Rumour Speculation, Rumours, Lies Thread 2026 - Part 2

Somewhat close to this one. His twin brother plays footy at Hummocks Watchmen in the Adelaide Plains, and his Mum has had pretty poor health over the last few years. He is very close with his family. But his girlfriend is from Brisbane and we've seen how that goes (Danger and his wife etc). Even without the massive offer, it's going to be between Adelaide and Brisbane, Essendon not even in the discussion.

Its overs but you have to pay it
Or else he’s going to Tassie the year after
2X 1st for Sanders is ridiculous overs imo.

Tasmania is irrelevant to working out a fair trade with the Dogs as we would be signing him up to a longer term deal if the trade eventuated.

Somewhat close to this one. His twin brother plays footy at Hummocks Watchmen in the Adelaide Plains, and his Mum has had pretty poor health over the last few years. He is very close with his family. But his girlfriend is from Brisbane and we've seen how that goes (Danger and his wife etc). Even without the massive offer, it's going to be between Adelaide and Brisbane, Essendon not even in the discussion.
Lions likely to lose Neale & if they lose Bailey, they would be looking for another midfielder.

Neale is in the back end of his career regardless what he does.

32 now. 33 next year. Not many AFL players can still be full time AFL midfielder around 35.

So I see this year as his final year as a full time midfielder ether with Brisbane, West Coast or Fremantle

Neale is in the back end of his career regardless what he does.

32 now. 33 next year. Not many AFL players can still be full time AFL midfielder around 35.

So I see this year as his final year as a full time midfielder ether with Brisbane, West Coast or Fremantle
We've been linked a couple of times now to Neale. Could just be reporters putting 2 and 2 together and getting 5 tho.

The odds of him ending in Adelaide are very low now. His kids are in Perth and zero chance at a reconciliation with the now separated wife.

Brisbane or Perth would be my guess

The odds of him ending in Adelaide are very low now. His kids are in Perth and zero chance at a reconciliation with the now separated wife.

Brisbane or Perth would be my guess
I wouldn't be interested anyway for us. Bailey way younger and we still need to find room for young players like Draper.

Yeah.

At his age and point of his career, I don’t think he would help our midfield.

By Rd 1 2027, I think we could clear somewhere around $3,000,000 in salary

Tex $750,000 - retire
Jones: $500,000 - delist or Tasmania
Sholl: $500,00 - delist
Butts: $450,000 - free agent
Borlase, Berry, Taylor $1,000,000 (approximately $320,000 each) delist or trade

Plus the EBA goes up

Bailey would be able $1,400,000 and I don’t think we get sanders

How would Jones and Sholl be on $500k?

I wouldn't be too surprised if Jones was higher than 500k considering the length of contract and when he resigned.

edit: ignore this, I thought Jones resigned earlier in our rebuild. Though, 500k might be on the mark in 2023 money for someone who was decently young and a best 22 player at that point. Footywire has him as an RFA, which whilst it's not the most reliable source may have indicated we paid for potential.

Oh I hope that we have enough plusses outside of te contract offer for him to think, yep, i can move, will be with my family, have already won a few flags and will join a side that is primed to challenge for a while to come - a lot to like and it might be the right timing for him to make that bug move for a lot more money than Brisbane can offer. Essendon have none of that to offer him other than money.

Also, if we blow Brisbane out the water, they only get the compo pick as an RFA and we keep our picks hopefully for a play to get Sanders from the Dogs to wound out our midfield going forward

Surely there’s a point where intangibles start eating into contract shortfall. Near enough to half is lost to tax as starting point.

I don’t think Mr MysteryGuest is being disrespectful, it’s a valid question for guys who have never really cemented themselves

Respectfully, how am I supposed to know?

From my perspective, 99% of posts on a forum like this are simply opinion based. And I don’t have any inside knowledge.

So why even stick your neck out if someone is going to give you a whack.

By Rd 1 2027, I think we could clear somewhere around $3,000,000 in salary

Tex $750,000 - retire
Jones: $500,000 - delist or Tasmania
Sholl: $500,00 - delist
Butts: $450,000 - free agent
Borlase, Berry, Taylor $1,000,000 (approximately $320,000 each) delist or trade

Plus the EBA goes up

Bailey would be able $1,400,000 and I don’t think we get sanders
Unfortunately you are about 500k too high for Tex. His last 3 one year contracts have all been around 200k, and I seriously doubt Jones and Sholl would be anywhere near 500. We have managed our cap well though and certainly can fit Zac in. In fact my mail is that it’s almost a done deal.

Respectfully, how am I supposed to know?

From my perspective, 99% of posts on a forum like this are simply opinion based. And I don’t have any inside knowledge.

So why even stick your neck out if someone is going to give you a whack.
Yeah but that doesn’t mean that one shouldn’t ever be challenged on their opinions

It’s all a part of the forum experience, the back and forth of it all

Yeah but that doesn’t mean that one shouldn’t ever be challenged on their opinions

It’s all a part of the forum experience, the back and forth of it all

Respectfully, I could not think of anything worse. I’m here to communicate about the club. Getting into an on line argument is one step above having an argument in the shopping centre cashiers line.

Not sure what’s worse

And NWM will be OOC a year later, probably Port Power will decide to plan for this with Butters salary so won't chase Bailey and then NWM decide to stay after being made Captain in 2027. Lukosius $1M at 7 years is the gift that keeps giving all because Rozee wanted his best mate there at any cost.

Oh no, now they'll have to rely on all the free top 5 academy players they get

Im shocked his brother still plays footy with his dodgy knees.

2X 1st for Sanders is ridiculous overs imo.

Tasmania is irrelevant to working out a fair trade with the Dogs as we would be signing him up to a longer term deal if the trade eventuated.
2 x 1st could be picks 18-20 this year and picks 28-30 next year, that's just a top 4 finish.
If we got Sanders and and 2nd, it could be fair. Sanders is going to struggle getting into the midfield this year though, so may not realise his value at the dogs.

Sorry for having a go. Won’t do it anymore

Confused High Quality GIF

Respectfully, I could not think of anything worse. I’m here to communicate about the club. Getting into an on line argument is one step above having an argument in the shopping centre cashiers line.

Not sure what’s worse
Who’s saying anything about an argument lol

Anyway, carry on