Draft Watcher Snoop Dog 2019 Mock National and Rookie Draft

Snoop Dog Geelong have a third rookie pick (with Abbott gone to St Kilda) that you missed and i think this has to be a ruck now that we only have 2 specialist rucks on the list but otherwise this is an outstanding phantom for all clubs love your write ups mate.

Great work as usual Snoop.

Out of interest, you don't think Trent Burgoyne is a chance to get taken. I really liked his highlights package and thought he'd be a shoo-in to go FS. Injuries this year count against him?

Its a good package but its a big call for Clubs to draft him given how little footy he has played. Having said that towards the end of the draft i reckon a few clubs could swing the bat on someone like he or Cox etc. Still would think more likely gets thru to Port as a rookie or Cat B

Snoop Dog Geelong have a third rookie pick (with Abbott gone to St Kilda) that you missed and i think this has to be a ruck now that we only have 2 specialist rucks on the list but otherwise this is an outstanding phantom for all clubs love your write ups mate.

Right you are. Will fix today of get a chance. Exciting night for your blokes. mail is desperate to trade up into the draft and that they are hot for Jones. Also been told albeit 2nd hand they have a keenness for Georgiades.

Thanks mate...i find Georgiades a hard one to rank. Have you heard of many clubs being keen on him? Is the Robertson getting through to Geelong idea realistic or more a pipedream?

Absolutely - if he gets passed Freo then I am more confident he lands at your pick than anywhere else......and he is v good. I watched Joel as a junior and this kid is every bit as good.

I think your major risk would be Hawthorn (but I suspect they will trade with Swans tonight) and Port but I would think they will shop for something else.

other thing that happens here is you trade your pick up.

Yeah I think Stephens would be a dream for them. Over weekend was told Swans love Stephens. I think they should go Flanders personally.

Mahony someone I really rate - would love him at Collingwood. Had a very good year last year and was a real influencer during champs. Was good again this year and again had an influence. Busy player, creative and makes things happen.

Stapleton is more a meat and potatoes type but he really excels as an inside ball winner. Really unheralded but if you watch closely very effective in the contest. Not a big kid so for mine loads of upside if he can get bigger. Also v quick.

Yes you are right re Johnson. He is a talent and I probably have a touch low.
Snoop - great work.

Re Mahony - he is smaller but similar to both Callum Brown and Daicos, so what do you see Mahony offers that the later do not?

Snoop - great work.

Re Mahony - he is smaller but similar to both Callum Brown and Daicos, so what do you see Mahony offers that the later do not?

I'd have him a little different to Brown. More a natural foward crumber. Got a bit zip and goal sense about him. Brown was always an inside mid first and foremost at junior level. Daicos I think is probably more accurate but i think Mahony probably is a bit more of a ball winner whereas I still see Josh as a bit more outside and probably lacks the defensive work Mohony would give.

Suns now taking two late picks according to their recruiting manager . Any thoughts ??

Yeah will be interesting - I hadnt really thought about but i suspect they may either look at some mature age players that will solve some problems areas and or players that fall and they consider worthy. Left field thought might be kids like Kaden Schreiber from Oakleigh. Ie tighten the relationships amongst player group so they settle better / stay longer etc.

What about any of their academy / NT kids

Hey Snoop, could I just briefly ask what the main factors were in Emerson Jeka's slip from a potential top 5-10 draft prospect to being a rookie draft selection were? I know he had a knee injury, but were there other reasons why he slid so heavily?

I think there were some views around his intensity / commitment. At one point I was thinking it might be touch and go for him but rapt he got picked. He has a lot of talent.

Overall my view on the draft was that it was one of the more interesting have observed.

The selections from year to year at the top end tend to stay pretty solid but this year kids like Young, Serong, Flanders all slid further than what would have thought. I got their selections right but it was interesting to see the momentum shift late. I think a large driver of that was the Ash selection and the McAsey selection. Both those picks were pretty influential.

As the draft went on it became clear the talent was very even. Beauty was in the eye of the beholder and you had some kids that really jumped like Georgiades, and O'Neill and kids that fell like Rantall / Bianco.

Hence not overly surprising at who missed but I must admit kids like Cassar / Chirgwin / Mott / Finlay / Hilder and Sharman were probably ones I was pretty confident would get a spot somewhere. I usually get about 80% or more of the top 50 and this year without having done numbers doubt that happened.