Toast Sportsmanship

The chant is fantastic. Does exactly what it's meant to do.

Shame that the club itself has had to cheapen it by actually playing it over the loudspeakers.

I realised earlier when i was driving home that it is very strange that i am not pissed off that we lost to collingwood, however i think its more that i truly believe that we are closing the gap on the top 4 sides than sportsmanship for the lack of anger...

I commend everyone on their posts in this thread.
Regardless of weather or not you 'hate' one club or another im bloody certain that when it came down to it every Australian would stand side by side (no pun intended) with each other in the the face of adversity regardless of their cultural or sporting beliefs. There are places in the world that you could die for even suggesting such a thing.

It is thanks to the efforts and sacrifices made by people we most likely don't, and will never, know that we as Australians have privilege of experiencing life of such freedom and acceptance between its population.

IMO, that is what the ANZAC spirit is about. As long as the youth are educated that ANZAC day isnt just a day for footy from whatever code you follow, beers and 2-Up, and that real sacrifice was made for them to be alive as they are today, then Ill be happy.

I actually think Mick Maulthouse said something yesterday on the pre-game show that is significant:
I paraphrase: No matter how much pain you are in (as a footballer playing on ANZAC day) and how many cuts, bruises or broken bones you have, *shakes head and laughs in a factual tone*, It is nothing compared to what those before you have gone though so you can be there, today.

So in terms of sportsmanship, I don't believe anyone has the right to have anything but the utmost respect for those on the ground on ANZAC day, regardless of what their allegiance is.

i liked how when they started the coolllongwoooooooood chant we out boo'ed it and it lasted all of 15 seconds. All power to our numbers for that!

I think a lot of Pies fans don't do it for some reason or another. People hating it will always outnumber those who chant...unless.....the Pies are playing Norf or Melbourne.:D

It all stems back to the carry on before matches. Carlton supporters far and wide were proclaiming 60-140 point wins, Essendon have no midfield, etc, etc, etc. The arrogance was nauseating and it filtered through to the playing group who just turned up and expected a win. You could see from Collingwood's desperation early on that they knew they had to play their best to win. That is respect, no words needed. Colllingwood have a humble belief that they are a top 4 side and don't need to tell every Tom, Dick and Harry 'That We're Coming'.

Annoyed we lost yesterday but proud the lads didn't turn it up. I think Pies fans have showed admiration for that tenacity.

i remember in the section i was in, the "collingwooood" quickly turned into "essendonnnnn"

ive gone to every ANZAC day game since 2006 (jeez did i pick a bad time to start haha)

Fly down from brisbane every year. And i completely agree, while it sucks to lose, the respect from everyone was outstanding.

Especially on the day of days, the whole feeling after the game proves why Essendon and Collingwood should always play ANZAC day. You would never get the same experience from any other team, whether it Carlton or even bloody Port Adelaide.

There are 2 different teams at the end of the day but that feeling before the game, during the silence and after the game of respect for each other and the day itself is something you will never ever forget.

although losing makes it harder to remember in a positive way ;)

Good on you Bomber fans. Friendly banter with many of you at the G and a healthy respect all around.
I even said to a mate who questioned which team I would barack for if Pies ceased to exist that I would follow the Bombers. I live in the heartland, round the corner from Windy Hill. Bombers have heart like my team.

I hate every other team .Lol

A loss to Collingwood especially by a point ****ing hurt, but their supporters today were full of praise for us and the battle we put up. Meanwhile, I had more ****ing Carlton supporters give it to me about the result yesterday than Collingwood, what the hell? I guess it still hurts those flogs after last Saturday :D

Toast Sportsmanship