Toast Sorry Adam

The goggles. They do nothing.

I wasn’t a fan of Goodes. Throughout his career.
I wonder how this whole booing issue would have played out if we had the “taking the legs out” rule 20 years ago?
Because that was always an issue with Goodes for me.
Exactly! I can't look at Selwood without wanting to projectile vomit! just like Goodes he's a champion and doesn't need to 'cheat' within the rules. I think some people are having trouble separating the racism from the flogism, and with healthy doses of both to go around it's pretty much a cluster****.

I'm gonna start this off by saying "Sorry Adam", what was done to you mainly by the media was wrong. The public just got sucked in as they often do when the scribes get stuck into them...ignorant people push back (even when it's obviously wrong)....

My question is: Why did the public boo Adam before the 13 y.o incident?

Some say it was because he was a good player, but so was Polly Farmer and we never boo'd him. We didn't boo Syd Jackson or the Krakour brothers or McLeod or Leon Davis???

We did Boo Nicky Winmar (that day at Viccy Park) but before he showed his belly after the game...he had hit Barry Mitchell across the chops and Tony Francis in front of the members stand. People forget that Saint Nicky was a hothead on the field (who got reported a fair bit) and that might have been why people boo'd him back then? We also boo'd players like Dermott and Lethal and Ronnie Andrews because they were hitmen of the highest order! If I remember rightly we also boo'd Gilbert McAdam that day too because he kicked some amazing goals and to lose at Viccy Park was NOT something we did often! And let's face it, we've had a healthy distaste for the Saints as a club since 1972 when Jimmy O'Dea almost killed Johnny Greening, so maybe we were just booing the club as a whole?

So why did people boo Adam Goodes? He did dive a lot for frees (people boo Selwood and others who duck for frees) and he did play the "Golden child" card with umpires (not unlike James Hird and of late GAJ), strangely enough those sorts of players get boo'd as well...even today!

I guess what I'm saying is...I'm sorry Adam feels racially abused. I for one never even saw the colour of his skin and I now work quite closely with Next Gen Indigenous programs in East Arnhem Land and down here in Geelong and the kids that we're working with all look up to Adam and every other indigenous and non indigenous footballer. I know that indigenous people suffer a lot of cultural and social disadvantage and I help wherever I can to advocate and support them.

I'm glad Adam's film (and other stories) are being told and I hope that one day soon all racism will be eradicated from our game (and our society).

Onwards.

Great post Robroy22, Carey was another booed week in and week out.
I didn’t like him, (despite respecting his ability) due to his arrogance.
Goodes for mine was a brilliant footballer who liked to milk it and sook it up - if I booed him, (probably did) it was due to that.
Skin colour was/is irrelevant to me.

I agree with pretty much all of your stance on the issue.

But after Goodes said he felt racially vilified, anyone who continued has to take responsibility for a form or racist behaviour.

Obviously this is a tame example....but growing up i swore quite a bit (not in an aggressive or mean way, "**** this is a good burger", for example). There were times when some people called me out and said "look, i don't like swearing needlessly. It bothers me".

So obviously i stopped swearing around them because it bothered them. Swearing in the first place wasn't ill intentioned from me. But if i carried on with it after that? Would've been poor on my part. Same thing here. Boos were innocent enough at first, but eventually they were not.

Just my opinion i guess. I don't think we disagree on much overall here tbh.

I agree with the analogy and on a personal level I totally agree, but the Goodes example is more complex. Most of the original booing was probably a result of Goodes's political sentiment in his Awards speech, but the booing became a political agenda about a different political opinion than was initially booed. The continuation of the booing wasn't really booing Goodes at all, they were booing the righteous within and without the media who labelled booers and declared that they knew their minds and condemned them and their behaviour with a tut tut superiority. I view it as having been a protest against righteousness.

I've found the recent discussion of the booing of Ablett to be very interesting in regards to the political twisting of things that the media do. His booing began the game after he liked that rugby guys rant against homosexuals and athiests, yet that issue has dropped in the media, because those who booed Ablett for that reason can't be easily diminished with a derogatory label like racist, so essentially the reason for the booing has been re-written in the same way that the booing of Goodes has been re-written. It's being reported that he is booed simply because he is a champion or being booed for getting off from some incidents that were possibly suspendable - but occurred after the booing began. Now, like in the Goodes example, the booers aren't booing for the same original reason, they're simply booing because the righteous are telling them not to boo.

I went to the 2012 GF and admired what Goodes did that day and even stood up and applauded his goal. He was one of my favourite non-Collingwood players.

Then he turned into a w***er and deserved to be booed.

Was I racist? No, I looked up to the bloke before he became a knob. Imagine going out of your way throwing an imaginary spear into opposition fans and thinking you don't deserve to get booed.

To many people these days playing the victim, I will be the first to admit I did boo him and rightfully so. I never had any thoughts of it being racist he has just tried to make something bigger then what it is to stay relevant. By the end of his career all he did was stage for free kicks and get children kicked out of footy games because they said something you dont like. This country is going down the toilet because of people like him making a bigger drama of things then it should be, get over yourself mate I'm not sorry for booing you and I'd gladly do it again tomorrow if I could don't try and tell me what my motivations are you flog.

With regards to stopping the booing once Goodes voiced concern from a Collingwood perspective it's likely many magpie fans would not have attended a game he played in after this time. In fact he rarely played against us in Melbourne particularly late in his career.

Jun 1999 - swans home game at the SCG​
Apr 2000 - swans home game at the SCG​
Jun 2000 - magpies home game at the MCG
Jun 2001 - magpies home game at Docklands
Jun 2002 - magpies home game at Docklands
May 2003 - magpies home game at Docklands
Aug 2003 - swans home game at Homebush​
Jun 2004 - swans home game at Homebush​
Jun 2005 - swans home game at Homebush​
Jun 2006 - swans home game at Homebush​
Jun 2007 - swans home game at Homebush​
Aug 2007 - magpies home game at the MCG
Sep 2007 - magpies home game at the MCG
Aug 2008 - magpies home game at Docklands
Jun 2009 - swans home game at Homebush​
Aug 2009 - magpies home game at the MCG
Jun 2010 - swans home game at Homebush​
Jun 2011 - swans home game at Homebush​
Aug 2012- swans home game at Homebush​
Sep 2012- swans home game at Homebush​
May 2013 - magpies home game at the MCG (matter with the young girl)
Aug 2015 - swans home game at the SCG​

Adam Goodes was called an ape by a young girl.
Bobby Skiltons nickname was “the chimp”.

And Why are alot of crowds booing Garry Ablett Junior at the moment?... is it racist? No! It’s because he supports Israel Falau’s comments, and he’s been a bit of a thug the last few weeks.

At the time, I thought most people were booing Goodsy because they thought he was a flog. Tall poppy syndrome, more than anything.

I fully support the apology and statement made by the AFL. It makes me proud of our game and it's institution. I am proud and thankful of what Adam Goodes has done for our country by standing his ground throughout this process. He has made a huge contribution.

I look forward to the day that all people in Australia know what it means to connect to this land and respect it. Aboriginal culture shows us the way forward to truly be at home in this land.

I understand some people find it hard to support this apology. I understand you think people are calling you out and acting self righteously. I am sorry you feel this way because there is a great opportunity here to learn and move towards an Australia that we can be more proud of.

No one is asking Australians to feel guilty for the wrongs of the past , we are just saying let's recognise tte injustices of what was done and take responsibility for thier effects in the present, and in doing so respond in a way we can all be proud of together.

I see this said a lot but not really sure where they and you are going with it.

We as a country have recognised it and did so decades ago, as a society I have never heard anyone deny the past or say it was a good period of this countries history?

Responsibility, so given a large majority of current Aus came well after the initial invasion period (despite being lumped as all whites from invasion period) are we not currently doing as much as practical?
35+ billion a year is spent on Aboriginal funding, many services provided some not to anyone else. With a lot of Aboriginal only initiatives to try help bridge the gap. Created AA only jobs, Healthcare, dental and scholarships.
Aboriginals aren't the only race that get stuck in cultural and systematic poverty/abuse cycles. You will find many systemically poor whites, asians, Africans etc, but the help/care factor given to them is negligible in comparison.
Education on racism and bigotry. Majority of society are working towards stamping out racism and bigotry, whilst it undoubtedly exists and has pockets in society I do not believe that racism is any where near as prevalent now as it was 25-30 years ago.
A big issue i have with the term racist, is the label and term is used now as way to shut down people so they can't have an opinion on topics even when not being racist.
The government has apologised for its predecessors hence the "Sorry" day and now a treaty is well down the road.

So next we have on the agenda is the National flag and anthem, a treaty and laws in it made by and for aboriginals standing apart from the rest of society they also want it to be fluid said they refuse to sign a treaty that has set rules in play. This isn't togetherness it is basically saying your country and my country are separate but share the same land.

So my thoughts are: Anthem well I think ours overall sucks and if its going to appease people and mend fences then by all means change it, its been done before in fact it was as recent as the 1984 before that we sang the brits God save the queen.

Imo the "we are one but we are many" song is a much better song and better representation of modern Australia.

Flag: well I'm a bit more wedded to our current flag we have fought wars side by side under that banner.

Treaty: this is a mixed bag for mine and possible landmine s**t fest that could do more harm then good. Im not sure I agree that you guy should stand outside our law system given the laws are their to protect all and aim at having a safe society. it is also a divisive thing as you are saying we are we and you are you - not one. Given many aboriginals have mixed anglo descent Im not sure the point to further distance from the rest of us you share a country with?

Aboriginal Victoria said treaty "is a concept with many definitions and interpretations".

"We do not seek to limit what a treaty can be, nor who will negotiate specific agreements," a spokesperson said.

"It may be that a treaty becomes many treaties: a series of formal agreements.
  • Sovereignty. Acknowledge that Aboriginal people have at no time ceded, relinquished or acquiesced any part of their sovereign existence and status. They want a "a space of our own, free from influence of government".
  • Land rights. Recognition that Aboriginal people have always maintained a property right in land and the natural resources according to their law and customs. They want an acknowledgement that Australia has not been settled. They want freehold, not native title. People who cannot reconnect to their traditional lands need to be included.
  • Shared power. A sharing of power with non-Aboriginal people through allocated seats.
  • Representation. A permanent national Aboriginal body.
  • Guaranteed consideration of interests. Too often governments don't consider Aboriginal interests in their decisions. A treaty could be an "insurance policy" that puts Aboriginal interests at the forefront of Aboriginal policy.
  • Recognition. Recognition of Aboriginal people as the First Peoples of Australia and the distinct rights that flow from this, such as rights to language and culture. (This is not referring to the governments 'Recognise' campaign which many Aboriginal people reject outright.) But also recognising the past, the need to first acknowledge what has happened to Aboriginal people. For many it's about recognising that Australia was invaded and not colonised.
  • Reforms. Agreements on the reforms required to reach a more just society and account for Aboriginal dispossession.
  • Statutory entitlements. This can include reparation, compensation and benefit sharing.https://www.creativespirits.info/ab...d-a-treaty-help-aboriginal-self-determination
https://www.creativespirits.info/ab...d-a-treaty-help-aboriginal-self-determination

Source: Would a treaty help Aboriginal self-determination? - Creative Spirits, retrieved from https://www.creativespirits.info/ab...d-a-treaty-help-aboriginal-self-determination

Pay the rent: so this is the next agenda being circulated in the wider aboriginal community and why I think the treaty is also being pushed for to open up more reparations. There is even talk of wanting all non indigenous to pay a 1% of income "rent" tax.

That treaty screams divided nation to me and as the famous Jerry McGuire once said : show me the money.

Am I right in assuming this stemmed from his war dance after kicking a goal? And then continued on in subsequent games? If so I can’t see how it isn’t racist...there have been far more offensive and cringeworthy celebrations/players than Adam over the years...none were treated in that manner, so I’m not sure what else you can put it down to other than racism. He was a champion of the game and should have been treated in that manner.

I also think that this needs to be looked at in the context of our history and Adam’s experiences as an indigenous Australian. There is no bigger injustice in Australia than our past and present treatment of indigenous people, we have created and continue to perpetuate some of the worst human rights abuses and inequalities seen in modern times. Irrespective of your view on the issue surrounding the end of Adam’s career, you should all understand Adam’s feelings and ‘sensitivities’. The injustice is real and the mistreatment of Adam and his indigenous brethren is also very real.

So you are among the elite enlightened few!

Stands in the mirror most days telling himself "it rubs the lotion on its skin...."

giphy.gif

Am I right in assuming this stemmed from his war dance after kicking a goal? And then continued on in subsequent games? If so I can’t see how it isn’t racist...there have been far more offensive and cringeworthy celebrations/players than Adam over the years...none were treated in that manner, so I’m not sure what else you can put it down to other than racism. He was a champion of the game and should have been treated in that manner.

I also think that this needs to be looked at in the context of our history and Adam’s experiences as an indigenous Australian. There is no bigger injustice in Australia than our past and present treatment of indigenous people, we have created and continue to perpetuate some of the worst human rights abuses and inequalities seen in modern times. Irrespective of your view on the issue surrounding the end of Adam’s career, you should all understand Adam’s feelings and ‘sensitivities’. The injustice is real and the mistreatment of Adam and his indigenous brethren is also very real.

No you are wrong.

It stemmed from the game he ejected a 13yo girl, the pretend spear throw at the carlton crowd was in response to the constant weekly booing but only inflamed it.

I don’t think you can dispute that Goodes felt racially vilified at the time by the insult. There is a worldwide history to that term as we know now and I am sure he was aware of it.

However I don’t believe it was at the time a term obviously associated with racial overtones in Australia. I can remember when hearing about this immediately after the game, which I attended, being surprised it had a racial connotation. Calling people’s various names like that has always been part of that blokey stuff we go on with. Women would be more discreet and more clever as a rule. But if someone called a mate or a player on the field a baboon or the like I wouldn’t have associated a racial element to it like I would have with the more obvious racial taunts.

Your first line seems to be the consensus view now, but it wasn't consensus at the time. At the time, many believed that Goodes had pre-planned responses and was looking for events to stand on a soap box about. Even if that was the truth, I wouldn't blame him for it, as his cause was a really worthy cause, but if he was soap-boxing, his choice of target was stupefying.

In footy circles, terms like ape and gorilla weren't traditionally racist terms. When Pagan brought Mick Martyn across to Carlton, despite Martyn's career looking well and truly finished, he justified it with the quote "You need a gorilla to play on gorillas." Clearly no reference to race. Despite the obvious doubt over whether the girl was actually racially abusing him, that girl was hung drawn and quartered in the press, with Goodes's backing and support - I'd almost go as far as saying - on Goodes's behest. The media hatchet job on that girl, and Goodes continuing on with it after the initial incident was really poor - in the cold light of day he described her as something like "the face of racism".

Right, the girl that called him an ape? Was at our game I believe. Further reinforces my point. Thanks

Yes the CHILD he shamed had escorted out on live tv, then backed it up by naming and shaming her in the papers and news outlets...he handled it very poorly given her age and the media attention it received.

It doesn't reinforce anything other then you type casting aspersions on many people, the girl made a poor comment one she was unaware of its secondary meaning in racial commentary.

She said a word that cause him momentary hurt, he has likely caused her years of abuse and bullying and further may have impacted her potential for work if recognised as the face of racism still which he made her there and then.

This wasn't the initial incident that incited an increase in booing, but are you serious? After kicking a goal, a player aggressively taunts an opposition cheer squad, which results in increased booing and you can't see how anything other than racism could motivate the increased booing?

Yes the CHILD he shamed had escorted out on live tv, then backed it up by naming and shaming her in the papers and news outlets...he handled it very poorly given her age and the media attention it received.

It doesn't reinforce anything other then you type casting aspersions on many people, the girl made a poor comment one she was unaware of its secondary meaning in racial commentary.

She said a word that cause him momentary hurt, he has likely caused her years of abuse and bullying and further may have impacted her potential for work if recognised as the face of racism still which he made her there and then.
So you further reinforce my point...thank you.

A child is nothing more than a product of its upbringing and the environment it inhabits. The comments were unacceptable and should never have sprung to mind in that split second of madness. There are far more generic insults that can be slung...the ape comment indicates that she has been conditioned and brought up in an environment that perpetuates racist views. If he has to make an example of a 13 yo girl, then so be it...he only does this to make a stand for all those indigenous children that will not make it past the age of 13. Spare me the crocodile tears.

This wasn't the initial incident that incited an increase in booing, but are you serious? After kicking a goal, a player aggressively taunts an opposition cheer squad, which results in increased booing and you can't see how anything other than racism could motivate the increased booing?
Let’s just say for that game I can understand, but for it to continue on week on week I cannot.

It’s a cultural thing, I suspect no different to the Maori huka...but I don’t know. There is nothing aggressive about it at all, it is symbolic...

I would think an opposition player flipping the crowd the bird is more offensive.

Sorry Adam... but your moment was already taken, by a far worthier incident.

093256-nicky-winmar.jpg

A child is nothing more than a product of its upbringing and the environment it inhabits. The comments were unacceptable and should never have sprung to mind in that split second of madness. There are far more generic insults that can be slung...the ape comment indicates that she has been conditioned and brought up in an environment that perpetuates racist views. .
Or she saw a big hairy guy coming at her and said ape. She got slaughtered and we are still crying over the millionaire footballer.

Or she saw a big hairy guy coming at her and said ape
That is possible, maybe entirely innocent...Adam’s response and interpretation of the comments are also entirely acceptable. What is not acceptable is the crowd booing him week on week for making a stand, when clearly he has been a victim of racism his entire life.