hard to do.

I'm attending the Fitzroy Team of Our Century Dinner tomorrow night. It should be a great night, but for many there (including me) it will be tinged with sadness at what was lost in 1996. Bearing this in mind, clubs such as Footscray and North Melbourne should take every reasonable step, (by reasonable I mean largely protecting their existing identity) to enable their club to continue in it's own right. Those actions taken now may enable that club to celebrate another team of our century in 2101.

I can't believe anyone could be stupid enough to believe that crap. Sheahan has made headlines with absolutely no evidence.
Anyone who thinks Romero could have beat Grant in the B & F obviously hasn't seen him play. Chris Grant is a true champion.

If it had been Fitzroy wanting to change themselves to the Western or Northern Lions in order to gain more members, sponsorship etc. which would have assisted to maintain their own stand-alone identity in Melbourne , I would have been all in favor of it if it was the difference between survival, or merger/extinction. We would have still been in Melbourne, we would have still worn the FFC logo on the front of the jumper, we would have had the colours, the song,our history would have continued, we still would have been part ofthe AFL in our own right, the official name would have still been the Fitzroy Football Club, (Ltd.) etc. I take it you would have opposed this move and preferred us to do what we eventually did. Because if you don't oppose this concept, what on earth is your problem with Footscray doing exactly that? Footscray have ALL of the above.

And just in case you don't think it would have happened to Fitzroy, I was told on the quiet by a Fitzroy director in 1994, that if the AFL approved the plan by Fitzroy to play home games in Canberra, it could lead eventually to the change of FFC's trading name to the 'Canberra Lions', while the club would still have officially been known as the Fitzroy Football Club.

Bearing in mind what happened to our club, I am surprised that as a Fitzroy supporter you aren't more sympathetic to the efforts of other Victorian clubs to drag themselves out of the mire..just as Fitzroy tried so hard to do.

I'm attending the Fitzroy Team of Our Century Dinner tomorrow night. It should be a great night, but for many there (including me) it will be tinged with sadness at what was lost in 1996. Bearing this in mind, clubs such as Footscray and North Melbourne should take every reasonable step, (by reasonable I mean largely protecting their existing identity) to enable their club to continue in it's own right. Those actions taken now may enable that club to celebrate another team of our century in 2101. [/B]

and if Fitzroy had done all the things you said i would bet my life the directors would have taken it to the members...that would have been the right thing to do. Did this happen with Footscray? Thank you...

Smorgan has come in and steamrolled...and in my opinion not for the better.

The best and fairest rigging is the ultimate act of contempt to everyone that has anything to do with the club, be it players, admin, or supporters.

So I guess now youll say that both Mike Sheehan and Dennis Galimbreti made that story up. Galimbreti knew what was going on. And he sure as hell aint gonna lie about it years after. Why would he?

and if Fitzroy had done all the things you said i would bet my life the directors would have taken it to the members...that would have been the right thing to do. Did this happen with Footscray? Thank you...

How do you know that consultation over the change to trading name didn't happen? As I have repeatedly said, the Footscray board in any case don't have to take it to the members if the constitution and other articles of association are not going to be changed. In Fitzroy's case, Dyson Hore Lacy stated publicly that the FFC would not enter into a binding agreement to merge without the consent of the members and shareholders. However as far as I am aware, only senior members, shareholders and coterie members were canvassed about merging or a possible merger partner. This took place around the start of May 1996. Ordinary members of Fitzroy were not, and to my knowledge were never, asked their preference.

I believe that the name change to the Western Bulldogs was also canvassed amongst a similar set of Footscray members and financial backers and was generally accepted. In fact, from memory, it was the vehement opposition of a group of supporters that led to the placing of the FFC on the back of the Western Bulldogs jumper, as a compromise. To state Smorgon and his board just came in and bulldozed every other supporters' opinion is I believe, inaccurate and misleading. Again perhaps some Bulldogs supporters who would know the exact details could confirm/deny this.

well if the constitution has it that they dont have to take it to the members its not much of a constitution if you ask me..

i think the whole western bulldogs and kangaroos name change thing is very very disappointing and shameful!..especially when the clubs are still going and the supporters have a chance to voice their opinions

then again maybe they are voicing their opinions...look at the terrible membership numbers..and why would you join a club that dont take note of what the members and supporters have to say?

and getting back to the topic at hand...smorgan and co DID rig the 1996 best and fairest..its plain as day...they have a lot of explaining to do on that one! i guess theyll say it was an act of ..um..god?

or it happened by itself..

how a club can have any self respect after doing something as tacky as this..and it getting out is beyond me

but i guess some of you will say they only did it for the good of the club..HAHAHAHA

poor chris grant...i will grant(pardon the pun) he is a champion..but this is not the way things should be done..what an embaressment!!

if i were grant id leave today after learning about this sort of shite.

10 votes ahead two rounds to go no chance for grant to win then smorgan steps in new B+F policy replace 3,2,1 voting to 5,4,3,2,1 and the pres gets the casting votes with white ink in hand.
rnd.21
5.c.grant
4.s.west
3.s wynd
2.r.smith
1.-------- rolf harris
biggrin.gif

rnd.22
5.have a wild guess lol
4.r smith
3.d southern
2.s wynd
1.------- jeff kennent

oh look 2 rookie players got 1 vote
biggrin.gif

ohhhhhh golly gee we have a tie wont chris be so happy.
and just to think this could have been how it was rigged.
cheers!

s
the begining of the SHAME file for Smorgan..

corrupt, crooked, ruthless...and it's still got him nowhere...ie loser!

"SHAME" seems to be something that is constantly on your mind. Is this a little personality quirk? Or an emotion you are only too familiar with?

Be assured that we are all PROUD (opposite of ashamed) of Smorgon, and of Chris Grant, a true champion.

If you want to complain about vote rigging, start with the Brownlow of the same year. Chris was best on the ground in the last game, Dogs v Bombers, and had he got 3 votes would have won the Brownlow. But because the Bombers won (just) they gave three votes to Hird and two to Chris.

And last year, Woewoden got 12 possessions in the last game and didn't rate a mention in any voting. The West Coast Eagles said he put in an ordinary game, yet he got three Brownlow votes to get him past Scott West.

Go and do a bit of investigative reporting on a few other "shame files".

as discussed on the Footy Show last night..lets see what you say when Chris Grant hands his best and fairest for 96 back

rigged..very shameful!

now thats no way to treat a champion like chris grant..!

whats the bet hes on the market very very soon..

get rid of smorgon..no comment indeed.hahaha

------------------
Fitzroy James Dio II

below the bottom line..

sheehan broke a story...and a stroy that is worth telling...keep the bastards honest...and this sort of shit like rigging best and fairests shouldnt happen at the top level...

smorgan should be sacked...i like the way theyre blaming Sheehan for telling it as it is...

Bulldogs as they are..should be ashamed of themselves!

Grant should quit them on principle!

Originally posted by FitzroyJamesDio
below the bottom line..

smorgan should be sacked...

Bulldogs as they are..should be ashamed of themselves!

Grant should quit them on principle!

Brace yourself.........Smorgon won't be sacked.........Bulldogs are not ashamed of themselves..........Grant won't quit.

Must be awful to be so powerless to influence events... but you're used to that.

im not fussed about any influence at all...you dogs are the ones who have to sleep with yourselves at night...and if you're happy having proven crooked administration running the show for you so be it...

credibility is shot though...

face it grant would be suss on the whole thing now...and romero would also smell a rat...great for morale aint it!!

:p

It is not a fact that it happened. There are only a few people who actually know if the allegations are true. Since we don't (and will never) really know...it's really SHAME on Mike Sheehan for bringing this to everyones attention. With what has gone on this year the club certainly didn't need this controversy. More importantly it's extreemley unfair to Chris Grant and Romero.

And BTW Smorgo is widely respected among Bulldogs supporters so don't think ANY Bulldogs supporter is going to agree with you about that!!!