Sep 25, 2005
Gippy Power
Welcome to my annual mock draft. Few things to note;

• Have assumed all clubs will take 44 players albeit have assumed different mixes for differenct clubs based on the feedback
  • As per rules if a player is an NGA player and played at Champs they can automatically be listed as Cat B players if they miss out in National Draft
  • As always have tried to get some views on club needs and have tailored to that where possible
  • Key themes for me this year are speed, running power, contested ball winning, clean hands and skill.
Some key take outs are;

• There is a real shortage of rucks and given only 2 genuine rucks were invited to combine I think some clubs will miss out and you might find them
  • Same goes for key forwards. There are very few of real quality and again I think clubs are going to need to do some thinking around how they solve for that.
  • Mature age players are in vogue for me. There are a number of high quality ones this year and I expect quite a few to be taken
Will also update the order through next week albeit I may do as a listing in the OP.

Enjoy!

NATIONAL DRAFT

# 1 Carlton

Sam Walsh / Geelong Falcons / 183cm

Outstanding choice for the Blues. Out and out A grade talent and he along with Cripps and some of the other kids they have in the stable will assure Blues fans of some great times ahead.

Who else – Could make a strong case for Jack or Izak but Sam is the right choice for where the Blues are at and their build profile. Dow, Cripps, SPS and this bloke will be formidable very quickly.

# 2 Gold Coast Suns

Jack Lukosius / WWT / 194cm

I just love watching this kid play. One of the best talents I have seen in the 10 years or so been following junior footy closely. Has one of the greatest ceilings in recent years and is capable of playing in a range of roles. Personally I like him forward but his body shape may take some time and hence he may play out on a wing or a flank. Mixed it up with senior players and has shown he is going to go well.

Who else – Nobody unless Sam drops. He is the one.

# 3 Gold Coast Suns

Izak Rankine / West Adelaide / 180cm

They have to take him....he could be the best in the draft. Could be a flight risk but you have to back your club in and take the best talent available. Capable of freakish things (I think we all have seen his game at Champs) and another type whose ceiling is incredibly high. Suns just have to back themselves in. Cant wait to watch him.

Who else – Max King would be in the mix would think and even Connor Rozee and pairing the SA boys up but reckon he might slip to them anyway.

# 4 St Kilda

Max King / Sandringham Dragons / 204cm

The best key position forward prospect since Buddy Franklin. Don’t worry about the knee. Kid is freakishly athletic and can do things midfielders can with his speed and agiliy. Yes he will take time but he is a player you would build around over time. Could well have been #1.

Who else – I think you could make a case for Bailey here and he fits the Saints needs as well with that speed around the stoppage but Max could kick 100 goals in a year. Rozee or Caldwell roughies

# 5 Port Adelaide
Connor Rozee / North Adelaide / 185cm

Been really impressive this year. Just a really classy and silky type who does some elite level things on a field. Has played back, middle and forward and whilst I think might start as a forward ultimately don’t have many doubts he goes through the middle. There isn’t a lot of his type in the draft at the high end and reckon he will be well sort after. Also keeps them with three SA boys that they can pair up. Perfectly fit the needs as well.

Who else – I think they may bid for Blakey here. You would think Bailey Smith would be a chance but word is he is a flight risk. Ben King

# 6 Gold Coast Suns

Ben King / Sandringham Dragons / 202cm

Rozee will tempt but Ben is the best player left and Port have done a great job keeping Vic kids so will back themselves in. Gives them options of playing him in a variety of roles. Lovely kid and just gives them an option to develop him as a forward or back. Just so agile, quick and clean with what he does. Terrific set of hands and can play all up the spine.

Who else – Ben King or Caldwell a real chance. Bailey Smith but he is a massive flight risk.

# 7 Western Bulldogs

Bailey Smith / Sandringham Dragons / 185cm

Impressive isn’t he! HB / midfielder type but I have no doubts he becomes an elite midfielder. Obviously a kid who is really committed to his performance levels but is blessed with great athletic ability and real footy smarts. His body of work has been really impressive but he has a lot of really standout moments that recruiters will be drawn to be it a burst from a stoppage or a searing run through the middle for a goal. Keen to stay at home and gets his wish I think.

Who else – I think the Dogs would be happy if Connor fell through or even Max King albeit I cant see that happening. Ben and Jye would be in the frame as well.

# 8 Sydney Swans Matching Bid

Nick Blakey / NSW / 195cm

The Swans will get asked to go early on Blakey I would think. I wouldn’t be surprised if Port do it but think the Dogs certainly will. Nick is another that is a really high end talent but who will take time because he is very slight. Can play a range of roles and game sense is incredibly good. Lots of footy smart about him. I do wonder where he will settle but its good to have options.

Who else - He should be taken around 5 on talent.

# 9 Adelaide

Jackson Hately / Central Districts / 190cm

Well known the quality of the kid and don’t think will be any doubts about his ability to become a long term quality player and leader. Can play inside and dominate stoppages but I think where he is a little underscored is his ability to get on the outside and spread. Very good at getting involved on the outside and in scoring chains. Smart player. Done it at every level this kid I rate really high.

Who else – Ben King is some chance if Caldwell gets called earlier. Jye Caldwell or Connor Rozee are chances if here.

# 10 GIANTS

Jye Caldwell / Bendigo Pioneers / 184cm

All the buzz late but think he might make it through to here. Tough and explosive inside midfielder. They have a few of his type but this kid is an A grader and someone that pairs up well with a few of their current crop. Stoppage king and can explode away and give first use. Loves the contest and skills are very good on the outside. People may not have seen much of him but he was elite last year. Scouts won’t have forgotten. Jye is also a super impressive kid and has impressed a number of clubs.

Who else – they would love Ben King to fall. Players like Hately, Clark, Jones and Duursma etc must be in mix as well. Could be a left fielder here as its when the draft opens up.

# 11 Port Adelaide

Jordan Clark / Claremont / 182cm

One of the real bolters of the year. His Champs absolutely franked him as a player to watch and his performances back in the WAFl at reserves and then senior level have validated that. Terrific HB type that I would liken to Andy McGrath. Reads it well and gets himself into position to either intercept or support his team mate under pressure. Very happy to run to the contest and provide an option. Out of the traffic he goes well. Nice kick over short and long distances and really clean and creative by hands. Will move in the middle with time. Think he has real footy IQ and is a gem!

Who else – There is a chance they could pick up Ben King here! Lot pivots on who Suns take at # 6. Chayce Jones is a ripper. Hately if still here.

# 12 GIANTS

Chayce Jones / Tasmania / 180cm

Very competitive kid is really strong in the contest. I think clubs really rate kids who are strong around stoppages, win their own ball, are clean and distribute out of the contest by hand and foot really well. He is so creative in traffic its ridiculous. He tested really well, has lovely speed and he aint a flight risk.

Who else – Chance they have to make a call on Ben King here. Bit of mail around they love Clark so if he got here no surprise. Butters would be in mix. Would they look at Ian Hill, probably later.

# 13 Geelong

Riley Collier-Dawkins / Oakleigh Chargers / 191cm

So hard to pick where he goes. On talent he is higher than here but he has some question marks around him that I suspect may cause recruiters to question where to place him. Some might go yep we got Cripps wrong and thought he wasn’t a great runner so not making same mistake with Riley. Others might look at consistency. Who knows. What I know is at his best he is a top 10 talent in the pool. His work around stoppages is very good. He is clean, he extracts and he gives to advantage. He can play on the outside and some of his ball use against the best at Champs was very good. Can also play forward so he gives scope.

Who else – There is a scenario where Ben King gets to here. Whisper that Hawks have spent time with him lately.

# 14 Adelaide

Sam Sturt / Dandenong Stingrays / 188cm

Wonder the odds you got on this kid being Stingrays first chosen in the draft at the start of the year. Ex cricketer who has focused on footy and has really high footy IQ. Smart forward, with real good speed and whilst still slight manages to use his body well. Burnt Quaynor in the GF (and I rate him) and is showing his upside potential is enormous. Skills lovely and reminds of Fritsch. Hasn’t focused much on his footy so with a few preseasons into sky is the limit.

Who else – Suspect would love a Jones / Stocker type to be here. Crows often pull something a bit left field.

# 15 Fremantle

Ian Hill / Perth / 175cm

He is a freak this kid and whilst he probably hasn’t strung it together enough this year clubs scouts have seen enough. The kid is in Fremantle’s back yard and they could see this kid as the perfect foil for a Lobb and Hogan as the taller forward options they have. He doesn’t need many touches and he is very similar to Cyril in his explosiveness, agility, skill and speed. I almost don’t want to pick him for them because it is so obvious.

Who else – Any of the above would suit them well but a Sam Sturt could be another they would look at as the third tall.

# 16 Port Adelaide

Liam Stocker / Sandringham Dragons / 184cm

Do Hawks try and trade up for him??? Not easy picking the player they might look at here as field is opening right up now but wouldn’t be surprised if Liam was their guy. He is a wonderful talent who can play inside and outside the contest and we were robbed of seeing him at Champs against the best. First game I saw him at this year he just took a ball out of the middle rang 10-15 metres and then delivered it lace out. That’s what he can do. He is quicker than you give him credit for and his dual sided foot skills are arguably as good as any in the pool. Question mark on running but clubs can fix that.

Who else – Had Zak Butters in here at various stages. Duursma might be another for them. Luke Foley?

# 17 Adelaide

Zak Butters / Western Jets / 181cm

He is on that I think could easily go quite a bit higher as well. He has genuine speed and agility and a way of making really good things happen on a footy field. When he is involved in the chain it usually ends up being very positive. Good decision maker who takes time and lowers his eyes. His foot skills are good but it’s the speed and agility and the ability to break lines clubs will look at. See him as a forward initially.

Who else – May make North bid on Tarryn here. Duursma speed would appeal to them. May get to take Sturt here. James Jordan or Harry Reynolds would be left field.

# 18 North Melbourne Matching Bid

Tarryn Thomas / Tasmania / 189cm

Gone to long and he probably gets taken earlier but his performances this year have been so/so hence I expect the bid might come a little later. Huge talent though and his best is elite.

# 19 Richmond

Ely Smith / Murray Bushrangers / 188cm

I have him higher than most I expect but I think he is better than what people give him credit for. Kid called Oliver came through a few years ago and I am not sure Ely isn’t a better talent. Like Oliver he does his best work inside where he is a bull. Clean, makes good calls and is smart player with his decision making. Knock might be how good is he on the spread but some of his testing may have allayed those fears. Played some footy with Collingwood in VFL and went very well.

Who else – Been into McHenry. Sam Sturt would be a good choice for their list construct. Foley, Butters and Duursma would think they like as well. Valente is a type reckon Hardwick & co would like. Love Jones to get here but unlikely.

# 20 Brisbane

Xavier Duursma / Gippsland / 185cm

Has some real speed and explosiveness that would probably balance out the Hopper, Bonar and Taranto they have taken last few years. Could easily be their first I reckon. Love watching him play. Whilst he can play inside and out he has real ability to take game on and attack and whoever gets him will see that as the weapon. Might start as a HB type but he will be one they look to give them some drive and use his run and speed to launch attacks from. Skills are good and some of his ball use at times through the year been very good. Highly rated for his two way running as well.

Who else – Curtis Taylor the obvious one. Great mates with Rayner. Duursma someone they have been into.
Xavier Duursma / Gippsland Power / 185cm

# 21 Collingwood

Isaac Quaynor / Oakleigh Chargers / 178cm

Emerged last year as a genuine prospect for the Pies as an NGA player. Attacking HB type who has learnt to balance offense and defense. Plays in the same manner as JJ from the Dogs (albeit doesnt have quite that same explosion) and can read the play exceptionally well, intercept and then really propel a team through defensive lines and onto the attack. Had some terrific moments at the Champs but his consistency at times is an issue. His agility, speed and skill are all standouts and looks to be a really good prospect. Went to the midfield later in the year at times and showed a fair bit there as well.

# 22 GIANTS

Curtis Taylor / Calder Cannons / 186cm

Hard to read. Bit like ‘RCD’. High end talent and has all the tools to make it but does he have the scope to put it all together. You think of Ben Lennon when you assess this kid. At his best through Champs and TAC level he could do amazing things but at his worst he drifts. He will be a medium forward at the start of his career but if he can really improve that running power he goes into the middle. Super talent.

Who else – If Butters or Duursma were here think they would pounce. O’Halloran is probably the style of player they would be really keen on.

# 23 Western Bulldogs Matching Bid

Rhylee West / Calder Cannons / 180cm

Inside ball winning beast who is a certainty to land with Dogs.

# 24 West Coast

Luke Valente / Norwood / 186cm

No real stand outs with this kid but he just does everything really well and you get the impression he has the desire and work rate to make the best of his shot. At the champs he sort of went under the radar a bit but when you watch the games back you just see his nous for making the most of his involvements. He reminds me of Sam Mitchell. Just a real smart footballer who isn’t quick but always seems to be in the right place and doing the right things. The fact he was Capt ahead of blokes like Hately worth noting.

Who else – Luke Foley. Tom Joyce is a local player and similar type but probably to early albeit hasn’t stopped them before.

# 25 GIANTS Matching Bid

Kieran Briggs / NSW / 199cm

GIANTS will jump all over this bloke and given aint many rucks around clubs with multiple picks ahead of them may make them pay earlier. Only the 199cm which is probably a touch shy of the ideal ruck height but he makes up for it in a similar way to Grundy from the Pies. He has a high degree of mobility and can get himself involved around the ground. Also has a good aggressive streak to him and wants the contest which isn’t as common in ruck prospects as you might think. Skill wise he is good, reads the play well and moves incredibly well. Look forward to watching him play. Given he is 19 could be sooner than we think.

# 26 Adelaide

Xavier O’Halloran / Western Jets / 187cm

Really outstanding kid who beat a 'blue ribbon' field to be named the Captain of Vic Metro this year. Possesses a lot of the attributes you want in a footballer. Tough, quick, great endurance and has a real impact on a game of footy. He has those really clean hands inside the stoppage which make him a terrific prospect. I have questioned his kicking at times but when you go back and watch the tapes at his best he is right up there. Has scope to play a few different roles and ultimately it may be more as a HB before moving into the middle later on.

Who else – Player like Taylor would probably appeal for their list construct but not if if they have hit Sturt. Turner a left fielder.

# 27 West Coast

Ned McHenry / Geelong Falcons / 178cm

Been on my radar for a while and whilst at times this year thought he probably didn’t do as much as I hoped his finish to the season was awesome. Some of his efforts vs Metro at the Champs to really stick in the mind. He reminds me a bit of Toby Greene. Really attacks the contest and wants to make things happen. He works hard defensively and is from all reports a pleasure to coach.

Who else – Suspect would love a player like Sturt but will be gone. Valente or taylor have had here as well

# 28 Brisbane Matching Bid

Connor McFadyen / QLD / 190cm

Real favourite of mine in the draft. Big bullocking midfielder who is just so impressive at stoppages with his clean hands and decision making. He is a best in there and has a competitive edge at the very top end. Also shown can go forward and take contested marks so has scope to play a few different roles but it’s the inside work for mine.

# 29 North Melbourne Matching Bid

Bailey Scott / QLD / 186cm

Been watching Bailey for a while as his old man was always a player I enjoyed watching and hence taken some interest. Get the impression son is cut from same cloth but with a little more polish. True midfielder who can play inside and outside the contest and backs himself to run and present as a forward option which I rate (a trait v similar to Dad). I think he has a lot of footy nous about him. Runs to good spots and when he touches it he influences the play. He reminds me a little of Nathan Freeman who I rated highly at a similar age. Athletically he will tick all the boxes for recruiters - quick, seems to have good endurance, good lateral movement. Skill wise he wont present any headaches in that he is a solid user of the ball and can kick reasonably well off both feet. He doesnt tend to overuse it so maybe a question mark will be is he attacking enough by foot but that would be really nit picking and I wouldnt necessarily agree with that. I suspect at AFL level he will start at HB or HF where he has shown he can play well as well. Forward of the ball at junior level he has been a difficult match up so he has scope there and certainly down back he has played well also.

# 30 Melbourne

Jez McLennan / Central Districts / 183cm

Intercept defender from SA who has been impressive all year and CV just kept on getting better. Arguably the best small defender in the year. Shows that ability to read the play coming at him and to diffuse it pretty quickly through marking / spoiling. When he has the ball he is an offensive weapon. Makes good decisions and uses the ball well. Can sort of see him as that Sam Docherty type. Reminds me of him at same age.

Who else – I could see them making a play for Kelly here.

# 31 Gold Coast

Jacob Kennerly / Norwood / 184cm

Really solid running defender who am struggling to place a bit. There are a few of his type around here and he is easily interchangeable with a Hamill or Greaves around this spot. At his best he is a running defender who with ball on hand can be really damaging off a HBF. He reads it well, he can intercept and he will ‘free wheel’ if he gets the chance. Nice player to watch but suspect questions will be raised around his ball winning.

Who else – Had Will Hamill here for a while.

# 32 Collingwood Matching Bid

Will Kelly / Oakleigh Chargers / 194cm

194cm key defender is a terrific proscpect. Athletic type defender who has learnt to better balance his combination of defence and attack through the year. He is showing increasing signs of attacking the ball and then giving it off and then presenting again in the chain. If he can do that more then he becomes a real weapon. Performed well at Champs where he showed continual improvement and then in the last game kept Lukosius relatively quiet . Will can intercept, make good decisions and is a really good user of the pill. Will want to see some really dominant performances as the year goes on but looks a really good prospect for the Pies.

# 33 Melbourne

Sydney Stack / Perth / 177cm

Really good player to watch. Hits the contest hard and has a real want for the contest. Got speed and flair and can make things happen rapidly around stoppages that propel the ball his teams way. Is he a talent? Yep but he probably has some question marks around his discipline and hence clubs will look at him closely. If someone gets him late and then gets him focused he is going to be a steal.

Who else – Fraser Turner is a player I rate that hasn’t gone and could see Williams going there as well possibly.

# 34 Gold Coast

Fraser Turner / Tasmania / 186cm

A player who reminds me strongly of those classic 80's & 90's wingmen who could trasition the ball on the wing from defense to offense. Genuine 70 - 80m players who bust through and go over defensive lines. Really nice size about, as mentioned good speed, is agile and has good laternal movement, will has clean and deft touch and will hold the ball in order to make a better decision. Really excelled at Champs and whilst clubs. Will get some All Star games at years end and whilst I dont really have a question mark over his contested ball I think thats an area clubs will assess in determing his draft range.

Who else – You would think Bailey Williams a massive chance. Kosi v 2?

# 35 Fremantle

Luke Foley / Subiaco / 188cm

19yo inside midfielder who has taken a big step forward this year and racked up some pretty impressive numbers at Colts level with Subiaco. Still only slight for his size (largely because been a keen runner and that’s the build you want) but the body will fill out and he will become a really promising inside midfielder. Some of his work at the Champs was impressive in the contest and through traffic and he uses by hand and foot very well. Can play outside but I think he will get taken because of his inside work. Maybe a bit low for him here.

Who else – Tom Joyce or Fraser Turner could be choices for them and of course Sydney Stack another.

# 36 Western Bulldogs

Bailey Williams / Dandenong Stingrays / 199cm

Shown enough on the big stages over last couple of years that he has serious talent. Like some other big blokes I think it just takes time and he should be given it. He is a Ruck / key forward for mine that understands the craft of leading. He doesn’t rely on standing in the square and out reaching everyone. He will get on the lead and come at the ball carrier in the V. Can go into the ruck as well and has shown has skills there as well. The competitive edge might need tuning a little but he is a player of great promise.

Who else – Fraser Turner?

# 37 Essendon

Jack Bytel / Calder Cannons / 188cm

Another whose year was ruined by injury. It means someone might end up picking up a kid who was rated a lot higher at the start of the year. He is an inside midfielder that is clean, smart and makes good decisions. Had a game early in the year where he got 37 touches and absolutely dominated it. I have question marks on some of his ball use by foot but am not close enough to know if the back injury has impacted that. Go back 12 months though and he absolutely dominated at TAC level as a stoppage specialist. Showed glimpses this year but hard to benchmark him because of injury.

Who else – Joyce

# 38 Brisbane

Thomas Berry / GWV / 186cm

Had high expectations of Tom at the start of the year but has fallen away a bit for mine. High quality kid who is athletic freak. Has running ability, speed, agility etc but he just doesn’t find the footy enough and his skills aren’t a strong suit. Its something clubs rate so he could fall reasonable way.

Who else – Would make North pay for Scott by now but suspect he is long gone.

# 39 St Kilda

Zac Foot / Dandenong / 180cm

A player I am pretty keen on and frankly one who i think could go a bit earlier given he has some really draftable attributes. Has had a good TAC season, played well in the trial games and then had some really good moments at the Champs. He has terrific speed away from stoppage and he opens up the ground ahead of him. He also doesnt rush his decision making and therefore he generally does good things with ball in hand. The knock is probably the consistency but his best is a real standout. Worth noting he has a December birthday so he only just scrapes in and he hasnt had the pathway development others have had given hasnt been in the TAC system for that long.

Who else – Will Hamill is the sort of guy see replacing Gilbert.

# 40 Richmond

Will Hamill / Dandenong / 185cm

Talented medium defender who hasn’t had the development into him others have. Can play short or tall and he just a really composed footballer who reads the game well and can be a really good intercept player. I have liked him all year and think he has probably only started to get the recognition deserves more recently. He is good in the air albeit he aint a big kid and he uses it very efficiently. You look at him and think maybe a Pittard is his sort of type. I think he has that running power that gives him an edge. Am really keen to see where recruiters place him.

Who else – Kennerly might still be here and Bytel strikes as likely type but depends what they did Rd 1.

# 41 Melbourne Matching Bid

Toby Bedford / Dandenong Stingrays / 176cm

Very lively small forward who creates a lot of activity around the ball either offensively or defensively. Agile, quick, evasive cability and vision are really good and his clean with his ball use. Can overdo it a bit and can be a bit up and down but when you play that role that can happen.He generally picks the right pathway out of trouble. Will present well and doubt that he will fall through to Melbourne's rookie list. Has spent some time through the middle in games I have watched and looks ok but not sure if has the tank to do it.

# 42 Swans

Tom Joyce / East Fremantle / 179cm

Midfielder who just had a shocking run with injuries this year but who showed enough in 2017 to suggest he should be a reasonably high pick. This kid has in spades a trait clubs love. An ability to win ball, elite hands at stoppages and an ability to get the ball to advantage and do it quickly and in a way that opens up play. Tom has that. Scout won’t have forgotten.

Who else – Could see a slider going here. Someone like a Foot / Stack / Kennerly. Wonder if Bytel available as well.

# 43 West Coast Matching Bid

Jarrod Cameron / Swan Districts / 180cm

You all saw what he can do at Champs. Just needs to do more of it.

# 44 Swans

Jacob Koschitzke / Murray Bushrangers / 196cm

Key defender from Murray who really caught the eye through the Champs against some of the nations best forwards which ultimately saw him named in the All Australian side. Never saw him really beaten and I think that’s why he is probably someone that slides to hear yet at the same time has the scope to be a terrific get. He is a really good one on one player with good positioning and strength in the contest. He is agile and can close space and intercept or take contested mark.

Who else – Kyle Reid more dour but a good choice.

# 45 Fremantle

Kyle Reid / Gippsland Power / 193cm

Great size kid and whilst not 100% sure he goes this high I reckon he might be one that gets taken later that’s work his way through. He isn’t a player that has any obvious stand out attribute offensively but defensively he rarely gets beaten. He reads the play well, has great body positioning on his opponent and can work at ground level when the ball spills. He doesn’t get flustered and he is very composed with his execution.

Who else – Would love Kosi v2 here.

# 46 Western Bulldogs

Harry Reynolds / Sandringham Dragons / 189cm

# 74 for the Dragons might strike lucky two years in a row. Could be the real bolter come draft night. Came in and played a few different roles for Dragons as HB / Wing but also spent time through the midfield. He is a great size and whilst still pretty slight he knows how to find the footy and win contested footy. I didn’t see huge amounts of him but in what I did I think probably see him more as a HB / utility type. He looked more composed back there and his ball use looked cleaner. Coming from a fair way back so unsure how clubs will read him but would think from circa 40 onwards he comes into the frame and presents as a kid who has a lot of development left him in scope to play a few different roles.

Who else – James Jordan? They love a left field choice.

# 47 St Kilda

Tom Sparrow / South Adelaide / 182cm

Very highly rated SA kid who would be one of the highest ranked ball winners in this draft. Proven it at every level he has played at this year. He just hunts the footy and regularly gets his hands on it. He is explosive away from the contest but is better by hands than foot. To that point presents really well and from all reports athletically he ticks the boxes as well. I think the knock on him is probably a bit more around his kicking. His use by hands is really good. In some ways he reminds of Dion Prestia. I think of him in the same way. So whilst I dont have him ranked at the pointy end it wouldn’t surprise me if a club who really liked him and saw him as that Prestia type didn’t take him from 30 onwards. He could also play pretty quickly.

Who else – Tom Joyce could still be on the list.

# 48 Western Bulldogs Matching Bid

Buku Khamis / Western Jets / 190cm

Rate this kid and particularly his intercept ability and composure. Also happy to put body in harms way which is a great trait in any player.

# 49 Geelong

Damon Greaves / East Perth / 186cm

Medium defender who got hurt at champs but has been on the radar for a while and I think will still go pretty high. Wouldn’t say has lots of stand out attributes rather a player (like Duncan at Cats) who does everything well and is a really solid and combative footballer.

Who else – See below

# 50 Geelong

Josh Kemp / Calder / 184cm

Medium forward who can play. Still pretty slight but gee he has some very draftable attributes and I think could surprise on draft night.

Who else – Could be Pickett here. If they want him have to go now.

# 51 GIANTS

Angus Hanrahan / Sandringham Dragons / 182cm

Seen a bit of him through the year and another just struggle to get a good read on. Seen him in a few different spots but definitely prefer him off a wing or back flank. He shows more poise there and i think sees the game better and it also gives him more opportunity to show his speed and foot skills. His hands are also good. He is very clean and that will appeal. Like a few around here clubs will have seen something they can work with and develop. He has a couple of things that will have made them sit up such as his kicking off HB and Wing. Gee he had a couple of real moments vs VC.

Who else – Someone with speed. Nick Hind would be a good fit given Cumming and Perryman haven’t come on.

# 52 Hawthorn

Noah Gown / Gippsland Power / 194cm

Had a super finish to the year and was a player I really enjoyed watching. Seemed to me to be a key forward who understand the craft. Thought his leading patterns were good and when he was out of position used his body well. Having said that I thought sometimes he tried to win the contest from the square a bit often and rely on that body work to much. He wont get away with that at AFL level and I think that might be a question on him. Can he play other roles? Not sure but certainly one you would look at.

Who else – Bowman / Mayo / McLean

# 53 North Melbourne

Tom McKenzie / Northern Knights / 183cm

Lot to like about this kid. Has speed, composure and is a really good decision maker and ball user. His issue is he doesn’t really win enough ball and whilst it has improved this year it probably still holds him back and results in inconsistency. His best attributes are elite though so be interesting to see where he ranks.

Who else – Love to see Scholl land with them.

#54 Brisbane

Lachlan Sholl / Calder Cannons / 185cm

Fan of Lach and pretty sure will get taken as has real class and some traits that clubs will really go for. Good composure, good decision maker who displays good footy nous, can kick really well either side has a bit of x factor in his play and has speed. Think will be more a HB type but wing and even half forward would be in his scope as well at AFL level. Reminds me a lot of his Dad. Couple of areas for him to focus on but lot to like.

Who else – hard to know what they need because they seem to have a really well balanced list. Suspect a mature age might come onto the scene.

# 55 North Melbourne

Darcy Fort / Central Districts / 205cm

North need one and Darcy has earnt the right to have another crack. Been a very good SANFL performer. Good to watch and would be a great story to see him drafted.

Who else – Tom Campbell but to early.

# 56 Swans Residual Selection

Marlion Pickett / South Fremantle / 183cm

I had been tracking Tim Kelly for a number of years and like him have also been tracking Marlion. Not sure if I had him on the list last year but I think he makes it this year for sure. Played back and midfield and has some speed and grunt about him. Certainly at 26 ready to go Rd 1 but not sure where he will play as will need a more significant endurance base than what I think he seems to have at WAFL level. Having said that saw some of his work in a couple of his finals matches and he was dominant through the middle and really hurt the opposition with his scoreboard pressure.

Who else – Nick Hind would be good for them. Bit more speed.

# 57 Collingwood

Riley Bowman / Dandenong Stingrays / 198cm

Tall forward / ruck for the Rays who I am unsure where to slot in. He at times has been in the top 30 or so but has drifted a bit because he is inconsistent. Having said that at times in the finals he was a really dominant sort of player who was influencing the game well and showing a bit of want for the contest which I reckon is lacking in this year’s crop of rucks.

Who else – Gown / McLean / Mayo

# 58 Melbourne

Joe Ayton-Delaney / Oakleigh Chargers / 179cm

At the start of the year probably had a bit higher up but having said that has had a solid year and really rated some of his form late. Speed galore this kid and a want to take the game on. Been a back pocket but think might push up the field and become a really attacking line breaker from HB or wing. His kicking can be a bit hit and miss but gee when its on it is very good. Sometimes I wonder whether his skill errors come more from just being to attacking. If that’s the case clubs can correct that pretty easily.

Who else – Nick Hind a mature age ready to go.

# 59 North Melbourne Residual Selection

Boyd Woodcock / North Adelaide / 176cm

Small forward who had a good champs and really excelled at SANFL senior level later in the year and through finals. Your classic pressure forward who just has a bit of Tom Papley about him. There will be some question mark on him athletically because he probably lacks some elite traits but gee sometimes just pick the guy who has proven he is up to the level.

Who else – Think they might bid on Atu. Gaspar would be another along with some of the other smaller forwards above who drop.

# 60 Richmond

Ben Jarvis / Norwood / 185cm

Athletic tall forward with good speed and agility who has a bit of a knack of always being where he needs to be and getting on the end of a few. I like him, I think he is a smart footballer. Little things he does like how positions himself in a contested marking situation and protects the ball drop just give you that sense he has a higher level in him. If you get him go find the replay / vision of his game vs WA or Counry at Champs. Performed well at the Combine in the areas which for the type of role he would play are important.

Who else – A Jack Bytel strikes me as their style. He is a chance to get to here but must admit be surprised if still on list. Rowbottom is a Tiger type.

# 61 Fremantle

James Rowbottom / Oakleigh Chargers / 186cm

Will be really interested to see where James goes on the night. Dominated TAC level stats around his stoppage work and would be considered a specialist in that area who is as tough as nails. Ticks all the attributes of an inside player but have just felt his skill on the outside is a question mark. Might be a bit harsh because he does win so much inside the contest.

Who else – Another club you would think who would be into Pickett.

# 62 Essendon

Noah Answerth / Oakleigh / 182cm

19yo who is a solid midfielder who sometimes reminds me of a taller Greg Williams. Loves using that left hand hand pass. Nice movement and good skill and can mark overhead. Could be a bargain

OR /

Zac Clarke / Subiaco / 203cm

Think Dons might be the first to start tapping the limited ruck talent in this draft. Clarke is a depth player and this might be a tad early but they need one and this is spot they would have to hit the trigger. Might also get as a DFA.

Who else – Fort is about the only other ruck prospect I rate. I think they may even sign Clarke as a DFA while this is out.

# 63 Collingwood Residual Selection

Jack Ross / Oakleigh Chargers / 186cm

Just grown on me all year. Played some great footy at TAC and school and I think gets drafted somewhere from about 50. Not a huge set of stand out attributes but does everything really well. Ultimately a Kennedy type inside ball winning beast. Beautifully clean hands and a one touch player who then distributes by hand with precision. He aint quick but he is smart and reads the game well.

Who else – Someone like a Zane Barzen might be an interesting choice for them. Noah Answerth would be another that makes sense given the connection.

# 64 St Kilda

James Jordan / Oakleigh Chargers / 186cm

Came into the TAC Cup mid season after some great school form. Given he hasn't had the pathway exposure others have a club may go him early. If you want a stand out moment have a look at the first quarter of the GF. He started in the middle and absolutely dominated. Strong body and really mixed it in the middle with the likes of Fletcher etc and performed well. He is clean when the ball is on the deck and he makes good decisions. He is a nice kick and has real penetration in it and can play through HB where have seen him show good ability to read the ball coming, intercept and then attack by foot. He is a late December boy to!

Who else – This might be the spot where they hit a state league player with that breakaway speed they probably lack. Guys like Wilkie, Pickett, Hind you would think would be types that suit them.

# 65 Brisbane Residual Selection

Ty Smallwood / Claremont / 177cm

Another one that probably went under the radar a bit at Champs but you just couldn’t knock the quality of performances. Then goes back to WAFL and plays really well there as well. Small forward who does it all well. When on the attack he really hunts the footy, he is smart with his decision making and is a lovely kick. On the flip side he will harass, tackle and chast his man down. At the end of the day he kicks goals. Can go into middle as well.

Who else – Wonder if they bid on Caleb Graham.

# 66 Hawthorn Matching Bid

Irving Mosquito / Gippsland Power / 175cm

Terrffic young player who have pleasure of seeing a bit of. Has some genuine x factor about him. Quick, agile, beautifully skilled and just that ability to create things from nothing. Only slight and will take time.

# 67 Richmond

Luke English / Perth / 181cm

Jack Clarke winner in 2017 where he averaged 25 possessions. Just a really good combative, tough and aggressive midfielder who gets the best out of himself. Nothing that really stands out as an x factor attribute but equally there isnt a weakness. I think his best go is his work at the stoppage. When he wins the ball it very rarely gets wasted. He is clean around the contest and he is creative by hand or foot. Doesnt bite off to much and hence usually goes to advantage. Not sure if he can push forward as havent seen him do that so will leave to others but if you want a player comparison I would probably look at a Sloane type.

Who else – Tom Joyce, Noah Answerth

# 68 GIANTS Residual Selection

Nick Hind / Essendon VFL / 180cm

Hind is lightning fast and be surprised if still actually. His highlight reel is very good. Can cut through defences and would fit nicely into the back half for the GIANTS

# 69 Carlton

Hayden Sampson / South Adelaide / 177cm

Highly rated SA who had a strong champs and went to play league footy with South Adelaide where he acquitted himself well. He was a bit like Clarke / Smallwood for me insomuch not one was spending huge amount of time watching but one who just kept doing things that made you take notice. Presents as a competitive player with some genuine speed and evasiveness. Decision making and skills are very good and that will endear him to clubs. If I had a knock it would times I have seen have just had a bit of question on how clean he is with the ball at ground level but better judges than me out there to confirm that (or not). Very draftable.

Who else – Pickett, Grigg

# 70 Western Bulldogs Residual Bid

Will Hayes / Footscray / 181cm

23yo midfielder who has some terrific attributes and has been closing in on getting drafated for a while. He is a good runner, good speed and breaks the lines and I think along with the fact he is a lovely kick gets him drafted for mine.

Who else – A player like Golds I think would be a great fit for them. Maybe a key forward.

# 71 Geelong Matching Bid

Oscar Brownless / Geelong Falcons / 187cm

Kid has had a really good year. I wasn’t sold at the start of the year but just been consistently good at all levels this year. HF / Mid type who will fill out and have a strong body and shows the willingness to mix it up and use it. Reads the game well and is always involved. His vision is good and his ball use is clean so he has the 'makings' of a good footballer and if can keep developing the Cats might get a pretty good one here.

# 72 Melbourne Residual Selection

Hugo Munn / Sturt / 197cm

Solid unit who impressed at champs and has been given senior opportunities with Sturt. Every year I get less excited about advocating for tall forwards outside of the first round but am going to suggest this kid will go around here. What works in his favour is that he shows the smarts in his leading patterns. His speed is ok as his agility but they ma be question marks for him. Great mark and possesses terrific hands and is good finisher. Yep he is a bit 'meat and potatoes' but he could well be that Leigh Brown style of player that just plays his role. Would think somewhere around the 30-60 range for him.

Who else – Bowman, Gown, O’Reilly.

# 73 Carlton

Daly Andrews / Western Jets / 186cm

His best is very good but he has been a bit inconsistent when I have seen him. Athletic type who flashes in and out but at his best he is a line breaking midfielder with really good speed, lateral movement and a lovely boot on him. Reminds me a bit of kid Dale from Dogs. Great size and shape.

Who else – Grigg, Wilkie or Pickett is a player that could add to the Blues pretty quickly so I wouldn’t be surprised if he was around.

# 74 West Coast

Riley Grundy / Sturt / 195cm

Really athletic key defender who probably doesn’t get picked on his Champs form but does so because athletically he just offers so much to work with. Terrific closing speed and he was really solid through the champs. Can intercept and defend well but probably needs to use his athletic traits more.

Who else – Someone like Kyle Reid would be a similar type here.

# 75 West Coast Residual Selection

Durak Tucker / Peel Thunder / 189cm

Injury plagued medium defender who was highly touted at start of the year and why wouldn’t he be given his form at Champs as bottom ager was really good. Looks a bit uncanny but lot of draftable attributes but will a club spend a senior list spot on him or pick him up as a rookie. Best role is as a medium defender where he can read the ball coming in well and take a contested grab. He is a well balanced player and is poised and blessed with good decision making and skill. Very light and will take time.

Who else – Word is Matt Parker is on their radar. Wilkie a similar type.

# 76 Richmond

Jye Bolton / Claremont / 180cm

Time to give him a go. Has earnt it by belting the door down with consistent performances. I think some have had a knock on his speed but its not an issue when I watch him and he makes up for it with his footy IQ and game sense. Ball use is very good and I think will adjust well. Good depth player for Tigers.

Who else – Quite a few state league types they could bring in. Mitch Grigg would be one. Marlion Pickett as well.

# 77 Carlton

Connor Idun / Geelong / 190cm

Big agile defender who has real presence and can be really dour. Reads it well and stays calm.

Who else – Vandermeer.

# 78 St Kilda

Sam Fletcher / Dandenong Stingrays / 187cm

Inside ball winning beast who had injury issues but when he got back and fully fit had a terrific finish to the year. Great height and real competitor who had a standout game in the TAC final. Really influenced the game early and will be something clubs look for. Inside the contest he is elite but the knock is on his outside work and ball use by foot. I saw him a lot this year and I think that is over rated but he is a favourite of mine.

Who else – Charlie Sprague is someone that I think may go a bit higher than where I have him. Got some special talent.

# 79 Essendon

Mitch Podhajski / Calder Cannons / 191cm

19yo who missed last year but must have been awfully close. Feedback was clear though. Clubs wanted to see more time in the midfield and winning own footy. Nailed it this year and has become the player clubs were probably hoping to see. Got a great cut on him for a player and can play a few roles.

Who else – Jye Bolton is one who can work inside the contest and release ball to Shiel.

# 80 North Melbourne

Will Golds / Oakleigh Chargers / 181cm

Wingmen who just impressed me all year. Just knows how to find the footy and provide linkage between back and forward. Athletically seems to tick all the boxes and he is a smart decision maker and ball user. His endurance looks good and he will surge to space at every opportunity and seems to have good break away speed and agility. Invited to the combine so has a lot of interest but I suspect there will be some question marks over his contested ball winning.

Who else – A guy like Wilkie would be ideal for them.

# 81 Melbourne

Charlie Sprague / Geelong Falcons / 187cm

Announced himself in a Young Gun game last year and started this year really well before suffering a hand injury that kept him out of the Champs. Caught one f his first games back and he was brilliant. Really clean and smart with his decision making and execution. Knows where the goals are and hits the scoreboard. He does some really special things and clubs could see something to work with. Smart player and reckon if had a full year would be a lot higher.

Who else – Rylie Morgan is all class and have found real hard to leave him out.

# 82 Essendon

Matthew McGannon / Gippsland Power / 184cm

19yo who missed out last year but has come back and knocked the ball out of the park. One of the best ball users in this draft and if a club wants a real good quarterback off their defensive structures then McGannon is your man. Could play wing as well.

Who else – I do wonder whether Essendon look at a big body mid to work inside Shiel. Someone like Grigg.

ROOKIE DRAFT & Cat B Additions

Following players will be listed by respective clubs pre Rookie Draft;

Martin Frederick - Port
Caleb Graham - Suns
Dirk Koenen - Suns
Matthew Walker - GIANTS
Jason Carter - Fremantle
Tom Medhat - Fremantle
Ben Silvagni - Carlton
Matt McGuiness - North
Blake Sschlensog - Geelong
Atu Bosenavulagi - Collingwood

Think Pies might take him with last pick. Showed glimpses in first half of year but did exceptionally well in the 2nd half of the year and was competing with some decent forwards for participation. Would not surprise to see a club nominate him either. Coming from a little way back but wow he has some really good attributes. Nice leap, good speed, strong in the contest, good hands in the marking contest. Did some very special things this year and has a decent highlight reel for the club to roll out.

Who else – I am half thinking Pies pass here and only use the selection if Atu gets called.

1 Carlton - Mitch Grigg / Norwood / 182cm

Outstanding ability to read game but probably lacks a yard. Dominated SANFL and won last 2 Magareys. Would be a super addition to Carlton midfield.

2 Gold Coast - Zane Barzen / Murray / 193cm

This time last year I had him top 20. Injuries havent helped but been inconsistent. At best is a terrific medium forward with some very draftable attributes.

3 St Kilda - Laitham Vandermeer / Murray Bushrangers / 180cm

Another 19yo who probably didn’t get to see the best of this year because of injury. Has that electric speed which he uses from the midfield or back half to cut through opposition defence. I went long on Ben Paton last year and I think he may replicate his achievement in being drafted. Has serious speed, skill and decision making. Foot skills are very good to. He is clean.

4 Western Bulldogs - Tom Lewis /Sturt / 179cm

Inside midfielder who is really strong in the contest and has really clean hands at ground level. In fact he would be one of the best around strength and effectiveness at stoppages. Execution by hand a real highlight. Could go a lot higher but have question mark on his ball use by foot because I just the gap between best and worst a bit to much. I'll probably move him up as he is one of the ones am struggling to place.

5 Adelaide - Will Kennedy / Oakleigh / 198cm

Tall athletic key tall who could be coached to play a few different roles at senior levels. At his best, and he can be up and down a bit. At his best he displays agility , clean handling , good vision and nice foot skills for a big fella. Has a keenness to take the game on and attack with creative handball or kicking back through the channel.

6 Essendon - Rylie Morgan / Claremont / 182cm

Class. Was a real standout for mine when I watched him this year. Calm, poised, good decision maker and uses the ball well. He probably lacks the standout feature but no knocks on him. Ave 29 touches with Claremont reserves in last 6-7 games with average of circa 8 tackles per game. Does it both ways!!

7 Port Adelaide - Jed Hill / GWV / 179cm

Really like this kid and think he might be one that surprises. Quick, skillful, has a leap and really hunts the footy both ways.

8 North Melbourne - Joel Crocker / Sandringham / 191cm

Father / Son for north who have seen play a few times. Chance he gets a bid in main draft.

9 Geelong - James Blanck / Eastern Ranges / 195cm

Recruiters look for standout features in players. This bloke has elite closing speed and intercept ability. Coming from a way back but a club might hit him much earlier

10 Swans - Brayden Ham / Geelong / 181cm

19yo who I may have a bit low. Good balance to him as he has terrific running capacity and is quick but is adept at winning his own ball. His contested numbers are good and he has some skills around stoppages with his clean hands and ball use by hand. Smart player and good speed.

11 GIANTS - Callum Wilkie / North Adel / 191cm

22yo from North Adelaide who is a terrific defender but has played forward as well. Nice height, clean hands at ground, good intercept ability and has really good hands in the contest. Terrific user as well.

12 – Hawthorn - Jack Mayo / Swan Districts / 194cm or Jono Marsh

Really athletic key tall forward who has had some injury issues over the journey. A thing the great key forwards have is speed and ability to seperate and use it to good effect. Jack has it. Problem is he is 19yo and whilst he kicked 50 goals this year he didnt really get tested at a higher level and therefore be interesting to see if he gets a spot.

13 Melbourne - Xavier Oneill / Oakleigh / 183cm

I probably have lower than others but I just didn’t see games where he really influenced them. His best is very good and he does have real AFL attributes with his movement, kicking and agility but I am just not sure wins it enough.

14 Richmond - Justin McInerney / Northern / 187cm

Northern Knights kid who have been watching all year. I reckon he is a sleeper because there are a couple of standout attributes with him around his speed and running capacity. He is also a very good ball user. He will take time as only light but he should end up with a great frame once he has filled out. I think he might get a shot. I think he might get used off a HB

15 West Coast - Matt Parker / South Frem / 187cm

22 year old who looks to be one of the mature ages that gets looked at this year. Is a third tall forward type with some real speed and agility and just knows how to find the goals. Some of the stuff he does is pretty electrifying and would be a chance to walk into a side pretty early. Be interesting to see who picks him as think will be one of the players that if slots into a good team will fill a role for someone pretty early

16 Carlton - Hudson Garoni / Murray / 195cm

Undeniable talent up forward but he is goign to need to get fitter to go next level. If he does watch out.

17 Gold Coast - Hayden McLean / Sandy / 196cm

I was a bit surprised last year after the year he had and his All Star game. I think he goes this year because his VFL form was good. He is capable as a key forward and give the ruck a chop out. Good size, good mobility.

18 Western Bulldogs - Stefan Radovanovic / Western Jets / 191cm

Another who was unlucky to miss the main draft. Can play HB and mid and have really enjoyed watching him because he has a crack. I think there is a bit of speed, composure, skill and toughness about him.

19 Adelaide - Dillon O'reilly / East Frem / 194cm

I think he will get a slot. He hasn’t really dominated but when you watch him play its obvious something is there. Be great if had Dad's work rate.

20 Port Adelaide - Marty Hore / Collingwood / 189cm

Reads the game exceptionally well and has genuine abililty to intercept and take a strong mark. Pretty creative with his ball use. Maybe lacks a yard.

21 Geelong - Mitch Riordan / Dandenong / 186cm

One that has really slid as the year has gone on. Nice looking player but just doesn’t get enough of it. Certainly uses it well enough when he gets it but it may be because I think he largely relies on being a first receiver. Number of similar players have missed over the years.

22 Swans - Jake Gaspar / Oakleigh / 183cm

Small forward who was terrific contributor for Oakleigh. Reads the game well and gets into great spots.

23 GIANTS - Aaron Nietschke / Central Districts / 184cm

Prolific ball winner at u18 level in SA. Had an ok Champs but think will get a chance as has a decent game both inside and outside. My understanding is also a decent runner and clubs are looking for those traits more than ever this year. Havent seen a heap of him but skills are good from what I saw at Champs.

24 Hawthorn - Lachlan McDonnell / Dandenong / 186cm

I have a view this draft pool isn’t rich on foot skills. This kid is an exception. He is one of the more damaging kicks in the pool and was terrific with a couple of his efforts in a high pressure / intensity GF. Looks to have good speed and agility but unsure as to endurance as can go missing at times. He also probably needs to work on his ball winning ability

25 Melbourne - Nick Baker / Tas / 187cm

Running HB type who presents really well. Every time have watched him play he has shown something for mine. Nice size, reads the game well and intercepts and is a great kick off both feet and uses that to attack the game. Defensively was also very good. Used his body well in the contest and was able to out body bigger types pretty well. Lot to like with him.

26 Richmond - Regan Spooner / South Frem / 189cm

I was super impressed with him at Champs and in particular the game he had on Blakey. He was undersized and kept him in check all day. Has a good blend of defence and offence and his running power, agility and skills are terrific. Followed it up post champs with some great games at Reserves and League level.

27 West Coast - Louis Miller / East Perth / 187cm

Aggressive half back flanker who seems to have a good balance of when to attack but also when to hang back and defend. Good runner with good speed and he distributes it well. I like him.

28 Carlton - Mitch Macguire / Canberra / 175cm

NEAFL player who will be a forward pocket at senior level. Chance to walk into that role with Blues Rd 1.

29 Adelaide - Alastair Richards / Sandringham Dragons / 187cm

Bit of an outside player for mine and if he could win some of his own footy then he could be a really good player. Has genuine speed and brings players into the game

30 Port Adelaide - Michael Gibbons / Williamstown / 175cm

Tough inside midfielder who has earnt the chance to have a crack at senior level. Huge possession winner but do wonder if there are some question marks on couple of elements still. Deserves a shot.

31 Geelong - Brett Bewley / Williamstown / 187cm

Suspect been close for a while. Quick and has good endurance along with a raking kick that breaks lines. Big possession winner and will transition to AFL easily

32 GIANTS - Xavier Fry - Eastern Ranges / 183cm

HB who is genuinely quick and clean at ground level. Skill is elite and very creative. I rate his creativity and ability to bust a line.

33 Hawthorn - Ethan Hansen / Perth / 182cm

Inconsistent but at best clean at ground level and a good and quick decision maker. Stays calm in traffic and good either side and will attack through the middle when he can. Weights kicks well to advantage. Teases you!

34 Richmond - Tom Jok / Collingwood / 192cm

VFL player at Pies with some serious x factor. Circa 190+cm and he is lightning quick with great agility and leap. Can play tall and short and probably suited to a wing. Skill needs some work but loads to work with

35 Richmond - Luke Moore / South Frem / 180cm

Beaut decision make and user of the footy. Has some genuine x factor about him. Can lead and mark as well as crumb and become the opportunist. Kicked 7 goals in a game at Colts level.

Great work as always Snoop! Just a heads up it's Toby Bedford for the Dees with that third pick, instead of Ty as you have it.

Aside from that I dig the picks you've got for us!

Fantastic work as always Snoop! Happy to see finally that someone sees what I see in Ely. Have been banging on about him since the champs and trying to understand the reason why the majority of draft watchers have him pegged at 30+.

Just so much to work with and even though he's a big boy he still has a lot of scope for improvement in an AFL environment.

Great work Snoop!

What a great read. Thanks for putting all the time in to create it and being brave enough to actually publish it which not many seem to be on here at the moment!

Essendon and GWS were given the green light to sign Zac Clarke and Shane Mumford as rookies without them needing to nominate which will no doubt be reflected in your update next week.

Great work as always. I rate Lewis from SA big inside bull how bad is his kicking.Joyce from SA is another I like.I think Valente being undersold kid is great in everything he does as you said no standout.

Is Lentini a chance from Coburg vfl had a great season.

Do you think Brisbane Lions will draft Taylor with Duursma and McLennan still on the board just because He's best mates with Rayner the article in the Hun tells how happy Rayner is at the Lions

I agree, I'd be a little disappointed if we passed on Duursma for Taylor in reality (but eventually I'd come around and trust our recruiting team no matter what their decision). Duursma fills a greater need and Rayner is enjoying it here even without a mate.

Fantastic - always a good read and appreciate your effort.

I have a small disagreement with the O'Halloran write up, I actually think his delivery by foot inside 50 is very good and was certainly a feature of his champs. I think if there is a real knock it is a bit like RCD, just doesn't find enough of the ball yet to play to his strengths. Character strength is off the charts by all accounts (ditto Valente who I believe GC like in the 2nd round).

i really like the draft and the rookie draft here is better than the bigfooty phantom draft imo, great work

my only issue is Riley Bowman being associated with my great club, i dont like it.... :p

Bowman X
Mosquito - late yes
Jono Marsh - i doubt it
Lachlan McDonnell - yes
Ethan Hansen - i hope not

Great work as always Snoop! Just a heads up it's Toby Bedford for the Dees with that third pick, instead of Ty as you have it.

Aside from that I dig the picks you've got for us!

Yes somewhere along I must have deleted a few letters.

What do you think melbourne will be targetting. They have a few picks and a reasonable balance to the list already.

Fantastic work as always Snoop! Happy to see finally that someone sees what I see in Ely. Have been banging on about him since the champs and trying to understand the reason why the majority of draft watchers have him pegged at 30+.

Just so much to work with and even though he's a big boy he still has a lot of scope for improvement in an AFL environment.

yeah i think so to. Spoke with a recruiter about him yesterday and the feedback was very strong. Probably a player whose testing has influenced opinion.

Do you think Brisbane Lions will draft Taylor with Duursma and McLennan still on the board just because He's best mates with Rayner the article in the Hun tells how happy Rayner is at the Lions

No I dont but I think they probably do all other things being equal. I have waxed and waned on Taylor and probably pushed him up a little based on some chats with people better placed than me. I probably weighed his performances / production to high. Reality is he has huge amounts of talent and on that score is rated a lot higher. I get the feeling a number of clubs are into him.

Great work as always. I rate Lewis from SA big inside bull how bad is his kicking.Joyce from SA is another I like.I think Valente being undersold kid is great in everything he does as you said no standout.

Is Lentini a chance from Coburg vfl had a great season.

Yeah I wondered how long would take someone to raise where I have Tom.

Bluntly not sure whether I have him anywhere near right. Do clubs put his effectiveness down to the fact he is just bigger and stronger and therefore worry about the trajectory or do they look at his ability to hold himself and the ball in a tackle / traffic and use his vision and composure to release wonderfully.

I think the other thing is there are a lot of 'inside' players so how many do clubs ultimately take.

Lentini was only my top 120 or so until later in the year when others probably went past him / his performances waned a fraction. His performances in the first half of the year were unreal. I think he was running 2nd for most possessions in the comp. His time will come though.

I agree, I'd be a little disappointed if we passed on Duursma for Taylor in reality (but eventually I'd come around and trust our recruiting team no matter what their decision). Duursma fills a greater need and Rayner is enjoying it here even without a mate.

blueiris

I am hearing clubs see Duursma more as a HB and not sure Lions need more of that. I think / feedback I got was have a pretty well balanced list and if anything some more mid class and medium forwards to partner EH, CR etc.

blueiris

I am hearing clubs see Duursma more as a HB and not sure Lions need more of that. I think / feedback I got was have a pretty well balanced list and if anything some more mid class and medium forwards to partner EH, CR etc.

Probably makes him more attractive to us. We don't really have a lot of glaring needs list wise but Noble has flagged looking for a HB with some pace to drive the ball out of defence a few times when discussing draft targets. Duursma could perhaps become that whilst also potentially giving us some more depth in the outside/wing mid roles. I think he's a pretty nice fit for us.

yeah i think so to. Spoke with a recruiter about him yesterday and the feedback was very strong. Probably a player whose testing has influenced opinion.

His agility test particularly was a real surprise to many I think.

Have you heard anything on how Bytel's tested during the week?

As pulpdriver said above, we do need half-backs. I question if we need more medium forwards actually, we already have good competition for forward line spots with the main question mark being which tall partners Hipwood upfront.

Yes somewhere along I must have deleted a few letters.

What do you think melbourne will be targetting. They have a few picks and a reasonable balance to the list already.

I think your picks were pretty spot on. Our main areas of need are pacy WM/HFF/FPs and a project tall. But I agree with you regarding best available midfielder/defenders which will hopefully turn into the successors of our aging players like Jones/Lewis/Hibberd/Jetta/etc.

Absolutely love your first 2 picks for the Tigers they are the 2 im hoping for and have Richmond going for in the ND, Jarvis is a nice one too and your rookie picks are ALSO exactly who i have Richmond going for in the rookie draft too, except JOK, dont like that one, our similar thought patterns though, astound me.... BUT i would rather richmond grab wilkie and bewley with their last 2 ND picks instead of english and bolton. Great work mate. Well done.

blueiris

Probably makes him more attractive to us. We don't really have a lot of glaring needs list wise but Noble has flagged looking for a HB with some pace to drive the ball out of defence a few times when discussing draft targets. Duursma could perhaps become that whilst also potentially giving us some more depth in the outside/wing mid roles. I think he's a pretty nice fit for us.
Pretty much this.

We’re definitely looking for a small/medium who can run the ball out of defence.

Duursma really ticks all the boxes Noble and head of recruiting Stephen Conole, has talked about us looking for in the draft at our first pick.