Spaanderman

We should play him - it would give him great experiance as well as an indication of what he needs to do to impove to play more in the AFL!

I hope leigh makes it clear to Black Betty that he wont be judged on this game and he should use it as a great leaning experiance.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Skilled use of the search function. ;)

I wonder if SB and Maverick still have all the old 'official' Lions forum posts saved to disk?

Some wonderful archival material in there I'd imagine.

Round 20 - Essendon V Carlton.

It has some classic posts in that topic.

Jonathan Brown Bandwagon.

I does not look as though Leigh is even considering him. No hints from Melbourne Media either. Hopefully they are flying under the radar and it is just a case of them not knowing he exists.

Skilled use of the search function. ;)

I wonder if SB and Maverick still have all the old 'official' Lions forum posts saved to disk?

Some wonderful archival material in there I'd imagine.

I reckon some of the best stuff was on brissielions.com

That site had some great characters . . .

What about that one where Maverick posted the entire script of the movie Top Gun!

Or some lunatic's stories how Olmy cut off his ears in jail to look like chopper read.

And Olmy's and Marshal's weekend adventure in the Blue Mountains. And someone wearing a John Howard mask.

I reckon Maverick's two phony characters talking to each other was pretty good.

The best, however, was the "phony GB" and "skuller" causing a ruckus in their little personality clash. :D

I reckon we should do a poll, regarding who is the most obnoxious out of the following:

Maverick
Ghost
Skuller
Tennant
Dropbear

Date: Sat Aug 19, 2000 11:32 am
Subject: BRING ON MALCOLM BLIGHT

I say that Blighty is the way to go. Leigh will not get sacked, he will go
himself. Blight will make a good coach.

Now where did you find that?

When Leigh leaves, Blighty will be a good coach.

I said in another thread - and I still haven't changed my opinion on the issue, btw - that Llane is a long way off being ready for senior footy.

Well, the good news is the Spaanderman today produced what was easily his most convincing display in Lions colours.

Playing against what is admittedly a very ordinary outfit in Labrador, Llane, after an average first half, exploded after the main break. Must have taken 8 or 9 marks, with 4 or 5 being contested grabs. His confidence rising with every contest.

Regardless of the opposition, it was the first time Spaanderman started to use his size and bulk, and with the confidence up, the fumbles that had previously riddled his game disappeared.

The Lions, with only six listed players to choose from, defeated Labrador 7.13 to 5.7.

True, but i still not rate Spaanderman at all. He may have shown promise but since so many young guys r out someone had to stand up. And the consistent performers for the ressies in drummo, stiller and ryzwyk went well again since there were only 6 listed. so i wouldnt look too deep into spaanderman plaing well at all until he does it everyweek like drummond, pratt, stiller and ryzwyk.

Where was that stored Ripper????

On Spaanderman... The club is damned if they do and damned if they don't.

If we win without him, the tall problems will be 'a hiccup'.

If we win with him, he will be the next club captain

If we don't win with him, he'll be 'destroyed as a player, what can we get for him'

If we don't win without him, he will have been required and we will have lost it when we didn't name him.

Re: Re: Spaanderman

Originally posted by LionsFan_13
True, but i still not rate Spaanderman at all. He may have shown promise but since so many young guys r out someone had to stand up. And the consistent performers for the ressies in drummo, stiller and ryzwyk went well again since there were only 6 listed. so i wouldnt look too deep into spaanderman plaing well at all until he does it everyweek like drummond, pratt, stiller and ryzwyk.
Like I said: not ready.

His progress seems to be mirroring that of Daniel Merrett from last year.

Looked awful and way out of his depth for the first few weeks, then 'clicked' all of a sudden.

I'm hoping Llane can continue on in the vain of his second half form from Sunday and that it wasn't just an aberration.

Common sense prevailed.

Hopefully more than the regulation one or two thousand Lions supporters will make it to the Gabba on time to watch some ressies and see Llane strut his stuff.

Yeah, it'd be great to see a few more bums on seats for the Ressies. A great chance to see how our young blokes are progressing.

We're looking forward to seeing 'em at the Gabba for the first time this AFLQ season.

so what is the go with this fella ? most other clubs first round draft pick has had a run with the senoirs but ours seems not to be rated !! poor draft choise maybe at his selection in the draft you would not pick a project player. if a fella his size cannot even fill in when we are this short it doest go well for the future.

Originally posted by irish
so what is the go with this fella ? most other clubs first round draft pick has had a run with the senoirs but ours seems not to be rated !! poor draft choise maybe at his selection in the draft you would not pick a project player. if a fella his size cannot even fill in when we are this short it doest go well for the future.
Well expressed.
Project player with a first round draft pick????????
We need him to stand up. Leigh and the selectors should have expressed their confidence in him by selecting him for Sunday.
I feel it is a critical error if we don't go with two Rucks Vs Melbourne. MacLaren and Spaanderman. Two young tyros trying to establish themselves in the big league under difficult circumstances. Backs to the wall stuff. Brings the best in potential champions.
Unfortunately we are not going to see it.

Spaanderman