'Solid' Crowd today. Hawks V Geelong

• Thread starter Thread starter dave10

each train line had 4 extra trains following the footy yesterday, there were 2 geelong VLINE trains at either side of richmond station, one departing at 10 past 5, the other later.

There were plenty of trains, more then a normal game.

Hardly. I always vary what time train i catch for Melbourne games and can't remmeber the last time i've had a seat...Last time it was so packed you couldn't even sit on the floor for an hour...

well that is you. I never have a problem on the train home from the G, occassionally i have to stand, but very rarely.

Back from the Dome though, it is an absolute shocker, especially after friday night games

Um, seriously, who really cares? You claim that Esendon and one of the other alleged 'big 4' clubs 'might' pull another 20,000 odd people through the gate. Big deal. Firstly, it is only your claim and even if it were true, I think that Mr. and Mrs. Joe public would prefer to see the likes of Hodge and Buddy butting heads with Bartel and Scarlet than watching the power house players in the ilk of Gumbleton and Neagle mixing it up with the equally amazing King and Nahas......pffft.
You have Anzac day, now shoosh.........

Its match Vs Geelong would have drawn over 70,000 (Ess home game) had it been at the MCG in 2009.

And yet your game against Geelong last week (Geelong's first home game since taking out the flag) only drew 58,000

Hawthorn's first game last year drew 70,000 against the same opposition

Probably not the best example to use, that one

dave10 said:
Ess V Geelong was only 57,700 because it was a Geelong home game. It was raining in Geelong during the afternoon and it is a big ask to get their supporters up to Melbourne on an ordinary night for the footy - round 1 or not. If it were Essendons game, another 10,000 would have been there.

Again, Essendon is not able to draw against other non big 3 clubs because these games are at the Dome. This has been the case since 2000.

It was Geelong's first home game since winning the flag last year against a supposed 'Big 4' club expected to improve after making the finals the year before, hardly an 'Ordinary Night of Football' really

Because some people just look for any opportunity to brag about their club whilst at the same time undermine others. Apparently it make them feel more relevant and better about themselves.

In summary, whilst today was a very good crowd, to me it answered a few questions about clubs capacity to draw sell out crowds at the MCG

In summary dave.....stupid thread!

Due to your supporter base you get sell out crowds @ the G. Due to skill & hard, high pressure footy WE provide quality footy regardless of the hype of the day :p

I guess not getting to play many finals on the big stage over the past few years means you have to winge about getting every opportunity to play in front of a decent crowd? :rolleyes:

And yet your game against Geelong last week (Geelong's first home game since taking out the flag) only drew 58,000

It was a decent example. It was a Geelong home game. Hawkk you are good in this area and would know that getting the Geelong fans up the highway on a Friday night when it is raining in Geelong from 4pm is evidence enough of a smaller than expected turn out for their home game. Without comparing Essendon to Hawthorn, it is fair to say that Essendon V Hawthorn or Essendon V Geelong would have drawn upwards of 80,000 yesterday if Essendon was a league pace setter as both clubs were yesterday. As I said, yesterdays crowd was a good crowd.

In summary dave.....stupid thread!

Due to your supporter base you get sell out crowds @ the G. Due to skill & hard, high pressure footy WE provide quality footy regardless of the hype of the day :p

I guess not getting to play many finals on the big stage over the past few years means you have to winge about getting every opportunity to play in front of a decent crowd? :rolleyes:

Loz, good humour but with respect I dont think Essendon have any trouble drawing a crowd - despite lacklustre onfield performance. Essendon dont need to be top 2 to draw a crowd of below 70,000 on a sunny public holiday.

However, I do yearn for the days when I went to the footy thinking we could win the match!!

So what is the point of this thread, Dave10? Other than being a "Big 4" troll.

Messenger, going back to the original post, the point of this thread is to make an observation about the attendance at yesterdays game and use the official figure to make some conclusions about the ability of some clubs or combinations of clubs to draw over 80,000 to the MCG on marquee days in the home and away calendar. It follows on from a spirited discussion in other threads about whether other clubs should replace the likes of Collingwood and Essendon on ANZAC Day. I believe yesterdays attendance provided significant weight to the notion that ANZAC Day should not be changed because the current formular GUARANTEES a sell out crowd.

It is the likes of you and other Hawthorn supporters who seem to get riled by any suggestion Hawthorn should not be part of a big 4. All I am doing is upholding the current fomat of ANZAC Day match. You dont agree, thats fine..

I hope this clarifies the objective of the post for you.

It was a decent example. It was a Geelong home game. Hawkk you are good in this area and would know that getting the Geelong fans up the highway on a Friday night when it is raining in Geelong from 4pm is evidence enough of a smaller than expected turn out for their home game.

Similar conditions last year against the same opponent, we drew 70,000

Without comparing Essendon to Hawthorn, it is fair to say that Essendon V Hawthorn or Essendon V Geelong would have drawn upwards of 80,000 yesterday if Essendon was a league pace setter as both clubs were yesterday. As I said, yesterdays crowd was a good crowd.

We finished 9th last year, hardly 'setting the pace'

I find it doubtful that Essendon V Geelong (or Hawthorn for that matter) could pull 80,000 to an Easter Monday game considering Geelong has only pulled 60,000+ to 5 home and away games since the start of 2008 (4 x Hawthorn, 1 v Collingwood) while the Hawks have pulled 60,000+ to 8 (4 v Geelong, 2 v Collingwood, 1 v Carlton and 1 v Essendon)

Fact is, the fixture draws massive crowd in proporition to the pulling power of both clubs, give it a setting where it could draw more neutrals out of the holiday season (such as an ANZAC Day and it'd get the ANZAC Day like buffer of 5-10,000)

The attendance on Monday was in line with the standard attendances at Hawks V Cats games since 2008 - around the 65-70,000 mark

Notwithstanding I'm not sure how Essendon playing in a game against Hawthorn or Geelong somehow justifies both clubs getting a marquee fixture, me thinks you are using Monday's game to take away from the ordinary showing by Essendon players and Essendon supporters alike on the weekend.

The crowd was bigger than I expected, I normally see footy games with a good group but everyone was either away or had hangovers from drinking all weekend.

I think this weekend before all others is not good for big football crowds.

Because some people just look for any opportunity to brag about their club whilst at the same time undermine others. Apparently it makes them feel more relevant and better about themselves.

This ^^^:thumbsu:

When I saw the title of the thread, i thought it was a thread to congratulate the solid crowd on Easter Monday. However, it was just a troll. Sad.

Why can't we just enjoy and appreciate the game rather than focus on dick measuring contests about memberships and attendances etc ?

Anyway, I thought the crowd on Easter Monday was a fantastic, particularly for Geelong whom usually don't draw massive crowds, and kudos to both clubs. I think the rivalry is working well for the AFL.

Well done.

It is quite embarrassing to see some supporters of "the big 4" undermine other team's supporters and crowd numbers in such an irrelevent way. I personally love the fact that I don't have to reserve a seat to go and see my team play, finding a car park is easy, I can sit anywhere I want, and I'm not surrounded by 70+ thousand imbeciles. Anyway 70k on Monday was a terrific crowd and they were priveliged to witness a fantastic, tough, bruising encounter between two committed and talented teams. This thread is nothing more than a dick-swinging exercise by the OP.

Really the "yoof" of today.
There was a time in the 60's & 70's when Essendon were no more than the local team of the Inner NW.
Over the last 25 years they have morped into a Superpower.
I have some doubts as to the solidity of this fanbase if Essendon sustain a period of long term failure.
People seem to forget that the Tiges had a massive supporter base during the 70's but are now back in the St.K/Geel bracket.
Collingwood are really the only club immune to long term failure as their fans are so used to it:D

Um, seriously, who really cares? You claim that Esendon and one of the other alleged 'big 4' clubs 'might' pull another 20,000 odd people through the gate. Big deal. Firstly, it is only your claim and even if it were true, I think that Mr. and Mrs. Joe public would prefer to see the likes of Hodge and Buddy butting heads with Bartel and Scarlet than watching the power house players in the ilk of Gumbleton and Neagle mixing it up with the equally amazing King and Nahas......pffft.
You have Anzac day, now shoosh.........

This :thumbsu:

I couldnt care less if there were 68K or 86K at the game on Monday.

Hawthorn and Geelong put on an awesome game and I was glued to my TV from bounce down to the final siren.

I doubt Essendon vs Whoever could put on a similar display.

And here we find the reason for this thread. Diversion from Essendon's terrible crowd.

Good point m0nty.

Perhaps real evidence of Lloyd's standing in the general football community since plenty turned out to say goodbye to Richo in Rnd 1 though......

Yes, but you only get big crowds against the big 3. (Hawks, Pies, Blues) who Essendon always play twice.
A few more years of on field failure and the Bombers will back to where they were pre-Sheedy.

74000 against Richmond is a fair crowd and the big 3 is Essendon, Collingwood and Carlton, Hawthorns average crowd last season proper was 40546 well behind the big 3 and only just pipped the Tigers for 4th, lets not forget Essendon and Richmond are not likely to be in flag contention, last time the Hawks were in that position you were 13th on the attendance list, I think some of you Hawks supporters are getting a bit ahead of yourself, no good drawing crowds only when you near the top of your form you need to be able to do it when your down as well, only Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton and Richmond can manage that.

More sooking from hawks. When will it ever end.

74000 against Richmond is a fair crowd and the big 3 is Essendon, Collingwood and Carlton, Hawthorns average crowd last season proper was 40546 well behind the big 3 and only just pipped the Tigers for 4th, lets not forget Essendon and Richmond are not likely to be in flag contention, last time the Hawks were in that position you were 13th on the attendance list, I think some of you Hawks supporters are getting a bit ahead of yourself, no good drawing crowds only when you near the top of your form you need to be able to do it when your down as well, only Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton and Richmond can manage that.

Hawks will bever have a big season average because of the games they sold out to tassie.