So which draftee plays first & when?

• Thread starter Thread starter Roachy8

Just from the write ups and the vids, the obvious one is Conca in terms of perhaps being the lowest pick and 'match ready' but will he bust into the midfield early in 2011? Maybe not immediately.

Batchelor & Helbig look like they may need a few weeks at least but I reckon "D Mac" may get an early run... looks a likely type to slot onto a HFF pretty early.

The big unit Derickx could easily get an early run too I reckon.
Looking at his video he didn't look too different to Gus already and probably has climbed past Browne in the pecking order as of last night.

I'll pick Macdonald and go round 1!

The thing that draftees always say is that they're shocked at how fast the game is at AFL level. The kids should be played as the sub for the first few rounds, or be subbed off just after half time.

You raise a fair point about the new 'rules' with the 4th bench player being a sub only...
I'd reckon though you would play a kid in the 21 and then sub him off rather than sit him on the bench & bring him on later in a game when the heat is on and the pressure is up.

I guess if you were getting spanked or winning easily it might be a fair way to introduce them into the big league though...

Conca should be the close, being already used to senior footy - not to mention they'll probably pump games into him even if he hasn't earned them, a la Griffiths, because they like him.

Derickx should play at least 50% of the year or he'll be a wasted pick.

Helbig and MacDonald probably have the body size but I don't think they're ready quite yet.

Batchelor may make an appearance but if Lids plays HBF again this year he will find it extremely difficult to break into our backline.

All will play at least one game, barring them getting an injury.

Conca will get around 15 games
The rest probably around 10, except for Dekka, who'll be around 5.
This basically follows the "get the games into the kids" philosphy.

From last year
Martin played 21 (mature body)
Webberly 10 games
Nason 19 (exceptional given his pick)
Astbury 17 (also quite exceptional)
Dea 4 (injury)
Taylor 4 (court interumption)
Griffiths 5 (injury)

I would expect Nason to play a few less games next year, but Webberly around the same.

Conca looks like he'll be ready to play 12-17 games and will be given every opportunity to play 22.

Batchelor - I think this kid is going to be special. He just moves so well and is an awsome ball carrier. Wouldn't be surprised if he jags 5-10

I reckon the other guys will be lucky to notch up 3-5 as we still have alot of guys from last year to blood as well.

Big Decka will pop his head up heaps depending on injury. I'd guess he might get around 8 games.

Conca to debut R1 and should play all games if un-injured. Unlike Martin who was playing inside, Conca should have the luxury of
playing off the HB or HF and as a link player. Feed as many games into this kid as possible, look at the improvement and confidence it gave to Astbury and Martin when playing most of the season.

Derickx if should be in the ruck R1 too IMO, with another pre season he should be fit and firing to go for next season.

MacDonald might also make an appearance in R1 as King is suspended, so he could take his spot as the smallish forward.

Batchelor and Helbig will be competing with our midfield and HB line to break into the team, though I don't doubt they will get games fed into them early or later in the season.

Hopefully McDonald can come on because he will be replacing Matt White on the forward line and give us some much needed size for our medium forwards and also skill that White does not posess.

The big unit should play because our ruck stocks are crap. he looks so much more mobile than Gus I wouldn't be suprised if he smashes him at training all summer and then runs through kruezer round 1 lol.

Plus he is 201cm and 100kg aka good size.

Conca will play 22 games like Martin...may rest for 1 or 2

I'd like to see Conca on the wing Round 1 and Morton at half forward to replace King who's suspended. We should have enough midfield quality and small-mid size forwards to match them imo. Here's my team :cool:

FB connors mcguane newman
HB deledio astbury gourdis
C edwards cotchin conca
HF houli post morton
FF taylor reiwoldt griffiths
FOLL graham martin foley
INT browne grigg farmer rance

I'd like to see Deledio take Gartlett. He's probably the only player who can keep him quiet imo. We need 3 tall 192cm+ defenders to take Carltons 3 talls henderson, waite and resting ruckman. We need 3 tall forwards to stretch carltons defence. Martin, Cotchin, Foley starting in the middle with occasional stints by deledio, morton, grigg, conca, houli and even rance in the centre square. We can take carlton if we are switched on and hungry in the middle. I have no room for tuck, jackson or moore

I'd like to see Conca on the wing Round 1 and Morton at half forward to replace King who's suspended. We should have enough midfield quality and small-mid size forwards to match them imo. Here's my team :cool:

C edwards cotchin conca
HF houli post morton
FOLL graham martin foley

I'd like to see Deledio take Gartlett. He's probably the only player who can keep him quiet imo. We need 3 tall 192cm+ defenders to take Carltons 3 talls henderson, waite and resting ruckman. We need 3 tall forwards to stretch carltons defence. Martin, Cotchin, Foley starting in the middle with occasional stints by deledio, morton, grigg, conca, houli and even rance in the centre square. We can take carlton if we are switched on and hungry in the middle. I have no room for tuck, jackson or moore

A reasonable side except for McGaunne , there is also a few like Tuck and Jackson before Rance .!!

Conca to debut R1 and should play all games if un-injured. Unlike Martin who was playing inside, Conca should have the luxury of
playing off the HB or HF and as a link player. Feed as many games into this kid as possible, look at the improvement and confidence it gave to Astbury and Martin when playing most of the season.

Derickx if should be in the ruck R1 too IMO, with another pre season he should be fit and firing to go for next season.

MacDonald might also make an appearance in R1 as King is suspended, so he could take his spot as the smallish forward.

Batchelor and Helbig will be competing with our midfield and HB line to break into the team, though I don't doubt they will get games fed into them early or later in the season.

I was going to post the same thing... so I thought I'd just quote you instead:thumbsu: Though I think Conca will play in the middle and not on a flank. No more will we see Nahas rotating through the midfield.

A reasonable side except for McGaunne , there is also a few like Tuck and Jackson before Rance .!!

Nah I rate Mcguane. I also rate Rance and think he'll continue to improve overhead. I think we need composure in the middle, but Tuck and Jacko lack this. I prefer to see them play only when we have injuries to midfielders :cool:

C edwards cotchin conca
HF houli post morton
FOLL graham martin foley

FB: Newman Gourdis Moore
HB: Connors Astbury Grigg
C: Deledio Cotchin Conca
HF: Macdonald Griff Taylor
FF: Vickery Riewoldt King
Foll: Derickx, Martin, Foley

Int: Post, Edwards, Tuck..Sub: One of webb, nason, farmer, mcguane, jackson

i cant see a reason other then injury why all our draftees wont play atleast a few games next season.

conca should be there for the majority of the season, minus 3 or 4 rests.

X could play the whole season if he shows a bit in preseason and grabs his opportunity.

id be looking to give helbig and bigmac atleast half a dozen games each if their fitness is up to scratch.

batchelor could very well play 15 games, wouldnt suprise me if he slips straight in.

Madtiger WHAT no room for Moore hey??? He is our best one on one defense who can play both on smalls and talls. Finished in the top 10 of our B&F least the last 2 years!

Back on topic. Conca looks the goods and hope he plays at least 15 games!

I reckon Brad Helbig will play the most games.
Last night posted his utube video of his SENIOR debut game from the west adelaide website, I dont think too many people have seen it.
I advise you all to have a look at hit, out of all the picks he seems to be the best value for the selection we had.

seems to me we have at least continued the trend of recruiting bigger bodies and in the main decent footskills. all recruits are physically ready to go this will put pressure on for spots.

That was exactly what i was thinking claw !

After years of watching skinny stick like players & waiting for them to put weight on .......................... Frustrating then to see them delisted after 5 years.

Also i believe our training regime might of changed as well with recent clips of post,hicks,astbury, vickery all showing significant muscle gain.

Claw you being from wa,what do you think of derickx

That was exactly what i was thinking claw !

After years of watching skinny stick like players & waiting for them to put weight on .......................... Frustrating then to see them delisted after 5 years.

Also i believe our training regime might of changed as well with recent clips of post,hicks,astbury, vickery all showing significant muscle gain.

Claw you being from wa,what do you think of derickx

i posted on here a couple of times about him this yr. i really wanted us to take him in the rookie draft.

he has some knocks. hes not great below his knees but he has size moves really well and most importantly for a ruckman has some mongrel.
takes a good grab but imo to properly compete at afl he needs another 5kg.
i think he can play was impressive at claremont and he has upside. as far as senior footy goes hes a baby.

for where we took him even though i think we could have rookied him hes well worth the punt. as the old saying goes nothing ventured nothing gained. and at pick 63 potential upside v risk well worth it even if he fails.

Pick 63 (our 5th pick) is pretty much psd or rookie really.

Suprising you say he isnt very good below his knees,looks almost mid like in some of his tackles & chaseing.

He certainly looks like he has a little bit of mongrel in him/hope that is actually the case with king/martin/derickx could be the Pr!ck in the tiger coming back.

Talking about Derickx, he reminds me a bit of Jamar...

Big perhaps slightly ungainly unit but good enough to provide a really good presence at ruck contests and also around the ground... looks like he would crash some packs, take some marks and get his knees dirty at ground level. (And hurt some blokes)

Probably not ever going to be a 'finese' tap ruckman or an elite big man but very few are nowadays.

All you really need is someone who will not be manhandled aside so as to at least create 50/50 type contests & this dude (from the 5 seconds of footage we have all seen of him) seems a likely type.

Will play games in 2011 for sure...