so...

We'd be playing finals with Cousins in the side but I guess that doesn't matter seeing we are rebuilding with a 26 yr old. :rolleyes:

Absolutely spot on. I actually have no issue with not picking Cousins up, but there were better options than Hayden Skipworth!

Such as, bombersno1?

This thread is a ****ing nightmare. Skippy has provided exactly what we wanted from him: a player in the 20-25 range on our list who will always give 100%, and add a cool head and generally clean skills to the side, especially when there are so few experienced players on the list. He's done that, and has played very well in a few games. One perceived poor game (I thought there were many worse than him yesterday) and he's been a complete failure. Grow up.

Such as, bombersno1?

This thread is a ****ing nightmare. Skippy has provided exactly what we wanted from him: a player in the 20-25 range on our list who will always give 100%, and add a cool head and generally clean skills to the side, especially when there are so few experienced players on the list. He's done that, and has played very well in a few games. One perceived poor game (I thought there were many worse than him yesterday) and he's been a complete failure. Grow up.
One poor game? Exactly what have you been watching this year? He's been average, a couple of good games, a few poor ones. He's really added little to nothing to the side.

Fail to see why we didn't get Cousins. Would've cost us nothing and worst case scenario is he goes off the rail again and we're caught in the middle as the poor football club Big Bad Benny's done wrong by.

They should not be mentioned in the same sentence.
U were better off sticking with Pevrill.
Skipworth at best is a senior VFL player.
Stop kidding yourselves, Knights has spun a line about Skipworth mentoring the young kids thats crap, that should not warrant him a game in front of younger players. He can still do help the kids in the two's.
The selection of him had the senior players off side from the begining.

WE havent had many positives during the year but Ben cousins selection has only been positive for our young midfield.
Knights needs to drop skipworth and play Myers Jetta and Houli in front of him.

I totally agree. I said as much before we drafted Skipworth. Why would you delist Peverill and then draft a plodder who was never as good as Pev in the first place?

I was also against the drafting of Cousins so i can't be included in this group that chose Skippy over Cousins or vise versa. My sole reasoning for not drafting Cousins was that i thought we were further away from playing finals than what we actually are. In hindsite i reckon tacking Cousins would have probably ensured we would be playing finals this season.

Rob is far from an elite small forward. I say this without any bias, he is a mate of mine.

He'd sure as hell add more than Skipworth! What a dumb decision to draft someone who is as useless as **** on a bull as a "mentor"..can't the other senior players be mentors!

Nahas for one, we are screaming out for an elite small forward

I dont know how you could think Nahas would be any better than Davey?

I just want to add the decision to draft Skipworth IMO hasnt been a bad one but if you comapre it to Cousins then it doesnt look as good. Not too many expected Cousins return to be as sucessful as it has. Majority of people didnt expect Skippy to play a game.

Such as, bombersno1?

This thread is a ****ing nightmare. (Because it goes against your opinion)

Skippy has provided exactly what we wanted from him (Ha ha ha): a player in the 20-25 range on our list (He's 26)

who will always give 100% (Despite being to slow to get anywhere), and add a cool head (Even though it's usually getting mushed into the ground because he gets tackled more than anyone in the history of football because he's that slow)

and generally clean skills to the side, especially when there are so few experienced players on the list. He's done that (rarely) and has played very well in a few games. One perceived poor game (You don't understand the game he's been poor all year)

Grow up Goon.

I dont know how you could think Nahas would be any better than Davey?

I just want to add the decision to draft Skipworth IMO hasnt been a bad one but if you comapre it to Cousins then it doesnt look as good. Not too many expected Cousins return to be as sucessful as it has. Majority of people didnt expect Skippy to play a game.

If we drafted another crumbing forward Davey could spend more time in the middle, which I may add would only benefit our team. They are different players.

Pretty sure we have enough small forwards atm ,

Davey, Monfries, Lonergan , Reimers , Jetta and you even can get spike welsh floating forward at time ,

We need a quality midfielder other than Watson...

probs should trade stanton

This thread is a ****ing nightmare. (Because it goes against your opinion)

I'm more than happy to have a debate about anything to do with this club. This thread is a nightmare because people are standing on the sidelines sniping while adding nothing to the thread. Although come to think of it, you've made a career out of that.

Skippy has provided exactly what we wanted from him (Ha ha ha)

Rather than just being a ********, why don't you use your head for once and say why you disagree.

: a player in the 20-25 range on our list (He's 26)

I meant he's somewhere between the 20th best and 25th best player on our list.

more drivel

Yawn.:rolleyes:

How often has that happened in the nearly 20 years since?
It still happens. Simon Black, Steve Johnson and Daniel Kerr all spring to mind.

In the context of the posting I was referring to overlooking a premiership player and brownlow medalist in favour of a hack.
Yes but as was stated at the time, clubs weren't willing to gamble on Cousins due to his off-field behaviour and potential to negatively influence a club's culture.
As it stands - and he still has time to slip-up - the Richmond decision was the right one, but as lemon_chicken pointed out, we weren't the only club to pass on Cousins.

Port got Josh 'I can't play footy anymore so I rely on niggling players' Carr, Carlton got Chris 'I can't cement a spot in the Carlton team' Johnson, and Brisbane drafted a 22-year old who has yet to play. Melbourne got Jurrah, who looks to be a beauty, and we got Skipworth who is (without doubt) a solid depth-player with an apparent high level of professionalism and ability to mentor young players. Move on.