witsend

Sep 22, 2008
Lakers
It seems like there MIGHT be a return to Season 2020 in July and one would presume that it would be similar to Rd 1...ie without crowds.
Considering how apparently successful social distancing has been in Australia so far, is it feasible to allow spectators to be in the stadiums at a safe distance. Perhaps one every 4th seat per row, with staggered seating in each subsequent row. This would create at least some atmosphere and allow some people to attend. Seating would need to be strictly allocated. Just putting it out there...

It seems like there MIGHT be a return to Season 2020 in July and one would presume that it would be similar to Rd 1...ie without crowds.
Considering how apparently successful social distancing has been in Australia so far, is it feasible to allow spectators to be in the stadiums at a safe distance. Perhaps one every 4th seat per row, with staggered seating in each subsequent row. This would create at least some atmosphere and allow some people to attend. Seating would need to be strictly allocated. Just putting it out there...

The issue though isn’t just the seating, it’s the lining up to get into the ground, the lining up for food and the toilets etc. I think it would be far too hard for people to stick to the rules of social distancing within a stadium.

Yeah I reckon this is a good idea. You would need to pre-book tickets with strictly allocated seats

And the toilets, and the car parks and the trains ..... footy shouldn't go ahead so long as social distancing is required (it will), nor should most sports. Crowds of any size are surely out of the question.

We are talking about a point where the level of social distancing comes down. If Australian states are pulling repeated "0s" in terms of new cases over a long period of time than the risks of a "socially distanced" crowd come down substantially, let-alone the highly professionalised environment of competitive football. we are talking about a point where restaurants and casinos will be opened.

If you can put down markers at supermarkets and the like to keep people 1.5m apart then I don't see why it can't work lining up outside the G or outside the toilets. Surely could work it you max it out at 15 000 attendance in a 100 000 seat stadium? All pre sale tickets only and spread around the entire seating area.

I have always thought this was a possibility. At a later date with lowering of restrictions In a stadium, even 5000 - 8000 people make it sparsely populated.. marking on queues keeping people apart.. ask people to arrive early... 3 in 3 out at the toilets there are heaps for just a small crowd..and only those with big voices (for atmosphere) allowed and under say 55 re age group

Could we see a Grand final without a crowd?
If the Lions make the Grand Final behind closed doors I will personally hire a parachute and get myself in that way. Reckon a lot of fans would do it if their team makes the big one and it's behind closed doors.