Roast Soft.Soft.Soft!

There needs to be a common belief that we should hand these sides the f****** belting they deserve, and we don't. It's sheer arrogance.

100% agree.

It's all in the mind. I've seen us play hard football. Even the "soft" guys in our team. We did it last week against St Kilda.

Fast-forward one week and the intensity is gone.

Fitness? Injuries? I don't think so. Sure, they can be a factor, but it's almost as though we need a John Kennedy or an Allan Jeans coaching us on days like these. It's all in the mind.

process is more important than the result BBH.

I don't give a stuff about what ifs.

What matters is excuting the plans and having solid processess.

Finishing, at this stage, in the 8 is irrelevant.

process is more important than the result BBH.

I don't give a stuff about what ifs.

What matters is excuting the plans and having solid processess.

Finishing, at this stage, in the 8 is irrelevant.

Agree on the what if's.

But I am a staunch believer that playing in a final, is the best way for our players to understand not only where they have to be intensity wise, but as an encouragement that maybe we are moving in the right direction.
Sometimes, giving someone a taste of something, will steel their desire to experience it again.

Agree on the what if's.

But I am a staunch believer that playing in a final, is the best way for our players to understand not only where they have to be intensity wise, but as an encouragement that maybe we are moving in the right direction.
Sometimes, giving someone a taste of something, will steel their desire to experience it again.

Agreed. Atkinson is testament to this. One of the reasons I reckon Daniher should get a go.

...the lack of consistency is a concern given the stakes of next week's match BTG. I would have thought that perspective enough to justify the angst.

I'm not saying all is rosy by any stretch, but the season over bullshit is frustrating.

The season's over when we stop playing games.

I'd like to say that I'm glad Quinn has been able to play a few games in a row.

At the risk of sounding critical after a loss, he's not going to make the grade.

He is starting to look ok I still shit myself when he gets it though, just never know what to expect.. I think he is worth persisting with.

Ffs, are you telling me that Quinn is better than Jay Nash, a guy that is heading for delisting at the end of this season.

Get a grip... or should I say, get your grip off it!

Umm. Yes. I am. How is Quinn supposed to make an impact as a small forward when we had almost no inside 50's, and when they came in they were rubbish. How quickly we forget the last couple of weeks. Let me remind you.

Vs Brisbane, 20 touches 1 goal 5 tackles at over 90% efficiency.

Also, in his 4 games he has only made 6 errors, 4 of those coming against Fremantle.

8/42 Interstate, some of you need to calm down. To think we would just waltz over and flog Freo is arrogant to say the least. Until we sort out the complete embarassment our travels have become we will continue to tread water. 8/42 !!! Performing interstate is Essendon`s major problem.

As I just said in another thread, it's our experienced players and I used the examples of McPhee and McVeigh. When we're winning, they're fantastic but when we're not when we're not..... I believe the premise of Ant's post applies.

Ffs, are you telling me that Quinn is better than Jay Nash, a guy that is heading for delisting at the end of this season.

Get a grip... or should I say, get your grip off it!

He brings a hell of alot of something Nash lacks.

Intensity.

He's worth persisting with, because he's one of those players busting a gut, giving it their all 100% of the time.

Will he make it? Too early to tell.
Worth persisting with.

I'll admit i have no idea how the international rookie list works, can we keep him on it for another year?

Umm. Yes. I am. How is Quinn supposed to make an impact as a small forward when we had almost no inside 50's, and when they came in they were rubbish. How quickly we forget the last couple of weeks. Let me remind you.

Vs Brisbane, 20 touches 1 goal 5 tackles at over 90% efficiency.

Also, in his 4 games he has only made 6 errors, 4 of those coming against Fremantle.

You can pull out whatever stat you want. Quinn will not cut it, quote me.

He brings a hell of alot of something Nash lacks.

Intensity.

He's worth persisting with, because he's one of those players busting a gut, giving it their all 100% of the time.

Will he make it? Too early to tell.
Worth persisting with.

I'll admit i have no idea how the international rookie list works, can we keep him on it for another year?

I believe it's 2 years you list an an international, hopefully someone can confirm that.

Alrighty mate, I'll bet a 6 month posting holiday that Nash will get delisted before Quinn...

Quinn's a rookie and Nash is a contracted player. Totally different scenarios. Swap them around and Nash would be given a chance and Quinn would be delisted.

FWIW I tend to agree with Donners. For all the talk of the Irish players, only Kennealy has really made an impact. Clarke can't get a game for Collingwood and Begley has dropped off the pace. There have been a fewothers who have gone home with their tail between their legs. Setanta is just a player but he is a different type and background to the others anyway.

Roast Soft.Soft.Soft!