speeding fines

• Thread starter Thread starter evade28

Originally posted by evade28
the other day i got pinged for going 4km over in a 60 zone.

First time?? I know a couple of people who on their first fine told someone - not sure who - it was their first fine, blah blah blah, and managed to get off.

Originally posted by mantis
Where the hell was he driving, he had to be doing at least 200kmh, also think he might have got more than just a fine, I would think doing 140kmh over the speed limit, you would also be charged with reckless driving. :confused:

140kph over the limit= doing 145 in a caravan park!

Where the hell was he driving, he had to be doing at least 200kmh, also think he might have got more than just a fine, I would think doing 140kmh over the speed limit, you would also be charged with reckless driving. :confused:
He was doing just over 200km in an 80 zone testing his mum's car out.

I never said he didn't get charged :rolleyes: I just mentioned the fine.

I got done one time overtaking a truck. From memory I was doing 92 in an 80 zone. The pig pulled me over and asked if I had an excuse for going over the limit, and I said 'yeah, I was overtaking the truck'... and he said 'so you have no excuse then!’ That was absolute BS, can't believe I got done for speeding in that situation.

Thought I’d also mention this: My mate told me this, I don't know if this is true, but he says that it worked!
When you get a speeding fine, if you pay a bit extra for the fine in your check etc. you will then receive a counter check for the amount owing back to you. Now according to my mate you only loose your demerit points is when/if you cash this counter check... I’m very sceptical, but if I get caught speeding again, I’ll be testing this theory. My mate actually said he would have lost his licence, if he cashed the check, as he had no more demerit points on his P's at the time, but since he never cashed the check he managed to keep his licence! Fact or stupidity???
:confused:

Originally posted by Blues4Life
He was doing just over 200km in an 80 zone testing his mum's car out.

I never said he didn't get charged :rolleyes: I just mentioned the fine.

So he was only doing 120kmh over, not 140, HMMM lost 20k's already, now what car was he driving & where abouts, Sandown maybe. :rolleyes:

Hahaha you absolute tool. I said going near 140km then I said he was going over 200km and to me 200-220 could be considered going "just over". Whether or not you believe is not really my problem, I wasn't in the car, I didn't do it and I haven't really seen the guy since (he works up North) so I have nothing to gain by 'bignoting' myself.

Get a life and stop picking apart everyone elses posts with a fine tooth comb.

Theres nothing amazing about it, most young people will try and 'clock' their cars top speed when they get it. The guy I was talking about just happened to be stupid enough to do it on a road that had a cop waiting on it. He went past the cop, saw him and immediatly pulled over because he knew he was done. The cop said he would've got a much bigger penalty if he hadn't of pulled over.

OH I apologise, of course most young kids drive cars at speeds between 200 & 220kmh, when he immediately pulled over, do you mean 500 metres down the road, because that's how long it would have taken him to stop at that speed.

Originally posted by Saint4Life
Spend so much money on camera's when we could be fixing pot holes or putting up barriers and signs, then maybe it would be safer. If the road isnt resealed then in some cases it is not because of the speed, but because of old crappy, cracking, poorly designed roads.

Aside from the fact that (as you repeatedly pointed out) cameras actually make money... if you honestly believe that pot holes and a lack of 'barriers and signs' contribute anywhere near what speeding does to the road toll, well you're a bloody moron.

The answer is simple: camouflage speed cameras, halve the fine, and double the demerit point penalty. A little paranoia goes a long way in this world...

Originally posted by vindor
Thought I’d also mention this: My mate told me this, I don't know if this is true, but he says that it worked!
When you get a speeding fine, if you pay a bit extra for the fine in your check etc. you will then receive a counter check for the amount owing back to you. Now according to my mate you only loose your demerit points is when/if you cash this counter check... I’m very sceptical, but if I get caught speeding again, I’ll be testing this theory.
Your mate is officially a tool. And you are officially gullible.

Yeah, I have copped $125 fines for 63,64,64 in 60k/hr zones... sucks ass majorly, ****en revenue raisers :( ... don't think I'll bother buying another car when I get back to Australia, fines are ridiculous and rego is $500/yr, then there's insurance... ugh :(

If this is your first driving/speeding offence, you can write a letter of appeal stating your good record, or something like that (I can't remember the exact wording/naming). It does work too, as my sister got off a fine, so I'd follow this up. Only works once though. ;)

What the hell is wrong with you people? Haven't you seen the ads where they show how much of a difference an extra five or ten kp/h makes? Oh, no, making people drive slower isn't going to save lives, it's just to raise money for the government. How long is it going to be before someone gets done for speeding in one of those new 40 zones outside schools, and then whines about revenue raising?

If you're concerned about unreliable speedometers, I think the answer is to find a way of making them more reliable. Also, what's the point of having speedos that go up to 270? It's not as if any of us are ever going to drive that fast. If they only went up to about 140, it'd be much easier to tell how fast you were going and all this bull**** about "The 3km tolerance is less than the width of the speedo needle" wouldn't make sense naymore.

But no, common sense doesn't enter into it. Everyone likes to drive fast and bitch about anyone who tells them not to. But guess what? There's a damn good reason they're called speed LIMITS and not SUGGESTIONS. We don't have any sympathy for people just over the 0.05 alcohol limit, and I know for a fact that speeding is just as dangerous as drunk driving.

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
Bigfootys answer to everything...attack somebodys english!

Little do they know how sad it would be if we actually THOUGHT or even had the TIME to write in good english on a bloody internet forum. That's really taking it seriously!

Wrong again toots. I'll attack their stupidity and bigotry too, both of which you have displayed large quantities of.

ey who gives a **** if im not that strong in english, always the bs arguement that i cant spell. Who gives a rat's arse. You could read and understand what i said. Now your bringing my english into it. Its like you dont have anything as a come back. Grr that annoys me more, and ill tell you my score for english when i get my results. Plus im rushing this stuff as i have plenty of things to do rather than argue about nothing. Fact is, speed camera's are good, only if they are placed fairly, i.e. - straight road. But most of the time, they arnt, therefore its all MONEY. What will a speed camera do if its placed at the bottom of the hill? OMG ill suddenly stop to safety? Yes, thats right, the camera saved me from my death. It slowed my car magically, and it seems without any physical commitement. Well, thats what must go through your mind, not mine. All you will get is a big fine. And also these new camera's that check speed and if you go through a yellow light, i think that is also wrong, as sometimes, such as emergency or whatever the situation, (ie - ambulance), you do need to speed up or move out of the way, but then you cop it twice as hard and you get a speeding fine and another for going through an orange. Although i guess at least the yellow/red light camera's allow a little bit of time gap i guess.

You are a tool. Wait until someone you know is injured or worse still dies in an accident caused by a speeding driver.....might change your simplistic thoughts then.
As for the rest of your post...I know there's some message in there, I just can't decipher it.

I hope that get's the old 'grrr' metre up again. Jesus, you make me laugh so please reply with more wisdom.

Originally posted by Rodion
What the hell is wrong with you people? Haven't you seen the ads where they show how much of a difference an extra five or ten kp/h makes?

But no, common sense doesn't enter into it. Everyone likes to drive fast and bitch about anyone who tells them not to. But guess what? There's a damn good reason they're called speed LIMITS and not SUGGESTIONS.

and I know for a fact that speeding is just as dangerous as drunk driving.

yeh speeding is a prob but 4ks over down a hill is totally ridiculous.
unless they want to pay for my new brakes seeing as they would get totally fkd in 5 seconds from riding them every time i go down a hill.

speeding and drink driving are two different things. if youre speeding to the extreme then yes it is similar, but a touch over, is nothing like drink driving.
while speeding you are more likely to crash bcos you've lost control.
drink driving you can lose control, or u can just be impaired to the point where youre on the wrong side of the road or have run off into a tree/telephone pole, whatever.

anyway i still think getting pinged for 4 over is totally ridiculous.

btw for those who said about writing a letter, i dont think it will work cos i got pinged one other time when i was taking my dog to the vet cos it was nearly dead, and the tossers pinged me anyway :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Samos
Basically, they're revenue raisers for the police.

when me and my mum went to the cop station last nite to get the form signed or whatever, cos i was driving her car when i got pinged, the cop said that 4ks over is BS and harsh!

Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Ouch, that hurts. Listen champ, you can go on with your excuses for an eternity, but if you speed and get caught you get fined. Is that simple, and on topic, enough for you?
Oh, and your dad's an idiot for not realising that you have go faster to overtake on a hill and therefore are breaking the limit. It's called a limit for one simple reason, I might not like that limit, but it's there.
Look for my next post, that'll please you too.........champ.

Ouch it hurts, well it must. In actual fact, your posts have little relevance. What are you, some sun deprived geek? You're having a go at someone for their grammar, on what, a footy forum? Get over yourself mate - we're not in an English exam.

Secondly, I said slope. That bit where you insult my dad, please re-arrange the words as your english, ironically, is lacking.

My dad had to speed up to overtake a guy in the right hand lane, who at that time was turning right, hence not just my dad but all traffic were moving into the left hand lane. Instead of causing cut-offs and confusion, he moved swiftly into the left lane, to avoid the other who was turning right.

My point is not that speed camera's are totally useless, rather they are used in some circumstances, as a revenue, and not for the safety of our people. 4 k's over the limit, in attempting to do something totally legal, is extremely tight. So many people get nabbed by this, and the positioning of the camera's i've seen is so blatanlty obvious used to nab some poor bastard.

My point is, camera's should be positioned more wisely, to actually nab those who are driving dangerously & recklessly.

Also, to reiterate, picking on someones English is pretty poor on your behalf.

Evade: In truth, not all cops are bad. It's a generalisation, and some realise this. 4k's over the limit, and a fine is definately a penalty which has to be looked at.

Santos, just can't help yourself. Do you not have anything else better to do, than attack someone for their English? It's a forum you scrotum rag, not an English tutorial.

You'll die a sad, lonely life my friend, at the rate you're at. Like I previously stated, are you deprived in some form? What do you get out of attacking someone over the internet? Is it a big thrill?

If you have abuse which needs to be thrown, why not meet up with him, and leave your garbage off this forum?

As I said before, yet again, the topic is on Speeding Cameras, not how coherent your English is.

I've had no trouble reading, or comprehending Saint's posts.

Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Not that it really matters what my education is, but your reply simply makes my argument stronger than ever. If you can pass English then your teacher needs to be fired.

Oh, how did I miss this?

Santos, you're a big boy now! You can spell! I bet when you were a little boy, your teacher gave you plenty of gold stars! Yay!

No matter how high your intelligence Santos, you obviously have a knack for attacking people on a forum, which obviously displays a lack of qualities you have in real life.

Find it hard to communicate with people? You're a bit socially inept? I'm guessing so.

No matter how much of a hunch back, sun deprived intelligent geek you are, being a 'mute' and having a distinct lack of peoples skills will get you no where.

You'll enjoy baking pretzels, you can sit out the back baking away by yourself, and you'll have no need to talk to anyone.

Sounds good, yes?

LOL at santo. My friend, looks like you have nothing to do seen'n all you do is post on this forum all day with 3000+ posts. GG. I already know of a friend who died in a car crash, so dont worry mate, im not a ****n ****** as you show i am. And it wasnt for speeding. It was actually due the road and the opposite driver, so dont give me that bs. Ever wondered why P platers are 'more likely' to smash? I know. Because 18 yr olds cannot afford NEW cars but only old 1980's technology. Hmmm didnt think of that did you? nup, didnt think so. 1980's technology mate, no airbags, no crumble zone, jack all, no abs. So mate, i suggest you think before you post. Also dont say that you didnt accuse my english, you did, so i dont give a rats arse anymore, laugh all you like, i hope that you get fined for going 1 km over, and pay $125 fine and i hope that you loose your licence, and you can walk home in the rain.

Rodion yes it does make a difference, there is physics 2 back it up, id know that too :)

BUT lol give me one reason why the police hide camera's on a down hill. Explain why its...

a. Hidden
b. On a down hill

Mmmm :) yep, as for schools, well 40km/h is fine, but i do not believe that it is the drivers fault if a child runs out from nowhere, but the mothers/fathers who should be watching them, as if they know it is dangerous, why arent the looking over at them at all times!? Also there is a lolly pop lady always around so they shouldnt be crossing in the first place, maybe the education system should teach more kids about crossing the roads. But as the law says, if driver hits pedestrian, the driver gets into trouble. Meh, that law needs to be changed, its not always the driver's fault. But i dont have a real issue on the 40km/h rule. Im fine with it. Its there to try avoid these accidents which is a good thing. Also speedo's go up to 270km/h because the car can reach that speed. Some people, car fanatics, like to race their cars at "race course's" which can be done, and you can drive your car around the track. How would you like it if you didnt know what speed you were at because your speedo went to 100km/h??

The answer is simple: camouflage speed cameras, halve the fine, and double the demerit point penalty. A little paranoia goes a long way in this world...
Well, sorry, ok, well lets keep on putting up camera's on a down hill then. Soon half the state will be catching public transport because they keep getting done for going 4km/h over the speed limit on a down hill and now, lets just cop the demerit points twice as hard? mmmm

OH I apologise, of course most young kids drive cars at speeds between 200 & 220kmh, when he immediately pulled over, do you mean 500 metres down the road, because that's how long it would have taken him to stop at that speed.

Also i never stated people driving at 100+ Km's. Im talking about going over by 1-5Km's/h. So dont say that we 'kids' can drive 200km/h cause im not talking about that at all. If you drive 10+ km/h, that is your own fault, and thats what the speed camera's are suppose to do! Catch these people, not the poor buggers, who go 1-5km/h over on a down hill.

Ever wondered why P platers are 'more likely' to smash? I know. Because 18 yr olds cannot afford NEW cars but only old 1980's technology. Hmmm didnt think of that did you? nup, didnt think so. 1980's technology mate, no airbags, no crumble zone, jack all, no abs.

those reasons contribute, however, you do have to admit that P platers have a higher tendency to speed. not just a little bit over, a lot over.

you can't just say that they crash because they have old cars. there are a lot of old cars on the road which are owned by 'older' people (as in not on their P's).

I've been to a lot of crashes, and other than the obvious things such as drink driving and falling asleep, its usually because the driver was trying to do something beyond their capabilities that they crashed.

and we all know that P platers like to 'test' out their cars, and the males think by driving fast around their local drag that people will be impressed. or theyre impress their mates in the car. how many times have you been harassed and tailgated by some idiot P plater who has had their license for 5 minutes and has all their mates in the car trying to be heroes.
not to mention that a lot of them have an 'i am invincible' attitude.

its not being killed in a car crash that you have to worry about, you probably won't feel that, its being totally fkd up and spending the rest of your life as a quadraplegic or a vegetable.

mmm true point above, but im not argueing that P plates do or do not speed. Im argueing that camera's are there for revenue! As i said, people who speed 10Km/h + are the people who should be caught, and thats the real purpose of cameras, not to catch people 1-5km/h on a down hill.

BUT lol give me one reason why the police hide camera's on a down hill. Explain why its...

a. Hidden
b. On a down hill
a) Because it's a far more effective way of catching people speeding, obviously.
b) Because that's where more people don't pay attention to their speed.

The speed limit is the speed limit whether you're speeding up down a hill thanks to gravity, speeding up to get a run-up at a hill, or running on flat road. The quicker you learn to deal with this concept the less stressful your driving days are going to be.

Well, sorry, ok, well lets keep on putting up camera's on a down hill then. Soon half the state will be catching public transport because they keep getting done for going 4km/h over the speed limit on a down hill and now, lets just cop the demerit points twice as hard? mmmm
Or alternative #2, people might actually pay a little more attention to what speed they're going and we might avoid a needless death or two.

Is getting pinged for being 4kph over the limit harsh? Yes. But it's the law, and if you are serious about avoiding getting pinged, it can easily be done without turning you into a Volvo driver.

true above as well :)

but i mean, people dont MEAN or PURPOSELY accelerate and speed on a down hill. Its not that easy to control the speed, and look at the road, and everything else that you need to be aware of when driving :S