Soloman

Lol... Oh Im sorry Mr. Genius who dots his i's and slashes his t's.. I wont ever insult your perfectionist ways again by spelling incorrectly..

Go baccke two Mensa youu obzesiive lil mman :D :thumbsu:

I am surprised you spelt Whorethorn right......whoops, Hawthorn

Haha, The old pathetic Whorethorn joke.. Lol, you really must be desperate if you used it.. A sure sign of a severe lack of brains and creativity.. Scurry away now Essendon createn and bother me no more.. I was involved ina good discussion befroe you came along..

The SoloMAN talk has lead to another interesting point: Where would you Freo blokes prefer him to play? Forward or Back, sinse we've basically rueld midfield out...:confused:

Where would you Freo blokes prefer him to play? Forward or Back, sinse we've basically rueld midfield out...:confused:

'scuse the edit, but trying to get the thread to follow the footy discussion that it was intended for;

I am not sure where I'd like to see him play. He is a bit too much of an unknown. Not that he's a new player. It's just that his past season or so has been confusing regarding what he does best, especially trying to turn him into a KPP. Like you I'm a bit confused.

In the forward line we are stacked like a '50s blonde. The role for him would be to strike fear into the opposition. Handy, because none of our forward talls have that ability or inclination. Mark Harvey has been sent there to try and have an impact, but we'll have to wait and see. What more could Harvey ask for than his mate Solomon to do a little bit of an on-field master class. I would not be expecting goals from Solomon, but I would expect him to contribute to the goal tally of the other forwards.

Down back we're stacked like a '50s blonde with implants. For me Solomon would be competing with Parker, Grover, Dodd, Hadrill etc for mean spirited defenders who are strong but not overly tall. With his history of giving away free kicks, I think I'd prefer the imcumbents.

Midfield we're stacked like a supermodel. Looks good, but some more would be handy. Like Cooke, I can see him fill the role of terrorist at stoppages and clearances. Not a heap of stealth about it. No finesse. But there would definitely be distractions within the opposition.

Off the bench he can be called on for all of these as the game requires, and dependant on the opposition. For me, he is not an automatic inclusion in our best 22, but sits around 18-25 on the list, with a bullet, if he has the motivation and fitness.

Lol... Oh Im sorry Mr. Genius who dots his i's and slashes his t's.. I wont ever insult your perfectionist ways again by spelling incorrectly..

It's spelt won't. In the sentence you said you wouldn't spell incorrectly, you spelt incorrectly.

good points and I agree Gav.Im confused with the possibility of him playing forward with pav farmer tarrant and murphy add to that a resting ruckman we have plenty of options,perhaps they mean forward of centre not forward fifty.Didnt webster play that kind of role?

I expect him to play the Hamill type role from half forward. Leading up the ground and providing a lot of defensive pressure inside 50. Hopefully he can do that and provide 20-25 goals at the same time.

I can't see the ruckmen spending much time forward, with Sandilands improvement we will want him on the ball as long as possible and JLo needs to rest his knees (and has been predominantly ineffective when camped inside 50).

It's an intersting point you raise on Webster. I don't think Solomon, McManus, Cook and Webster can all fit in the 22, but none of those guys give up so there will be plenty of pressure on players to perform.

I expect him to play the Hamill type role from half forward. Leading up the ground and providing a lot of defensive pressure inside 50. Hopefully he can do that and provide 20-25 goals at the same time.

I can't see the ruckmen spending much time forward, with Sandilands improvement we will want him on the ball as long as possible and JLo needs to rest his knees (and has been predominantly ineffective when camped inside 50).

It's an intersting point you raise on Webster. I don't think Solomon, McManus, Cook and Webster can all fit in the 22, but none of those guys give up so there will be plenty of pressure on players to perform.

Dom I agree that Soloman may be our forward line enforcer but will be surprised if our ruckmen are changing off the bench and not out of a forward pocket.

Given that JLO is already a known danger up forward and 211 will continue to improve, I would expect we would look to exploit oposition back halves in this area. Both are capable of kicking goals and having to cover Pav, Taz, Spud, Wiz and Solly will strech most teams before you throw in the resting ruckmen.

If JLO can get himself fully fit the ruckmen must change out of the forward line.:cool:

Stand him in the middle next to Josh Carr and just DARE anyone to try and cross that line!!!!

Solly will be a good player, not the least because he has plenty of good players around him. But didn't he finish third in the Essendon F&B a couple of years ago? They don't give 'em away over there.

Turn him lose in the forward line to clear a path for the big boys.

I'm a believer.

We only give em away when they are past their best. Sorry guys, but Solly has lost all his pace and no longer has the ability to play anything other than a stand over role. Good luck to him though - a good bloke

I don't think he is past his best at all, IMO the coaching staff would be looking to utilise Solly on the HBF, its where he plays his best footy. If he can lose the kg's and get into the mid-80's (kg) he will be very damaging across the half back line. Admitedly, his disposal by foot can sometimes be cringe worthy but I can see him playing the role that Damian Hardwick played at Port. I think he definately was a key difference between Port going from almost to champions. Solly could be that missing piece in the Freo puzzle. What Solly does bring to Fremantle (and what Damien Hardwick brought to Port) was premiership experience, I can tell you right now that he will make a big difference come finals time and if Freo make the Grand Final good luck to you guys and Solly (as long as its not Essendon)

If he can lose the kg's and get into the mid-80's (kg)

If he lost 15 kgs to get down to mid 80's, then i think he would struggle (he is liseted at 100kgs). I'm not a fitness expert or anything, but that is a huge reduction in weight for an athlete. Low 90's would be fine for me. No one would be looking for him to become a fulltime midfielder which is what mid 80's is suited to.

Ryan Crowley is 91 KG's

I think Mid 90's (& > 6' ) is the way the modern Midfielder will end up.

I hope not Ripper. I hope the midfield will always have room for a whole range of sizes and skills. Would much prefer Bell and J Carr as our "true" midfielders than Crowley, though there is room for them all. I do struggle to see Solomon being recruited as a fulltime midfielder for us, but maybe your right.

You've made the mistake of calling a dirty player a gutsy player. Soloman has given more sacktaps then any other comp in the league, bit if push came to shove hes the last guy who'd be willing to stick his neck out for his club.
Tha's why Mark Harvey wanted him so badly. We've copped more sacktaps than any other team in the competition. Harvey, and to a degree Shaw have really stiffened us up in that area.

One of the things the Hawks supporters will appreciate is how the older teams literally beat the carp out of your youngsters. Think of that Waters/Fletcher gang tackle on Franklin last year.

We have now moved into that phase where we dish it out rather than cop it in the neck week in, week out. Solomon will be added to the Carrs, Crowley, Dodd, Grover, Macca and Cook who can either hit you hard or get under your skin. I can't wait.

As most dockers supporters and coaching know Fro gets smashed in the clearance. Late last season Pav started in the middle at centre bounces and go forward after the bounce with some success. When the season finished the coaching staff said that we needed a big body in the middle.

Solomon has been recruited for the centre bounce and then run forward and play a defensive and enforcer in the forwardline. When Pav starts in the middle, Solomon will come of the centre square and totally smash people. The only concern is Solomon's fitness and weight (reports have it that Solomon has lost a few K's).

Hate to tell you guys (well not really :) ) but Soloman is a liability up forward. When going for pack marks, he tends to give away freekicks. Playing across HB may be a possibility, but he would need to lose bulk and go up a yard or two in pace. Also, his disposal is questionable, especially when he is down on confidence. I'm sure the coaching staff will find a spot for him in the 22, simply to prove to the board that the trade was worthwhile. This may be a blessing in disguise as Soloman will gain in confidence when he is getting a regular start. I just can't see where he fits into the side.

Except for a few of our players we have a team which that doesnt need to swap ends after the breaks. I hope he has to earn his spot. If he gets a game he should fit in well.

What did Fremantle give up for Solomon?

I borrowed this from another thread.

Just so that Frank from Canning Vale can update the Flash Presentation...

Solomon and Brock O'Brien for Bachar Houli and Kyle Reimers.
Tarrant for Medhurst and Ben Reid.
Polak, Jack Riewoldt and Tyson Goldsack for Ben Reid and Bachar Houli.

Net result:
Solomon, Tarrant, Collard, O'Brien and Mourish
for
Medhurst, Polak, Riewoldt, Reimers and Goldsack.

I'm happy.

But something to keep on file for a few years time.

You work it out. My guess is we didn't give up anything.

What did Fremantle give up for Solomon?

2 mid range draft picks 42 & 47. We picked up Houli & Reimers.

Solly will be good at Freo. HBF is his best spot, but he'll fight hard to lock the ball in as a forward as well. Doubt he'll last long up forward, he knows no fear and his body might not stand up (a bit like Aaron Hamill). At HBF he's the hunter rather than the hunted and will dish out more hits than he takes. He's also much more disciplined when playing down back and will give away less silly free kicks. When he's played forward or midfield, 50m penalties and down the ground free against Solly happened far too often. His agression has always been his biggest strength, but also his biggest weakness. Essendon will miss him, but hopefully Houli and Reimers will forge good long careers at Windy Hill.

2 mid range draft picks 42 & 47. We picked up Houli & Reimers.

Solly will be good at Freo. HBF is his best spot, but he'll fight hard to lock the ball in as a forward as well. Doubt he'll last long up forward, he knows no fear and his body might not stand up (a bit like Aaron Hamill). At HBF he's the hunter rather than the hunted and will dish out more hits than he takes. He's also much more disciplined when playing down back and will give away less silly free kicks. When he's played forward or midfield, 50m penalties and down the ground free against Solly happened far too often. His agression has always been his biggest strength, but also his biggest weakness. Essendon will miss him, but hopefully Houli and Reimers will forge good long careers at Windy Hill.

I'd like to see him playing defense.
Possibly a forward who makes space with body then ties the ball up. There is always talk about rebounding (attacking) backmen he might become a hard forward.

As for your Houli and Reimers. Like all young players I wish them well.

solomon to play the role guys like webster,drum and cook had a go at last year

we didnt draft him to take contested marks and kick inspiring goals. i think he can have the same impact chick has at wc

He'll make plenty of his new teammates walk taller. I think he'll be one of the better recruits next season and from all reports he's back down to his ideal playing weight. Plenty of blokes can throw their weight around but only a select few are willing to put their head over the nut when its their turn. Solly is one of those few...he'll be a fan favourite by the end of the year.

As for his best position well now that he's a little lighter well he can play anywhere. I think he can be good value up forward with occasional runs down back. Clubs love skilled players running off HB and Solly can turn it over occasionally but up forward that problem is some what lessoned.

I wish him all the best this year and will be watching freo a little closer than i used to.

Everyone keeps saying he is a little lighter, I don't see it! I think he's put more on!