Sponsorship Search

• Thread starter Thread starter timelord

funkyfreo said:
Timelord, why do you have trouble flying? LIke you are just scared, or is it condition related? Just bite the bullet and get on a plane FFS. For the money you will save compered to the train you could afford to take a mate along to help you through it.

It's indirectly related to Aspergers, Funky. And it's got nothing to do with a pure fear of flying.

I have always had a fragile stomach. But in 1984 I had an operation on it. The op itself went well, but the whole thing had two consequences. One, it left my stomach more vulnerable than ever before. Two - when I got my first job with Australia Post three months later, I started suffering from stress (un diagnosed for three years) which made a beeline for my stomach causing nausea and vomiting. It delayed a full recovery from the operation. In fact I'm not 100 percent sure I ever recovered as a result of that. I probably have given how long ago it was of course.

Now here's the rub. When one flies in a plane there are three situations that puts pressure on the stomach. Take off, landing, and in flight turbulence. I have flown three times since the operation (only one time was by sheer choice and that was in 1991 - and that trip taught me plenty). The risk I run flying is that I will throw up on take off, landing, or in flight turbulence. Now aside from the fact that I want nothing to do with that - do you really think that the airlines would take the risk with me either? I'll fly if I have to (as with my last trip to Perth when the GSR problem first blew up) but the distress I am risking with my stomach is what's causing the baulk. And not just by me.

funkyfreo said:
Or at least just advertise on BF for a sympathetic truckie to give you a lift, but sheesh $1600 is a bit steep.

I know. It's downright pathetic, and it's GSR's fault for denying me access to the cheapest option and blowing off my routine. The truckie option would only work if he stops overnight, and I doubt there's one around who would do that on the Adelaide to Perth run. It's illegal to sleep horizontally in a vehicle equipped with seat belts. The only mode of travel that doesn't give me the problems is train - and that's how much GSR are demanding I pay otherwise they won't carry me.

funkyfreo said:
What is this "historical project"? I know if I have hobbies I can;t afford I just have to give them up.

I can't. If I can't get a job - it's all I have. Aspergers sufferers have things called "special interests". I have two, and footy is one of them (pro wrestling is the other). The project is what has kept me going over the years - along with the umpiring and also more recently pro wrestling refereeing and commentating. To just give the project up like that would send my self esteem through the floor. I'm not giving GSR the satisfaction of allowing that to happen.

No doubt either of those two morons will jump on here and blow all this off. All they will do is just demonstrate once again that they have no idea what it's like to live the life of Phil Gluyas.

www.philsworld.com.au

(and the project details are in the footy section BTW, Funky!)

goaldrush1977 said:
I am sticking up for a friend of mine, numbnuts. If you don't give a continental then why are you posting your dumb-arse material on here?

I know why, Suzie. They're trying to convince people to tell me to go take a running jump and all the associated adjectives. All the more reason to tell them to keep their views to themselves. If they had an ounce of compassion they would - at worst - just drop the whole subject and ignore it. But oh no, they have to run around demanding that I proverbially "get a life". It's like what was said on the Political board - bullying disabled people. A really heroic effort that! [/sarcasm]

Where are Kev and Mac when you need them? No offence, fellas!

goaldrush1977 said:
Not a direct link... but this should help you.

http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&q=Aspergers+Syndrome+Sponsorship&btnG=Search&meta=cr=countryAU

You might have to look at a few of these sites, Phil.

I just looked at the VICNET site, and the only thing it had for Aspergers was a message board (and there are heaps of those around - I've got one on my forum as you might have noticed). I typed "Sponsorship" into the serahc box there and only four links came up and none of them had anything to do with what I need.

timelord said:
I just looked at the VICNET site, and the only thing it had for Aspergers was a message board (and there are heaps of those around - I've got one on my forum as you might have noticed). I typed "Sponsorship" into the serahc box there and only four links came up and none of them had anything to do with what I need.
Fair enough.

And I just went through the rest, and there was nothing there unfortunately. The links were "broken" (in that the links only picked up Syndrome and Sponsorship and the two words were miles apart and in different contexts).

Nice try, Suzie! Appreciate the effort! :)

This thread was always going to cop a caning. Despite the uncaring nature of some, I've seen a lot worse on BF.

I don't think so, Mac - but then I admit to being a little biased!

I wouldn't have minded the criticism - as long as it was constructive (as Funky's was). But otaku and bunsen bummer crossed the line in my opinion.

You should have seen what BB said to me on the political forum!! :mad:

I wish I could help you mate, but I don't get any money right now, being an ex-full time student I haven't got anything to give, sadly. Good luck though.

timelord said:
I know. It's downright pathetic, and it's GSR's fault for denying me access to the cheapest option and blowing off my routine.
You expect them to give you a $1618 for less than $300? Somehow I think you're being a tad completely unreasonable.

Always someone else's fault isn't it?

This thread won't be stickied. This isn't the place for this sort of thing but I'll allow it just this once because the alternative is a protracted, boring argument which I have no time for.

Timelord, it's a bugger you can't fly - the airfares are a lot cheaper than the train. Good luck anyway, hope you're able to get the info you're looking for somehow.
BTW, I was having a look at your project with the historical ladders from 1999-2002, you mentioned you don't have a ladder for the Sydney FA in 2002. You may have subsequently got it, if not I can put it up here for you if you want.

Former Chief said:
This thread won't be stickied. This isn't the place for this sort of thing but I'll allow it just this once because the alternative is a protracted, boring argument which I have no time for.

Why not? It is after all about regional footy - the project is all about it's history. I'm not reflecting on the purely financial side of it. It was a case of - as I said in the first thread - desperation. And this was the first place I thought of because this is where most of the regional footy followers online migrate to. Anyway - as Suzie tried to do - there's also the option of throwing up other ideas. Any more constructive ideas (wise look at bunsen bummer and otaku) would be appreciated.

In it's present form (thanks to those two interfering dolts) I agree that this thread can no longer be stickied. I'm sure they are proud of themselves for achieving that. All they've really achieved is add to their reputation of being intolerant, baleful dwarfs who don't understand and don't have the courage to admit it.

Bomber, I haven't updated the ladders for awhile as you would have noticed. Yes I do have the 2002 SFA ladder, and a few others during that time period as well. But I am going to upgrade my website by the end of the year and they will be updated - big time!

Thanks Scarecrow!

(And BB is presumably still trying to illicit a response from me! LOL)

Last edited by a moderator:
timelord said:
And I just went through the rest, and there was nothing there unfortunately. The links were "broken" (in that the links only picked up Syndrome and Sponsorship and the two words were miles apart and in different contexts).

Nice try, Suzie! Appreciate the effort! :)
no worries, Phil. :)

Former Chief said:

wow, does that mean i can solicite for funds on here too??

Thanks, you sure are a swell guy to allow begging on BF.

We are talking about accessibilty, which Phil is finding very hard to get here.
That's why he is so desperate for money.

You might find that if you were in Phil's shoes, that this is the case. Everything costs money. Some things cost more and if it means that Phil can't get public transport that is suited to his needs, he needs sponsorship.

Exactly, Suzie. Of course, the problem would be solved if GSR would just let me do what I was doing in the economy class seats - but oh no! They tell me to do something that I can not do, and then tell HREOC that "Oh we aren't denying him access. We have sleeping berths." Yeah right - which brings us back to the $1600 again!!

Sorry - I should be concentrating on promoting the project, but that needed to be said. Which reminds me.....*picks up the phone*

goaldrush1977 said:
We are talking about accessibilty, which Phil is finding very hard to get here.
That's why he is so desperate for money.

You might find that if you were in Phil's shoes, that this is the case. Everything costs money. Some things cost more and if it means that Phil can't get public transport that is suited to his needs, he needs sponsorship.

Guess what? Noone gets public transport that meets their desires - everyone compromises. I dont sleep in upright seats either, but if i cant spring for a sleeper, then guess what? i dont sleep. Many many people throw up in planes. Thats why they have sick bags. I'd prefer to have a whole sleeper to myself too, but unless i want to pay for the whole damn thing, i'm not going to get one.

Where does the AS end and just being a tw@t begin??

And before you start, dont hit me with "you dont know what its like to be disabled" bollocks. My niece has cerebral palsy, and i know how it rules her life. I'm also aquainted with another CP sufferer who likes working out, but the CP makes that pretty tough. However, he doesnt demand that anyone make special equiptment for him, or any other allowances. He has his training partner *tie him to a board* so he can do dumbell curls.

That is a legitimate *hard man*. He gets his sh*t sorted regardless of his disability, which is a far greater one than an upset stomach, not being able to sleep lying down and a predisposition do things your own way.

Get a ********ing grip.

timelord said:
Why not? It is after all about regional footy - the project is all about it's history.
All I or any other casual observer would see about your project is your mention on the first post: "for my historical project." No mention of footy there.

You then go into how you are having trouble getting public transport and want people to chip in for a project when they have no idea where the money is going.

You know what you should do? Start a website on a freebie host like Geocities and explain everything about your project. Include a side-bar on your requirements and help needed. Then I'll stick a link in the BF newsletter and the conflict on BF is averted.

Help yourself by doing it properly.

MonkeyButterer said:
Guess what? Noone gets public transport that meets their desires - everyone compromises. I dont sleep in upright seats either, but if i cant spring for a sleeper, then guess what? i dont sleep. Many many people throw up in planes. Thats why they have sick bags. I'd prefer to have a whole sleeper to myself too, but unless i want to pay for the whole damn thing, i'm not going to get one.

Now you listen to me. You know what throwing up reminds me of? That operation in 1984. That scared the crap out of me because I was within 24 hours of carking it - and that's a damn fact! I HAVE to sleep! I HAVE to avoid as much stress as I can! These are things that I do not have a choice about. I have tried to comprimise as much as I can and I can NOT! There is only one way I can get to Perth without taking a serious medical risk - and it costs $1600! Otherwise I don't get to Perth - my project is up in smoke, and over ten years of hard work becomes a total waste of time!

MonkeyButterer said:
And before you start, dont hit me with "you dont know what its like to be disabled" bollocks. My niece has cerebral palsy, and i know how it rules her life. I'm also aquainted with another CP sufferer who likes working out, but the CP makes that pretty tough. However, he doesnt demand that anyone make special equiptment for him, or any other allowances. He has his training partner *tie him to a board* so he can do dumbell curls.

That is a legitimate *hard man*. He gets his sh*t sorted regardless of his disability, which is a far greater one than an upset stomach, not being able to sleep lying down and a predisposition do things your own way.

It's called "routine", numb nuts. You may see other disabilities, and see how they affect the lives of others. But do you understand how they THINK? Seeing a disability and how it affects someone is one thing. And another point. The government (at state level) does their best for people with visible disabilities. The invisible ones (like Aspergers) are another kettle of fish.

Sufferers of CP may have serious physical coping issues. Physical issues always have solutions. But as much as CP is one of the worst physical disabilities one can get - their problems are different.

I suggest you get a grip. Comparing CP with AS is like comparing soccer with chess as sports. Both sports are as boring as heck, but require totally different attitudes. And you expect me to take on the attitude of a CP sufferer. Can you possibly imagine a world chess master taking on David Beckham on a soccer pitch? Of course not! And yet that's what you expect me to do effectively. You think about that one for awhile - and show some respect for an Aspie's NEED for routine!

This thread is about sponsoring my historical research into the history of our great game in grass roots footy! And ideas to help it out of this financial crisis. Let's keep it that way shall we?

timelord said:
Now you listen to me. You know what throwing up reminds me of? That operation in 1984. That scared the crap out of me because I was within 24 hours of carking it - and that's a damn fact! I HAVE to sleep! I HAVE to avoid as much stress as I can! These are things that I do not have a choice about. I have tried to comprimise as much as I can and I can NOT! There is only one way I can get to Perth without taking a serious medical risk - and it costs $1600! Otherwise I don't get to Perth - my project is up in smoke, and over ten years of hard work becomes a total waste of time!

It's called "routine", numb nuts. You may see other disabilities, and see how they affect the lives of others. But do you understand how they THINK? Seeing a disability and how it affects someone is one thing. And another point. The government (at state level) does their best for people with visible disabilities. The invisible ones (like Aspergers) are another kettle of fish.

Sufferers of CP may have serious physical coping issues. Physical issues always have solutions. But as much as CP is one of the worst physical disabilities one can get - their problems are different.

I suggest you get a grip. Comparing CP with AS is like comparing soccer with chess as sports. Both sports are as boring as heck, but require totally different attitudes. And you expect me to take on the attitude of a CP sufferer. Can you possibly imagine a world chess master taking on David Beckham on a soccer pitch? Of course not! And yet that's what you expect me to do effectively. You think about that one for awhile - and show some respect for an Aspie's NEED for routine!

This thread is about sponsoring my historical research into the history of our great game in grass roots footy! And ideas to help it out of this financial crisis. Let's keep it that way shall we?

Do you know what Beckham and the chess master have in common? They want to win, and they dont blame everyone else when they dont. They share an attitude, but (probably) very few physical characteristics. Jared (the CP sufferer in question) overcomes his disability, you bitch about yours.

You obviously have the ability to break your routine when it suits you - is tripping to Perth to do research a part of your daily routine??

As for "physical issues always have solutions" - thats becasue those that suffer from them, find them, you self-centered moron.

Former Chief said:
All I or any other casual observer would see about your project is your mention on the first post: "for my historical project." No mention of footy there.

You then go into how you are having trouble getting public transport and want people to chip in for a project when they have no idea where the money is going.

You know what you should do? Start a website on a freebie host like Geocities and explain everything about your project. Include a side-bar on your requirements and help needed. Then I'll stick a link in the BF newsletter and the conflict on BF is averted.

Help yourself by doing it properly.

OK Otaku, BB and Monkey. THIS is what I'm talking about! Constructive criticism!

The details of the project itself are already on my website - so the Geocities suggestion is not required.

www.philsworld.com.au/f/prj/details.html

The rest of that is fair enough. I assumed that all the members here were already aware of my project so I didn't think it was neccessary to do the above. I know Kev is aware of it - after all his website and mine are along similar lines. I am upgrading my website by the end of the year, but the money issue does need to be sorted by then. I'll fly in March 2005 if I have to, but I would be taking a damn big risk - and I'm not sure Qantas or Virgin Blue would take it either which is probably the bigger problem.

In spite of that, there was no need for those two jerks and now Monkey to jump up and down and wreck this like they have. Even you must agree that what BB said about me committing suicide was totally out of line.

MonkeyButterer said:
Do you know what Beckham and the chess master have in common? They want to win, and they dont blame everyone else when they dont. They share an attitude, but (probably) very few physical characteristics. Jared (the CP sufferer in question) overcomes his disability, you bitch about yours.

Because he is understood. I'm not! The chess master wouldn't step onto a soccer field because he knows better!

MonkeyButterer said:
You obviously have the ability to break your routine when it suits you - is tripping to Perth to do research a part of your daily routine??

It is a part of the project timetable. Which can NOT be comprimised! That goes for any other city as well. Any minor alterations are tolerable, but I can only do that when I have some flexibility with time. That only applies to where I live, Melbourne. I have no such flexibility when I travel. I am already behind on my WA work because of this, as I was forced to cancel my 2004 trip and sub work in Canberra to cover the gap. I can not do that twice in a row. And there is work that can ONLY be done in Perth. And that can not be changed - and that's got nothing to do with me either!

MonkeyButterer said:
As for "physical issues always have solutions" - thats becasue those that suffer from them, find them, you self-centered moron.

You don't know what it's like to have a psychological disability which is NOT the same thing. So shut up.