South Adelaide

• Thread starter Thread starter Go South

Oh no, have they changed it?

"Fly the blue and white flag high, proudly we wear South's banner...."

Great with the Sar Major sponsored marching girls. ;)

Originally posted by McAlmanac
Oh no, have they changed it?

"Fly the blue and white flag high, proudly we wear South's banner...."

Great with the Sar Major sponsored marching girls. ;)

Hahaha... it's been changed twice since then. I think Anne Wills sang that one originally.

Since then we've had the DIRE...

"We're the team from South Adelaide... called the mighty Panthers... we're the greatest team they ever made... we're the mighty Panthers... and we won't give up... till the premiership cup... is safely in our hands... a side of football heroes... the team from Pantherland"

The song itself wasn't bad, but the way it was sung was embarassing. It was always sad after a win to have to be subjected to that.

A couple of years ago, they replaced it with...

"We are the blue and white... we are the grand old blue and white... we're the team to take the Panthers top... until we win the flag we will not stop... fight on forever... we'll weaken never... in our endeavour... to raise the Panther's flag to glory... we are the famous blue and white" - (same tune as the Carlton song)

Yeah, it would be good for some originality with the club songs... almost all of the SANFL club songs are copies of the AFL versions nowadays.

I guess our lyrics are different.

Originally posted by Go South
Yeah, it would be good for some originality with the club songs... almost all of the SANFL club songs are copies of the AFL versions nowadays.

I guess our lyrics are different.

I did this on another thread and I reckon we've worked out that THE MIGHTY ROOSTERS has the only original tune in the SANFL:)
I'm not 100% certain what the 'new' Eagles one is.Mac can you help out?
As a matter of interest Go South.When I was in grade 3(a LONG time ago)everyone in my class either followed Sturt,Port,Norwood or North(there were no Bay supporters in my class).We had one South supporter join us that year and the first day of footy training he turned up in a South jumper with number 16on it(Peter Darley).It was a source of great wonderment for a lot of 8 & 9 year olds how had never seen a South jumper up close!

"We're the mighty flying Eagles, in gold and green and blue....". Not the best, I think it's a Woodies lemonade ad from way back when. The North song is easily the best, especially with Rocket Rooster prancing about. I actually have a copy on my computer.

"We're the mighty flying Eagles, in gold and green and blue....". Not the best, I think it's a Woodies lemonade ad from way back when.
Isn't it just "Little Peter Rabbit" with different lyrics?

The best song was "A Tiger For Me" - no question. Very specific to Glenelg. Everybody I know prefers it to that Richmond ditty, yet the club in its infinite wisdom maintains "Tigerland" as the official song. Thankfully "A Tiger For Me" still gets a spin after a win, usually right after "Tigerland".

just finished re-flicking through "Australian Football Hall of Shame" again after unpacking a few boxes.

There is a strong case to be made out that the South Adelaide Football Club are the singularly most unsuccessful football club in the history of senior Australian football.

Someone has to be I suppose....

VM

Originally posted by Uncle Steve

Isn't it just "Little Peter Rabbit" with different lyrics?

The best song was "A Tiger For Me" - no question. Very specific to Glenelg. Everybody I know prefers it to that Richmond ditty, yet the club in its infinite wisdom maintains "Tigerland" as the official song. Thankfully "A Tiger For Me" still gets a spin after a win, usually right after "Tigerland".

Was the version of 'Tiger for Me' the one done by the Wiley West Band or whatever they were called.. that was a crappy version IMO.

Glenelg will never live down the "we're dashing, we're gay, we're the pride of the Bay" lyrics. :D

I used to know virtually every face at Woodville games in the bad old days. The nod of approval or a "G'day" was always there for us too. When we had our good little run in the 86 finals, there were people back at the club that I had never seen in my life before. I guess everyone's welcome, but I don't like front runners.

Know that all too well. One of the upsides of being crap was that I made quite a few friends and acquantances out of people who would normally be strangers. To see those same people back at the club after winning a premiership was amazing, we all knew who the true beleivers were. Never hugged so many blokes in all my life!

Originally posted by screech

it was a bit strange when Noarlunga changed their guernsey so that it was more like South's so the players didn't get confused.
The Shoes just went back to their original guernseys before they changed them in the 70s champ.
As for South players, we've lost a lot more players to South than vice versa.

Originally posted by Leaping Lindner

I did this on another thread and I reckon we've worked out that THE MIGHTY ROOSTERS has the only original tune in the SANFL:)
I'm not 100% certain what the 'new' Eagles one is.Mac can you help out?
As a matter of interest Go South.When I was in grade 3(a LONG time ago)everyone in my class either followed Sturt,Port,Norwood or North(there were no Bay supporters in my class).We had one South supporter join us that year and the first day of footy training he turned up in a South jumper with number 16on it(Peter Darley).It was a source of great wonderment for a lot of 8 & 9 year olds how had never seen a South jumper up close!

Correct LL, we're the only side in the SANFL with an origianl song.
Ironically my Southern Footy League side, the Mighty Noarlunga Shoes are the only side in that comp with an original song too.
Its an important part of the club, the song, and its embarassing the amount of clubs that treat their songs with so much disdain, never my club!!!!

Originally posted by Vindaloo Mat
just finished re-flicking through "Australian Football Hall of Shame" again after unpacking a few boxes.

There is a strong case to be made out that the South Adelaide Football Club are the singularly most unsuccessful football club in the history of senior Australian football.

Someone has to be I suppose....

VM

What about the 1890s? 6 premierships in 8 years!

11 premierships, 5th most in the SANFL.

Originally posted by RoosterWedgie

Correct LL, we're the only side in the SANFL with an origianl song.
Ironically my Southern Footy League side, the Mighty Noarlunga Shoes are the only side in that comp with an original song too.
Its an important part of the club, the song, and its embarassing the amount of clubs that treat their songs with so much disdain, never my club!!!!

The Happy Valley song is fairly original, terrible but original.

The old Londale sone was original too (Suck More ****...)

I know (or knew) a couple of South supporters from my days in Adelaide. Funny that up until 1979 I only knew 1 (like me in supporting Woodville through the tough, very tough and effen tough times, he was a Panther boy through & through). The others only pronounced their "South-ness" in the lead up to the '79 GF.

I must admit if I could have 1 wish in the SANFL, it would be to have a successful South Adelaide.

Actually now that I think of it, I reckon I could be a South supporter. My old team Woodville were still in existance when I left SA - The Eagles hold now special bond - apart from them playing out of Woody Oval. I must admit whenever i buy the Australian on Monday's I always look at the South & Eagles results first (and of course whoever is playing Port in the hope they have wallopped them!). My old man even tried out with the Panthers decades ago - the link is there!!

Hmmmm, wonder who I'd support if I moved back????? Probably whoever was playing out of Adelaide Oval - loved that ground (even played on it myself). Is it still as good as it ever was? I digress a tad, but would SANFL Friday Night Footy at Adelaide Oval draw a crowd?

Anyway, Go South (I even forgive Peter Darley bagging his 8 goals Vs Woodville at Adelaide Oval in ????? (help me Mac??) - maybe 1975)???

Cheers,

Fatty

I used to know virtually every face at Woodville games in the bad old days. The nod of approval or a "G'day" was always there for us too.

I wonder if we know each other from them days - after all there were'nt many of us. Be nice to sit down have a beer with an ex-Pecker/Warrior man a chat about days long past.

I'd have to invite Leaping Lindner along too - if only for his music taste - Did you go to the Clash concert at Thebby all them years ago LL??

Cheers

Fatty

Originally posted by FattyLumpkin

I wonder if we know each other from them days - after all there were'nt many of us. Be nice to sit down have a beer with an ex-Pecker/Warrior man a chat about days long past.

I'd have to invite Leaping Lindner along too - if only for his music taste - Did you go to the Clash concert at Thebby all them years ago LL??

Cheers

Fatty

Yeah .Fantastic! And still have the poster(block mounted)adorning my hall.Saw Joe Strummer at the BDO a couple of years back and was in heaven (me and all the other grumpy old punks blissing out!)
But I digress.I don't now how old you are Fatty but do you remember the South resurgance of the mid to late 70's under Haydn Bunton(prior to the 79 GF)?? Their cheer squad had some big turn outs particulary at Adelaide and they owned their silk screener and use to make shirtloads of badges.They also made badges for other cheer squads(including the first ever Woodville cheer squad badge) as well as the 1978 state cheer squad which is a classic!
Myself and a few of the other North lads sat with the South Cheer Squad in 77 finals series and they were pretty big then as well!Every second one of them had Wayne '9' Slattery on their coat,it was his first year and he was rookie of the year!
Were you ever in the Woodville Cheer Squad Fatty?Or did you use to sit elsewhere?

"Not the best, I think it's a Woodies lemonade ad from way back when.

which one

"We drink Woody ,Woody Woodroofes "

or "Woodies Lemonade, Spark ade , for the Modern generation........Woodies Lemonade !!

PA1870:D

Originally posted by Port Adelaide 1870

which one

"We drink Woody ,Woody Woodroofes "

or "Woodies Lemonade, Spark ade , for the Modern generation........Woodies Lemonade !!

PA1870:D

Okay now it's getting frightening!!!!!!

Heres one from the archives (not official but a bit of a fav)

Bubblegum bubblegum pop pop pop
Woodville Woodville stay on top
Yay team!:

Leaping (living in the 70's) Lindner:D

Yay team!:

*Gulp* only to be used when the event occured ?

PA1870

;)

Yay team!:

So now the cards are being layed down...No wonder Macalmanac sees Football in SA from its lowest echelons !!!!

Bubblegum Bubblegumm PopPopPop..

thats why your perception of Crowds and Footballers were so skewed Macca....

Could you imagine doing that chant next to the Centrals or Port Adelaide Cheer squads....Matter of fact..if you did youd have scared them !!!

Thanks for that one Leaping !

PA1870

Bubble gum Bubble gum pop pop pop !!!