Socks up or down?

• UP

Votes: 11 44.0%
  • DOWN

Votes: 14 56.0%

Most of the time down ...
Im the past I have nearly always had them down...

I will run out onto the ground with them up ...
But when I get out there I would put them down...

These days I tend to keep them up a lot, but I would still rather them down..

When I shoot at goal, I NEVER touch my boots or socks....
Everytime I take a mark in front of goal, someone yells out, 'take your time, pull your socks up'...

The fact is that EVERY time in my 'career' that I have pulled my socks up or touched my boots in any way, I have missed the bloody goal....

Now I just go back, stop for a few seconds .. and go back and kick the bloody thing ... (im fairly accurate aswell)

If clubs solved the clashing shirts problem, socks wouldn't be so important. When shirts are indistinguishable from a distance, differences in shorts and shirts are more important.

Thats why the AFL wants socks pulled up - they would be right to insist on shirts tucked in also.

Melbourne v Essendon and Collingwood v North are the worst offenders yet these two clubs

I am in the midfield or run off half-back. I'm a pretty hard player, and I get down and dirty so to speak.

So for me, socks down, shirt untucked, and I look a million dollars. :D

The Hitman

I run out with my socks up, but before quarter time, they are down. I leave them down. Sometimes I have one sock up and one sock down because one falls down and the other stays up. But I really prefer my socks down.

So for me, socks down, shirt untucked, and I look a million dollars.

Me 2 but you could say i look 2 million dollars ;) and if i do have them up(which is hardly ever) they tend to fall down cause i run a fair bit playing Ruck-Rover changing with Half-Back Flank which i prefer...... :o

I am pretty supersticious.

Socks ALWAYS down, no matter what. They get itchy up anyway I reckon.

Shirt always in, when I started I used to like it out, but I found others who had in tucked in proved harder to tackle, ie cant just go for a last second dive and hook onto a piece of flapping jumper. So then I used to tuck mine in.

Never wore a jacket before or during a game. No matter how cold I run out as I play.

Also never put tape over my laces which a lot of people do for some reason. They reckon it stops the ball from hitting the knot or something and effects kicks. i reckon it's a crock!

hated that ball-grip stuff too.

Okay i have never played footy as i am a women, and i don't really go to the footy to watch the fellas play but just to look at which i am happy to say to you all.

On appearance i like socks down and jumpers out, why i have chosen this is because i think that the player looks as if he has been doing the best he can while he has been out on the feild. Also that if I was to ever play footy I would have looked that way, more comfortable. I feel that players that wear there socks up look a tad nerdy (no offence to Luca Weller, or any other players in Lions Seniors or Ressies)

only played footy for 2 years, but have been playing Rugby League for 8 years now.

Socks always up for me, but i guess its not the same as footy where there is way more kicking involved.

When i did play Aussie Rules, i did prefer my socks down when kicking, but always came out with them up.

Nothing like good electrical tape to keep your socks up in rugby though. Cuts your blood off too, maybe im so silly because i block off my blood with real tight electrical tape to keep up my socks :confused: :D :confused: :D

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
If you can't be a footballer, at leat try to look like a footballer.

Socks up, jumper tucked in!

Too bloody right Rip, same in cricket, at least look like you are a player.

To borrow a line for the movie Mash, "We are the pro's from Dover"

Socks down, jumper out, no tape on boots ;)

Does anyone else get pissed off with players oiling up their arms?
Ive actually missed a couple of marks in a game because of the oily ball.

Oily Bodies

To answer your question BIG POPPA PUMP, my answer is that I like the oily look, not just Lions players but any footballer and I know that it interfers with the marking of the ball but **** happens then you die.