ericpascoe

Guys and Gals

Some interesting little tidbits gleaned from discussions in recent days

• Draw - we have a tough one. If we are at 50% come round eight we will be doing well
  • Fevola - coaching group were unanimous about offloading him and most of the senior players are very happy too. The amount of attention coaching staff paid to him was seen as over the top for a 28 year old given all the kids that need to be nurtured - a never ending drama on many fronts. Heath Scotland a notable exception - quite shitty apparently
  • McLean - glad to get him, but actually went after Rivers at first instance, which Dees would not have a bar of.
  • Stevo - AFL had agreed we can treat his payout under 2009 salary cap rather than 2010, so expect an announcement soon
  • Walker - was on the table because coaching staff see him as undisciplined in a football sense - little 1 percenters like standing goalside of his man at stoppages. Very critical of his effort on Rich in last quarter
  • Russell - wrapped with his improvement
  • Simpson - likely to be VC
  • Kreuzer - real reluctance to turn him into a forward. I've heard it said that he could be an "adequate" forward but a champion ruckman who does everything you'd want in a modern ruckman.
  • Johnson - recruiting him regarded as a complete failure
  • Fisher - retained because he is contracted - no other reason
  • Browne - love him. expect to see more of him
  • Grigg - got a "bit pleased with himself" as a consequence of his form in NAB Cup, got hurt and just "had a shit year" - they are not too worried and reckon he will come good.
More soon. EP

Thanks for the info, mate! You are usually spot on with this stuff so we'd like to here more if and when it comes to hand.

Draw - we have a tough one. If we are at 50% come round eight we will be doing well

Could be in for a poor start to the year. No Judd for the first few rounds, trying to adapt to a gameplan and forward set up without Fevola, and now the news of a tough draw. Let's hope we get through it OK and really build momentum as the season goes along - much like we did in 2009.

Fevola - coaching group were unanimous about offloading him and most of the senior players are very happy too. The amount of attention coaching staff paid to him was seen as over the top for a 28 year old given all the kids that need to be nurtured - a never ending drama on many fronts. Heath Scotland a notable exception - quite shitty apparently

The old saying that no player is greater than the club he plays for is a cliche but it's spot on. Fevola was (and is) an absolute star on the field but too much of a headache off it. Sounds as though the playing group have really supported the powers that be off the field in their decision to get rid of Fev and that only signals a strong culture. If anyone is unhappy to the point of being completely dissatisfied with the club (ie. Scotto) then they are on borrowed time IMO.

McLean - glad to get him, but actually went after Rivers at first instance, which Dees would not have a bar of.

That's very surprising. Perhaps signalling an intent to move Waite permanently forward? Or perhaps showing a lack of faith in Aussie? Or perhaps indicating that the injuries to our key defenders may not be healing as well as we had hoped?

Also tells me we'll probably be looking to strengthen our backline in the draft.

Stevo - AFL had agreed we can treat his payout under 2009 salary cap rather than 2010, so expect an announcement soon

Good news from a shit situation. Wider ramafications of this - we have a hell of a lot of room in the salary cap now which can be used to fend of any interest from the incoming teams towards our guns. Also, depending on how much of Fevola's salary we are paying, opens up the opportunity to chase a big name uncontracted player at the end of 2010.

Walker - was on the table because coaching staff see him as undisciplined in a football sense - little 1 percenters like standing goalside of his man at stoppages. Very critical of his effort on Rich in last quarter

Scapegoat?

The whole team shut down and to blame it on 1 player is not the right way to go about fixing the problems that the performance exposed. Let's see how he goes with an injury free preparation before making judgements like that.

Russell - wrapped with his improvement

We all are. :thumbsu:

He had a fantastic finish to the season and was rewarded with a strong finish in the B & F count. Laugh at it if you will, but JR is a genuine chance of taking home the John Nicholls Medal in 2010 if he can carry that form through to next season.

Simpson - likely to be VC

Great news - my favourite player and has leadership written all over him. When the team needs a lift, he is the one that so often provides it. Would be a great reward for effort.

Kreuzer - real reluctance to turn him into a forward. I've heard it said that he could be an "adequate" forward but a champion ruckman who does everything you'd want in a modern ruckman.

Another indicator that they may be keen to use Waite up forward. Personally I'd like to see Kreuzer up forward, but also spending time in the ruck. Why limit his potential to become a champion to just the one position on the ground? :thumbsu:

Johnson - recruiting him regarded as a complete failure

Regarded as a complete failure and that's exactly what it was. Has 1 more year on his contract so if he can't turn that around dramatically then he'll be on the scrapheap at the end of the year. To be fair, injuries didn't help him out especially early in 2009 but that's no excuse. Needs a huge year if he's any chance of being retained, and I can't see it happening.

Fisher - retained because he is contracted - no other reason

Not surprising. Fish has obviously fallen out of favour and doesn't have a place in the side going forward. Fevola leaving may have opened the door slightly for him but I doubt it. In the same boat as Johnson - huge year needed or he's well and truly gone.

Browne - love him. expect to see more of him

Not doubting you but we heard that about Browney in 2009, too. Personally I love the kid and the way he goes about it and would love to see him become a regular player but I have my doubts. We'll have to wait and see, I guess - but I'm hopeful.

Grigg - got a "bit pleased with himself" as a consequence of his form in NAB Cup, got hurt and just "had a shit year" - they are not too worried and reckon he will come good.

Certainly did have an average season. Good to hear that they think it was just an off year and are confident he can turn it around. Has shown great promise when in the seniors so if he can play good consistent footy he has all the tools needed to become a very good player. One to look for in terms of improvement in 2010.

More soon. EP

Keep it coming :thumbsu:

Can tell you:
We play Essendon, Richmond, Collingwood, Brisbane, West Coast, Fremantle and Geelong twice.

Guys and Gals

Some interesting little tidbits gleaned from discussions in recent days

• Draw - we have a tough one. If we are at 50% come round eight we will be doing well
  • Fevola - coaching group were unanimous about offloading him and most of the senior players are very happy too. The amount of attention coaching staff paid to him was seen as over the top for a 28 year old given all the kids that need to be nurtured - a never ending drama on many fronts. Heath Scotland a notable exception - quite shitty apparently
  • McLean - glad to get him, but actually went after Rivers at first instance, which Dees would not have a bar of.
  • Stevo - AFL had agreed we can treat his payout under 2009 salary cap rather than 2010, so expect an announcement soon
  • Walker - was on the table because coaching staff see him as undisciplined in a football sense - little 1 percenters like standing goalside of his man at stoppages. Very critical of his effort on Rich in last quarter
  • Russell - wrapped with his improvement
  • Simpson - likely to be VC
  • Kreuzer - real reluctance to turn him into a forward. I've heard it said that he could be an "adequate" forward but a champion ruckman who does everything you'd want in a modern ruckman.
  • Browne - love him. expect to see more of him
  • Grigg - got a "bit pleased with himself" as a consequence of his form in NAB Cup, got hurt and just "had a shit year" - they are not too worried and reckon he will come good.
More soon. EP

The MC are spot on in this regard

[*]Walker - was on the table because coaching staff see him as undisciplined in a football sense - little 1 percenters like standing goalside of his man at stoppages. Very critical of his effort on Rich in last quarter
I remember the heat celtic_pride copped for suggesting that Walker should be traded if he didn't improve in 2010. I agreed with him and cited instances like this exact one throughout his truncated 2009. Looks like the club agrees with CP on this score. Sharpen up your work Tex.

Heath Scotland a notable exception - quite shitty apparently
You can think it's the correct decision and still be shitty about it. Scotty will give 100% as usual. He's a senior player and entitled to an opinion about how things should work. He's professional enough to know that any differences stop when you pull on the jumper and cross the line. I don't see any problems with him. Hopefully he improves on an injury-affected 2009.

BTW, thanks EP for the report.

WTF Carlton, WTF???

if you see absolutely no need for him, which im hoping you do, then pay out his contract, sack him, and take a chance on a kid in the draft who will be cheap as chips.

Wiggins, Fisher, Cloke, Bentley, Johnson, Anderson. I can understand hanging onto a few of these blokes even though they are duds, like Cloke and Anderson, but ALL of them? so much rubbish still on our list.

Yep, good stuff EP.
Scotland will need to find someone else to hit the turps with. As it is I think he will have limited opportunities this year anyway. Comments on Walker are fair...seems a more instinctive footballer than a disciplined one. Gald to see Kreuzer is viewed as primarily a ruckman.

Can tell you:
We play Essendon, Richmond, Collingwood, Brisbane, West Coast, Fremantle and Geelong twice.

If this is true, I think it is very good. We will always play Essendon, Richmond and Collingwood twice. WC and Freo are bottom 4, Geelong top 4, and Brisbane mid-table. Of course the detail might be on where we play the other interstate sides since we already have 3 guarenteed interstate trips here. If we play both of the Adelaide teams and also Sydney interstate it means we have 6 interstate trips. We also might play Hawthorn in Launceston making it 7. Other than that, it seems a really good draw

Yep, good stuff EP.
Scotland will need to find someone else to hit the turps with. As it is I think he will have limited opportunities this year anyway. Comments on Walker are fair...seems a more instinctive footballer than a disciplined one. Gald to see Kreuzer is viewed as primarily a ruckman.

Sorry to disagree but I think with Stevens gone we need Scotland more than ever coming off the backline.

Don't be sorry...all entitled to opinions.
We'll know soon enough if Scotland's relatively poor year was due to injury concerns, or the beginning of the end. I think the latter, will be glad if im wrong.

To keep going (sorry, had stuff on and had to go for a few hours)

• O'Keeffe - strong expectations of a break out year in 2010, injuries allowing
  • Warnock - will miss (all up) about 8 weeks from the time of his operation, to the time he is back on track
  • Cloke - here is the really interesting one. If we need to free up another spot (PSD pick OR promotion of a 3rd rookie), he will very likely be the one cut. Very angry about his shennanigans with EB and JG, and there is some interest, from elsewhere, in picking up last year of his contract.
  • Henderson - apparently a fantastic kid, great family - "quality young man" was the term. Plan is to play him every game in 2010, fitness allowing
  • Robbo - not sure, but unlikely I think. Certainly, as at a few days ago there were no plans to take anyone else in the PSD in the light of Bradshaw's rejection. Board meeting (tonight I think) - they may reconsider, but I reckon highly doubtful
That's all for now!

Bit weird that they'd have a crack at Walker for the final loss. Our entire bloody team capitulated.

Thanks EP, you are one of the most credible posters on BF. Enjoy reading your posts more than anyone else really. Appreciate the sharing of info! :thumbsu:

I agree with this wholeheartedly

Guys and Gals

I hope it means that they'll give Hampson a crack in the forward line. I know everyone seems to think he's too unco, but given his late conversion to the game and his steady improvement of the last couple of years, he might be able to be taught to be a forward.

Guys and Gals

Yep ... can't believe the number of times I groaned this year watching him hand it straight to opponents and alot of times it was from the kick-out! So much for his stellar skills.

Hat tip to you EP, it's great to get the inside word when news is sooooo scarce!

Thanks x 100 :)