Draft Watcher Snoop Dog 2018 Mock Draft

We shouldn’t need to take Clarke in the draft so bummed with that pick and also I really don’t rate McGannon so as an Essendon supporter id find that a disappointing draft.

Joyce I like but I think he isn’t the right type, we have enough smaller mids with Zerrett, Parish, Smith and McGrath if it’s an inside mid I’d rather a bigger one like Bytel.

Like the rookie pick the most and would take him ahead of McGannon for sure

# 55 North Melbourne

Darcy Fort / Central Districts / 205cm

Essendon need one and Darcy has earnt the right to have another crack. Been a very good SANFL performer. Good to watch and would be a great story to see him drafted.

Who else – Tom Campbell but to early.

Is this meant to read that North need one?

Fantastic - always a good read and appreciate your effort.

I have a small disagreement with the O'Halloran write up, I actually think his delivery by foot inside 50 is very good and was certainly a feature of his champs. I think if there is a real knock it is a bit like RCD, just doesn't find enough of the ball yet to play to his strengths. Character strength is off the charts by all accounts (ditto Valente who I believe GC like in the 2nd round).

yeah i saw your note and went back and watched some vision and i was probably harsh there. I think there is probably a couple of players i was a bit harsh on as just had a general view this year the skill level by foot was pretty average.

i really like the draft and the rookie draft here is better than the bigfooty phantom draft imo, great work

my only issue is Riley Bowman being associated with my great club, i dont like it.... :p

Bowman X
Mosquito - late yes
Jono Marsh - i doubt it
Lachlan McDonnell - yes
Ethan Hansen - i hope not

yeah riley polarises people. His best and worst have a huge gap but i think he has a few people interested and his aggression is something thats coming through an being noticed. Hansen i think would be a great last pick. He has some genuine x factor. Watch his first half in the champs vs Metro (?) or Country if haven't already. Was as good a half played by any one. Agree its very speccy. Re Marsh be ideal for Hawks for mine. Can play and was really coming into his own when he left. Plays more than FB now as well.

Snoop ...there always appears to be this Sth Aust bias by Draft Watchers every year ....on a "best available" basis do you really think Hately will be preferred to Jye Caldwell at the Crows pick 8 ?? ......it seems a stretch to me

Probably makes him more attractive to us. We don't really have a lot of glaring needs list wise but Noble has flagged looking for a HB with some pace to drive the ball out of defence a few times when discussing draft targets. Duursma could perhaps become that whilst also potentially giving us some more depth in the outside/wing mid roles. I think he's a pretty nice fit for us.

Ok missed that. He certainly fills that role. Has interviewed really well.

Snoop ...there always appears to be this Sth Aust bias by Draft Watchers every year ....on a "best available" basis do you really think Hately will be preferred to Jye Caldwell at the Crows pick 8 ?? ......it seems a stretch to me

Yeah I think he is for sure. I know recruiters love him. Caldwell is probably rated more highly but clubs are questioning Caldwell and Hately is seen as slightly safer. Hately has also interviewd off the charts. Talent wise no real weakness but just good at everything. Other feedback on Hately is kicking is rated very well. I may change as it’s close but at moment still on JH.

I think the other thing to be aware of is that a lot hinges on what Port and Suns do at 5 & 6. Ben king could be at Crows first as well.

Yeah I think he is for sure. I know recruiters love him. Caldwell is probably rated more highly but clubs are questioning Caldwell and Hately is seen as slightly safer. Hately has also interviewd off the charts. Talent wise no real weakness but just good at everything. Other feedback on Hately is kicking is rated very well. I may change as it’s close but at moment still on JH.

I think the other thing to be aware of is that a lot hinges on what Port and Suns do at 5 & 6. Ben king could be at Crows first as well.
Thanks ! .....it's often thought that "safe" players are better .....a few years ago everyone had us pegged to take Ebert, and we chose the more risky Dangerfield .....likewise we took a risk with Doedee

So it's often the case, the Crows don't take "safe" players

I do agree, there's a distinct possibility Ben King maybe there at #8 .......you have to grab him, don't you?

Any chance Hately falls to the Cats do you think? Or is that now looking increasingly unlikely?

We shouldn’t need to take Clarke in the draft so bummed with that pick and also I really don’t rate McGannon so as an Essendon supporter id find that a disappointing draft.

Joyce I like but I think he isn’t the right type, we have enough smaller mids with Zerrett, Parish, Smith and McGrath if it’s an inside mid I’d rather a bigger one like Bytel.

Like the rookie pick the most and would take him ahead of McGannon for sure

Only put him in there as likely to get him as DfA so May end up swapping that. If he had been in Draft would have gone there as others would come for him around then. Ross depending on what taken first would be someone would slot in there.

Joyce different to Parish and Merrett. Much more inside. Maybe little more like Smith. McGrath interesting one. Will he actually go into mids? You’ll know better than me but from what I’ve seen when they pushed him up hasn’t had huge impact. Still early but wondering if he gets there. Anyway Bytel / Ross might be other similar types who have bigger bodies.

McGannon I do rate but can understand if don’t. Just think he is an elite user and with Goddard gone he’s someone that fills that role from back.

Morgan late a ripper player. Rate him high.

Only put him in there as likely to get him as DfA so May end up swapping that. If he had been in Draft would have gone there as others would come for him around then. Ross depending on what taken first would be someone would slot in there.

Joyce different to Parish and Merrett. Much more inside. Maybe little more like Smith. McGrath interesting one. Will he actually go into mids? You’ll know better than me but from what I’ve seen when they pushed him up hasn’t had huge impact. Still early but wondering if he gets there. Anyway Bytel / Ross might be other similar types who have bigger bodies.

McGannon I do rate but can understand if don’t. Just think he is an elite user and with Goddard gone he’s someone that fills that role from back.

Morgan late a ripper player. Rate him high.
Parish and Merrett are just as inside, both have high contested posession counts considering their size, the plan is for McGrath to go into the guts, obviously doesn’t have the muscle for it yet which is why he has been on the wing.

McGannon I think is a bit too much outside for my liking, Saad and McKenna are good kicks as are Redman and Ridley who are knocking down the the door for a role down back.

Morgan is a great pick there

For sure. It could go

Port - Rozee
Dogs - smith
Crows - caldwell or King
Giants - king or Caldwell
Port - Clark
Giants - butters or Jones
Cats - Hately

On second looks you are missing a GC pick after Port. That extra pick may be what stops him falling unless both Butters AND Jones go early OR someone like RCD or Stocker is preferred to Hately.

Thank you Snoop. Look forward to this thread every year and you've delivered again. :thumbsu:

Think you've done well for Carlton, you have a clear understanding of what we may look for, but a few things for you to consider...

1) Don't think we'll take 4 kids in the draft. More likely we'll go 3 + a DFA with Goddard the most likely given we need a FB and he has been training with us.

2) Idun. Only a rookie pick but don't think we need someone like him at this stage given the defensive options we've got coming through. I think we're far more likely to go with someone we've seen plenty of at VFL level, with Mason Blakey, Sam Fisher and Jesse Palmer the three most likely candidates.

3) We're having a good look at Bugg, with he and Lamb both training at the club, so would think we're more likely to go with one of those than Macguire, even though I'd be more than happy to go down the path you have suggested.

Thanks ! .....it's often thought that "safe" players are better .....a few years ago everyone had us pegged to take Ebert, and we chose the more risky Dangerfield .....likewise we took a risk with Doedee

So it's often the case, the Crows don't take "safe" players

I do agree, there's a distinct possibility Ben King maybe there at #8 .......you have to grab him, don't you?

yeah you do albeit there is a fear the two will want to play together at St Kilda at some stage!

On second looks you are missing a GC pick after Port. That extra pick may be what stops him falling unless both Butters AND Jones go early OR someone like RCD or Stocker is preferred to Hately.

Sorry I did on the run. this was the scenario presented to me. To be fair the same one has some tweaking also has Ben King there. Insterstate clubs are worried about his go home factor;

Port - Rozee
Suns - Caldwell
WB - Smith
Crows - King
GIANTS - Clark / Jones
Port - Clark / Jones
GIANTS - Butters
Cats - Hately

Thank you Snoop. Look forward to this thread every year and you've delivered again. :thumbsu:

Think you've done well for Carlton, you have a clear understanding of what we may look for, but a few things for you to consider...

1) Don't think we'll take 4 kids in the draft. More likely we'll go 3 + a DFA with Goddard the most likely given we need a FB and he has been training with us.

2) Idun. Only a rookie pick but don't think we need someone like him at this stage given the defensive options we've got coming through. I think we're far more likely to go with someone we've seen plenty of at VFL level, with Mason Blakey, Sam Fisher and Jesse Palmer the three most likely candidates.

3) We're having a good look at Bugg, with he and Lamb both training at the club, so would think we're more likely to go with one of those than Macguire, even though I'd be more than happy to go down the path you have suggested.

1 - yep agree with that. Went with 40 bc I think thats where they started last year based on my records. Think JGM / KL / AS and MS started as the 4 rookies. Yep wouldnt Goddard be a decent get. Effectively a pick 90+ or something.

2 - Idun was slotted in bc was thinking you have identified a FB and albeit more likely Hugh wanted to slot a kid in.

3 - I know Tom and he can play but I wouldnt. I reckon he is more suited to a top 8 team requiring some depth. Gives them some more strength around the footy but I think you want to be playing kids. I am a believer in the list build.

Well done snoop - like the bf phantom it is showing that there is real depth in the draft and clubs will find future best 22 in the 4th and later rounds.

I like the way you stuck with Rankine at 3 - he is quite special and the SA trio should develop as a unit. If they land those 3, Suns might be tempted to pull the trigger on Valente. A rebuild of Lukosius, Rankine. Rozee and Valente is a damn fine cornerstone.

So for West Coast, their first 2 picks will deliver great options and top quality. Picks 20 and 22 feel like picks 13 and 15 of 2016 in so far as quality.

Good picks overall - May have gone Kennerly over McHendry just to get another quality outside runner but happy with Ned. Especially since we have Cameron as a NGA.

Your pickings:-
Luke Valente - inside midfield
Ned McHendry - small forward/midfield
Jarrod Cameron - small forward
Riley Grundy - KPD
Duran Tucker - medium defender
Matt Parker - mature medium forward
Louis Miller - medium defender

Well done snoop - like the bf phantom it is showing that there is real depth in the draft and clubs will find future best 22 in the 4th and later rounds.

I like the way you stuck with Rankine at 3 - he is quite special and the SA trio should develop as a unit. If they land those 3, Suns might be tempted to pull the trigger on Valente. A rebuild of Lukosius, Rankine. Rozee and Valente is a damn fine cornerstone.

So for West Coast, their first 2 picks will deliver great options and top quality. Picks 20 and 22 feel like picks 13 and 15 of 2016 in so far as quality.

Good picks overall - May have gone Kennerly over McHendry just to get another quality outside runner but happy with Ned. Especially since we have Cameron as a NGA.

Your pickings:-
Luke Valente - inside midfield
Ned McHendry - small forward/midfield
Jarrod Cameron - small forward
Riley Grundy - KPD
Duran Tucker - medium defender
Matt Parker - mature medium forward
Louis Miller - medium defender

Was trying to get another tall forward in for WCE but couldnt land one around the right selection.

Where do you think Brander will land. Havent seen enough of him over there but I tend to think he may settle as a KPD?