Song Contest Part XVI, Host: ???, Theme:???, Noms Due: ???

Surely you we see the addition of the Violent Femmes bit and recognise the joke...
As someone who's also a fan of Violent Femmes, I thought the statement wasn't that controversial in seriousness either. :$

But it also gives another 2 bands if the theme was simply songs related to Midnight Oil rather than this self-indulgent crap.

As someone who's also a fan of Violent Femmes, I thought the statement wasn't that controversial in seriousness either. :$

But it also gives another 2 bands if the theme was simply songs related to Midnight Oil rather than this self-indulgent crap.
Why do you hate Midnight Oil?

Insufferable in what way exactly?
In that one of them would feel the need to dedicate an entire song contest round to them and others would defend such a round.

What do you think the response would have been if a round had been dedicated to Kanye West or Arctic Monkeys? For the record, Kanye has MORE acclaimed records and Arctic Monkeys aren't far behind Midnight Oil.

I've joked about a dedication theme, but never done it because I don't feel the need to force an artist I like down other people's throats.

In that one of them would feel the need to dedicate an entire song contest round to them and others would defend such a round.

What do you think the response would have been if a round had been dedicated to Kanye West or Arctic Monkeys? For the record, Kanye has MORE acclaimed records and Arctic Monkeys aren't far behind Midnight Oil.

I've joked about a dedication theme, but never done it because I don't feel the need to force an artist I like down other people's throats.
I’m not sure why you’d accuse an entire fanbase of an artist as “insufferable” all because a person on Big Footy decides to dedicate an entire round to the band.

The Speaker has kept a pretty low profile in this thread and Midnight Oil is hardly ever nominated these days. Way less than all your contemporary teen pop idols like Kanye, Kendrick and Childish. We had a hardcore Oils fan on here named Illinois Nazi who used to nominate a Midnight Oil song every second round, but he hasn’t been around for years. He probably accounted for 95% of past Oils noms and kinda ruined their songs as a potential nom for everyone else. People got a bit sick of the repetition and mostly skipped over them.

Your use the word “insufferable” implies ongoing objectionable behaviour. e.g. “That SSwans2011 is really insufferable the way he returns after a month long absence and resumes posting in that arrogant forthright way of his and trying to force his opinions down everyone’s throats.”

I agree in principle with your point about the lack of variety. But what’s done is done. Enough people have melted already, so why keep bitching about it?

I noticed Loonerty also had a whine about the theme, but he was happy as a pig in shit when we had a f**kin Disney theme with 5 songs from The Lion King. People bitched about that round too and Loonerty’s advice back then was “Don’t play if you don’t like the theme.”

Maybe we should bring in a new rule banning themes which limit the choices to one band/artist. Because I can see already this will be a slippery slope with every f-wit on here deciding to make their own limiting artist theme in retaliation or as a troll. Good way to kill off interest and ruin something that’s been going pretty well for years.

Thoughts roo2macca (song contest chairman) ??

Should we make this the first and last time we have a theme of this sort? The melts were funny, but it really does illustrate how unpopular such themes are. Ideally, we want to be inclusive. We don’t want to alienate people.

I’m not sure why you’d accuse an entire fanbase of an artist as “insufferable” all because a person on Big Footy decides to dedicate an entire round to the band.

The Speaker has kept a pretty low profile in this thread and Midnight Oil is hardly ever nominated these days. Way less than all your contemporary teen pop idols like Kanye, Kendrick and Childish. We had a hardcore Oils fan on here named Illinois Nazi who used to nominate a Midnight Oil every second round, but he hasn’t been around for years. He probably accounted for 95% of past Oils noms and kinda ruined their songs as a potential nom for everyone else. People got a bit sick of the repetition and mostly skipped over them.

Insufferable” implies ongoing objectionable behaviour. e.g. “That SSwans2011 is really insufferable the way he returns after a month long absence and resumes posting in that arrogant forthright way of his and trying to force his opinions down everyone’s throats.

I agree in principle with your point about the lack of variety. But what’s done is done. Enough people have melted already, so why keep bitching about it?

I noticed Loonerty also had a whine about the theme, but he was happy as a pig in shit when we had a f**kin Disney theme with 5 songs from The Lion King. People bitched about that round too and Loonerty’s advice back then was “Don’t play if you don’t like the theme.”

Maybe we should bring in a new rule banning themes which limit the choices to one band/artist. Because I can see already this will be a slippery slope with every f-wit on here deciding to make their own limiting artist theme in retaliation or as a troll. Good way to kill off interest and ruin something that’s been going pretty well for years.

Should we make this the first and last time we have a theme of this sort?
I made my opinion that we shouldn't have artist-based themes the same way we shouldn't have genre-based themes. If people want to nom a certain band or genre, then there's nothing stopping them from doing that in pretty much any round. While I can't enforce a ban, I share the same sentiments as many others that band-themed rounds should be a no-go zone no matter how much I like them (and I like Midnight Oil).

I can actually move it up by a few hours now, my schedule's changed a bit.

roo2macca 8:59pm AEDT
No thanks, I won't have finished the Playlist by then as I delayed listening at work since I thought I had plenty of time tonight.

What time do you reckon you'll be finished by? I'm flexible, and I had a later time set in place because it started later (given my timezone) and because the next round is the longer one for the week.

We had a hardcore Oils fan on here named Illinois Nazi who used to nominate a Midnight Oil song every second round, but he hasn’t been around for years. He probably accounted for 95% of past Oils noms and kinda ruined their songs as a potential nom for everyone else. People got a bit sick of the repetition and mostly skipped over them.

If EJW and I had been around for most of his stuff, that would've been a REAL cabal

What time do you reckon you'll be finished by? I'm flexible, and I had a later time set in place because it started later (given my timezone) and because the next round is the longer one for the week.
Hopefully 8.30/9 at the latest so not heaps later.

We had an Arctic Monkeys one in the other contest remember?
It killed it stone dead.

People might be surprised to hear me agreeing with these sentiments but I think this is the time for three new rules playlist rules that will prevent what could be a slippery slope.

1. No artist double ups- this always pisses people off.
2. No previous podiums.
3. roo2macca is bestowed some formal degree of authority here.

Or not.
Im sure everyone will love my next two rounds.
Buff Corell and Buff Corell redux.

I made my opinion that we shouldn't have artist-based themes the same way we shouldn't have genre-based themes. If people want to nom a certain band or genre, then there's nothing stopping them from doing that in pretty much any round. While I can't enforce a ban, I share the same sentiments as many others that band-themed rounds should be a no-go zone no matter how much I like them (and I like Midnight Oil).
These sorts of limiting themes are also a bit self-defeating. Most people who aren’t a fan of Midnight Oil either won’t play, or they’ll just phone in any old nom and phone in their votes.

And many fans of Midnight Oil (like EJW) will just vote by looking at the song titles and probably won’t even bother to listen to the playlist either.

So what’s the point?

Probably best just to take it to the Music board and not inflict it on everyone in this thread.

I noticed @Loonerty also had a whine about the theme, but he was happy as a pig in shit when we had a f**kin Disney theme with 5 songs from The Lion King. People bitched about that round too and Loonerty’s advice back then was “Don’t play if you don’t like the theme.”
Guess who isn't playing this round?

If EJW and I had been around for most of his stuff, that would've been a REAL cabal
Illinois Nazi really cracked the shits after he nommed Midnight Oil for the 30th time and it only received its customary 8 votes. Said we all had shit taste and he could no longer be bothered playing. He didn’t seem to understand that he was causing a self-inflicted backlash against the band by nomming them every week.

The Speaker has kept a pretty low profile in this thread and Midnight Oil is hardly ever nominated these days. Way less than all your contemporary teen pop idols like Kanye, Kendrick and Childish. We had a hardcore Oils fan on here named Illinois Nazi who used to nominate a Midnight Oil song every second round, but he hasn’t been around for years. He probably accounted for 95% of past Oils noms and kinda ruined their songs as a potential nom for everyone else. People got a bit sick of the repetition and mostly skipped over them.

Your use the word “insufferable” implies ongoing objectionable behaviour. e.g. “That SSwans2011 is really insufferable the way he returns after a month long absence and resumes posting in that arrogant forthright way of his and trying to force his opinions down everyone’s throats.”

Should we make this the first and last time we have a theme of this sort? The melts were funny, but it really does illustrate how unpopular such themes are. Ideally, we want to be inclusive. We don’t want to alienate people.
Also, while I think the theme is silly - especially given the extra restrictions - I was just pointing out that when Harves had his "songs that I like" theme, it resulted in two contests happening at once because people were so mad.

But that didn't happen this time, despite being a worse theme.

Illinois Nazi really cracked the shits after he nommed Midnight Oil for the 30th time and it really received its customary 8 votes. Said we all had shit taste and he could no longer be bothered playing. He didn’t seem to understand that he was causing a self-inflicted backlash against the band by nomming them every week.

Which is also why I have only ever nommed one Oils song before this round, and that was back when most of the contestants today hadn't even heard of the contest.

Illinois Nazi really cracked the shits after he nommed Midnight Oil for the 30th time and it really received its customary 8 votes. Said we all had shit taste and he could no longer be bothered playing. He didn’t seem to understand that he was causing a self-inflicted backlash against the band by nomming them every week.
I must admit I found myself wondering where the ''edge'' had gone in MOs music when I listened to the playlist - even my own nom felt flat - now I'm not a massive fan but I have been known to crank up a song when it comes onto Triple M on occassions